--Risha-- thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: onlyrani

I agree the writing was never this bad, but I think the show would get better if the forced group scenes ended 😆

In the past, family scenes worked because the character were different, but now it doesn't work anymore because everyone is doing the same thing, at the same phase in life, and behaves the same. A particular character being shoved into the story line doesn't help either. The merge is responsible for the fun being zapped out of the family scenes.

I literally get hives every time someone says bahuyon *shudders* This aspect of morphing the women into a single being with matching clothes, same expressions, and same emotional reactions is gross. Even their backgrounds are exactly the same (even though in DBO Gauri and the ACP had their own past). Honestly, it seem like lazy writing to me writers think of an idea then copy and paste it on the other two.

Flipping through the channels there is still a lot of material for IB, but like you said for some reason writers don't want to explore it. Shivaay doesn't have trust strangers all the time, Anika doesn't need to have her life revolve around Shivaay, Gauri doesn't need to behave so silly, Om can actually do something instead of just talking and Rudra doesn't need to act like a manchild all the time.

There is no conflict between the characters and the "let's all braid our hair" is getting old. I say let Tejlana win and split the brothers up to capitalize on the angst. For Shivika, Anika can have a difference of opinion with Shivaay over something that's NOT trivial. Also I'm tired of the whole "she can't do anything" helpless avatar. She was handling herself just fine and did her share of saving 😆
NKK is gone, but for characters so different from each other there should be more differences.

AMEN to all of this.

My problem is the lack of a ShivIka-centric track. Aik do scenes yahan wahan can only keep you going for sometime. Eventually, you need some story to keep people invested but the writers don't even seem interested in any of that.

@BOLD +1000000000 esp at how there needs t be more conflict between two people who are essentially so different. I don't get how they seem to agree about everything significant? Also PLS give Annika a life that's not all about Shivaay and give Shivaay a life that's not all about mera parivaar 24/7. I mean yes that's Shivaay and go ahead and show that but then show him actually doing something about it? Instead of showing us scenes we've already scene in 839636539865 other versions.

Word to TejLana splitting the brothers! How awesome would that be? I was hoping - about ShivIka - that a conflict is caused because of her past because obviously we don't want another third angle from Shivaay's side because if they show that again then toh 😆
swash2 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Excellent post and thoughts, all!
Yes, we all would love all 3 brothers doing something beside singing and dancing!
It is either festival or rasam! Or tackling villain but of course they always win!
Shivaay once a matter or museebat is tackled, doesnt follow through to see if it upis completely closed!
Like now - svet just walks!
Started with mistaking Annika as the chip-seller!
Then came the 'I dont even remember her name now'- ashok's wife track who was supposedly murdered by Shivaay!
No follow up on that!
No enquiry after Ragini, Nayanthara!
They leave and they party or get engaged/married multiple times!
Shivika growth has been good but they have to balance out or make sense of Omru tracks too!
Since when did Om and Gauri get this comfortable with each other that he plants a kiss on her cheek and she is matter of fact abt it?
And give more meaning to Rudy-Bhavya life too!
Is she working now or not?

Then tgis Abhay - he blows up one of shivaays clients houses, messes with bhavyas career and gives Om a bad reputation by that spoiling the expensive painting incident and all these are just let go?

The writers have to see that loop holes are closed or at least explained and closed as part of other conversations!

And this kalyani mills raz - do Omru at least know abt it or they ignorant?

The way the elders talked and behaved, it sure screamed all of them had dirty hands in that accident. If the writers do a 360 degree turn and exonerate all of them the entire thing will look lame!

They showed Shivaay starting a new construction business now! They should show him working for that!

No one questions abt Tia? Nor does any background check on her knowking fully well abt her background? Strange!

I wish they are shown tackling each and every problem through its actual closure and not just assume they are done coz they are out of screenshot!
WittyFlair thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
Nice post Risha :)
I liked the parts of Dil Diyan Gallan when Shivika were alone. But I think what damped it down for me was that the "argument" they had right before it was pretty half-baked. I think it would have looked much better if Shivika had had a real issue come up between each other before the song was played

I'm also bored of Dadi as well. I was annoyed on Monday when the girl gang kept hovering around her while Dadi was giving her gyaan. It felt forced to me at that time. After the initial reunion, I feel that her purpose for coming down was to glorify the Ruvya wedding, that's all.Lohri was pretty badly done too. Especially when compared with last year's

I get what you're saying. For me, Gul's previous ventures say a lot about this idea. IPK1 was forced to close early and the makers did so on a high note. I'm pretty sure that it itself contributed as to why the show is looked on so fondly by the fans years later. QH on the other hand did not and it's definitely not remembered with much regard😆

For me, it doesn't matter if this show shuts down or not. Shivika were able to show a beautiful journey and that's what I had tuned into IB for and that's what I saw. If they have room for proper storylines for Shivika, then sure go ahead and continue. I just hate watching empty scenes, and I feel like we've been getting a lot of that more recently.
Edited by charismatic-gem - 7 years ago
livelytanu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
This is a nice post. And yes you have said the right thing. There is still a lot to explore in case of ShivIka story but the CVs are simply not interested in it. So why not end the show?
There are certain things which the CVs are lacking in which led to IB's downfall.

1. Drama content. They should stop giving random episodes.
2. Story. People had so much expectations from vanvaas track. And what what did it turn out? 😆 They introduced a creepy villain, a bell woman who thankfully died soon, but then they again introduced another killer who had an amazing way to kill Shivaay 😆😆. And now its marriage celebration & festivities with everyone. You see how the main track failed? There is nothing for audience to watch.

2. Guts. Yes, the CVs lack guts to give only ShivIka tracks. And that's why we see good ShivIka scenes but no tracks. Vanvaas became a groupbaaaz track. Ultimately no track for ShivIka. If only Cvs spend their creative mind on ShivIka tracks. But they don't bother. I don't know why. Are they really scared or the CVs still have misconception why the show works or doesn't work? They should ask SP. They have a better idea. 😆

The recent promo may be really good but I am sure they will ruin it with multi star cast. 😆. They need to show ShivIka tracks, drama related to that, ShivIka's struggle & Shivaay & Annika's independence. I do want to see Annika's past, but not the sisters track. Giving light on her past struggles would be better. A villain is needed but they can do away with the creep. A creep adds nothing to the show.

But but CVs cannot think of such normal things. 🥱 So its better they end the show.
I will miss NaRbhi though. 😭. Still not over them.
KALVIN thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 3
Me also now not interested in sister track. Because i love AniRi scene a lot but now if they will show all three OBahus in that i will prefer only Shivika track.
Prozium thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: charismatic-gem

Nice post Risha :)

I liked the parts of Dil Diyan Gallan when Shivika were alone. But I think what damped it down for me was that the "argument" they had right before it was pretty half-baked. I think it would have looked much better if Shivika had had a real issue come up between each other before the song was played

I'm also bored of Dadi as well. I was annoyed on Monday when the girl gang kept hovering around her while Dadi was giving her gyaan. It felt forced to me at that time. After the initial reunion, I feel that her purpose for coming down was to glorify the Ruvya wedding, that's all.Lohri was pretty badly done too. Especially when compared with last year's

I get what you're saying. For me, Gul's previous ventures say a lot about this idea. IPK1 was forced to close early and the makers did so on a high note. I'm pretty sure that it itself contributed as to why the show is looked on so fondly by the fans years later. QH on the other hand did not and it's definitely not remembered with much regard😆

For me, it doesn't matter if this show shuts down or not. Shivika were able to show a beautiful journey and that's what I had tuned into IB for and that's what I saw. If they have room for proper storylines for Shivika, then sure go ahead and continue. I just hate watching empty scenes, and I feel like we've been getting a lot of that more recently.

Ah!..finally someone with the same feelings. And it is not because I feel elders boring or have no respect for cultures. Dadi character is really getting very very boring. Being an old viewer of cable TV shows from 1995, I would say even BA (kyunki..) was much more interesting in the dadi avatar and she was not shown as cool dadi type. There are normally 2 characterisations of Dadis in TV serials..a cool one or a sensible one. I think this dadi is now a helpless boring one. And I don't understand why shivaay has to raise the kids. Means if you are living in the joint family and your parents are always fighting or busy in business and your grandparents are alive and not bedridden then logically shouldn't the kids be raised by dadi rather than shivaay (as parent) as usually the show try to convey? In a normal real world settings this usually happens if someone have working/fighting parents and and have fit and fine grandparent at home then normally grandparent taken the role of a parent not an elder sibling.

I think the real issue can crop in if they really show something from Anika past and build a story around it along with shivaay and Anika journey to success. One of the popular other channel show with female lead building up a business independently in 7 years(,entrepreneur), male-female lead having real life issues between them and all have explored and executed the idea quite well (and end is shown in time as well without dragging). The bone of contention or issues can be different from ",third person". In life and in a relationship, it is not always the third person that is needed to create issue between two persons in relationship (the above mentioned show managed to show issues without bringing in their person). Let have some issues between shivaay and Anika based on how they think, how they react to certain issues, how they have different mindsets as two independent people. And then how they resolve the same and develops their relationship. Just don't make Anika like dutiful devouted wife "shivaay aapki izazzat me bagair you hum mar bhi no sakte" ( Deepika to Shahid in padmavat). The lollypops which some fan love will stop tasting sweet if it remains super idealistic fairytale relationship all the time. And we know it is simply not possible.Sooner or.Laterone of the character will get sidelined if there remains no dynamic in relationship (normally it used to be male lead being reduced to statue as femalee lead is normally have mahaan bahu duties)..but given harneet obsession it might be Anika getting sideline and reduced to Bollywood or south masala heroines in the future with nothing but been there as statue and devouted partner to shivaay.
ShivaayAnika thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: --Risha--

Honestly, lots of it seems like rinse and repeat. Yes, the chemistry is alive and fiery, still but it seems to me that their individual story is at a standstill. (Correct me if I'm wrong). I watched the Dil Diyan gallann sequence and while so liked it, I couldn't help but cringe at the public romance *shrugs*. (I'd like to add here that I'm speaking purely as a ShivIka fan here. Everything else has always secondary to me)

I feel this week their story was pretty much at a standstill. Leave Shivika, everything else also was at a standstill only. Why so much filler 😕 And IMO dil diyan gallan was the only thing worth watching the entire week (aaj ka epi dekhte hai kaise hoga 😆).

I've never been one to hate family scenes but the few I've caught lately seem incredibly forced (I can't believe I'm saying this, either 😆) and repetitive. Writers seem devoid of any inspiration. Dadee's ishqbaaazi lectures induce lots of michmichi for some reason.

Group scenes are real pain these days. Last week we still got some beautiful ones like the AniShivOmRu Daadi convo but the random fillers one like naari shakti or Ishqbaaazi of teeno couples *no comments* 😆

So given everything that's happening in the show, how bad would it be if it ends? And this is partly to address the unbelievably apocalyptic reactions most people have for that notion. Because to me, it doesn't seem like a bad idea (as in I don't think the world would end if IB is over tho I'll naturally feel sad 😆) Don't getme wrong. Im a ShivIka fan and while I feel there's LOTS to explore, I also feel like the writers don't want to explore. So I think we're at a juncture where closure wouldn't be such a bad thing. ShivIka have had a great, long, beautiful journey that seems complete. Again, THIS IS A PERSONAL OPINION. And I'd love to hear opposing views from everyone without the bashing, please. Also, this is primarily a ShivIka related post.

I personally have always been of the opinion that the show should not last for long because Indian makers have a tendency to ruin it badly. I want the show to end on a high note where I am kept begging for more, not a situation where I have to beg for it to end. Having said that I also think there is a lot to explore. KM Raaz, Anika's past, Anika's pregnancy or the upcoming new track with SSO making his own identity is everything I have always wanted. But the makers always come under pressure from various sides and ruin it 😕 Just like what happened with Vanvaas. When will they realize that equal ss or forced group scenes is not the way to go. And agar baat equal ss ki hi hai toh sabko alag dikhao 😡

So what do you guys think? How bad would it be if they tied up loose ends with the up coming track that seems to be interesting, treat that as their final chapter, give us (and themselves) a khidkitor, celebratory ending and bid adieu on a high? Wouldn't it be good to save the show from more ruin?

Yup I will be very happy if we get a solid ending but I do feel we have good and important tracks left which can easily run the show till July/Aug. Makers need to buck up and write a track in a proper way. Not just the start, the mid and conclusion needs to be proper too. And for the love of God dont ruin Vanvaas this time by making it a picnic!!

And I would conclude this by saying can the makers please be gutsy enough to do the rightful and what is actually needed to save the show now.

Edited by ShivaayAnika - 7 years ago
WittyFlair thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Prozium

Ah!..finally someone with the same feelings. And it is not because I feel elders boring or have no respect for cultures. Dadi character is really getting very very boring. Being an old viewer of cable TV shows from 1995, I would say even BA (kyunki..) was much more interesting in the dadi avatar and she was not shown as cool dadi type. There are normally 2 characterisations of Dadis in TV serials..a cool one or a sensible one. I think this dadi is now a helpless boring one. And I don't understand why shivaay has to raise the kids. Means if you are living in the joint family and your parents are always fighting or busy in business and your grandparents are alive and not bedridden then logically shouldn't the kids be raised by dadi rather than shivaay (as parent) as usually the show try to convey? In a normal real world settings this usually happens if someone have working/fighting parents and and have fit and fine grandparent at home then normally grandparent taken the role of a parent not an elder sibling.

Exactly. She just stands there all helpless or she's busy giving Ishqbaazi lectures for the millionth time. She worked in the early days because she was the foil to the messed up parents that are Tej, Jhanvi, Shakti and Pinky. But now she's gotten stale. And she doesn't do anything other than just stand with OTT expressions in every dramatic scene

I think the real issue can crop in if they really show something from Anika past and build a story around it along with shivaay and Anika journey to success. One of the popular other channel show with female lead building up a business independently in 7 years(,entrepreneur), male-female lead having real life issues between them and all have explored and executed the idea quite well (and end is shown in time as well without dragging). The bone of contention or issues can be different from ",third person". In life and in a relationship, it is not always the third person that is needed to create issue between two persons in relationship (the above mentioned show managed to show issues without bringing in their person). Let have some issues between shivaay and Anika based on how they think, how they react to certain issues, how they have different mindsets as two independent people. And then how they resolve the same and develops their relationship. Just don't make Anika like dutiful devouted wife "shivaay aapki izazzat me bagair you hum mar bhi no sakte" ( Deepika to Shahid in padmavat). The lollypops which some fan love will stop tasting sweet if it remains super idealistic fairytale relationship all the time. And we know it is simply not possible.Sooner or.Laterone of the character will get sidelined if there remains no dynamic in relationship (normally it used to be male lead being reduced to statue as femalee lead is normally have mahaan bahu duties)..but given harneet obsession it might be Anika getting sideline and reduced to Bollywood or south masala heroines in the future with nothing but been there as statue and devouted partner to shivaay.

Anika has already gotten sidelined in their love for Shivaay. The greatest example is that Chutki track, a track where they could explore all there is of Anika's story, and how she evolved to be who she is. We're 470 episodes in and makers are still delaying it😆

Ditto on the conflicts. Give them some real conflicts to grow their relationship. I feel like recently we're getting more lollipop-type conflicts that get over with in a jiffy, the latest one being that "fight" they had right before Dil Diyan Gallan

*Still need to see Padmaavat😆

Edited by charismatic-gem - 7 years ago
FoundLife thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
Ya too much rinse and repeat makes me cringe too. Even the one for all, all for one sligan from all looked bad and irritating. Even Oberois kabhi nahi harta chorus, and many such things. Even some expressions of the leads have become boring due to repetition.
I normally get bored of the leads of a show I religiously watch by the end. I hope the show winds up on high note addressing the crucial tracks and tying up loose ends.
I hope Annika doesn't address anyone anymore as "chotey kapde pehne waali ladikyaan" and compete for delusional bahu award with other SP bahus!
And Shivaay doesn't keep his brain in the freezer or go out of character. Please tone down PDA's. Shivika is marvellous and Narbhi always do great. I hope the curtains fall before this becomes a drag fest.
Does SP still have a problem with working Annika?
--Risha-- thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Hey everyone! Sorry I can't respond to everyone individually but I do agree with all the conversations and posts in one way or the other.

Thanks for all the awesome answers :))