Mughals - JA(REAL) is not Fiction-Pt4 - Author/TM's note on Pg1 and 91 - Page 31

MaddyO thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: history_geek

Maddy, you always have questions ready.😆.

Are you asking history of "sari" .😕.?

But, i have read something that 'sari' was "invented" by the wife of Chandragupta Maurya named Helen. She was the daughter of Greek general Seleucus Nector, one of Alexander's generals. Alexander returned back from India around 325 B.C. , giving in charge of the territories of North-West India upto river Indus, provinces of Baluchistan, etc. to Seleucus. He married his daughter to Chandragupta.

Now, it is said that, she used to wear her Greek chiton/shiffon (?. i don't know more😕.?) around her waist and then took over around her shoulder. So, this style of 'sari' is much more matching to the present style of sari wearing. So, credit is given to her.

My personal thought.. (common sense.! )

Till now i have developed a very strong perception that, the Europeans and other historians, have tried to give more credit to themselves for ALMOST everything. Example: Take achievements of Aryabhatta in Maths, the invention of number system, the first surgery performed by Charaka.. Many examples are there from history. They are not credited or less acknowledged for these feats...

Regarding 'sari', i think before Helen also women must be wearing sari only. May be Helen's dressing style matched with modern dressing . So, she got the credit.! Also, we have some statues showing same dressing style, from the Gandhara School of Art, which developed later.

Another one-->, In Belan Valley, near Allahabad, U.P., India(Indus-Valley Civilization), evidences of earliest rice cultivation were found, dating back to 5500 B.C. . But, the historians did not agree to it.😆...And, hence, China holds the tag for earliest rice cultivation..!.. (if u want search yourself, u will understand i am saying truth only.😆.)

I think till now you must have got to know, atleast, what havoc has been wrecked on history on MUZ by some biased historians/fanatics (don't forget Aurangzeb). And, yes history is something not different from POLITICS.😉
I am just sharing mine, lizzy's and KDR81's experience with you. Coz we have read a lot. And, after reading only you will BELIEVE how easily facts can be twisted. Some examples are in this answer only..

As for Jodha/Hindu Begum, i feel i gave a very nice explanation on page-1 of this thread, about some 'ghagra' type of dress..!..You may read once more that post. You all have made me less of a science major, and more a history student.!..

BTW, handling this 'sari' department is not my domain.😉.😆. KDR81 will answer better..?.?

Abhay, well now how can ANYBODY not have more questions reading your posts, they make us think and you should agree that leads to more questions

I trust you, Kamal are telling the truth, that is why ask so many questions! One goes where they are sure of getting authentic answers

I am sure 'sari' existed all over ancient India only the length and draping style was different
The way Helen draped it like you said, they used to call them 'Toga's' used from since Julius Ceaser's times (or before)

I just wondered if your archives have also mention of 'sari' since Mugals lived in Agra (not Rajasthan) it is possible Hindu women there wore saris.

Now can I help if my reply lead to somebody else asking another question?!!!😉

KDR81 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: MaddyO

Abhay, well now how can ANYBODY not have more questions reading your posts, they make us think and you should agree that leads to more questions

I trust you, Kamal are telling the truth, that is why ask so many questions! One goes where they are sure of getting authentic answers

I am sure 'sari' existed all over ancient India only the length and draping style was different
The way Helen draped it like you said, they used to call them 'Toga's' used from since Julius Ceaser's times (or before)

I just wondered if your archives have also mention of 'sari' since Mugals lived in Agra (not Rajasthan) it is possible Hindu women there wore saris.

Now can I help if my reply lead to somebody else asking another question?!!!😉

Hello Maddy,
See how Abhay "Phasaoed " me in the folds of "Sari" ..!!😆 Anyways, I agree with ur guess ...yes , Sari did exist before Helen , but only in different Avatar...!!

However,the Western India was not much into Sari...They had their Ghagra as their main attire
...So Jodha/HK wearing Sari is not a known instance...

But they did import clothing material from Bengal and South India...After all, these two areas were famous for their fabrics...(Linen, Malmal,Musleen, Kaanjivarams/similar heavy ornamental fabrics , Deccan, Burhanpur or Hyderabad Cotton etc).
In fact Akbar and his Son Jahangir were known for their love of textiles of different fashions. They used fashionable "Jama"s made with these fancy materials...😊

Hope ur question is somewhat answered.

Regards,
Kamal
history_geek thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by tvnamratha

@abhay:Thanks a ton for ur effort

Im just going through the"GREAT MOUGHAS"an YT video dere dey shown

1)Hira was sent to akbar for marriage unlike d serial were jallu gng to amer for wedding

2)does dere marriage performed in hindu or mughols rituals

3)IS noor jahan is very powerful in political matters,even in some of thr articles dat she is very cunning,is dat true

4)noor jahan as made coins by using her name printed on it

5)is akbars favourite writier Abul fazal was killed by jahangir,y did he killed him

6)really a competion uheld between Akbar grandson n jahanger to became next succersor of Akbar
Is all dese incidents are real????

And one more thing im nt able to digest MA's hand in ruqs miscarriage

Q1. Heera was NOT sent to Akbar. As per the 'talk' between Bharmal and Akbar, where Chugtai Khan was a mediator, Akbar decided the place of wedding as Sambhar, in Rajputana. Akbar was near/in Ajmer at that time. Heera and Akbar BOTH came to Sambhar. Sambhar is between Ajmer and Amer. So, there's nothing like Heera was sent anywhere. In this regard, the events on the show were fine. Few days back same question was answered. I am re-quoting the comment.

Originally posted by history_geek

Their marriage did happen in Rajputana only, as shown in the show.😊.

Originally posted by KDR81

Yes, In Sambhar...😃
And for the thought that probably Akbar was feelingless or something...Not at all... He was a human being with goodness and flaws ...and he was NOT a Moron.He was a man with extra-ordinary taste...and there 's ample proofs of that even today.And he did have feelings after all...quite manifested ones in fact...Sometimes , actions speak more than words of Docs...

Originally posted by history_geek

Plz Do not believe in such documentaries..
Akbarnama (i have read it.😊), says that marriage happened in Sambhar on 6th February, 1562.

It was not that Akbar said, i would not go to Amer or anything like that. Instead, it Says - "Akbar consented with Bharmal and promised that he would love to visit Amer."

The venue of marriage was Sambhar in Rajputana. And, chugtai khan was the match - maker.

We have researched a lot on them. And, do agree with that marriage on show to be fairly true. Yes, that war happened, and Bharmal's son and nephews were taken hostages by Sharifuddin. Only after that, Bharmal went to Akbar, where Chugtai Khan played a match-maker, as shown.

P.S -> Digital media has distorted the history of Akbar to a large extent.

Q2. Married in both customs probably, and for that reason we have 2 wedding dates. Even they had a 'jashn' / celebration after marriage, as shown on the show. Nice documentation of marriage is given in chronicles.
Just for info :: --> They took 3 days to reach Agra from Sambhar after their marriage, and finally reached on 10/11 Feb 1562.

Q3. Yes, Nur Jehan was powerful and clever. But, we have proofs for MUZ as well. See this link, where MUZ prevailed over Nur Jehan.
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/97808719
There are more events where MUZ prevailed over Nur Jehan, we have not written till now.

Q4. Yes, she did so, i mean coins were minted in that manner.

Q5. Abul Fazl was not killed by Jahangir himself, but by a friend of Jahangir on his orders, Vir/Bir Singh Bundela, the Raja of Orchha, when Abul was returning from Deccan.

Q6. Yes. The tussle for throne took place between Prince Khusrav and Jahangir.

Please digest Maham's role in miscarriages. She is BLAMED in chronicles for all these evil deeds. She was a harem cum political conspirator. Read about her role here..

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/95903050
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/98473841
Edited by history_geek - 11 years ago
MaddyO thumbnail

Originally posted by: KDR81

Hello Maddy,
See how Abhay "Phasaoed " me in the folds of "Sari" ..!!😆
Anyways, I agree with ur guess ...yes , Sari did exist before Helen , but only in different Avatar...!!

However,the Western India was not much into Sari...They had their Ghagra as their main attire
...So Jodha/HK wearing Sari is not a known instance...

But they did import clothing material from Bengal and South India...After all, these two areas were famous for their fabrics...(Linen, Malmal,Musleen, Kaanjivarams/similar heavy ornamental fabrics , Deccan, Burhanpur or Hyderabad Cotton etc).
In fact Akbar and his Son Jahangir were known for their love of textiles of different fashions. They used fashionable "Jama"s made with these fancy materials...😊

Hope ur question is somewhat answered.

Regards,
Kamal

Line in blue😃😆
Thanks for the reply, I think Ghagara was main attire for Gujrath, Rajasthan regions but other Western Southern region states only wore saris even in ancient days, for example 9 yard saris in Maharashtra, in South they use different draping style but similar long materials

I guess with approaching summer we might get to see Jodha Jalal in fashionable different attires - for those days
😃😃

KDR81 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Line in blue😃😆
Thanks for the reply, I think Ghagara was main attire for Gujrath, Rajasthan regions but other Western Southern region states only wore saris even in ancient days, for example 9 yard saris in Maharashtra, in South they use different draping style but similar long materials

I guess with approaching summer we might get to see Jodha Jalal in fashionable different attires - for those days
😃😃

Well Maddy,
Yes, The Kutch adjacent areas' main attire was Ghagra ( Skirt type lowers), But Maharashtra part that u mentioned was restricted more to the Marathwada (where we see the 9 yard interesting" Nuavari" drape😊...and not very much towards the Konkans...(The Konkani style too had a lower part cloth draping but it hardly can be called a "Sari"....😉)

And if u move more towards lower of erstwhile Rajputana whose borders were till Gujarat , then it actually comes more under South India and not exactly Western India...Hence as I already stated,Ancient Western Part was more into Ghagra, Sharara And Garara..😊... and The East and South were specifically into Sari style...Hence chances of seeing Jodha in Sari is quite thin...😆

Regards,
Kamal
MaddyO thumbnail
Abhay & Kamal

I think your threads should be moved to front page of the JA forum with those permanent threads on page 1

You can make cover page kind with giving links to all your threads,then go on adding new thread links

They deserve to be read by everybody

Here the forum activity is so good that in 10-15 mins gets pushed to 2nd/3rd page and sometimes reply posted also gets missed

I don't know how it can be done, maybe old timers here can help

history_geek thumbnail

Abhay & Kamal

I think your threads should be moved to front page of the JA forum with those permanent threads on page 1

You can make cover page kind with giving links to all your threads,then go on adding new thread links

They deserve to be read by everybody.

Here the forum activity is so good that in 10-15 mins gets pushed to 2nd/3rd page and sometimes reply posted also gets missed

I don't know how it can be done, maybe old timers here can help

Hi Maddy,

Itni tareef nahi karo...Aadat nahi hai...😆

On a serious note, i agree, if members read these posts, atleast they will know some reality. 😊BTW, before you also many people have given this suggestion of pinning this topic to page-1.
See this:
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/95491144
This can be done by sending PMs to DTs. Even, i sent few PMs to the DT members here, for that.

Anyways, finally, i will try to make a NEW THREAD giving all links. KDR81 has also MANY times told me to do so. Will try now.😊.. When so much effort has been put in writing these threads, then a bit more effort won't matter much.👍🏼
SpringBreakers thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
history geek and kdr81, I just love the information you guys post! Very factual and true! Anyways I had a question with respect to Akbar, Maansingh and Bhagwant Das. I was on Wikipedia yesterday and I happened to read that there were problems between the three regarding the acceptance of Din-e-Ilahi. Is it true that Maansingh and Bhagwant Das refused to accept the religion and there were problems regarding that?
history_geek thumbnail

Originally posted by: justlovetv

history geek and kdr81, I just love the information you guys post! Very factual and true! Anyways I had a question with respect to Akbar, Maansingh and Bhagwant Das. I was on Wikipedia yesterday and I happened to read that there were problems between the three regarding the acceptance of Din-e-Ilahi. Is it true that Maansingh and Bhagwant Das refused to accept the religion and there were problems regarding that?

Thanx buddy.😊

First, would like to inform you that we are highly skeptical of the matter on wikipedia/Internet/Digital domain. So, informing you to use it carefully.😊

About your question,
First, a correction, It was NOT Din-i-llahi originally , but Tauhid-i-llahi.

Tauhid-i-llahi
means Divine Monotheism. Abul Fazl and Badayuni have used this word only in the accounts. After Akbar's death, after 80 years, the word Tauhid was replaced by Din.

{Guys, P.S., this "change" again occured during reign of Aurangzeb..!🥱..(another example.!.)}

Din means faith. Tauhid-i-llahi, was the "real order" of Sufi type. Now, meaning changed to Divine Faith. Earlier, it was Divine Monotheism. So, it was not called a 'faith' initially. !

Yes, Bhagwan Das and Man Singh, did not gave acceptance for this "new path" . Bhagwan Das said i know only 2 creeds - Hindus and Mussalmans,and did not accept. Man Singh was invited, but could/did not attend.
There was NO deterioration in their relations due to this. 😊

P.S. ---> I have not used the word "religion" for this..
adiana12 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: history_geek

Thanx buddy.😊

First, would like to inform you that we are highly skeptical of the matter on wikipedia/Internet/Digital domain. So, informing you to use it carefully.😊

About your question,
First, a correction, It was NOT Din-i-llahi originally , but Tauhid-i-llahi.

Tauhid-i-llahi
means Divine Monotheism. Abul Fazl and Badayuni have used this word only in the accounts. After Akbar's death, after 80 years, the word Tauhid was replaced by Din.

{Guys, P.S., this "change" again occured during reign of Aurangzeb..!🥱..(another example.!.)}

Din means faith. Tauhid-i-llahi, was the "real order" of Sufi type. Now, meaning changed to Divine Faith. Earlier, it was Divine Monotheism. So, it was not called a 'faith' initially. !

Yes, Bhagwan Das and Man Singh, did not gave acceptance for this "new path" . Bhagwan Das said i know only 2 creeds - Hindus and Mussalmans,and did not accept. Man Singh was invited, but could/did not attend.
There was NO deterioration in their relations due to this. 😊

P.S. ---> I have not used the word "religion" for this..

Excellent Abhay. I have always felt that it was never a religion but more an order in the lines of the Sufis but could not find the correct resources to justify my gut feeling. Every time I used to have this argument with ppl but did not have the material proof. Thanks buddy!!!