*Jaya* thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Originally posted by: chatbuster

dialog delivery that others have mentioned? well, everyone had their own style. the casual mumbling boy-next door was his. ever heard marlon brando? i mean, really heard him? 😉😆

actually that was a good observation too earlier Jaya- that the light songs in guide went to KK and the sadder ones to rafi. i think too that his movies have covered the gamut from silly to sad to romantic. lots of situations, which is why public could not get a handle on his best play-back voice and get him all paired up. that in itself reflects versatility, not needing to ride on any singer's coattails, outlasting almost everyone else in the process.

😆 Cudn't agree more with you on the highlighted portion... dot on!

Personally, I used to love Dev saab the way he delivered hois dialogs esp in the romantic situations... The irritating bit I was refering to was more on the intense situations... remember Guide when Dev saab became the sadhu!! 😛

As for the playback - I agree again... I think, he was one actor who was not type-cast and hence his songs were neither too... We are talking of Rafi and KK here...but he has some wonderful hits from the likes of Hemant'da, Talat and others too...

chatbuster thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: *Jaya

Personally, I used to love Dev saab the way he delivered hois dialogs esp in the romantic situations... The irritating bit I was refering to was more on the intense situations... remember Guide when Dev saab became the sadhu!! 😛

true, that was irritating. but then everyone has their forte. the sadhu-style was definitely not his. 😆

advil thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3

Some more song links sent by Manjudi...

Dukhi man mere sun mera kehna (It has KK words too... Kishore KUmar)

http://youtube.com/watch?v=uHCTQIE42J4

Chal ri sajni ab kya soche (Rafi)

saathi na koi manzil diya hai na koi mehfil (rafi)

http://youtube.com/watch?v=6xUMjYA5Vnk

Chal ri sajni ab kya soche (Mukesh)

http://youtube.com/watch?v=9AXrZSgugJs

de bhi chuke hum dil nazarana dil ka (Kishore Kumar & Geeta Dutt)

http://youtube.com/watch?v=v3fDMgCiX0I

advil thumbnail

true, that was irritating. but then everyone has their forte. the sadhu-style was definitely not his. 😆

😆😆😆 Actually, actors those days, each of them had their unique dialog delivery style. One thing that always intrigued me was, why he never ever wore any short sleeve shirt or rolled his sleeve up. His shirts either buttoned right upto the neck or he would have a muffler covering his throat.In Every film he had the typical full sleeved shirt, and the sleeves were never ever rolled up.

Acting wise, well i am not a movie watcher, but I liked guide. and most of the songs picturised on him are just awesome.

Edited by adi_0112 - 18 years ago
chatbuster thumbnail
isnt Baat Ek Raat Ki also his movie. i think there's a song from it that's great...
advil thumbnail

isnt Baat Ek Raat Ki also his movie. i think there's a song from it that's great...

Na tum humme jaano , na hum tume jaane , isn't that song from this film? 😃

Yeah it is also a Dev Anand Waheeda Rehman jodi film....

chatbuster thumbnail

right Adi. remember it now. i think it's an absolutely great number
*Jaya* thumbnail
Other than Guide, the other movie of Dev saab that had brilliant songs was Hum Dono... and what veriety... 😊

From the very pleasant and humming 'Main zindagi ka saath' to the most romantic 'Abhi na jaao chhodkar' to the very soulful 'Kabhi khud pe kabhi haalaat pe'... simply amazing 👏

Add to it the wonderful solos from Lata'ji in 'Allah Tero Naam' and 'Jahaan me aisa kaun hai', and you hav a musical feast... 😳

Jaidev just scored a priceless gem with 'Hum Dono'👍🏼
advil thumbnail

I also like Dheere dheere chal mast gagan mein ;

khoya khoya chaand also😳

Edited by adi_0112 - 18 years ago
*Jaya* thumbnail
And how about...

Dil ka bhanwar kare pukaar 😳