Will u explain ur kids abt sex, kiss n other adults things?

OriginalJuhi_04 thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail + 9
Plz, answer dis carefully. Last time, I questioned abt proper age n then legal age of girls to get married. Sme even said 13 n 14. Lets see, wat everyone will say now abt dis question?

My parents did not explained me these things as they r really not much modern n thinks its bad to discuss wid their children however grown up they r. But I learnt many things thru some newspaper articles n internet. I came to know abt sex for d 1st time at 15 after seeing its meaning in dictionary to let go of my curiosity to know wat is d other meaning of dat word other than gender of male-female. At 17, I got to know abt kinky sex n BDSM wen I read an article in TOI n then researched abt it on internet. Then it went on me learning several things on net. Nowadays, even 12-13 years old gets to know abt sex, lip-lock n some other things thru friends, net n books which is not really a thing to worry abt.

My parents never told me these things which I think is very wrong. And I told my mom once dat even children as young as 11-12 needs to be told abt sex, periods, virginity n some other basic things so dat no one takes wrong advantage of their innocence n they don't make fool of themselves wen children of their age knows many things n they don't. IMHO, parents sud start teln these things to kids as they turn 11-12 in installments one fact at a time. Moms sud say to their daughters n dads to their sons. In an epi of Gumrah, a conservative 14 year old hostel students was tricked by her friends dat she is pregnant after just kissing her boyfriend as a prank. Dat girl panics n searches for a solution on internet. One of d solution written as a joke showed that with a sharp object disinfected with phenol one can undergo abortion. She did not die but suffered 80% organs failure. D host Karan Kundra said dat its d fault of teachers, parents n society to not talk openly abt sex talks wid children. They even change d channel wen a kiss is shown which creates curiosity in them n gets wrong information wid some wrong sources.

So, parents sud talk wid children abt these things n answer their queries properly.
Edited by angel_juhi04 - 9 years ago

Padfoot_Prongs thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
I did not know about Sex till i was 21. and I got to know about how it is done by reading stories here on IF. LOL. I have read Chetan Bhagat's stories(first 3) when I was in College and I never understood the words related to sex. Tried to find them in dictionary, still cudn't understand. There was no internet at my place at that time. so it's later when I was doing master's I got to know about this stuff from internet. My parents and even my elder sisters never told me about that except periods which they had to. There is a popular thinking that by telling this stuff, they are corrupting the child but at that time they forget that an innocent child who has no idea about this is more susceptible to sex-related crimes as she/he doesn't know anything which is wrong. Another thing if they cannot discuss sex with their kids, their kids will never be comfortable to share the misbehavior incidents.
I know a case like this. One of my friend faced sexual harassment incident when she was nearly 5-6 years old. she didn't know it was that. when she became older(20-21 years old), she got to know about sex and related things. She couldn't talk about that incident to any one in her family because no one talked about these things in her family.

It is necessary for parents to be open about these things so that a child can know that the parents can be trusted about the issues related to sex.

Many people are even reluctant to say sex or even write it. why is it so? I am not saying that be obsessed with it. But we r leaving in the times when the little kids are targeted more often by anti-social elements. In early age we shud tell our kids about bad touches and gradually also talk to them about periods, sex, safe sex etc etc. Many teenagers indulge in sex in school and colleges. Parents live in denial about these things which in turn force the kids to not discuss about these things at all.
D episode show which I talked abt above showed dat d girl of 14 was not even told abt periods by her mom before she was sent to d boarding school. It was her friends who helped wen she 1st got her periods. Normally, we r not told abt periods till we have them but in dis case, d mother sud have told her abt it as it was her age to get periods n she sud be alert abt it.

Wen I 1st got periods at 11, my mom wud tell me not to say anyone. If remaining absent for school, tuitions or gym(I was told by doctor to join gym due to some reason wen I was 12), I sud lie dat I was sick but not tell d truth. Initially, I listened but as I grew up like being 13-14 or 15-16, I started teln d period reasons of being absent or not able to do something. Dat time, my mom did not had problem wid dis but she wud tell me not to say to any boys which I don't do even now. I told mom dat its not wrong to tell dis period thing to women n she agreed. At least, my family n relatives r not crazy like some families who wud keep period women isolated in one room wid her food given to her alone during 4-5 days of her period n 2-3 days after. They were not even allowed to enter d kitchen let alone cook. Luckily, my family is not like these people. But here on IF, we openly talk abt all these things not caring abt girls n boys both in here be it in stories or discussions.
Padfoot_Prongs thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: angel_juhi04

D episode show which I talked abt above showed dat d girl of 14 was not even told abt periods by her mom before she was sent to d boarding school. It was her friends who helped wen she 1st got her periods. Normally, we r not told abt periods till we have them but in dis case, d mother sud have told her abt it as it was her age to get periods n she sud be alert abt it.

Wen I 1st got periods at 11, my mom wud tell me not to say anyone. If remaining absent for school, tuitions or gym(I was told by doctor to join gym due to some reason wen I was 12), I sud lie dat I was sick but not tell d truth. Initially, I listened but as I grew up like being 13-14 or 15-16, I started teln d period reasons of being absent or not able to do something. Dat time, my mom did not had problem wid dis but she wud tell me not to say to any boys which I don't do even now. I told mom dat its not wrong to tell dis period thing to women n she agreed. At least, my family n relatives r not crazy like some families who wud keep period women isolated in one room wid her food given to her alone during 4-5 days of her period n 2-3 days after. They were not even allowed to enter d kitchen let alone cook. Luckily, my family is not like these people. But here on IF, we openly talk abt all these things not caring abt girls n boys both in here be it in stories or discussions.

I was told about periods just a few weeks before that. We are asked not to visit temple or do pooja but except that we can do anything. Not Talking to boys and even Papa has led to many funny incidents. I had to call my mother to tell Papa on fast or specific poojas held that I cant participate.
No girl feels comfortable talking about these things. even my mom wont talk to my brothers about these things. words like monthly time are being used in jokes. they are more informative than parents.😆

But it's a serious issue. Kids are very curious about things. Keeping them inform will help both parties kids as well as parents.
maha2us thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
These days, it becomes necessary for the parents to talk about sex to the kids starting when the kid is around eleven yr old. And they can tell information in installments. Most importantly, things will become OK when the intention of the parents is to be caring and understanding to the kids. In that case, the parents will also be mature. It is always good when there is open communication in a family on any important subject. If the parents are not going to tell anything about sex, these days kids will be exposed to sex based on internet and when there is no open communication between parents and kids, kids could experiment which can result in disasters especially for a girl. We know sex always thrills but at the same time sex can result in pregnancy which only mature persons can handle and that is the reason, sex is made 'adults only'. When there is open communication between parents and their daughter, then only daughter will be free with them and the parents could see that she is safe. Especially in this era when there is a lot of misinformation and girls are exposed to many new situations.
return_to_hades thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Informing and educating kids about sex can go a long way in keeping them safe. There is a lot of misinformation out there, and education protects them from being misled. It also lets them develop self respect, self esteem and boundaries so that they are not misled by peers or taken advantage of. Sex education has also proven to be more effective in reducing teen pregnancies rather than abstinence only education.
It is challenging for South Asian families to discuss this with their children as we were raised in a conservative upbringing and sometimes do not know how to talk about sex with young minds. In the United States you can ask teachers, doctors or planned parenthood volunteers to have the talk or help you have the talk. I am not sure what resources are available in India, but I am sure that with modern times there are more resources.
iMini thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Sparing my own experiences, if I ever become a parent I would certainly make sure to teach my kids about the private body parts, inappropriate- touch and the likes when they start identifying their body parts. Funny names like weejay and wee wee are a big no no. Will talk to them about puberty when they are aboutto reach that stage and sex when they reach that age. Bits and pieces. Sex education should be a continuous process.
qwertyesque thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
No.. let them find it for her/himself..its more natural.and good way to learn.. hs more truth to it... but here in the USA they are out to suck out the innocence in the kids by crude education..which leads these kids to addict to po*n...ladke ko ladki nahi mili toh kya,.. credit card use karo and sit perenially in front of the computer...
to somebodys call on safety.. many girsl are getting molested raped here.. so s*x education has nothing to do with it... in fact you are providing the info they so use to commit all these orgies!!

.. of course given the incidence of s*x predators they need to know the touch thing and some basic Nos without the details.. imo...

infact in this case "bandh mutthi lakh ki" holds a lot of water
Edited by qwertyesque - 9 years ago

Originally posted by: qwertyesque

No.. let them find it for her/himself..its more natural.and good way to learn.. hs more truth to it... but here in the USA they are out to suck out the innocence in the kids by crude education..which leads these kids to addict to po*n...ladke ko ladki nahi mili toh kya,.. credit card use karo and sit perenially in front of the computer...

to somebodys call on safety.. many girsl are getting molested raped here.. so s*x education has nothing to do with it... in fact you are providing the info they so use to commit all these orgies!!

.. of course given the incidence of s*x predators they need to know the touch thing and some basic Nos without the details.. imo...

Wow! U were d only one na who said 13 is proper age for girls to marry n 14 can also be legal age? But wen it came to dis question, ur reply is like dis. So, u mean its not bad for girls to marry at 13-14 but bad to tell them abt sex n other important things. Do u expect her husband n in-laws to give her sex education or wat wen she comes to her sasural? Not all can find themselves abt sex.
iMini thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: qwertyesque

Qwerty you missed my point. These days you cannot prevent unhealthy sexual exposure to kids. So it's better they know about it than they being confused about it, experimenting and exploring it at all the wrong places. How do you expect them to learn about it themselves while being safe too? What can ensure that no one misuses their lack of knowledge on it? What do you mean by 'learn naturally'?