Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Sep 13, 2025 EDT
Anupamaa 12 Sept 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Aabeer Gulaal reviews and box office
The 71st National Film Awards are September 23 in Delhi
PARAYI AURAT 13.9
Tanya was fab today👏🏻
🏏T20 Asia Cup 2025 Ban vs Sri Lanka, 5th Match, Group B, Abu Dhabi🏏
Hello people 🤗
Yes, an update is here. Warning: It is NOT good and the SOLE PURPOSE of it being here is simply that I mentioned on the thread yesterday that I'd give an update today, albeit a short one. So that's why this is here though a much better and deserving place for this would be in the recycle bin 😳
I am still fighting my Writer's Blocks demon where I sit and stare blankly at what I've written, thinking what to write next 🤓 Hadd tau ye hai kay I couldn't even write easily during my midterm today. People were filling sheets upon sheets and I was rummaging for words and thinking of what to write next. I didn't even fill one 😕 😆
Enough of my whining and coming to the next bad news. The precap, which was included at the end of the last chapter is not in this update but will be in the next chapter 😲 I'm sorry but trust me, even I'm wondering what this chapter is doing here (if it deserves to be called a chapter, that is) 😆
Anyway, Happy Reading! Even though the Chapter is mostly sad. But then again, my writing reflects my mood and my mood can't be bright when my midterms are going on, right? I'm talking a lot today, aren't I? I'll shut up now! 😆
Enjoy! If you can. It's a challenge 😉
Chapter 30
Asad whipped his head up when he heard Zoya confessing in a small voice. "The love I got at your house Mr. Khan, it's making it almost unbearable for me to leave."
He stared blankly at her for a long time as he let her words sink in properly. Zoya didn't want to leave? How was that possible? Why was she saying this? Why could have possibly compelled her to say this?
Zoya raised her eyes and saw the skeptic look on Asad's face as if he was having a hard time digesting what she had said.
"You-you don't... want to go back?" He stammered incredulously after a while of shocked silence.
"No, I don't." She replied quietly, looking into his eyes. Her eyes contained a world of emotions that he couldn't decipher.
He was still thinking of an appropriate reply when she shook her head and let out a bitter laugh. "But just because I don't WANT to, doesn't mean I don't HAVE to, does it Mr. Khan?"
Asad found himself at a loss for words once again. What was he supposed to say now? She wanted to stay back because she loved his family. She couldn't continue living with him, pretending to be his 'wife' just so she could spend time with his family. How long will that work out?
Nevertheless, he found himself softly offering, "If you want, you can delay your flight back to New York. Stay here for some time more; be with Ammi, Ayaan and Tamatar... We don't get on each other's nerves that much anymore so I believe we can survive together a bit longer without killing each other off." He smiled slightly towards the end.
She gave him a sad smile in response, "Thanks for the offer, Mr. Khan but if I have to leave one day, why delay it? It's better that I leave at the end of this month because the longer I stay here, the closer I'll get to you people and the more difficult, it will be for me to leave."
Her words perplexed Asad even more. He tried to look into her soul through her expressive eyes but she kept them downcast. He had always taken it for granted that Zoya would want to leave his house at the first opportunity she gets, so the knowledge that she was reluctant to leave came as a shock. She had grown closer to his family than he had thought.
"Are you sure?" He asked slowly, almost uncertainly and she nodded with a quick smile in his direction, a smile, he noted instantly that failed to reach her eyes. They both lapsed into a companionable silence, lost in their own thoughts; with Asad mulling over what had been just traversed between them.
Zoya forced herself to look at her interlaced fingers on the table and refrain herself from speaking. She was deeply tempted to blurt out the truth, tell him that he was the reason she didn't want to leave but she checked herself. She was only going to stay if Asad wanted her. She didn't want to force herself on him by declaring her love for her... Besides, she knew that if Asad found out she had fallen in love with him, he would probably distance himself from her for the remaining days; hoping that being away from her will solve the problem. And this was something she didn't want. She wanted to treasure as many memories of him as she could in this limited span of time because once she left, his memories would be the only support she'll have to continue alone for the rest of her life. She knew she wouldn't be able to give anyone the space he had occupied in her heart. It will always remain his...
"Who would've thought you'd get so attached to my family and would be reluctant to leave?" Asad's voice broke into her thoughts. "Remember how you thought you couldn't spend a minute with me under the same roof? We both believed this month would be a torture for us. It wasn't so bad, was it?" He mused aloud.
"No, it wasn't." She agreed as she tried to get a grip on herself and return to normal.
"It probably was for you. You had to spend it with a rude and arrogant akdu you hated at first sight." He said in a joking voice to lighten the atmosphere.
"He didn't turn out to be as bad as I expected." She played along with him.
"I assume he turned out to be even worse then?" He suggested with a laugh and she smiled.
"No actually, quite surprisingly, he turned out to be better."
"Really?" Asad asked with an interested smile and she affirmed with a silent nod.
"That's hard to believe but nice to hear." He laughed as he signaled for the waiter to bring their bills. He paid for their food and they both got up to leave. Asad got busy with a call as they made their way back to their car and buckled in.
Once he had finished the call, he spoke up, "It was Saad. Did I tell you his wife got out of coma and is now, on her way to a speedy recovery?"
"No, you didn't. That's such great news." She smiled genuinely.
"I know. I was so worried about him."
"Is Saad okay now?"
"Okay? He's more than okay. You should see his happiness. It's tangible! He distributed chocolates and flowers all over the hospital." He laughed. Happiness for his friend was visible on his face as he pulled the car out of the driving lot of the mall.
"His wife had very little chances of survival, didn't she? I'm so glad that she got better."
"Yes she had almost none. The doctors are saying it's almost a miracle that she returned from the jaws of almost certain death. Saad, of course attributes this to his pure love." Asad shook his head in amusement.
"Pure love does have the power to achieve the unthinkable." Zoya agreed quietly and Asad glanced at her in surprise.
"So, do you now believe Mr. Khan, that all love stories don't have an unhappy ending?" She asked in a light tone.
He looked at her intently for a while before returning his gaze on the road. "What do you mean?"
"You know what I mean." She replied.
"No, I don't. Will you please elaborate?" His voice was carefully controlled.
"Mr. Khan... You said you despised love because it only gives a person pain, nothing else. I know you fear love because you believe that it cripples people and makes them depend on their other half but sometimes, love can be a person's greatest strength as well."
"Why are you telling me-" He began quietly.
"Because you need to know and understand this." She cut him just as quietly. "I know you do believe in love, Mr. Khan but you fear it because of the control it exercises over people-"
"Zoya, I don't want to talk about it, please." He told her gently and she nodded reluctantly.
Almost as a second thought, he asked hesitantly, "Do you believe in true love and destiny? That we got married because... we were meant to be together and stuff like that?"
"Yes I believe that but we are not meant to be together, are we? We're filing for a divorce by the end of the month." She tried to keep her voice level as she stared out of her window.
"Once we get... separated, do you think you'll find anyone... you know, to spend your life with?" Asad finally asked the question that had been clawing inside his head for days now.
"It's not that you don't find anyone to spend your life with, Mr. Khan. You find them quite easily. Only problem is that you don't find that one special person with whom 'your heart' wants to spend your life." She told him a quiet, calm voice tinged with a sadness that was almost palpable as she turned away from the window to look straight into his eyes.
He felt something tug at his heart as he averted his gaze back to the road.
"Hey. You still up?" Zoya asked peeking into Zaroon's room, late that night after they returned from their shopping spree.
"Yeah, come on in. How was your shopping with Mr. Khan?" He asked her in his usual cheerful manner as she dropped herself on the bed next to him. He noticed at once that she looked subdued as he snapped his laptop shut.
She signed deeply. "Great. You wouldn't believe how he showered his money on me. It was as if I was the male during our shopping because I was the one asking him to stop spending." She shook her head and Zaroon chuckled.
"Now you are one lucky soul, girl."
"Not so much if you think about it." She contradicted him in a low voice. Zaroon instantly knew what she was referring to and he swung an arm around her shoulders in a comforting manner. She rested her head on his shoulder, absorbing the soothing feeling he always seemed to be emanating. Zaroon waited for a while thinking of the best way to break the gloomy news he had to deliver.
"Zoe, you got a letter from the Indian Embassy today as well." He finally spoke up, sighing heavily as he did.
"What? Why?"
"You came her on a month-long Visit Visa and you never applied for the extension... You had to apply for a spousal Visa to stay here, which you didn't." He told her gently as he handed her an envelope.
"And?" She asked him absent-mindedly, too exhausted to take interest, too worn out by all the emotions and the feelings she was repressing.
"The last date for the application of extension passed today. Now you have to leave India on the 31st whether you like it or not." He broke the news softly and watched with a heavy heart as his friend's face turned pale as if someone had sucked all the blood out of her, leaving her ashen face and lifeless. He pulled her in for a hug and held her tightly as she finally let her guard down and dissolved into tears. He moved her hair off her face and whispered soothingly, holding her to him as sobs wrecked her thin frame. She cried herself to exhaustion and finally drifted off to sleep. With a heavy heart, Zaroon covered her with his blanket and went to sleep in the TV room.
He had never felt this helpless in decades.
Asad descended the stairs and found Zaroon sprawled on the TV room couch with his arm draped over his face. Asad sensed that he was awake and hence asked.
"Where is Zoya?"
"In the guest room." Came the reply in a barely controlled voice without any change in his position. Asad was surprised at how cold Zaroon's voice sounded. Seems like something's bothering Mr. Always-Cheerful-For-No-Reason-Whatsoever, Asad mused to himself before asking, "What is she doing there?"
"Sleeping." Came the curt, slightly muffled reply, bordering on rudeness.
"What? Why is she sleeping there? Has she gone crazy?" Asad's tone took on a sharp edge as his hand nimbly started massaging his temple. What did Zoya think she was doing, sleeping in Zaroon's room? Was she out of his senses? What will his family think if they found out? He thanked God that at least Zaroon had the decency to come in the TV room instead.
Asad threw another glare at the unresponsive man before him and turned to make his way to the guest room when Zaroon finally moved his arm from over his face and stood up, coming to his eye level. Asad was taken aback seeing his tightly-clenched jaw and his stiff stance, which was something very unlike him. Deep sadness veiled under a thin layer of fierce anger was easily readable in his expressive eyes. Asad's forehead creased in confusion.
"She didn't sleep there deliberately. She was exhausted after the shopping and dozed off in my room." Zaroon bit out, his lips barely moving and a muscle twitching prominently in his jaw.
Asad's anger shimmered slightly on having Zaroon talking to him in such an acidic manner. He clenched his fists and snapped. "You don't need to take out your undirected anger on me."
"Believe me, Mr. Khan, it is anything but undirected." He gave a sudden derisive laugh.
"What do you mean by that?"
"Leave it. I'd rather not talk to you right now." He mumbled almost to himself as he dropped back on the couch, running a hand through his already tousled hair trying to calm himself down, knowing he shouldn't interact with Asad when he was so upset. He didn't want to end up saying anything that he would regret later.
Asad shook his head on his erratic behavior and made to turn away when Zaroon spoke up again. "It's better you leave her there and not wake her up."
"Don't tell me what to do and what not to do with my wife." Asad retorted annoyed.
"Your wife, huh Mr. Khan? For how long? 4 more days?" He sneered.
"It's none of your business." Asad bit out, suddenly furious. Zaroon's words stinging him in a way he had not imagined.
"It damn well is, Mr. Khan!"
"No, it's not! No one gave you the right to interfere in my and Zoya's personal life!" Asad's voice got low in a foreboding manner.
"Wherever Zoya is concerned, it makes it my business." Zaroon replied with just as much venom. "Had you guys been properly married, I would've never interfered but you're not! This marriage is nothing but a sham and you know it, Mr. Khan."
"Even if it is, what has it got to do with you?"
"Everything. It will be me who will have to support and take care of Zoya once we go back."
Asad glared at Zaroon, his chest heaving with pent up anger as he moved closer and jabbed a finger at Zaroon's chest threateningly.
"Whatever will happen in the future, we'll see it then. Right now, she is my wife and don't you DARE come between us. Do you think I don't notice you blatantly flirting with her right under my nose? Zoya calls you her best friend but I've noticed you trying to be something more than that to her... I have silently endured it just because you're a guest at our house and because I know Zoya won't like it if I fought with you but I'm telling you, I won't tolerate that from now on. Give me one more reason and I'll break your face, you hear me?" His voice was reduced to a menacing whisper by the end.
"You'll break my face?" Zaroon gave a mocking laugh, completely unfazed. "Wow Mr. Khan, I'm very impressed that you actually have the audacity to say this after hurting her the way you have."
Asad was struck dumb by the way Zaroon said it so indisputably and desolately that he found himself unable to react.
"I might not have been the best friend, Mr. Khan but at least I have never been a source of her tears... which you are going to continue to be even after she leaves this house." He said ominously as he turned on his heels and strode out of the front door to the gardens, leaving a perplexed and guilty Asad behind.
With heavy steps and an equally heavy heart, Asad entered the guest room to find Zoya curled up in one corner of the bed. A wave of guilt hit him when he saw her tear-streaked sleeping face. For the first time, he noticed how tired and weary she looked. How very vulnerable. As if, she was tired of fighting with the world and hiding her sorrows; tired of walking around with a fake dazzling smile on her lips.
He gently clasped her hand between both of his and whispered a heartfelt sorry for all the hurt and pain he had put her through, knowing or unknowingly. As his eyes lowered in shame of their own account, they fell on the envelope in her other hand and he gently freed it from her grasp to read the letter inside. A quick glance told him the reason behind her distress. She had to leave India at all costs now, whether she liked it or not.
He suddenly became aware of the sinking feeling that had erupted out of the blue in his stomach and realized that her going away wasn't settling well with him either. Why? He didn't know. Maybe he had become closer to her than he thought. Even after trying with all his heart to remain unaffected by her, she had somehow managed to make a small place in his heart for herself. And to his surprise, this didn't come as a shock. Maybe he had realized somewhere at the back of his mind that it would be impossible to live with such a pure-hearted and genuine girl and not develop some decent feelings for her. This was bound to happen. He had come to respect her. He had begun to enjoy her company. Only thing was that he wasn't the one to take feelings into consideration. He always thought logically and feelings were anything but that.
Besides there was that one month deal. He now knew that Zoya was reluctant to go back but he also knew that there wasn't any logical reason for her to stay longer. It was his family, she had gotten close to, not him. Rationally thinking, he was her husband and she was attached to his family through him. He was the link between them and Zoya, but he was also well-aware that his tie was Zoya was nothing but a pretense. For how long would they keep on this little act of being a happily married couple just so she could spend time with his family? Not very long. Zoya was right. It was time for her to leave. To go back and continue her life in New York and he expected himself to do the same. But would that be easy? They couldn't deny that this one month had changed their life drastically. Would they ever return to the way they were before?
He shook his head to return to present and gently called Zoya to wake up. She was too deeply asleep to respond so he took to shaking her lightly but with the same unsuccessful results as before. Giving up, he gathered her in his arms and carried her to his room, thinking absent-mindedly who would take care of her like this once she returned to US and how accustomed he had become to carrying her around when he never gotten intimate with any girl in his life. As he lowered her on the bed, he found her completely unwilling to let go of his shirt that she had tightly bunched up in her fist. He tried to pry her hands off him when she spoke in her sleep.
"Don't. Don't leave. I'm tired of being alone. So tired." She mumbled in such a helpless and broken voice that his hands stopped midway.
"Sshh." He whispered in a pacifying voice.
"So alone." She continued mumbling.
"Sshe it's alright Zoya. I'm right here. Not going anywhere. I'm right here beside you. You're not alone" He whispered soothingly, moving her hair from her restless eyes. His own eyes reflected his anguish as he quietly lowered himself on the bed next to her, maintaining a respectful distance and then covered her hand on his chest with his large one, drawing soothing circles to calm her down.
She held on to him all night.
Asad opened his sleepy eyes and the first thing he became conscious of, was the blissful feeling of contentment. All at once, he became aware of Zoya's slow, warm breaths on his neck and he stiffened reflexively for a while before looking down. Zoya's face was burrowed in the crook of his neck and her hand was still dutifully clenching his shirt as she slept soundly.
Asad watched her silently as his thoughts raced ahead. Why was he feeling contented? Logically thinking, shouldn't he be awkward being in such close proximity with a girl? He was surprised that it was never the case with Zoya. Her proximity always made him feel good. Her touch was soothing and he found himself reveling in it...That was the thing with her; she always seemed to emanating warmth. Her touch was like sunlight on a wintry morning, always leaving a warm, fuzzy contented feeling behind; dissipating his fears and worries. He wondered how perfect life would be if he woke up like this every morning.
He shook his head. What was he thinking? What will Zoya think if she knew he was thinking like this about her? He mentally smacked himself and told himself to focus.
He gently pried her fingers from his shirt and gingerly moved away, taking care not to make any sudden movements that would disturb her sleep. He went to the washroom and was just changing into his track-suit when his cell started ringing. Not wanting the ringing to disturb Zoya's sleep, he quickly exited the bathroom to attend it first, wearing only his black track-pants, unperturbed because Zoya was asleep. Or so he thought.
Zoya could no longer ignore the piercing ringing tone in her sleep and was just about to open her eyes and force herself out of bed when she heard Asad answering his cell. Thanking her stars mentally, she remained with her eyes closed, waiting to drift back to sleep listening to Asad's conversation vaguely when suddenly, something caught her attention.
Asad's voice. He was talking so sweetly with the person on the other end that Zoya had a hard time keeping her eyes shut and pretending to be asleep while listening attentively.
"You've been missing me?" She heard him ask with a laugh and then add. "I missed you too."
Zoya almost forgot how to breathe. Whom was Asad talking to? It sure as hell couldn't be Prasad. She opened her eyes a wink and saw Asad strolling leisurely in the room, wearing only his track-pants and armed with a pleasant smile as he talked. She found herself seething, suddenly burning with a mixture of frustrated annoyance and anger. Never had Asad talked to her in such a sweet manner as he was talking right now and she was positive, he wasn't talking this sweetly with a man.
"How can I ever forget you?" He questioned in a rhetorical tone. "I know you have every right to complain and I'm really very sorry. I haven't been coming to the park lately for jogging because well, I've been busy." He explained patiently in a soft voice, his eyes twinkling. It took all of Zoya's restraint to not jump out of bed and smash his phone on the wall.
"Okay, I'm coming straight away and I'll make amends. Umm... Let's see, how about I take you to your favorite Ice cream parlor afterwards?" He paused to listen to the answer and smiled even more widely. "Sounds great? Okay, okay. As many scoops as you want. Done." He laughed amiably.
"Yes yes, I'm leaving this instant. See you soon, Tanveer. Take care." He laughed as he ended the call. Zoya couldn't believe her ears. Tanveer? Asad was actually talking this sweetly and unreservedly with a girl. She was too shocked to react.
Asad turned towards the bed and seemed startled on seeing Zoya awake, staring at him with wide, blank eyes.
"Umm... you're up already?" He asked in a manner, which quite obviously showed how awkward he was. Clearly, he hadn't been expecting her to listen to this conversation.
He sauntered to the bathroom and emerged a minute later, wearing his full tracksuit and then quickly sat on the edge of the bed to put his sneakers on.
"I'm going for umm... jogging. I'll be back in an hour or two." He told her with a quick smile and exited the room.
Zoya remained frozen the way she was. Asad was involved with another girl? No, how can that be possible. Tanveer was most probably just a friend he had made in the park, she tried to reason. But then again, his manner of speaking suggested that he was quite close and unreserved with her. He didn't even talk this nicely with Zoya, who was his wife.
A fearful thought gripped Zoya. What if she was wrong about Asad? What if his uninterested behavior towards her wasn't because he feared falling in love? Maybe, he already was in love... In love with this Tanveer.
Zoya felt as if her world was falling apart.
The End!
Yes, Tanveer has finally maro-fied entry in my FF. I don't know why and how I ended up writing this errant thought that just planted itself in my head while typing. Since I couldn't give you guys the punch, I believed a little surprise was in order. Before you start wailing, I assure you my Tanveer track won't be dragged. AT ALL 😃
Plus, I now you guys might say that the chapter wasn't that bad and all, but since I couldn't give you guys the promised precap in this one, I consider it not-so-good, bordering on fazool 😳
Love, (Though you probably hate me right now)
Fari ❤️
Asya FF: Rendezvous with Honor Asad Ahmed Khan is the prodigal son. All the tabloids say so. Coming from an affluent family in Bhopal, he's done...
[NOCOPY] Hello everyone! Happy to be here. I was searching for an opportunity to be here with all of you as a member after a long time as writer...
Writer - ExoticDisaster | Graphicer - Oh_nakhrewaali | Theme - Bag Unfolding Yesterday Zoya coughed, pulling the scarf higher over her nose and...
This is one of the entries I had submitted for Valentine's day contest - A Bag full of love. cover : oh_nakhrewaali | writer : missFiesty_69 |...
This is one of the entries I had submitted for Valentine's Day contest - A bag full of love . cover : ExoticDisaster aka Shiri | writer :...