Mulan08 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

@the parts in pink- Please do not generalize Indian womanhood. We are not a different specie, but very much normal human beings with normal human needs of dignity and mutual respect.
Suffering in silence is no solution to any problem. It just gives rise to morbidity and gloom, resulting in someone like Ambaji!
Retaliation need not always be crude, one can be tactful and ensure a place of dignity in their new family. Of course, it is a struggle, but then suffering in silence is an even greater struggle.

All a woman needs to know is to be justly aware of her dignity and pride, and then stand her own before her in laws, without letting the in laws get away with the thought that they did a huge favor to the girl by getting their son married to her!
starz4me thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mulan08

But have u seen that happenning in all indian households ???.........we say india is diverse.......but is it really ???......other then those hi-tech cities.................i think its still the same..............n its a very rare case.......where (as u have stated).............' Mutual adjustment is more practical and results in all round happiness. '
Edited by starz4me - 14 years ago

starz4me thumbnail

Please do not generalize Indian womanhood. We are not a different specie, but very much normal human beings with normal human needs of dignity and mutual respect.
Suffering in silence is no solution to any problem. It just gives rise to morbidity and gloom, resulting in someone like Ambaji!
Retaliation need not always be crude, one can be tactful and ensure a place of dignity in their new family. Of course, it is a struggle, but then suffering in silence is an even greater struggle.

All a woman needs to know is to be justly aware of her dignity and pride, and then stand her own before her in laws, without letting the in laws get away with the thought that they did a huge favor to the girl by getting their son married to her!

See....Exactly..........u r saying what i meant............n like u said in the bold...........it is a struggle.........n that is what Mona is going thru.
And one more thing dear...(please mind that i dnt use 'Dear' in sarcasm......like understood by April2007)...............not all girls are tactful..........some girls are reserved........shy..........n kinda not that smart.........so in real life also......if we try to do somethings.........then its not necessary that.....it'll have the result as we expected.............but sometimes......it backfires.................And i think....thats what happens with Mona..........she tries to do good.............n it backfires.
It happens to most people in real life also.
starz4me thumbnail

Originally posted by: April2007

India is very diverse, from traditional to very modern. I don't see confident Indian women the way Mona's is portrayed.

I fail to understand your need to call me deary sarcastically like Phui does in the show...it is clear your culture and background is very different than mine, you don't agree with me so be it..

Why do u think....everything that others say to u......is used in sarcasm ??
I write dear, deary, jaan, yaar, hun....................most of the time to other members also.............but never used it sarcastically.
And i thought we are not in an argument here...........we are just giving our POV's to each other........why do u keep taking this to ur heart ??
Please believe me......no one is talking about u...............its about Mona....we are talking...............n whatever i said in my previous posts...........was about Mona................except my cousin thing.
And i must say.....its a very good thread that u started........so obviously people with both understandngs.....will coment in this thread.
Please do not take anything u read.....personally..............it is about show.....lets keep it that way.
Mulan08 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: starz4me

I understand your frustration with the way Indian society is, but that is not reason enough to sit down quietly and let things be. We all can be independent in our own way, it can be small or big, but it is a very negative thought to suffer injustice of any sort. We need to at least correct the misapprehension that it is all the girl's fate to adjust and suffer. Of the two struggles, I prefer the one where one has a voice, and has hope to live a better life.

It is this mindset that led Nisha Sharma to rebel against the dowry system that led to a chain reaction of inspiring girls even in villages in interiors of our country. So,hope works, and shows good results in the long term. If one is already willing to suffer then everybody will make sure that the suffering is doubled, no?

starz4me thumbnail

I understand your frustration with the way Indian society is, but that is not reason enough to sit down quietly and let things be. We all can be independent in our own way, it can be small or big, but it is a very negative thought to suffer injustice of any sort. We need to at least correct the misapprehension that it is all the girl's fate to adjust and suffer. Of the two struggles, I prefer the one where one has a voice, and has hope to live a better life.

It is this mindset that led Nisha Sharma to rebel against the dowry system that led to a chain reaction of inspiring girls even in villages in interiors of our country. So,hope works, and shows good results in the long term. If one is already willing to suffer then everybody will make sure that the suffering is doubled, no?

I know.......n i think.....as indians........most of the girls...(not all).........might feel real bad for how things are in india.
I agree to whatever u said.........its true.......that independence is something girls shud go after.........its better for thier self esteem....and thier self-confidence.
But adjusting themselves in a different household...........i dont think that'll take away thier independence......n neither does it mean suffering.......infact that'll help them later on.........as once they get to know the routines.......n make a place in everyone's heart...........they can rule the house by making it thier own.........i dont understand why girls think of thier husband's house as thier sasural......is that not thier home as well ??
What does the mothers say to thier kids............'beta yeh aapki mamma ka sasural hai..............ya.............beta yeh hamara ghar hai.'
I think becoming a mother.....(excluding the pregnancy stage)............and becoming a new bahu........have atleast one similarity............we get responsibilities........from the first day on.
Wudnt a mother make adjustments to her life........when she has a kid..............so what the big deal for a girl to adjust...........in her new house...................A mom wud never think of her independence being at stake.
So whats the big deal???............i mean i'm sucha girl.........who have liberal thoughts......but along with that i'm rooted to the customs..........n traditions.
When i get married into a different culture household..........i'll respect thier culture......n try to follow thier customs..........but i'll have my own too.
And that is what Mona is doing.........she is still the same punjabi girl...........who when didnt know how to wear a sari..........continued wearing salwar kameez.
Getting up in the morning as other people......does not take away her independence...........helping with household chores......does not take away independence.
My father always says...........'whereever u go.........u've to adapt according to the atmosphere......that'll make ur life easy..........otherwise......u'll get mad at the single breeze.'
(When in Rome.......do what Romans do.)
But yeah............in-laws like Mona's are tough but can be easily manipulated..........but when things dont workout in our favor then we've to keep continuing.......keep trying..........wont one do that at thier jobs.......at schools.........so whats the big deal about trying that at husband's house.
Nothing personal hun.........its just my POV.😊................BTW i'm Sonal........what's ur name ?
kutegal thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

How is it a new culture for the in-laws??? I mean I understand for marriage ceremony and customs it might be new culture but once they get home.......ITS ALL SAME AS BEFORE FOR THEM ?? Its the girl who is at new place where she is suppose to adjust. I completely agree about how in-laws should adjust as well..... but this is not how it works in real life!! its always bahus who atleast have to make first few steps towards adjustment.....Like MONA darling is doing.

412535 thumbnail
what can i write u guys wrote enough for me to argue but i also think the writers sometimes make it look like girls are innocence and vunerable and sometimes so dumb that they forget htis is 21st century this kind of situation doesnt happen this days specially girls have no idea about the intimacy between husband and a wife.she is old to act so young and clueless.
April2007 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: kutegal

I have seen many decent inlaws changing their ways to accommodate their new daughter-in-laws and many daughter-in-laws choosing not to live in joint family due to abusive in-laws and Also, many daughter-in-law taking revenge when MIL becomes old and cannot dominate everybody. All of this happens in India.

Mona is terrified, extremely afraid and she is walking on egg shells. She is not learning any new culture, all she is learning to be afraid and how to live under tyranny.

I have many times come across Indian couples in US the husband wants to go back to India but wife doesn't, she has tasted the freedom and doesn't want to deal with dictatorial abusive in law, many times she tells husband u go back, I will stay in US in the end they don't go back..this is real life too.

Edited by April2007 - 14 years ago