rock&roll thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 17 years ago

Originally posted by: Indradhanush

I I often get intrigued by the fact HNM sir perhaps has not used Asha tai or has he..???

he has used Ashaji very little...but the song "jhoote naina bole saanchi batiya" from lekin sung by Ashaji isa masterpiece......🙂..do listen to it if possible
Martand thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: rock&roll

he has used Ashaji very little...but the song "jhoote naina bole saanchi batiya" from lekin sung by Ashaji isa masterpiece......🙂..do listen to it if possible

There was another very good song "Surmai Shaam.." by Suresh Wadekar in that movie..But all songs were overshadowed by the haunting melody- Yara Sili Sili...🙂
Indradhanush thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
jhoote naina bole saanchi batiya, yes I recall now this song is a masterpiece. This again has complicated aaroh, I wonder why are these songs not picked up in SRGM, they have a lot of appeal..
Edited by Indradhanush - 17 years ago
rock&roll thumbnail

jhoote naina bole saanchi batiya, yes I recall now this song is a masterpiece. This again has complicated aaroh, I wonder why are these songs not picked up in SRGM, they have a lot of appeal..

😆😆😆😆...probably becoz it is a nearly impossible task for today's singers to attempt such a song......except a rare talent like an Anwesha or Amaanat or maybe Nihira,i doubt if anyone can ever dare to think of singing them........the old talent of SRGMP is not there in the newer episodes😀
Edited by rock&roll - 17 years ago
Martand thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Becoz' HR has answered this song by singing "O Jhooth Nahi Bolnaaaaa" and you know oil is lighter than water so it floats on top..thats why the light songs are sung and the heavy ones sink 😀
sevak thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

😆😆😆😆...probably becoz it is a nearly impossible task for today's singers to attempt such a song......except a rare talent like an Anwesha or Amaanat or maybe Nihira,i doubt if anyone can ever dare to think of singing them........the old talent of SRGMP is not there in the newer episodes😀

Ah! You said it!🙂 Rminded me of Anwesha's rendering of 'Mere Dolna' from Bhoolbhulaiya with the complete alaap which left AB gaping...😆
rock&roll thumbnail

Rahman has awarded the instrumentalists in his films a status that no music composer before him had done. Siva Mani, became a house hold name because of Rahman. His name figured on the screen and the cassette cover. Rahman changed it all. He gives credit to every single member of his team for whatever part they play, big or small.

'Lot of musicians like ? Naveen (flute), Clinton Cerejo (backup vocals), Sivamani (percussions) ? became household names with their credits appearing on the sleeves of inlay cards. Not only on the screen (in terms of credits), but even on the sound track (in terms of sound) Rahman made his instrumentalists stand out. How can one forget the sound of the Shehnai in the title song of Swades? Or the sound of the raw flute in ?Chinamma? from the film Meenaxi ? A Tale of Three Cities?'

well said.....ARR brought the musicians to light and gave them due credit...hats off to him for that 👏🏻👏🏻
Summer3 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: sevak

Ah! You said it!🙂 Rminded me of Anwesha's rendering of 'Mere Dolna' from Bhoolbhulaiya with the complete alaap which left AB gaping...😆

Interesting the song "Joote Naina Bole" was sung on Zee in the past. Very nice and tuff.
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOtgJJO2fHk[/YOUTUBE]
ReemAnshu thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

I agre with a lot of what u've said..However some of his best songs are not getting popular/not getting marketed properly(even in today's music)..I agree that the music of one two ka four was outrageous....it didn't sound s bit like ARR......
But in many albums that u've mentioned,the best songs never became popular..Guru - best song-ae hairaten aashiqui...excellent song + hariharan's magic transports the listener to a different world.....I am surprised that so many ppl have claimed that JA was a let down......The popular songs weren't so melodious but man mohana is an excellent song beautifully sung by a SRGMP finalist(1998) called bela shende It never became popular,but it was a lovely bhajan; .....the legend of bhagat singh - sarfaroshi ki tamanna, a lovely composition in desh raag.......even pal pal hai bhari from Swades was quite gud,but it was the beaten track yeh tara woh tara that became popular .Since u hv also not mentioed these songs,i presume(i may be wrong) that u haven't heard them......
I agree that ARR is not half f as good as wht he used to be,but he does produce some excellent songs even today...just that they don't appeal to the new generation 🙂

You know i listen to all songs and that too multiple times. All songs which you have mentioned, i have heard and some of the lyrics are completely known to me. lets go point by point -
1) ae hairaten aashiqui for me is just a decent song. I have heard similar sounding songs from ARR in many previous movies. That song has nothing new to offer in terms of music of arrangements.
2) In JA, the man mohana song is again decent. It is a bhajan and has its limitations but if you see his works like Radha Kaise na jaale then it is no where in comparison. Even the bhajan from Lagaan, O Palanhare was a far more soothing composition
3) Sarfaroshi from Bhagat singh, I do like a lot but i prefer mera rang de, when I saw the song in the album, i had a particular tune and song in mind but when i heard his version, i thought it was very different. He kept is more soft and Sonu's vocals took the song to another level.
4) In Swades - I did not like yeh tara at all. Pal Pal hai bhari was very good. But the best song of the movie for me was 'Dekho na' and i thought Alka sang beautifully. Even the song Yuhi chala chal was a good track which starts as an average track and gets better as it goes along.
See the thing is as I said, that ARR has set very high standards and so anything which is below that standard will not be good enough for the audience. As I said Federer is still no one but all can see that his game has diminished from what it was 3-4 years ago. It is here that ARR has to regain the lost focus or interest and get back.
The songs which he has given - Choti si asha, Dil Se re, CHaiyan Chiyan, Tu hi re, Chanda re chanda re, hai rama yeh, urvashi urvashi etc etc. Tell me which song of his in the recent past can touch those levels. Do you think that JA, JTYJN, Mangal Pandey, Guru, One two ka four, are any where close to these ??? Even Saathiya, Lagaan & RDB are close but still not what it used to be.
ReemAnshu thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2
In the 90's when a movie was having music by ARR, it was something unique and one waited. I have bought tamil cds of Kadhalan, Muthu, Baba, Love birds etc although I am a Punjabi kudi.
But in the last few years he has given some real duds like One 2 ka 4, Dil Ne jise Apna kaha, Lakeer, Mangal Pandey, Tehzeeb, Nayak (anil kapoor), Netaji Subhash, Sivaji - The boss.. and recently Ada. One always expects brilliance from ARR and so in between these duds he given flashes of brilliance like Lagaan, RDB, Saathiya, or the one odd brilliant songs in movies like Kisna, Guru, Swades, Meenaxi (yeh rishta kya kehla ta hai).
As someone who has followed his music I do not expect anything other than pure genius from ARR in every album. Plus these days he is giving too much music i.e. 10 films a year, it looses his exclusivity and shows badly on his music. He should do only 4 or 5 films in the year so that he has time to make good tunes and does not do a rush job.
A lot is now depending on Ghajini remake, but I have heard one song and its not great, so lets see how the others are.