ilyhu123 thumbnail
Hey, Asyaians <3

I am of African-Arab Descent.😛 Im not familiar with some Hindi Terms. I mean, i grew up watchig bollywood films, but I dont feel that Bollywood potrays true hindi culuture.

AnywayS, I noticed that shows from last year, they used the term Roka alot, like ISS Pyaar Ko Kya Naam Doon, Ek Hazaron Mein Meri Behna Hai. However this year they use the term Sagai like for Qubool Hai, and other shows. I want to know if they mean the same thing, or if they have maybe different cultural meaning.

Yazzi thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
I don't know what Roka is specifically, since I think it's a punjabi wedding ritual but it's different to Sagai which is an engagement, and the term hasn't been used in Qubool Hai because Roka isn't an islamic ritual.
RACHA90 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
I think they mean the same thing..engagement...but some parts of India use Sagai and some use Roka...there is also Mangni

PS: I am an Arab too...where are you from?
JAHHNAVI thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Welcome.. Roka is a ceremony where would be bride and groom are CHOSEN for each other (either arranged by parents or couple themselves)!!! Sagaai is the next big official announcement and after that the couple are officially engaged! They exchange rings!! In QH there was no Roka and only Sagaai as rings were exchanged!! Even in real life Roka is a very small custom.. Sometimes not practiced at all.. Where parents may casually or formally announce the upcoming wedding!! Roka is an age old practice coz Sagaai (exchange of rings) is not part of traditional indian culture!! It's been adopted from western culture!! Roka has its roots in India.. Parents used to announce that they've chosen a partner for their child with Roka ceremony And exchanged sweets, jewelry and clothes to basically seal the deal in an arranged marriage!! 😉
JAHHNAVI thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: -Racha-

I think they mean the same thing..engagement...but some parts of India use Sagai and some use Roka...there is also Mangni

Roka and Mangni are the same.. Mangni is more of a punjabi term for the same 😛 😊
shesherkobita thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: chiknichameli07

Welcome.. Roka is a ceremony where would be bride and groom are CHOSEN for each other (either arranged by parents or couple themselves)!!! Sagaai is the next big official announcement and after that the couple are officially engaged! They exchange rings!! In QH there was no Roka and only Sagaai as rings were exchanged!! Even in real life Roka is a very small custom.. Sometimes not practiced at all.. Where parents may casually or formally announce the upcoming wedding!! Roka is an age old practice coz Sagaai (exchange of rings) is not part of traditional indian culture!! It's been adopted from western culture!! Roka has its roots in India.. Parents used to announce that they've chosen a partner for their child with Roka ceremony And exchanged sweets, jewelry and clothes to basically seal the deal in an arranged marriage!! 😉

Very nice explanation... Thank you very much.
ilyhu123 thumbnail

Originally posted by: chiknichameli07

Thank You for the explanation. This makes since 😃

ilyhu123 thumbnail

Originally posted by: -Racha-

Im mixed on both sides of my family. I was born in Kenya grew up in U,S, my mom is half arab half Tanzanian, and my dad is half somali, Half Tanzanian.