rahim bhai thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago
hello everyone
my name is Rahim . i live in Houston, Texas.
this is my first post.
anybody who has a little bit of clue about quality music and quality singing knows that Sharib should have been among the final 4 if not the winner.
The songs he sang in the last 2 months of this show were awesome.
i dont know who chooses the songs for these episodes, the producer, the mentors or the participants themselves, BUT the quality or the choice of songs have suck lately.
among the last few months how many of the songs that were sung STAND OUT in our memories???? only the ones sung by Sharib, black's song by UJANI. THAT'S IT.
I THINK their can be a much much better job done on song selection.
where the hell is the live orchestra???? 😡
i really really and truly miss the live music. THE orchestra was AWESOME.
lately all the decisions made by the producer about the show have sucked.
like getting rid of the orchestra
public voting
choice of songs
no ground rules for grading the competition.

also i think the exit of Sunanda and Sharib was conspiracy and pre arranged so JL can leave the show and go on with their split and they would not have to worry about sitting together again on the show or anywhere any time soon, other wise i think indian public is not that stupid to vote out 2 of the best singers.
i would put Sunanda only behind Nehira and i would PUT SHARIB BEHIND NOBODY.I THINK SHARIB WAS THE REAL LIFE ON THE PROGRAMME.
ALSO CAN NEHIRA please choose some inspiring and decent songs? i cant remember one song she sung that would stand in mwmory.
i have recorded several of these shows and i watch Sharib (lots of them), ratima (orhni), ujanni (choo kar dekha , zara zara aas paas chand rehta hai),
the whole A.R. rehman show,Hemai (ishq ki kaisi majboorian , sanchali (gustakhian hain), Abhjeet (isq ki aag lagi hai dil main) and paresh (ada hai hai ada and the one he sang infront of Salman Khan). love these performances.
ALSO LET me add this that RAJEEV AND TWINKLE should have been out long time AGO. they are nowhere close to the others.
sorry for the long post. i dont post much at all but i felt like posting since i am upset at Sharib's ouster and all the stupid stuff that the producer is doing to my favourite show.
maanas thumbnail
Rahim Bhai,

Your agony is definately justified and we all have same emotions towards the exit of Sharib. No doubt he was the front runner. As far as Nihira is concnerned I think she is best amongst everyone. She has many numbers to her credit which can be remembered but most recent ones Chupke se chupke se chori se chori and ofcourse beyond comparison the last one Hare Rama Hare Krishna which she performed in 2 different pitches.

Hope your agony reaches the organizers of the Show.

Sharib even though got voted out Ismail Darbar has promised him playback in forthcoming movie. So be assured he will remain in Music Industry for a long time.

Cheers
AnuPurva thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Hi eeryone!
I wrote a strong email to sa re ga ma..as follows..
(it contains only part of msg)
Hi..
Please stop this voting business. If you want to have talented singer then why you pleople are going on public voting who dont have that talent to judge singers. If public know talent and good singing abilities then why experinced, talented judges are there? why cant u start ur shows like previously where judgement was happening based on different types of rounds which were judging good talented singers..
Now i think whoever sings good that singer will be voted out... it looks same from all result.. raktima who is singing crystal clear voted out first.. then swananda.. now sharib...
why u pleople are playing with emotions of contestants...

"yeh public hai sab janati hai..."
no no no... i will say... "Jo achha dikhata hai.. voh bikata hai..."

I think it is time for people like me to say goodbye to this show besides the best part of the show is over.

I have never missed this show till now eventhough now i am not staying in india... But i am feeling very sad that i dont want to see this show anymore.. what will happen next.. another talented singer will be out may be Nihira...hemchandra...

there should be one more round between all 12 contestants and judges should be there...

Otherwise there are many people likeme who thinks same.. if u want u can see on india forum...

Khuda bachaye aapake sa re ga ma ko.. and contestant ko... :-(

coolsaints11 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I have a few points to make about Judges versus Public voting..I think a lot of mistakes have been made in both Juges and Public voting..
I think among male singers Abhijeet,Aishweriya, Vishwaas were better singers which were thrown out by the Judges..they all needed to be in the final round.

Public voting is going by the region you are from..Vinit and Twinkle from UP, the most populated area and they survived.
Bombay and Calcutta even though not states have lot of people who are into this program..so Nihira and Ujjani have a good chance to continue to survive..No doubt both are good singers too..the most affected will be Himani among all since she is from Chandigarh and asking for votes from Punjab and Haryana..There is lot of Gujrati vote which is obviously going to Paresh ..so he is safe.Rajiv is asking for Himachal and Nepali votes..Hemachandra looks like getting some votes from south and elsewhere..By this trend Vinit,Deobojit among boys and Nihira and Ujjani from girls will be in the final..that is just my guess...lets see what happens 😃
rahim bhai thumbnail
awesome purva_j.
i work in the evening shift and i use to look forward to go home and watch the show (recording)on monday and tuesday night but i dont feel like even recording it let alone worry about watching it.
what the hell is the ment0meter for? they dont count in the final verdict in any way ,shape or form so what is the purpose? r those meter to tell people how these singers sang? does the public dont know? if the public doesnt know the quality of ones performance than why in the hell they have given the most important decision in the public's hand.
this is gettnig way way ridiculous.
atleast fame gurukul maintained their consistency and teir rules until final four and the rules were the same until they final four. their is no doubt that challenge 2005 has lot more talented singers than famegurukul but they did much better job of producing and marketing of their product at the peak of their show than what sa re ga ma people are doing to their product at it peek. THIS time and stage of the challenge 2005 most people should be watching with great deal of interest BUT it is exactly the opposite and people are loosing intreat fast.
Edited by rahim bhai - 19 years ago
desiboston thumbnail

Originally posted by: rahim bhai

awesome purva_j.
i work in the evening shift and i use to look forward to go home and watch the show (recording)on monday and tuesday night but i dont feel like even recording it let alone worry about watching it.
what the hell is the ment0meter for? they dont count in the final verdict in any way ,shape or form so what is the purpose? r those meter to tell people how these singers sang? does the public dont know? if the public doesnt know the quality of ones performance than why in the hell they have given the most important decision in the public's hand.
this is gettnig way way ridiculous.
atleast fame gurukul maintained their consistency and teir rules until final four and the rules were the same until they final four. their is no doubt that challenge 2005 has lot more talented singers than famegurukul but they did much better job of producing and marketing of their product at the peak of their show than what sa re ga ma people are doing to their product at it peek. THIS time and stage of the challenge 2005 most people should be watching with great deal of interest BUT it is exactly the opposite and people are loosing intreat fast.

Agree totally. My 1st post as well. I have been following the program and the forum pretty closely for long time. Only singers worth staying are/were Shaarib and Nihira for the top 2 spots. Rest of them have had good and bad days. After Shaarib gone I am not sure who can be the new voice of India amongst the males. Rajeev (Dil se/***** se gaata hai), Hema doesn't even pronounce correctly!, Paresh comes a bit close, Vineet is not mature enough and slips multiple times, Debojit slips as well but is better than VIneet. Himani had her tantrums/falls/fever/low BP and what not earlier if people remember and has been the Sherni/Jackal of AS team. Not versatile but can sing off beat songs only like those of Abida Begum. Twinkle trys to get closer to Asha Bhonsle but Swananda was better. I also could not believe when Jagjit Singh said Aishwarya does not know how to hold mike, but he can be forgiven as he is insane after his son's death, divorce and drinking desi rum. Damn! the show sucks now. I am also sick of seeing Adeshs' childish acts. He is a Bipolar disorder and needs to be on meds as far as I feel (I am a doc). And lastly, we Indians have this tendency to follow Amrikans so Gajjuji tried to imitate American Idol and introduce the aspect of getting votes from lay people to promote a good singer. Not a surprise that good singers are voted out. In last 50 years we Indians have not yet elected an uncorrupt Neta, do we really deserve democracy...sorry I am pissed of and getting out of sur and taal. Sorry for the language...
Edited by desiboston - 19 years ago
riddler100 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
desiboston,
I can understand that you're upset with the way this show is going but please, please do try and express in words that are not offensive to others.
Thats all I will say in response...
rrajivv thumbnail
I could not agree more with Riddler. A point can be made without targetting anyone.
Even though there are inconsistencies in public voting I would like to add that there have been inconsistencies even with panel judges in the past. A flawless system is virtually impossible. Here at least if an erroneous judgment is made the public is to blame and not one or two people.
To rebut and earlier point, I think Jagjit Singh was a very good judge. In one of the episodes when Alka Yagnik mentioned that they are judging mainly from a playback perspective, Mr. Singh corrected her that they are only trying to elect the best singer, whether the voice suits playback or not. If the person has to sing only playback then the competition should be held in a recording room. I totally support that.
Coming back, in the end Sharib did come out winner, didn't he? He is going to sing a duet with Lata Mangeshkar under the guidance of Ismail Darbar. What more can a young artiste ask for? Also Jatin-Lalit inspite of going through a bad phase themselves have promised to continue to mentor Sharib. I feel sorry that JL are not able to promise assignments in the same fashion as the others... They have made splendid music in the past...I hope they continue to get chances inspite of the Shandilyas and the Vishal-Shekhars and the Pritams and the so many other young talents who have joined the party.
riddler100 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
thanks rrajiv!
I see now that at least one of desiboston's words has been "bleeped" out. Its his first post so I would like to give him the benefit of doubt.
I, myself, am enraged and disgusted with some of the voting patterns that we've seen in the recent past. still, that does not give me the right to use offensive language in a forum that we and our families frequent...
rahim bhai thumbnail

Originally posted by: riddler100

thanks rrajiv!
I see now that at least one of desiboston's words has been "bleeped" out. Its his first post so I would like to give him the benefit of doubt.
I, myself, am enraged and disgusted with some of the voting patterns that we've seen in the recent past. still, that does not give me the right to use offensive language in a forum that we and our families frequent...

i agree with this post but i can totally understand desiboston's furstrations also. every now an then we all are allowed to let the steam out. (not on a consistent basis though).
Edited by rahim bhai - 19 years ago