Chapter 2
She checked the time, it was 12a.m. in Delhi, meaning it was 6:30p.m. in London, she realised that he might be at work and may not reply yet, but she had to talk to him. She decided to send him a text message,
"Shravan... I'm getting married... Call me when you are free!"
As soon as her text was delivered she heard her phone ring. As if on reflex she picked up the phone,
"Hi!"
"What the f**k Sumo?"
"Wow, this is the first time I'm talking to you in a week and this is how you reply. No Hi' or Hello' or How are you'?"
"Well if you drop a bomb like that on me, I don't want to waste time on pleasantries. Now tell me everything,"
"Shravan... I don't know what to say, mujhe usse shaadi nahi karni, but I have to, I don't have a choice."
"What do you mean you don't have a choice?"
"Mami wants me to marry him. I understand why as well. When you are an orphan you don't belong to anyone, and whoever looks after you, you're like a burden to them; an extra responsibility. I've seen how much mami has sacrificed for me and what has she asked me? To marry Aaryan so she could be with her son. Shravan, I'm not that heartless that I'll separate a mother from her son. So I'm going to agree to this,"
"Why don't you want to marry him then?"
"He doesn't respect what I do, he hates the fact that I'm independent and wants me to conform. He's made it quite clear that he wants nothing to do with my restaurant and thinks of it as a way for me to kill time. I tried to explain to him how much it means to me, so he told me I was allowed to continue to work as long as I still abide by the rules of the family.' I don't know, what if they stop me from working altogether?"
"Toh main tumhe bhaaga ke le jaunga,"
"Really?"
"Yep, as your best friend my first and foremost duty is to make sure that wherever you are, you are happy and if you aren't I have full right to take you away from that place,"
"Sometimes I don't know what I'd do without you,"
"It's okay, I don't know what I'd do without you either. Now enough melodrama, I would like to continue our pyaar bhari baatein but, I've got to go, I have to go to an annoying dinner meeting with a client and you need to sleep. I'll call you tomorrow, please don't take any decisions without thinking about it clearly,"
Suman hung up the phone and closed her eyes, preparing for a new day, a new battle.
1 year ago
"Sumo, I have to go back to London" Shravan said to her with hesitation.
They were sitting in the park in front of Tiwari Killa, looking at the sunset. Sumo had called him earlier that week stating that she needed him, and he had taken the first flight to Delhi.
"Shravan, please... stay, I need you," Her usually strong voice came out as nothing but a whisper
"I have to go, my clients need me there,"
"And what about your best friend? What about your family? Don't we need you here?" She protested.
"Sumo, we have discussed this before, I have no family!" He exclaimed
"I AM YOUR FAMILY!" She said, almost shouting
"Sumo, I know, but I can't, mera dum ghootha hai yahan," He pleaded, "Wherever I go I remember them, I remember what they had done and I can't stay here anymore,"
"Please,"
"I can't"
He stood up to take his leave and at that moment she lunged herself at him, crying bitterly into his chest, "If you love someone, let them go, if they come back, they were yours, but if they don't, they were never yours. Shravan, if it's in your happiness, I'm letting you go," She sobered up, but still held onto him for dear life. He tightened his hold on her, knowing how hard it was for them to leave each other, but he had to. He bent his head down and slowly and gently touched his lips on her head, assuring her that he would always be there no matter what. "Bye, Sumo," They loosened their hold on each other and he took a step back. She saw his retreating figure and an emptiness washed over her.
Pal bhar teher jao
Dil yeh sambal jaaye
Kaise tumhe roka karoon?
Meri taraf aata, har gham phisal jaaye
Aankhon mein tumko bharoon
Bin bole baatein, tumse karoon
Agar tum saath ho
Suman opened her eyes slowly, adjusting to the low light in her room. She checked the time 7:30' her clock read, she rubbed her eyes and stretched, getting off the bed, grabbing her clothes and rushing to the bathroom. She had precisely one hour to get ready, cook breakfast for everyone and leave for work.
She reached work at 9:00 and decided that considering it was a Monday, they wouldn't get much business so she decided to try out some new flavours for her recipes. Immersing herself with work she finally was able to take her mind off her impending marriage with Aaryan. Although her mind had accepted him, her heart couldn't but she also knew that listening to her heart wouldn't help her. She didn't have the privilege. TRING-TRING, TRING-TRING' she quickly answered the phone knowing who it was.
"Your early to call today!"
"Yeah, I couldn't sleep so I got up early,"
"Aren't you going to the gym?"
"Nope, don't feel like it,"
"Did I just hear The Shravan fitness freak' Malhotra' say he doesn't want to go to the gym! I am in shock,"
"Shut up Sumo, I'm going to go tonight, okay?"
"Oh,"
"Yes, Oh,"
"You can leave India even when I begged you to stay, but you can't ever leave the gym even if you're tired,"
"Sumo... I told you, we can't keep on going back to that,"
"I know, but I really wish you were here,"
"Hey, how about this, I come over there next week and see Aaryan? Maybe if I convince Mami that he's not good for you, she'll let it go,"
"I want you to come and meet Aaryan but please don't try to convince Mami against him, I don't want her to hate me more,"
"Okay, but you aren't marrying him until my approval. Am I clear?"
"Yes my lord,"
"Okay good, now you get back to work, stop wasting time,"
"Hahaha, okay, see you,"
I hope you all liked that! Slowly as the chapters go on Shravan and Suman's past would become more clear and I promise next chapter Shravan will come to Delhi, and about Sumo marrying Aaryan, I guess you will have to wait and watch/read😉.
Love
Aanchal
P.S. Please don't forget to like and comment and I will try to make the upcoming chapters longer, I just don't want to reveal too much at this stage, thus the chapters are on the smaller side.
PPS Please buddy this account for PMs