amritat thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Hello everyone,

This is Amrita.

I stumbled upon the promo of BALH2 accidentally few days back and was pleasantly surprised. The first promo had hit a sixer with me. As a result, I thought of giving this show a try. I'd always liked Nakul, and Ekta's shows have been staple since my teens.

So, here's what I think about the first episode. (Since this is the first one, I am making a separate thread. Henceforth, will continue in EDT.)

For starters, there was more subtlely and less of dhoom-tana dhoom-tana. 😆

All those who are familiar with Ekta's shows would know that most of her big budget serials introduce their lead pair with a lot of grandeaur and mantras. There was cliche here too but the execution was far more nuanced. Perhaps, it is the Sony effect.

Ram Kapoor, the successful, workaholic businessman is quite the opposite of the cynical Shivay Singh Oberoi. He is smart and family-loving like Nakul's previous avatar but with a more jovial exterior. He is 38, unmarried, loves to eat, enjoys the rain and is large-hearted enough to follow the wishes of the woman who didn't reciprocate his love. He is a romantic at heart and is surrounded by lovely friends. And yet, despite it all, he is very, very lonely.

Quite opposite to this is Priya played excellently by Disha. She is 32, unmarried, cheated in love and hence bitter about everything. She hates the rains, resents lovesick puppies and is extremely rational about life and love.

The first episode mainly shows the contrast between the two. Towards the end, both opposites meet...only nearly, and then are parted again by circumstances. But we know, they'll meet again.

Overall, I'd say it is a lovely episode. Much better than many first-episodes of many other shows that I'd started watching with high expectations. Nakul is a little shaky in the first few moments but then picks it up brilliantly and gets into the skin of the character. Disha as Priya is at times, a little monotonous with the grumpy face but still very, very relatable. Loved them both.

The dialogue writer is good. Whoever wrote Priya's lines regarding rain has my smiley27. I dislike rains and keechar as much.

Also, Ram's words --

- Apni toh naiyya nikal chuki hain boss...

Iss toofan mein yeh ek kashti akele ghumegi...mast maula banke...

👏

Special mention to the side characters. All actors playing friends/siblings/cousins of the lead pair are phenomenal, except maybe the sister IMO. We can already see she is going to spell trouble.

Only thing which I wish they could have avoided is the same old Kal Ho Na Ho music. It is lovely but done to death. Arre...aajkal isse better copyright free music milte hain Youtube mein...

What do you guys think? Do share your views. 😊

Edited by amritat - 3 years ago

smanchik thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

I liked the direction as well! But the story of the bade acche large Hain 1 and 2 are the same give or take so far! In the last one as well the show begins with ram sister getting married , him all getting worked up about it and the sister and the mother not giving two hoots. Then Priyas brother and ram sister love eachother to for them to get married Priya and ram get married. So far the story is the same just in a new package. However, I loved the acting of Nakul and Disha!

Tvfanatic85 thumbnail
Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: smanchik

I liked the direction as well! But the story of the bade acche large Hain 1 and 2 are the same give or take so far! In the last one as well the show begins with ram sister getting married , him all getting worked up about it and the sister and the mother not giving two hoots. Then Priyas brother and ram sister love eachother to for them to get married Priya and ram get married. So far the story is the same just in a new package. However, I loved the acting of Nakul and Disha!

Exactly my thoughts the story is completely the same. I had hoped for something different like this time they didnt get married in the name of family but finding someone for themselves. But I loved whatever was being shown in the episode so I would just go with the flow 😃

amritat thumbnail

I agree with you guys.

This time, they have reversed the characters. Previously Ram was cynical and Priya was fun-loving. Here, the guy is chilled out but the girl is grumpy.

I hope they dont mess this up.

Tvfanatic85 thumbnail
Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: amritat

I agree with you guys.

This time, they have reversed the characters. Previously Ram was cynical and Priya was fun-loving. Here, the guy is chilled out but the girl is grumpy.

I hope they dont mess this up.

I dont think Ram was cynical infact they were sort of alike just small difference here and there but yes in those one they have shown them as poles apart and even I am loving it.

Regarding them messing this up enjoy it till 100 - 200 episodes after that they always mess it up 😃.

mango.falooda thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail 7th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Tvfanatic85

I dont think Ram was cynical infact they were sort of alike just small difference here and there but yes in those one they have shown them as poles apart and even I am loving it.

Regarding them messing this up enjoy it till 100 - 200 episodes after that they always mess it up 😃.

yea, thats why I am mentally prepared to watch this only for a few months. 😂

amritat thumbnail

Originally posted by: Tvfanatic85

Very true.

Ekta's high budget shows like Jodha Akbar, etc are generally VERY good for the first 200 episodes. I am assuming BALH2 is in that category.

Uss ke baad toh Ram Kapoor ke saath saath show ki bhi naiya dube gi with same old cliches. 😆

Till then, let's fall in love with PriyAm 2.0.

Edited by amritat - 3 years ago
Muskie thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 3

Good one👏

One more thing I like about this show is that it's not the serious khadoos ML and chirpy bubbly full of life FL

Here the ML is full if life, after being used and ignored by his family and being heartbroken. I like how Ram's character is quite different from those Ekta-Gul's leads

I love how the FL is savage here, the way she retorts back to almost everything is what I love about her character.

It's nice to see a sweet ML and a little bit bitter FL❤️

.Sunrise. thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 3

Did it occur to anyone after watching Priya and her story that it's heavily inspired/copied from zindagi Gulzar hai the Pakistani show

amritat thumbnail

Originally posted by: .Sunrise.

Did it occur to anyone after watching Priya and her story that it's heavily inspired/copied from zindagi Gulzar hai the Pakistani show

Yes, I made a post on that after watching the second epi.