'I'm Biting a Bitter Pill to Run My House': Anjali Anand hits back at Dhamaal 4 body-shaming criticism
Anjali Anand responded to criticism over her role in Dhamaal 4 after a content creator questioned the irony of her advocating body positivity.
Published: Wednesday,Jul 15, 2026 07:24 AM GMT+05:30

Anjali Anand has never shied away from speaking about body shaming. Over the years, the actor has openly addressed the harsh comments she has received because of her weight, often urging people to look beyond appearances. However, her latest film, Dhamaal 4, has sparked a fresh debate online, with many questioning whether her on-screen role contradicts the message she has long stood for.
Old Interview Resurfaces, Internet Questions The Irony
https://www.instagram.com/reel/Dawy_vrSefv/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igsh=NTc4MTIwNjQ2YQ==The conversation began after a content creator shared a clip from one of Anjali Anand's older interviews, where she spoke about how she deals with body-shaming remarks. In the interview, Anjali had said that if someone called her "fat," she would respond by calling them "ugly," explaining that such remarks reflect more on the person making them than on the person receiving them.
The creator then pointed out what they believed was an irony. They questioned why Anjali chose to be a part of Dhamaal 4, where her character is repeatedly at the receiving end of fat-shaming jokes, despite being a strong advocate for body positivity in real life.
Anjali Explains Why Saying No Isn't An Option

Anjali did not ignore the criticism. Instead, she left a detailed response in the comments, explaining the realities of surviving in the entertainment industry as an actor who doesn't have the privilege of turning down work.
She wrote, "Yes my love. Because the society still is ugly. Go see comments on my page and you'll get it. Nobody is going to write me a part until I put myself out there and show what I can do with my talent so yes, I'm biting a bitter pill to run my house and put food on my table and taking up projects that I'm getting."
She further added, "I do not have an option to choose what I want to do and what not. There aren't directors lining up for me to give me parts."
'I'm Here For The Long Run,' Says The Actor
Looking back at her journey, Anjali listed some of the projects that shaped her career, from UNTAG and Dhhai Kilo Prem to Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani and now Dhamaal 4. She made it clear that she intends to make every opportunity count.
"My first project, UNTAG, then Dhhai Kilo Prem, then Rocky Rani and then this. If they want to cast a fat girl, honey I'll be the best damn fat girl they've ever seen because I'm here for the long run," she wrote.
Anjali also admitted that changing the industry's approach to body image is a slow process, adding that she is willing to wait for that shift. Responding to those who felt her role conflicted with her beliefs, she argued that actors should not be judged by the actions of the characters they play.
The actor concluded with a powerful reminder: "A serial killer playing a part in a film does not mean he supports killing people. Don't ridicule me to my size. See what I can do with my talent and where I have reached with it. Abhi bahot kuch karna baaki hai. Jai Mata Di lets rock."
Anjali Anand has often spoken about the challenges of being judged for her body, even revealing that her physique influenced certain casting decisions, including for Bell Bottom. Despite the criticism surrounding Dhamaal 4, the actor has made one thing clear: for her, staying visible, proving her talent, and building a lasting career matter more than waiting for the perfect role.
About Dhamaal 4
Despite the ongoing conversations surrounding the film, Dhamaal 4 continues to attract audiences in theatres. The comedy has maintained a solid run at the box office, collecting Rs 9.50 crore on its first Tuesday, an improvement over its Rs 8.75 crore Monday earnings. The film's worldwide gross has now climbed to Rs 115 crore, while its India gross stands at Rs 99.44 crore, just a step away from the coveted Rs 100-crore milestone. The rise in weekday collections also points to positive audience response and steady momentum after its opening weekend.
Anjali Anand responded to criticism over her role in Dhamaal 4 after a content creator questioned the irony of her advocating body positivity while playing a character subjected to fat-shaming jokes. The actor said she cannot afford to reject work and is accepting available opportunities to build her career. She stressed that actors should not be judged by the characters they portray and remains determined to prove her talent.
Join Our WhatsApp Channel
Stay updated with the latest news, gossip, and hot discussions. Be a part of our WhatsApp family now!
Join NowYour reaction
Nice
Great
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail

Post a comment