THREEWhen your questions are my answers
"Gauri he tasted the two syllables as they rolled off the tongue, like a forgotten chant of peace, a call lost in his dreams the word sounded so right. Omkara shook his head to the darkened shadows setting down his chisel, as he stared at the almost perfect eyes of his half finished sculpture. They did look like hers, he thought absent mindedly, running his thumb over the smoothed curved of the stone woman's cheek, filling into the slope under her eye, tracing the lower eye line.
"Omkara... Her voice haunted him, as he recalled that earlier that night he had smoothed her tears the same way. His name sounded different in that almost juvenile vocal of hers. The way she weighed each of those letters like spelling out a hymn, undid something inside him...something he was almost afraid of. Her lips were slightly parted, as she wheezed in a breath, eyelids fluttering before her gaze flicked up to meet his. Had she not uttered the next few words he would have done something he would not be proud of.
"Why did you save me?
Omkara took a conscious step away from her, as her words hit him. He had sat her down on the temple steps, the cool outside hauntingly empty of human presence. Sitting there, her hands clutched together, Gauri looked up at him expecting an answer.
"I don't know, he shrugged frowning at his own thoughts and his sudden lack of a witty response. The only reason he did have was that he could not see her in so much agony and wait in the sidelines. But even Omkara knew that was not something you share with a partly stranger woman who defied your core notions about right and wrong. Instead he opted for the next most honest approach he could think of, voicing his confusion truthfully. "I can't see people getting hurt, without trying to help.
She watched him for a long silent moment unblinking ly as if she was seeing a whole new version of him for the first time. Gauri drew in a rattling breath and nodded, trying to come in terms with his explanation. Was it Shankar ji's way of reaching out for her, keeping her from committing the heinous sin of ending her own life? Or was it a sign of some other kind, that perhaps not all doors leading her off this doom was closed? She could see in his eyes, a glimpse of concern. Perhaps he could be her saviour?
Omkara watched a myriad of emotions swirl in the deep pools of her eyes, before the brimmed with tears. A lone drop dangled from her thickly kohl smudged lashes, glittering like a crystal in the lamp light. He hardly noted what he was doing as he reached out and dragged his thumb across the lower line of her eye, wiping that stray drop of tear off. Involuntarily he let his fingers linger, feeling the smooth contours of her cheek underneath his sensitive fingertips. Her mysterious eyes held his, as he did so.
Gauri opened her mouth to say something, perhaps the words could have altered her fate forever. Instead the oncoming series of footsteps silenced her, as her eyes widened fearfully.
"Arre Chirreyya, you're sitting here? asked a brooding voice behind them. Gauri stood up too fast that she almost stumbled, still her clumsy figure was eclipsed by Omkara's tall frame, as he turned to face the new addition you their intimate atmosphere.
Kali Takur was a man in his late forties. There were peppery streaks of grey hair in his head and his eyes were a yellowish green of olives, much like those of an oversized cat. The same feline trait was reflected in the curl of his lips.
"I was going crazy looking for you, he purred with eyes only for a shivering Gauri. "Tu theek hai na?
Omkara shook his head at the disturbingly disgusting way his gaze raked her body. Anyhow, it wasn't his case to judge. As Kali stretched out a bejewelled arm to fetch her to his side, Omkara took it as his cue to leave. He would have left had the mindless minions surrounding Kali given him way to strode off. The rifle carrying men determinedly blocked his way refusing to look at him and instead staring straight ahead.
"H- He saved my life, she spoke after him in a small voice. He turned to look at her, flipping his hair and eyebrows raised in confusion. "I owe him my life. She continued, looking straight into the cat eyes of Kali Thakur, ignoring his expression completely.
"Suna? Kali tilted his head at his men. "Your life is mine, Chirreyya... then I'm indebted to him as well aren't I? He growled tracing a finger down her throat before turning to Omkara. "Wo kya hai na seheri babu , nobody touches Kali Takur's woman and walks away with their hands intact.
Suddenly the attitude of the people at the temple made sense to him. Omkara turned to look at Gauri, his initial concern lost under a layer of disgust. She winced at the venom in his stare and took a step back, stumbling into Kali's arms. He squeezed her shoulders, a smile curling his lips.
"But you saved my Chirreyya, saved my own life. Kali wouldn't dare disrespect those who serve him.
Unable to help himself Omkara snorted, folding his arms against his chest.
"Had I know she had you to save her, I wouldn't have bothered Mr. Takur. With that said and a last vicious look thrown at Gauri he left them to their own devices, trying to find his peace back in his studio. This time the minions parted, giving him way to walk away from their master and his mistress.
Against her forehead the cold stone felt soothing. Gauri let the tears drained from her closed eyelids, breathing heavily as she tried to contain her sobs. There were bruises on her wrists, raw skin still stung at the brushing night air. That pain did not mean much against the agony her heart was going through. Blazing flames of hot white pain, seared through her veins, each thought more excruciating than the other.
From the darkness another woman emerged. Her attire as heavy as the shadows over her features. She rushed to the young girl's side, a concern etched into her expression as she bent over her curled figure.
"Gauri?
Gauri did not reply immediately, the pause stretched long enough for the woman to reach a conclusion and ask her next question.
"Does it hurt a lot?
"Haan, she breathed almost in a trance. "It hurts like fire, it burns me. Finally she raised her head and looked at the older woman, her eyes slightly curious. "I don't know this pain, that makes it so hard to breath. It never hurt so much before. I didn't care what people thought of me. What they said behind my back. Then why now, what has changed?
Taking her hands into her own, the woman peered into Gauri's eyes with a saddened
Taking her hands into her own, the woman peered into Gauri's eyes with a saddened understanding.
"It's called love dear, she said with a sigh. "This pain is called love.
In his darkened studio Omkara caressed that stone face one last time, picturing that haunting look she gave him as a parting gift.
"Your silence shouldn't bother me, he muttered to himself. "Your words shouldn't haunt me. You mean nothing, nothing at all. He banged his fist on his work table and exhaled sharply. "Then why can't I sleep in peace?
As always your views will be treasured.
Thanks for reading!
Love,
Sakura
DO NOT COPY THIS POST AS THIS IS EXCLUSIVE TO INDIA FORUMS