Gold.Abrol thumbnail
Nice post shilpa I totally agree with aisha vidya si n shradhha here that monster was to be killed n Arjun did nothing wrong it was pure act of defense for people who were in the bus n that monster was not to be mended seeing is series of crime he deserved a death sentence by law also so it is fully justified
SStephy thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
While in a way it was good for the society as a whole, that the psycho person was killed, I still don't think that Arjun was right in killing him. Because in many episodes where the accused had murdered someone to bring justice, Arjun himself has said that no one has the right to take the law into their hands and those accused are very much guilty of the crimes.
Plus, in this case, Arjun shot the criminal only for the purpose of avenging for what was done to Shree. It was not for the greater good of the society because if this was the case, he should have shot the previous serial killers as well.
And then if we say Arjun is justified in taking the decision to end the life of this particular criminal, then where would we draw the line? Which all criminals can be killed at will? Or for what crimes? What if another officer wants to kill off a criminal and what if the decision turns out to be hasty or wrong?
SIP1997 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7
@Tina and S. Stephy and many other who thought it was wrong to kill the psycho, well said.

Yes in a way it was good for the society that Arjun killed Raghu, but I am looking at the motive behind Arjun killing Raghu.

While I am glad that he did kill the guy, I am also concerned at the message it sent out.

I would have understood if Raghu had tried to attack Arjun again and then Arjun shooting him, but in this case Arjun had already made up his mind not to spare Raghu even before he caught up with the Psycho, and that does not sit well.

And yeah there have been many others killers before Raghu who were better off killed than sent to jail then why didn't he feel the need to kill those killers? It's simple this time the killer hit little too close to home, but that should not be the reason to kill the guy.

He could have gotten a death sentence from the courts.

Yes Raghu would have/could have escaped but then so could any of the serial killers they put behind bars recently. Every one of those serial killers killed innocent people because they too were suffering from one type of another trauma that had a big impact on their mental status. Raghu was more violent and devious but still...

I do not like that CVs are playing with Arjun's character at all. Morally what he did was wrong and that can not be justified.

@Aunty S. Yes, from the very first murder scene I thought that the scenes were more explicit then they had ever been, but to be honest I watch American Crime shows that show worse than what they showed in yesterday's episode, so I think I overlooked it. And yes here in America those show air later in the night not at the time where kids would be watching. They also warn about the content before the show starts. You have made some excellent points regarding this.

Actually, my main that I stopped watching the saas bahu dramas is because I feel that every one of those shows send out wrong messages and I want my children to stay away from it all.
Edited by ll-Shilpa-ll - 12 years ago
radhika_2001 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: ll-Shilpa-ll

Yeah its me again, I am like that bad penny, you never know when I will turn up.😉

So folks, Arjun killing the Psycho at the end, justified? He had an opportunity to arrest the man, but no he killed the guy, execution style. He told Shree he would try not to kill him but in the end he did it.

Why?

There have been other Psychotic killer like the one from today's episode, why didn't Arjun kill them instead of arresting them?

From my POV yes the man deserved to die for the brutal way he killed innocent people. Just because he was mental and psychotic doesn't excuse what he did.

Yeah you guys know what this is about. Few weeks ago I made a post about hypocrisy at its best and some didn't like my views, but I ask again how was this different?

Arjun was angry because his own teammate was attacked by the Psycho, and he decided the man won't escape death at his hand and that was it.

So will he be any different when it comes to Sikandar? Because Sikandar killed the love his life, his wife, will that be justified killing?

If an attack on a team members makes him react the way he did today, then I can't even imagine his reaction when he comes face to face with Sikandar.

And yes, I am glad that he killed the Psycho in today's episode, not only for Shree but for all those innocent people too.

Disclaimer: This topic is about Arjun the character and his action in today's episode not on the actor who plays the character, so please keep that in mind before you decide to comment on this thread.

Oh even if he reaches to Sikandar, he s gonna kill him thts for sure...coming back to the episode of why he killed the psycho because this man was a dangeroud killer, and if he was let alive, he would go free again, and kill more people. His motto is Sadrakshanay Khalani-whatever he said...means he has taken an oath to finish the bad guys and save the good guys...and thats what he will do...he will not do the mistake during Riya's time...he didnt act fast thts why Riya had to consume the bacteria...his team member's safety is his responsibility...since he's second-in-command...that culprit is a monster...samaaj ka shatru hai...his mother was killed by his father so he will go on klling anyone with a doorbell? thats insane...if u cant control a villainous beast, u shud kill it coz that can ensure protection for the rest..

Enuf of my bak bak..other feedback also welcome...

Jigthakkar thumbnail
I didn't mind killing Psycho so much as killing him infront of a small kid. The small kid was already traumatized with all the happening and than to see so much killing and blood would affect her for life...
sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Radhika, spot on. This was the reason for the huge popularity of the Dirty Harry films.

And it is Sadrakhshanaya Khalanigrahaya, meaning exactly what you said it does. Finally, I begin to think that they have forgotten all about the Sikandar track.

Shilpa, thanks for pointing out the desensitising effect of watching such stuff onscreen. That is why I stopped watching even the good American shows, one feels queasy. And as for borderline perverts, I am sure they get turned on and their blood lust flares up, like they say madness does at the full moon.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: radhika_2001

Oh even if he reaches to Sikandar, he s gonna kill him thts for sure...coming back to the episode of why he killed the psycho because this man was a dangeroud killer, and if he was let alive, he would go free again, and kill more people. His motto is Sadrakshanay Khalani-whatever he said...means he has taken an oath to finish the bad guys and save the good guys...and thats what he will do...he will not do the mistake during Riya's time...he didnt act fast thts why Riya had to consume the bacteria...his team member's safety is his responsibility...since he's second-in-command...that culprit is a monster...samaaj ka shatru hai...his mother was killed by his father so he will go on klling anyone with a doorbell? thats insane...if u cant control a villainous beast, u shud kill it coz that can ensure protection for the rest..

vidya.anand thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Aunty,
I felt it disgusting when I saw that entire scene but as I said in your thread, I failed to see it as a mistake in the show but felt the hatred towards the psycho killer soaring in me and that was why I felt a sense of peace when Arjun bumped him off at the end...No case, no legal formalities and absolutely no chance of escape...I mean, i wish such a super effective quick punishment to all such criminals to decrease the occurrence of crimes! Such perverted men should shudder even at the thought of committing a crime!

And I also accept that the scene wasnt right to be shown on a 8 PM show... Not just this, there were more episodes earlier which had violent scenes which arent to be viewed by kids...

I had already mentioned to Gorky sir that such a crime show should be shifted to after 10 PM slot...

I am really glad that u took it up and pointed it out and also complained it on F 32...I had posted my supporting reply there as well!

Originally posted by: sashashyam

Vidya, Payal, and all my other young friends here,

How is it that not one of you seems to share my sick revulsion at the crudeness, the ugliness and the perverse titillation in yesterday's episode? Showing the rape and murder of a child, the killer, who was earlier shown fondling that young girl's photo in shorts, luxuriating after that in a bathtub full of foam, his benefactor with a nail in his forehead courtesy this monster - all this is a 8 pm show when children might be watching? It was sick. Have we all become so desensitised or is it that I am an oversensitive and jurassic relic?

Shyamala Aunty

sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Thank you, Vidya. I hope our joint efforts have some effect.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: vidya.anand

Aunty,
I felt it disgusting when I saw that entire scene but as I said in your thread, I failed to see it as a mistake in the show but felt the hatred towards the psycho killer soaring in me and that was why I felt a sense of peace when Arjun bumped him off at the end...No case, no legal formalities and absolutely no chance of escape...I mean, i wish such a super effective quick punishment to all such criminals to decrease the occurrence of crimes! Such perverted men should shudder even at the thought of committing a crime!

And I also accept that the scene wasnt right to be shown on a 8 PM show... Not just this, there were more episodes earlier which had violent scenes which arent to be viewed by kids...

I had already mentioned to Gorky sir that such a crime show should be shifted to after 10 PM slot...

I am really glad that u took it up and pointed it out and also complained it on F 32...I had posted my supporting reply there as well!

Sadhana_pr thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Human mind does work in curious ways! Especially amusing is its selective vision. Firstly, I must admit that it is hard to disagree with everything that has been expressed here. Yes,the scenes could be avoided or at least better presented. Yes, there was nothing very aesthetically pleasing about them and we are justified in raising our voices against it.
So what if we are served with movies without an A rating showing the hero indulging in greater violence and vulgarity,so what if the TV is filled with 24 hour music channels showing songs which make crude sound like an understatement. 5 minutes worth of unacceptable footage in an 8 pm show is enough to sound the alarm bells. And so what if we have witnessed more than hundred episodes where commendable restrain was exercised by the makers,one episode over the line is enough to make us believe that the future will be worse and they need to be stopped. Fair enough.
And we could choose to absolutely ignore the triumph of good over evil portrayed and harp about the evil,ignore the rare, layered display of human emotions and talk about lack of sensitivity, ignore the fact that an ETF officer actually covered her body and cringe at the partial nudity.. Again fair enough.
I just hope that they potential 'borderline perverts' are not viewing the discussion. Because even if the visuals would have managed to miraculously escape their minds,the remarkable description of those scenes here seem equally titillating and might have evoked wilder imaginations!
But yes, as viewers and responsible citizens we have the right to protest and demand for more sensitive visuals. Even if there seems to be so many other pertinent issues and crusades demanding our attention.😊