10 Years Ago
"Hi ma, what time are you coming to pick me up? Shravan chirped on the phone
"I'll be there in 10 minutes, beta, have you eaten your lunch?
"Yeah ma, but I'm still famished, jaldi aao he complained
"Okay, bye
He saw her car on the other side of the road, he waved at her, smiling at her brightly and she gestured him to come quickly. He ran as fast as he could, a skip in his step, and the biggest smile just to see his beloved mother. He stopped to let a car go past him, and then again looking at his mother he continued walking. As he was walking towards her, he suddenly dropped his bag, the smile that was plastered on his face just moments ago turned into shock, "MAAA, was the only word he could utter.
He woke up with a jolt, sweating profusely with his tank soaked through and his hair wet. He had frozen completely, his heart stopped, and he was paralysed. It happened again, the nightmare had resurfaced the nth time since the accident that had changed his life forever.
10 Years Ago
Shravan Malhotra was one of the brightest students of his grade. He brought home straight A's, had loving parents who were also well to do and was the apple of their eye. He was also an only child which made him even more beloved. However, he had to wake up from his picture perfect life someday.
It was a regular day at school, but unlike most days when the driver would come pick him up, his ma' had decided to, and thus, began his never ending nightmare. He was crossing the road when he stopped to let a car go past him. Then all of a sudden, another car came at full speed and crashed into his mother who was waiting on the road full of other parents. He screamed and screamed for help, but no one came forward. So as best as he could, he moved his mother's body on the passenger seat, and drove the car to the hospital. He didn't have his licence but he couldn't let anything happen to his ma, she was his life and he wouldn't let God take her away from him. By the time she had gotten to the hospital she had had a lot of blood loss, and by the time he had come out of his shock and informed his dad that his mum was in hospital, it had been too late. Nirmala Malhotra had breathed her last, but just before closing her eyes with all the strength she could muster she whispered to his father, "Shravan ka khayal rakhna, and just like that, she was gone.
A couple of days later, there was a funeral held in memory of his mother. Throughout this time, he had had irregular sleep, waking up at wee hours of the morning or in the middle of the night, holding onto her clothes or just anything that would give him the semblance of her presence. He hadn't cried yet and this worried someone. Someone who he knew would always look after him.
Suman Tiwari saw what Shravan was going through, she could see it every single day, she could empathise, for she was also someone who had lost her mother. One day, she saw Shravan was missing from class and as she knew exactly where he was. It was the park near her house, where she would also often go to think and contemplate life. However, that day what she saw broke her heart.
Shravan was huddled at the steps shaking with hot tears rapidly pouring out of his eyes. She ran to him, dropping her books and hugged him tightly rocking both of them gently.
"Shhh, Shravan, it will be okay, it will, I promise you, please, stop crying, Nirmala aunty would hate to see you like this,
He looked up at her with his cheeks stained with tears, eyes bloodshot red and swollen, a runny nose and pouted lips, "She left me Sumo, she left me, what am I going to do without her?
"Shravan, it hurts I know, I know how cruel it feels, but you have your father, and he loves you just as much, he will look after you,
"You don't understand Sumo, that man doesn't care at all,
"What do you mean Shrav,?
Shravan explained everything to her, how a few days after the funeral, he had brought his mistress, Kamini, home, who he was seeing for the past 6 months and was going to leave his mother for. She had a son from her previous marriage, Pushkar, who was a few years younger than him and Shravan knew right there and then, that he was now all alone.
"Hello, Priraj dining, this is Suman speaking, She answered abruptly in an upbeat voice, thinking there was a customer on the other end.
"Oh wow, Miss Chef, didn't know you were also working as the receptionist as well, he smirked
"May I know who is speaking? She enquired
"Nice to know that my fiance is so preoccupied with so many other things that she doesn't even recognise my voice, He sneered
"Oh sorry Aaryan, I was at work so I wasn't expecting your call, what's up?
"Yeah, how would you expect my call, you're busy with Shravan all day anyway. Anyway, I would be dropping by your house at 5pm, so just make sure you are at home, I need to talk to you, He said spitefully
Suman heard a long beep, before she realised he had cut the call. Sighing to herself, she continued with her day, luckily as she was the owner, she could leave and come as she wished, but this did not mean that she wanted to abuse that power. This restaurant was her baby, and she needed to prioritise it first in her life. She had sacrificed too much for it.
She got home at 4:30, allowing herself to take a quick shower and relax a bit before she would have to put up her mask of indifference and listen to Aaryan's "complaints with her. She had just left her room, when there was an urgent knock on the door, "speak of the devil, and the devil is here she smirked as she walked towards the door. She opened the doors, and as their eyes met, he was seething with anger, his eyes had a burning rage in them. He grabbed her arm and dragged her to her room and swung her into it, throwing her off balance.
"WHAT IS THIS? He roared, shoving his phone at her face.
"What's what? Sumo meekly answered, trying to keep her composure.
"THIS ARTICLE!
She slowly took his phone from his hands and saw the photo of Shravan and her dancing. It was a photo someone had clicked from the party at Mehra's a few nights ago. Underneath it the caption read, Hotshot lawyer Shravan Malhotra no longer single?' It all made sense now, his anger was the result of the article, and seeing her so close to Shravan.
"Aaryan, I can explain... She began,
"Oh don't bother, I just came here to tell you, we are getting married at the end of this week, and before then, you need to cut all ties with Shravan, he came closer to her, leaning down to her face and in a strong whisper he sneered, "otherwise the consequences won't be good for you, or your family,
She gulped in response, tears threatening to fall, but she had to stay strong, she couldn't let him win. Before she knew it, he had pushed her harshly, and she hit a wall and with that he banged her door behind him and left.
Suman fell to the floor, staring at the bruises on her forearms that his fingerprints had left. Before she knew it, the tears that she was trying to keep at bay, started to fall, drop by drop until they had started streaming down her face and before she knew it she was sobbing uncontrollably.
Kisse puchu, Hai aisa kyun?
Bezubaan sa, ye jahaan hai
Khushi ke pal, kahan dhundu
Benishaan sa waqt bhi yahan hai
Jaane kitne labon pe gile hai
Zindagi se kai faasle hai
Base jitte hai sapne kyun aankhon mein
Lakire jab choote in haathon se yun bewajah
Jo bheji thi dua
Woh jaake aasmaan
Se yun takra gayi
Ki aa gayi hai laut ke sadaa
The song that I decided to go with for this update was Dua, from the movie Shanghai (2012). It shows Shravan and Suman's predicament perfectly, how hurt they are, how helpless they feel. Shravan with his mother's death and Suman with her upcoming marriage with Aaryan.
Anyways, I really really hope you enjoyed this update and I haven't lost my touch. Please like and comment, and let me know what you think about Aaryan, Ramnath and Kamini (even if we dont know much about her yet!) and I promise the next update will be as soon as possible and it will be a big one. Safe to say this story is going to be speeding up now.
Love,
Aanchal
P.S. I will be sending PMs tomorrow, so if anyone wants one, just buddy me and I will send you PMs of the next chapter
P.P.S. Thankyou to each and every one of you who commented on this and used to read I know it's not fair to you when you are invested in the story and it just stops getting updated or written. I know, and I really thought I wouldn't be able to finish it, but now I think I might.
A/N: In no shape or form do I condone Aaryan's behaviour, he is not a real man, and is ridden with insecurity and that's why he doesn't understand Shravan and Suman's friendship. And it is really important to know that no matter how strong you may feel a person may be, they still may be stuck in an abusive relationship and if you know someone who is, just let them know you are here for them and help them regain their strength to leave. It is quite tragic how Tellywood normalises women to be punching bags to insecure men, because they are hurt and I hope that future shows aren't like this as they don't show what real romance or love is. Thankfully, EDKV was quite good in that aspect.
Index:
Chapter 1-5: https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/ek-duje-ke-vaaste/4783660/shraman-ss-the-light-of-her-life-chapter-5-updated-04-07
Chapter 7: https://https://www.india-forums.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=4985606&TPN=2&#p148535506