Honest Review QH 2.0 *SPOILERS*

RosyRosh thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5

*Side note: this feels weird. I never thought Id be back on IF, writing about a show I had long foresaken.. YEARS ago.. *

Finally, caught Qh 2.0 binge watched today itself and BOY do i have thoughts.

Everything in this show was Strange yet Enjoyable.

First, i think overall, the plot was smart. Everything was over the top exaggerated.. and at times i really thought a young IFian fanfic writer was consulting on the entire plot. But, it was SMART. to set the plot in the backdrop of Main Hoon Na meets Veer Zaara style hindu muslim division backdrop, although CLICHE, MADE SENSE. The cinematography was refreshing.. it wasnt AMAZING.. as some may be claiming, but i was refreshing to see an INDIAN tv show. re-made with more up to date style of story telling. That being said I loved the MODERN style.. whether it was the more realistic dialogues between asya, or najma's job and dating, or as simple as zoya accidently having a drink and asya kissing.. it was NORMAL which was a little odd at first but refreshing.

The stars of the show KaBHi.. aur LOVED Asya were BACK and with a BANG. that chemistry on screen was still incredibly present even today.

Surbhi was OUTSTANDING.. she has truly grown since her initial QH days... and she evokes every emotion.. and delivers every line with honesty and naturally.

KSG as always is a treat. His acting is still the same. Uber talented ..great screen presence, perfect delivery and emoting.

ASYA was BACK and honestly this entire show, while the plot was smart, was on the shoulders of these two. They carried it.

I truly LOVED seeing Surbhi in the traditional Pakistani outfits.. and KSG in Suits cleaned up.. is a TREAT for the eyes.

That proposal.. honestly making zoya a love story writer was SMART...because it made that entire proposal sequence that could have just been plain cheesy and fanfictiony less awkward and actually WORK correctly for the story and the characters.

The ONLY area that was a little awkward for me was seeing KaBhi kiss. 🤣 As much as my ASYA heart loved it.. it was really WEIRD considering in QH 1, we BARELY got any touchy touchy.. 🤣 *Holla friends if you still around and feel me on this*.. it went from Sahara to Amazon in a jiff. So needless to say it was slightly cringe for me.. but then i watched it again and I was fine. ☺️

The slight issues with the show that I had was initial episodes.. the action scenes were a little OTT, The side actors was comedic but clearly side actors. I mean.. im guessing we will see Salman again next season.. but he dropped off the face of the planet quick. Guess he's left in Serbia.

Mandira Bedi's character was odd to mee. .. her entire get-up and the ops office was so "eh" to me.. i kind of wish it was better done.

I will say i enjoyed the twists... I enjoyed the surprise of Sana .. and her brother Hasan.. i didnt expect those 2 things .. nor Riz ..so i liked these slight twists.. my FAVORITE twist was the ending which ill get to in a second...

I enjoyed Najma and DIlshad as always. Both shalini and nehalaxmi were superb and reclaimed their characters perfectly. loved the refreshing element of najma being career oriented. I miss Vikrant as Aayan, this Aayan isnt really doing anything for me.. but let's see im willing to see more of him. It was nice to see old Rashid also but he was barely in this set of episodes so again hopefully we see more down the line.

Apart from Asya my FAVORITE chemistry was SANA AND HASAN. Im sorry i cant be the only one that felt MAJOR feels in that police holding cell. That mirror scene.. was FIRE. I hope we see MORE from them.

Also enjoyed Asad and Sanas relationship. It was unexpected. I thought maybe shes in love with him also.. FB to tanveer days .im so used tk watching TV vamps that its refreshing right now to just watch a guy and girl be true friends. They hd a friendship/sibling vibe especially her teasing him over zoya. Soo cute.

Now back to the endinga nd predictions.. I was definitely SHOCKED at the twist of the implanted man poisoning the General, and even MORE shocked that Asad was SAVING him. it was pretty obvious from the ending that Asad was in fact trying to save him.. which he probably did because he didnt want to hurt Zoya.. but alas he still died.. so it's nice to see even while infiltrating he is calling his own moves. Down the line we will probably see him deviate from Mandira bedi's character for sure as he falls deeper in love with Zoya.. he may even try to save her from the Indian agency as well.

It's also obvious Zoya wil go with Asad because the story has to move forward in India, but Im v curious id they will show Zoya continuing to support Asad after finding out his truth.. will she believe him when he tries to tell her that he was infact trying to save her dad? Also.. Zoya was a little TOO good at shooting at those tires.. shes also clearly a researcher. Part of me thinks shes also a spy or has her own agenda.. All of these cliffhanger's are interesting and im looking forward to QH S.3. Whtever the case i just hope we get Asya the spy duo moving forward.. against eachother but still love eachother. Now that would be great.

But what a TREAT it was to watch this show again. The small nods to the old QH whether it was the music box, or Asad's OCD, or Zoya's horribly shayari, to the runaway bride, to even RETAINING the original dialogue of their first meeting. Even the engagement scene was reminiscent of OG asya engagement with the hands..and zoyas crazy theories of asad being an arms dealer lmfao reminded me of when OG zoya had theories of jahapanah Bond during initial QH days.. ie he was a spy.m LOOOL NOW IM wondering if this whole spy thing was inspired by that track in OG QH itself . Afterall one of the charming aspects of OG asya was their detective relationship. it made me feel all TYPES of nostologia. I wonder what other nods they will bring back and would also lvoe to see if they bring the HATED and forced love triangle back.. personally would love to see just zoya and aayan's horribly shayari wali friendship again tho.. even if its not vikrant..

Yay QH is back..

FAVORITE scene moments:

HASAN AND SANA 5 second scene

and All ASYA scenes of course. particularly the bathroom one. including KSG listening to BANG BANG. 🤣 What's on your mind brotha? .. the proposal was uber cheesy but the kiss doh ☺️.. and honestly all of their nok johk scenes.. reminded me of original asya.

-Rosh

Edited by xxMATSxx - 4 years ago

WaqtZaya thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 7

Hey Rosh, MisHumptyDumpty here. Nice.to see your post. Nostalgia hitting damn hard now.

Reading your review was totally nice and fine. I mean I know where you are coming from so I have absolutely no complains.

Like you said the story was SMART. I have been saying this since the trailer was out because this is the BEST one can do especially looking at the censorship and everything else -- not to get tangled in unnecessary controversies -- was clearly the aim. But but but maybe because we have read so many Fanfictions it seems to us so, unlikey the majority would do as they don't. I felt the story was done awesomely. It's extremely difficult when you have a Baggage of 310 epis of AsYa especially and you have to make the Audience not only be attached but also make them like the new version too with hardly anyone of the creators present. I am totally satisfied with what they have put up. Very refreshing to see such a show with such a plot in which a platform afterall it's Zee! Haha

Being a Webseries intimate scenes would be there, I was expecting a bit more going on to +18 completely, but then I was like eh, this is a muslim show they can't probably show all that. I was totally expecting the intimacy so that wasn't something that bothered me, rather it made me like AsYa2.0 more relatable and maybe that's why too I'll like 2021 AsYa2.0 more than 2013 AsYa1.0

SJ hmm, I didn't find anything like Growth if I have to say. I mean last I saw her was in QH he was just exactly the same in QH2.0 hmm one thing no emotional scenes in here, like in QH1.0 there were certain tracks were I could feel her pain, here I couldn't. I mean yea okay that's the character demand. Her being like Zoya also helps, helped in past helps now too.

KSG, this man never stopped being Asad. The hardwork he had put during QH1 all visible in here but the best part was his micro expressions. This Asad has so many layers. So many. And I might offend everyone by saying I love this Asad2.0 over Asad1 maybe 🙊 everything was so damn perfect. So very. Give that man an Oscar. 😎

The show was done in competition with Bollywood movies hands down. I have not seen such good quality stuff from editing to direction to cinematography to everything, even the location oh what a beauty.

Coming to Sana & Asad, I had been low key shipping them haha and I totally loved the two. But what surprised me more was that in last few seconds of the last episode I wanted Sana and Hassan to end up together. I mean, WOAH! That was so much! So maybe just maybe Hassan and Sana do end up together here's to a wishful thinking.

Coming to everyone else. I didn't find any need of Najma Dilshad Ayan Rashid this season, I will not even find the need of them the next season because all of them mean shit trouble for AsYa. I mean ek toh 10 epis ka show upar se baki log agar apna wohi purana shit leke agaye toh kya enjoy kare. 😆 they could have been done with. QH1.0 had overdosage of them can't stand any of them anymore. 😆 same only track of Dilshad pining for good for nothing Rashid, Rashid being the same spineless man, Najma only causing trouble for Asad, Ayaan another headache like why even? Give AsYa scenes rather? Though it was nice to see them but I will stand corrected that a show like this with a plot like this doesn't require them 😆

What else? I miss Vikrant terribly yes. But this Ayaan has nothing to do so not concerned so far.

Qh3.0 I am extremely interested to watch for, not for its a Ksg show but because I want Zoya to have more meat than she had in S2.

Also I am so happy with this Asad as he was all my favourite characters in my most favourite favourite character! Happiest is me.

Forgot to add : The fact that the show was more 2021 like than 2013 was mind-blowing and what a refreshing change. Be it Asad who is a rifle shooter, to Sci Fi of Damini's Headquarters to Zoya being a romance writer aka ChickLit author to Najma being an ethical hacker to the technology used Like automatic functioning of the TV to Bang Bang in bathtub with airpods to Zoheb marrying a woman of a different ethnic group to Zoya driving in streets of Islamabad to almost everything. Made the show more relatable. Made the show more refreshing than the cliched.

Edited by WaqtZaya - 4 years ago
WaqtZaya thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 7

Oh Bang Bang has a separate fanbase altogether 🤣

jacinta_91 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Hello, i am jacinta.lovely to see your review and im so glad to see another hassan sana shipper here.i thought only 2 people loved them,but i have a strong feeling either sana or hassan will be killed next season.

The storyline did have loopholes but for me AsYa stole it all and i ignored the loopholes in this show.I really enjoyed each and every scene of theirs,infact i can see growth in both asad and zoya's character like definitely asad is more expressive now and zoya is more mature now, Everything about them is love ❤️but as miss humpty dumpty says i hope zoyas character is stronger next season like i dont want to see a bechari zoya but a bindaas/strong zoya who wont allow herself to be made used upon.i want her to fight with asad and question him why did he make use of her.that angst should show on how she felt.

Coming to the characters yes khan family was there and i love asad and ammis convo but i felt maybe rashid/shirin wasn't needed.if they weren't there i wouldnt miss them.i was glad to see najma in a new avatar,she indeed surprised me.Ayaan was there but aryaman who played his role wasnt up to the mark.its like a different ayaan( i have no idea how do i explain),maybe if vikrant was there would be different.

The bang bang part is everyones favourite.that has to be one of the major scene that made me ROFL.karan rocked and surbhi shocked🤣🤣

Antara123 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Loved the review. Will reply in a while. Absolutely loved it.

bindasss thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail

Hi! I'm bindasss, I'm loving reading everyone's thoughts and reviews on the forum. It's nice to see it buzzing with people again (although not nearly as much as it was back in the day)

There definitely were loopholes but I'm willing to look them over because AsYa were absolutely FIRE! Their nok khok this time around has more of flirty twist to it that we didn't see in QH1 and I think that makes it much more relatable. And since it is a webseries, they have more liberty to show more intimate scenes. I actually think it's refreshing to see AsYa kiss and just be more relatable in the 2021 version. I don't think it would have made much sense if it similar to the QH1 version in that sense.

I am also a Sana and Hasan shipper! That mirror scene was executed very well and you could just feel the chemistry there. I also like Sana and Asad's relationship. I initially thought the same that she was there to somehow drive a wedge between AsYa but I'm glad that's not the case. It was refreshing to see them just as friends, and I liked their relationship with Sana teasing Asad about Zoya.

Now to the other characters... I don't really care much for the Shireen-Rashid track but I guess it's there to show why Asad is the way he is. Also this Ayaan is not cutting it for me. I would have been good with either of the two previous Ayaan's. Hopefully he gets better in the next season. But I am looking for forward to seeing Zoya-Dilshad-Najma together and their relationships. I always liked the bond the three of them shared. And hopefully we can have some lines like Dilshad: "woh bechaari" and then Asad: "Ammi, woh bechaari nahi hai"😆

Also the whole bathroom scene, with Asad singing Bang bang to the way Zoya was looking at himsmiley43smiley27 I feel like the way she was eyeing him up this season was way better than she has ever looked at him and it had a more flirtatious feel to itsmiley36

I also really like how everything in the show is modern and 2021-like. I think it makes it all the more relatable, whether it be the intimate scenes or the technology. Although Damini's scenes seemed a little too excessive with the technology she had, to the point where it seemed a little ridiculous.

Edited by bindasss - 4 years ago
Antara123 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: xxMATSxx

*Side note: this feels weird. I never thought Id be back on IF, writing about a show I had long foresaken.. YEARS ago.. *

Are you seriously back to IF after QH1?

Finally, caught Qh 2.0 binge watched today itself and BOY do i have thoughts.

Everything in this show was Strange yet Enjoyable.

I would find this weird but you have justified everything you found strange which I already read. So that's cool. XD

First, i think overall, the plot was smart. Everything was over the top exaggerated.. and at times i really thought a young IFian fanfic writer was consulting on the entire plot. But, it was SMART. to set the plot in the backdrop of Main Hoon Na meets Veer Zaara style hindu muslim division backdrop, although CLICHE, MADE SENSE. The cinematography was refreshing.. it wasnt AMAZING.. as some may be claiming, but i was refreshing to see an INDIAN tv show. re-made with more up to date style of story telling. That being said I loved the MODERN style.. whether it was the more realistic dialogues between asya, or najma's job and dating, or as simple as zoya accidently having a drink and asya kissing.. it was NORMAL which was a little odd at first but refreshing.

Even I thought so! A fanfiction adapted. This reminded me of Bheegi's Faasle? That's slightly similar in some ways. Asad being in the defence (agent), Zoya was an artist in that. Here she isn't but slightly similar. I liked the cinematography. I agree. It is very intelligent. They knew they were doing a sort of reboot. So they coolly avoided major comparisons but brought back the nostalgia and played very smartly. YESSS. I loved the understated and nice dialogues too. That wasn't OTT. In fact the lack of total silliness was refreshing. Yeah, the kiss being normal was sort of weird I guess. But I got used to it. 😂😂😂😂 I loved it too. But it was surprising. However, I'd like them to stick to this level of intimacy and not make it TOO intimate and cringe worthy in S2 and all. Oh yeah, Zoya having a drink and Asad not judging her on it was nice too.

The stars of the show KaBHi.. aur LOVED Asya were BACK and with a BANG. that chemistry on screen was still incredibly present even today.

Maybe pleasant isn't the word I'd use. I think they were fire. 😂 Sorry for the colour change - the Bold thing is becoming difficult to use.

Surbhi was OUTSTANDING.. she has truly grown since her initial QH days... and she evokes every emotion.. and delivers every line with honesty and naturally.

I agree!!! I think she looks also grown up but she's got the innocence and the chirpiness that make her adorable. Comparatively, Zoya 1.0 was childish. She was fun too. But I like this one. Coz she's got depth. And she isn't like Miss Know It All. She's got her doubts about herself.

KSG as always is a treat. His acting is still the same. Uber talented ..great screen presence, perfect delivery and emoting.

True. That 10 seconds in Episode 2 when he's sort of chewing gum and looking down from the ledge - at the end. The cool nonchalance that look indicated was just swag.

ASYA was BACK and honestly this entire show, while the plot was smart, was on the shoulders of these two. They carried it.

Agreed. Idk why the colours are changing so often. Sorry. Plot was decent. KaBhi as AsYa made up for the illogical plotholes in between.

I truly LOVED seeing Surbhi in the traditional Pakistani outfits.. and KSG in Suits cleaned up.. is a TREAT for the eyes.

Me too! But I think I wanted Asad with a beard. 😂😂😂😂😂 She looked damn cute. Even he did. And I got to see him in all black.

That proposal.. honestly making zoya a love story writer was SMART...because it made that entire proposal sequence that could have just been plain cheesy and fanfictiony less awkward and actually WORK correctly for the story and the characters.

I mentioned this before too!!!! Zoya being a romance writer is the PERFECT change in story. Her dreaminess, her easy trust in Asad, her getting floored by his proposal. All of these are more believable and less gullible because of her profession. That's the most creative they could have got. And unfortunately no one's talking about it. Everyone's asked Asad about being a shooter. No interview has mentioned Zoya being a writer because half the plot holds strong and not stupid Cox she's one.

The ONLY area that was a little awkward for me was seeing KaBhi kiss. 🤣 As much as my ASYA heart loved it.. it was really WEIRD considering in QH 1, we BARELY got any touchy touchy.. 🤣 *Holla friends if you still around and feel me on this*.. it went from Sahara to Amazon in a jiff. So needless to say it was slightly cringe for me.. but then i watched it again and I was fine. ☺️

Yeah. Maybe. But see this happened in episode 8. By that time I got used to the 2.0 AsYa and for them it seemed convincing. I'll tell you what was weird for me. In Episode 5, when the bathroom scene happened and they fell, Asad consciously pulls her to him and plays with her hair - that's what weirded me out. Coz Asad who couldn't even stand her and is a total prude, suddenly became all romantic and cute. 😆 But maybe that was part of the plan to take her back so accepted.

The slight issues with the show that I had was initial episodes.. the action scenes were a little OTT, The side actors was comedic but clearly side actors. I mean.. im guessing we will see Salman again next season.. but he dropped off the face of the planet quick. Guess he's left in Serbia.

Yeah, actually. The first scene when Zoya and her Mom are talking, I could feel the disconnect there. Somehow. And when I resaw it also, I felt a lot of disconnect between the Zoya in Scene 1 with her Mom and the Zoya later. The plane action scene was fine. My favourite action scene was the one where she's in bridal dress, from the car. After that the others were too long. The worst was the Pakistan shooting. Salman - I am glad he's gone. I like the actor but he had no chance in between AsYa. ☺️

Mandira Bedi's character was odd to mee. .. her entire get-up and the ops office was so "eh" to me.. i kind of wish it was better done.

This was them trying to be cool with a web series but turned out stupid. I said this before. She reminded me of Vivek Oberoi from Krrish 3. And the secret door to her office and all - this isn't Family Man dude. 😆

I will say i enjoyed the twists... I enjoyed the surprise of Sana .. and her brother Hasan.. i didnt expect those 2 things .. nor Riz ..so i liked these slight twists.. my FAVORITE twist was the ending which ill get to in a second...

I enjoyed the Sana twist coz otherwise there was a MAJOR PLOTHOLE. Asad and Sana behaved so normally when they met at the airport as if they already knew each other. I was totally prepared to diss them for it so I was happy with the twist. Hassan - idk what to expect. I'd have wanted to see more of him. Riz was a fine twist. Idk why he had to die so early. And Ayaan and Najma covering it up. No one's talking about that either. Pretty sure it'll blow up in S2.

I liked the ending but I didn't like the fact that they showed it in the trailer. Are they stupid.

I enjoyed Najma and DIlshad as always. Both shalini and nehalaxmi were superb and reclaimed their characters perfectly. loved the refreshing element of najma being career oriented. I miss Vikrant as Aayan, this Aayan isnt really doing anything for me.. but let's see im willing to see more of him. It was nice to see old Rashid also but he was barely in this set of episodes so again hopefully we see more down the line.

They were fine. They were normal. I liked that Najma has a career. Dilshad was a little more anxious than S1. Ayaan - he wasn't good at all. That was damn weird. Ayaan has ALWAYS been awesome. Rashid - I hated him since 1934 so 😆 I really liked Shireen even though she didn't have much role.

Apart from Asya my FAVORITE chemistry was SANA AND HASAN. Im sorry i cant be the only one that felt MAJOR feels in that police holding cell. That mirror scene.. was FIRE. I hope we see MORE from them.

TOTALLY. I agree. I want them to be the other couple in the show. In fact give them another show itself.

Also enjoyed Asad and Sanas relationship. It was unexpected. I thought maybe shes in love with him also.. FB to tanveer days .im so used tk watching TV vamps that its refreshing right now to just watch a guy and girl be true friends. They hd a friendship/sibling vibe especially her teasing him over zoya. Soo cute.

Agreed. Loved them. I loved them. I hated Asma. I think she can be the new age Tanveer. Rest I'll reply later dude. Pakka.

-Rosh