Articles on LRL-NO COMMENTS

Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 19 years ago

Dont Repeat Articles PLZ.

Before this forum was up we had.....many articles which were either posted on....DYND or KTH forum......so i decided to collect all the articles related to LRL......so tht all of u can read them.😃 Ere u go..!!!

Plz dont post any comments......just read n whteva u wanna say say thru pm.😊

'Attention, Drama ahead'!

They have always believed in going against the tide. Right from their TV debut, about a decade ago, with their youth soap Banegi Apni Baat to their latest Jab Love Hua (incidentally both on Zee), producers Deeya and Tony Singh have always believed in sticking their necks out. Whether it was Just Mohabbat (Sony) or a story about a nerdy secretary Jassi or even the latest exploration of the urban-rural divide in Jab Love Hua, the Singhs have not only managed to rise above kitchen politics but also rake in the TRPs.

The reason why we are giving them kudos: The couple is now ready with Left Right Left, a show that takes off on SAB next month about "six young people who join the National Defence Academy, some with specific goals while others for selfish reasons. It's about how by the end of it they are all reformed. The theme is patriotic though it's not in your face," says Deeya. She adds that you need not wear your patriotism on your sleeve. You can respect the National Flag by saluting it and you can also "blow a kiss towards it. The patriotic spirit, I am sure, is there in every one of us. It's just that how you show it varies." The director says she definitely thinks her country is the best. "I always stand up when the National Anthem is being played in the cinemas." Deeya says, "The one liner for the show came from the channel. The moment I heard it was set in a defence academy it was dj vu for me because my father was from the Navy and I had always wanted to do something on the Armed Forces. Left Right Left will be my tribute to him and the forces." Left Right Left is the title "because very often it's about the various lefts and rights in our lives, the twists and turns that take place. It's also about the attitude you have — there are always people on the left side of some thing and some on the right side." Deeya says it bothers her that "Good, educated people from an urban set up still do not choose the defence services as a career option. I think one needs to restore faith in the uniform." Hearing Deeya speak we feel Left Right Left is going to be the small screen equivalent of Rang De Basanti. "Let's compare TV to TV. I don't think today's generation has seen Fauji which was about the men in uniform. Left Right Left will be the Fauji for them."

What it's about Left Right Left is the story of Huda, Naina, Yudi, Alekh, Ali and Pooja who join the NDA with varied dreams and aspirations. However the academy will change their lives forever. They transform from being naive to responsible young men and women who are determined to fight against all odds. It is set in the Kanchenjunga Military Academy.

. http://epaper.hindustantimes.com/Default.aspx

Source: yahoo grps

Edited by saara 1 - 19 years ago

Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
We are in the army now!

Priyanka Bassi in Left Right Left
The cast of Tony and Deeya Singh's new show, Left Right Left, sweated out and underwent a week-long rigorous training, at the Raigad Institute.

This show, is slated to air on SAB next month, has the army as the backdrop. Incidentally, those associated with the soap, too, come from an army background.

Besides producer Deeya, Rajiv Khandelwal who stars in the drama as well as SAB channel's Vikas Bahl and Priya Mishra have members of the family in the army.

The Left Right Left cast includes Shveta Salve, Vikas Maniktala, Kunal Kapoor and Priyanka Bassi. The story plot unravels at the Kanchanjanga Academy.

Sameer to play sutradhar in Left Right Left

Sameer Sharma is all set to play a character with a difference! He is a dead army officer who will take the story forward through his narration in Tony and Deeya Singh's Left Right Left for Sab. The actor will be introducing and narrating the characters and give a voice over for the episodes.

Sameer Sharma: playing a character with a difference!
"I play Navin Singh Ahluwalia, one of the first few students of the military academy who is dead now. Since I'm a dead army guy in the show, I appear in flashbacks. I have a typical military look in the show," elaborates the charming actor. He will commence shooting for the series in a week's time.
Sameer's foray into television began with Star One's Dil Kya Chahta Hai and then this former advertising and IT professional bagged the plum role of Krishna in Balaji's Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii. Recently he shot for a Hitachi commercial.
Coming to his personal life - girls sorry to break your hearts, he's married. "I'm very boring and there's no spice or masala in my life," grins Sameer.

Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
A new show that tries action formula instead of family sagas. Our correspondent finds out the storyline

Mohnish Modi

We hate repeating ourselves,'' says Deeya Singh. So post their last success with the serial Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin, her production firm DJ's A Creative Unit, which she runs along with husband Tony, sat down to brainstorm. ''A military school captures everyone's imaginations with its adventure and romance. Who has forgotten Fauji? In fact, the series was the an inspiration for our next venture,'' she says. July 10 will then see Left Right Left , their latest venture, take off on SAB.
And like Singh said, there should be little of the formula that does the rounds with family dramas. Here, it's camouflages for costumes designed by Provogue, pre-shooting tutorials on drill and march past and a whole load of outdoor action.

The serial is about six cadets — four boys and two girls — at the fictitious
Kanchanjunga Military Academy (KMA) in Ambala, Punjab. Its story revolves around their tryst with KMA's rules and regulations and their personal struggles. For the viewers it also seems to mean a refreshing line - up of some new faces.
Among the guys, Vikas Manaktala is not entirely new to the camera. In fact, it was a few of his tele ad campaigns — Yamaha, Reid and Taylor, Nokia N70 among others —that got him noticed, and saw a common friend introduce him to the makers of the serial. He plays Huda, the fun-loving flirt who adores his mother. ''I had been offered serials earlier but I preferred the idea of being in this teenage story,'' says the 25 - year - old.
Harshad Chopra left behind his role in Zee TV's Mamta to become the very modest and co-operative Ali. Arjun Bijlani's character Aalekh, the ''bindaas dude who really didn't want to be at KMA,'' also grapples with a drinking habit. Bijlani learnt his first TV lessons with cameos on a few television productions.
For all those who will miss Varun from Remix, Kunal Kapoor who plays the character appears here as Yudi. He says, ''Yudi joins the academy to make a mark in life. He is physically unfit but is a genius with gadgets. Yet his odd ways leave him without friends until he joins KMA.''
Since KMA lets girls in too, there's TV anchor Priyanka Bassi playing Naina, the all - ambitious girl of today and and Ghazal Rai taking on the role of Pooja, ''the chirpy girl who wants to live out all her fantasies and dreams''.
To help the six get into the mood, in May, the cast was put through a few days of basic training at Raigad Military School.
The actual shoots didn't feel very different. Says Manaktala, ''We would be up early and start shooting by 7 am. Between shots we'd have only 10-minute breaks for water and some fruit.'' Set designer Neelabh Kapoor has created an academy ''worth Rs 1 crore'' in Film City and Powai's Chitra Studio where the cadets have been going through army - style rigours.
There's been some fun as well. Says Bijlani, ''There was this scene where Kunal's character Yudi has to hug and kiss me. It was the funniest thing we have done so far. We just couldn't stop laughing.''
For the rest of the cast there's Rajeev Khandewal as Captain Rajveer and Puneet Issar as Brigadier Chandok who owns KMA.
As for the eternal fans of the Shahrukh Khan starrer Fauji on Doordarshan, this may just feel like yesterday.
Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
Trying to break free from the Sujal ('Kahiin To Hoga') mould, Rajeev has dabbled with varied characters and production houses.

From playing a cop in 'Time Bomb' to being featured in a music video, to hosting 'Deal Ya No Deal', Rajeev says he's "done it all". The actor will soon be seen in producers Tony and Deeya Singh's new show 'Left Right Left' (SAB).

"Initially, I was reluctant because the channel is not a mainstream one. But Tony and Deeya have a wonderful track record." Even though Rajeev is not playing the protagonist in the show he says, "What is the point in playing it easy? There is no challenge in being predictable."

Rajeev plays Captain Rajveer, a mentor for the five central characters played by Priyanka Bassi, Kunal Kapoor, Vikas Manaktala, Harshad Chopra and Arjun Bijlani.

"Television has nothing to do with a hero or a heroine. The entire set up has to work. I don't believe in the tried and tested formula. I like to be experimental," says the actor. Even though he admits that 'Time Bomb' was not a huge success he reasons, "How many of us get an opportunity to work with Ketan Mehta? Maybe the audience for the show was not huge, but the niche viewers loved 'Time Bomb'."

Unhappy with the way 'Deal Ya No Deal' was called off, Rajeev admits, "Just when I was beginning to enjoy the show, it was called off. But when the TRPs of the show were not encouraging and the channel was not earning enough revenue, there was no point in continuing it. In fact, there was a point when I told the channel to call it off."

But doesn't he feel left out of not being seen at prime time? "I find it sad when I see actors running after shows. They are being featured in three to four shows simultaneously. It shows how insecure they are. I'm proud about all the work that I have been doing. I'd rather look ahead and do meaningful work," he says.

Finally, rubbishing speculations about a romance between actor Aamna Shareif and him, Rajeev laughs, "I'm tired of all the rumours. I will stand up and scream if I am seeing a woman."
Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
I am a patriot at heart: Rajeev Khandelwal

With his father and brother in the Indian Army, it was only natural that actor Rajeev Khandelwal too secretly desired to wear the army uniform and shoot commands.

However, that was not to be, as he instead found his calling as an actor. But now with Khandelwal's latest role of Captain Rajveer Singh Shekhawat in Deeya and Tony Singh's daily show Left Right Left on SAB set in the National Defence Academy, the actor has got an opportunity to live his dream in reel life.

He says about his character, "I play a captain who's sent on a deputation but I still don't get to wear the uniform but I can shoot commands as I train a few youngsters in the defence academy. The character I play has layers and so that makes it interesting to play because I have always believed in trying and doing different things, stuff that excites me."

Playing the patriot
Khandelwal says that one of the reasons he chose to do this show is "the producers who are known for their quality work. The concept is path breaking and I would rather be part of something unique. I am just one part of the ensemble cast and it feels good to not be the sole face of the show."

He says "on one hand Captain Shekhawat has an interesting equation with the kids but on the other hand he has issues with the brigadier in the academy played by Puneet Issar." Since the makers claim that the serial, like Fauji (remember the Shah Rukh Khan serial on Doordarshan ages ago) will create a patriotic wave among the youth, what's Khandelwal's take on patriotism? "Like most people I too am passionate and patriotic about my country. I don't wear it on my sleeve. The patriotic spirit is dormant in me, which keeps surfacing every now and then. I hope the spirit never sleeps ever."

Khandelwal says that he's always admired the work of his producers. "I used to love Banegi Apni Baat and even Jassi Jaissi Koi Nahin.

They have always trodden a different path. That's the reason I feel all charged up about doing Left Right Left with them."

Finally ask him if films are on his agenda and he says "this year, it's just TV for me."

source:hindustantimes
Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
Sab's to launch 'Left Right Left' on 10 July at 9:30 pm

MUMBAI: After launching Twinkle Beauty Parlour recently, Sab will now be launching a new show Left Right Left -an action packed youth based drama - on 10 July. The show will be aired from Monday-Thursday at 9.30 pm.

Set in contemporary India, Left Right Left is the story of six youngsters Huda, Naina, Yudi, Alekh, Ali and Pooja who come together at the pre NDA Academy with varied interests, dreams, aspirations and goals. They transform from being naive to responsible young men and women who are determined to fight all odds of life.

The show captures the journey of six confused and disoriented youngsters who transform as strong determined individuals. It also renders their realisation for the love of their mother country along the way.

Produced and directed by Tony and Deeya Singh (of Jassi Jaissi Koi Nahi), Left Right Left stars Rajeev Khandelwal (Captain Rajveer), Shveta Salve (Dr. Ritu Mishra) and Puneet Issar (Brigadier Chandok) along with Vikas Manaktala (Huda), Arjun Bijlani (Alekh), Kunal Kapoor (Yudi), Harshad Chopra (Ali), Ghazal Rai (Pooja) and Priyanka Bassi (Naina).

Sab senior vice president and business head Vikas Bahl said, "Our programming strategy consists of introducing new shows that include unique concepts, fresh new faces and an overall packaging that draws the masses, giving the much needed impetus to expand the channel viewer ship. At Sab, we are currently moving in the direction of consolidating our prime-time and are sure that Left Right Left will give us the expected boost."

Sab programming head Priya Mishra said, "Left Right Left is a show based on the youth and is a key differentiator in terms of programming for the channel. Left Right Left is a show different from the competition in the 9 pm - 10 pm slot as none of the other general entertainment channels have addressed the sentiments of youth. The show showcases much larger issues that concern the youth and reflects their attitude."

Tony and Deeya Singh added, "Left Right Left demonstrates a unique story of six youngsters and their way of living life. The viewers will be able to relate to Huda, Naina, Alekh, Ali, Yudi and Pooja since there would be times in their lives, where they would have experienced the same emotions and therefore will empathise with them."

The channel has associated itself with leading fashion house Provogue and designer Deepika Gilani to lend their creative fashion expertise to build the look for this show. Provogue has especially designed the cargoes and Tee Collection for the cast and has also styled Rajeev Khndelwal's look for the show.

The marketing and communication campaign of Left Right Left, the channel claims, is just as differentiated as the show itself. The campaign spanning television, radio, outdoor, on-ground captures the rebellious streak of youth in an innovative manner.
Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
Makeover time for SAB TV

By A.L. Chougule

Barely two months after the launch of Twinkle Beauty Parlour SAB TV has decided to give the show a makeover by terminating the services of all the lead actors of the serial, except Narayani Shastri and producer Shrishti Arya's mother-in-law Sulbha Arya.

Call it makeover, downsizing or cost-cutting it is clear that the serial's low TRP is the main reason for showing the door to Maninee Mishra, Smita Bansal, Simple Kaul, Rajeev Paul and others. While the actors are shocked, the channel is no mood to relent. "Since we are revamping the serial and the story is moving on to a different track some of the actors had to be rested. Instead new characters will walk into the beauty parlour and depending on the story's demand the outgoing characters may or may not come back," says SAB TV's programming vice-president Priya Mishra.

Priya blames the producer for not informing the actors well in advance about the changes in the serial. However, actor Rajeev Paul opines, "Under the contract our dates were blocked for one year. How can they throw us out suddenly when we have refused other work because of our commitment to Twinkle Beauty Parlour?" Asks Simple Kaul, "My career and financial plans have been badly affected. I refused three shows because I didn't want to take on extra work. Now what am I supposed to do till the next offer comes my way?"

The downsizing or revamping of Twinkle Beauty Parlour is apparently a part of SAB's strategy to give the channel a complete makeover from July 10 with the launch of Left Right Left, a youth-based show set against the backdrop of an army academy that deals with the hopes and aspirations of the youth. "By 2010, two-third of India's population will be less than 30 years of age. Majority of the population will be in small towns and cities. Our target audience is going to be the young India living in one million-plus towns and cities as our programming will address to their issues and concerns in life," reveals the channel's programming head.

And Left Right Left is a precursor to the channel's future programming. "Saas-bahu sagas are passe. Love and romance is also done with. In any case romance is not the major concern of today's youth. It is one of the things in their lives. They are more concerned about other issues," says Priya.

Thus SAB TV that was till recently 24x7 comedy channel will become a general entertainment channel with a difference. Comedy is not being ignored completely though. Comedy shows will be slotted in the 8.30 to 9 pm band. Besides the downsized Twinkle Beauty Parlour and Left Right Left the channel is planning to launch two more fictional and format shows each.

"Ever since Sony took over SAB a year ago our TRPs have increased from 10 to 40. With our new programming we are confident of taking the number to 100 and beyond to be among the top four general entertainment channels," says the SAB's programming head confidently.

Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
Rajeev's fitness mantra
Guess who's following Salman Khan's footsteps? It's none other than Rajeev Khandelwal. Apparently the actor can be seen riding a bicycle around his residential complex. And going by Rajeev's popularity, we know for sure that the girls in the vicinity are not going to complain about this distraction. But with the rains we suggest Rajeev should give cycling a break and hit the treadmill instead.

Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
Time to march...Left Right Left

A much needed breather from the never-ending saas bahu sagas comes from SAB TV. The channel is all set to woo viewers with a action packed youth oriented drama, Left Right Left. Produced by DJ's, the show will focus on the lives of general psyche of the modern day, disoriented youth. The show will premiere on 10 July and will telecast Monday-Thursday at 9.30 pm.

Set against the backdrop of Kanchanjanga Military Academy, Left Right Left revolves around the lives of six youth; Naina, Yudi, Alekh, Ali & Pooja, who join the pre NDA academy with varied interests, dreams, aspirations & goals. Their captain, Mr. Rajveer (essayed by Rajeev Kandelwal) is a taskmaster and their mentor, while Sveta Salve plays the character of Dr.Ritu Mishra. Captain Rajveer transforms them from naive to responsible citizens who are determined to fight all odds of life. Admist all this, the story will also show how the seeds of patriotism gets inculcated in their minds.

Commenting on the launch of the show, Vikas Bahl, Senior Vice President and Business Head, SAB, said, "Our programming strategy consists of

introducing new shows that include unique concepts, fresh new faces and an overall packaging that draws the masses, giving the much needed impetus to expand the channel viewer ship. At SAB, we are currently moving in the direction of consolidating our prime-time and are sure that Left Right Left will give us the expected boost."

Speaking about the distinct concept of the show, producer-director, Tony & Deeya Singh said, "Left Right Left demonstrates a unique story of six youngsters & their approach towards life. The viewers will be able to relate to Huda, Naina, Alekh, Ali, Yudi and Pooja since there would be times in their lives, where they would have experienced the same emotions, and therefore will empathize with them."

Left Right Left is surely an intentional drift from the time-n-tested formula of a women protagonist who is loaded with pancake and fighting evil. This contemporary show, for a change, will address the sentiments of our youth.

Only time will tell whether Left Right Left will march the right way!
Edited by saara 1 - 19 years ago
Sara_DONT_ASK thumbnail
New saga on the small screen

Madhur Tankha

STORY OF TODAY'S YOUTH: The team of the serial 'Left Right Left' during the press conference in New Delhi on Friday. Photo: Anu Pushkarna

NEW DELHI: SAB TV, a Hindi entertainment channel, on Friday announced the launch of its new serial "Left Right Left" -- an action packed drama -- beginning July 10.

Set in contemporary India, the serial will be aired every Monday to Thursday.

Capturing the journey of six confused and disoriented youngsters, "Left Right Left" focuses on the lives of Huda, Naina, Yudi, Alekh, Ali and Pooja, who all come together at the National Defence Academy with varied interests, dreams, aspirations and goals.

After some time, the youngsters transform from being nave to responsible young men and women who are determined to fight against all odds.

The characters in the show reflect a variety of shades and each one of them is at the Academy for an entirely different reason.

Huda is a young, rustic Haryanvi dude who is determined to win a bet with his mother and joins the Academy for fun, while Alekh is sent to the Academy for disciplinary reasons after he gets involved in a drunken brawl at an orphanage.

Yudi and Ali join the Academy in pursuit of self-discovery and personify the youth of today.

Naina joins the Academy to prove that even women can make responsible Army officers, while Pooja is in search of her love, for whom she heads to the Academy.

"Left Right Left" is a labour of love from the famous duo of Tony and Deeya Singh, who are producers and directors of the serial that stars Vikas Manaktala (Huda), Arjun Bijlani (Alekh), Kunal Kapoor (Yudi), Harshad Chopra (Ali), Ghazal Rai (Pooja) and Priyanka Bassi (Naina).

Moreover, the mega star cast includes actor-cum-filmmaker Puneet Issar and most sought after television actor Rajeev Khandelwal.

"Our show is based on the youth and is a key differentiator in terms of programming for the channel.

'Left Right Left' is a show different from other serials that are in the 9 p.m. to 10 p.m. slot as none of the other general entertainment channels have addressed the sentiments of the youth," says Priya Mishra, SAB TV's Programming Head.