Music Selection Not Up to Par?

ibelieveinpink thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
Does anyone else feel that the song selection hinders the actual mood/feel of the dance? From the beginning I've felt that for most of the Latin and Ballroom dances, the BW songs aren't able to bring out the traditional flavor of the dances. This criticism isn't for any one contestants b/c they all tend to do it. But I've seen them used BW songs with more Salsa beats or chacha beats for pasos or tangos. I wonder if they could maybe use more authentic music better-suited for the dance styles so some of the steps don't seem off-tempo or off-beat. Like, sometimes the musicality is a disaster but it's not the contestant fault--it's just that, that particular set of steps just doesn't gel with the basic rhythm.

I know it's an Indian show, catered for the Indian audiences, but what's wrong isn't being exposed to a new cultural flavor? If anything, the QUALITY of the dancing might improve.

Another thing that might improve the dancing is wearing the proper shoes, but I'll leave that rant for another day. #BiggestPetPeeve 😆

lavanya92 thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
I agree bollywood music won't suit for all latin american dance forms. It's not contestants fault it is the song selection & form to be performed. I heard drashti saying song & form are selected by choreo themselves. to an extent choreographer too need to be careful & make sure song goes well with selected form.
Edited by lavanya92 - 12 years ago
ibelieveinpink thumbnail
Yes, I really think choreographers need to keep that in mind. Especially when the rhythm becomes off-key. I wish the judges (REMO!) would point this out.
desicrowd thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Agree... Not all BW songs can be performed on western dances... Some do some don't... I feel some songs are so over used and abused that I don't want to see anyone performing on them anymore...
Dil toh baccha hai ji... Contemporary
Hai Rama - sensuous song with body contouring in all shapes
Sarangi re - Paso doble
Maria Maria/ Sholon si - salsa
Ek Ladka tha ek ladki thi - flamenco
Tumse mili nazar - lindy hop/ jive
Tu hi re - some kind of aerial act...

ibelieveinpink thumbnail

Originally posted by: desicrowd

Agree... Not all BW songs can be performed on western dances... Some do some don't... I feel some songs are so over used and abused that I don't want to see anyone performing on them anymore...

Dil toh baccha hai ji... Contemporary
Hai Rama - sensuous song with body contouring in all shapes
Sarangi re - Paso doble
Maria Maria/ Sholon si - salsa
Ek Ladka tha ek ladki thi - flamenco
Tumse mili nazar - lindy hop/ jive
Tu hi re - some kind of aerial act...

That one was a big one for me b/c it was composed for a Salsa. And Hai Rama doesn't have the lighter tune for a rumba-type sensual dance. Either way, I want originality--refreshing.
-Alinaa- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Well said TM.
They dont wear proper shoes, dont follow basic counts, insert bollywood in between everything. The list goes on...

When u watch Bollywood dance in STYYCD, you would be like ...WTH, was that even bollywood?
Same goes for latin dance forms in JDJ
ibelieveinpink thumbnail

Originally posted by: -Alinaa-

Well said TM.
They dont wear proper shoes, dont follow basic counts, insert bollywood in between everything. The list goes on...

When u watch Bollywood dance in STYYCD, you would be like ...WTH, was that even bollywood?
Same goes for latin dance forms in JDJ

😆I actually like BW numbers but they sometimes they do the technical stuff with perfection and fail in the expressions department.
ultimate-8 thumbnail
Totally agree...I was expecting more latest songs like Dilliwali Girlfriend when they were doing Bollywood dances but they mostly choose old songs...I really liked how they modified Lat lag gayi for Bachata..
-Alinaa- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: MocoCoco

😆I actually like BW numbers but they sometimes they do the technical stuff with perfection and fail in the expressions department.

In fact they do it in a too technically perfect way. They basically lack grace and softness in their movements for indian dance forms. May be it is a new dance form for them, so they get conscious with their movements and hand gestures.
Ya talking about the expressions, we can't expect them to do it properly in a week.