shalbi thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
awww.. That last line was so sweet..
And they are finally opening up to each other.
Khushi's example of dadi and aman were really apt..
Continue soon
bluesky10 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
Awesome teaser
The conversation between them was awesome
Waiting for the update
Thanks for the pm
Rimi_BS thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
aaw!!that was lovely convo...plz update soon...
stranger2rose thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 6

Chapter 12

She looked at him from behind taking one giant step after the other thus widening the distance between them. After diwali got over he insisted on accompanying her for the morning walks otherwise earlier she used to walk alone in the lawn at her own pace, smelling the fresh flowers and listening to the sweet chirping of the birds but ever since he joined her she missed enjoying all this as he walked briskly and she literally ran after him. The simple easygoing exercise prescribed by the doctor had now been changed into a tiring task because of him. Sometimes she wondered whether she was on a morning walk or taking part in some marathon?

She tried to convince him many times that she could manage all this alone and he needn't lose his precious early morning sleep but he was adamant on participating as much as he could towards the growth of his baby. She took a deep breath and began walking quickly but twisted her foot. She sat on the grass holding her foot and glared at his back in annoyance. It had been more than a month since he had started coming with her, each passing day his increased speed forced her to increase her level of tolerance as well but now she was in no mood to run after him so continued to sit quietly.

Few seconds later he turned around and saw her way behind, he rested his hands on his waist and walked back to her," what is this khushi, you're happily sitting here?" hearing him say that irritated her more, she pressed her lips hard in order to control her losing temper.

" doctor has asked me to walk. Not to run"

He lend his hand out to her and said," alright we will walk."

She was still upset with him and turned her neck to the other side ignoring him, he sighed heavily and said," now get up khushi. Otherwise Golu will complain that you get tired so soon."

She stood up immediately and looked around wondering who was keeping an eye on them then asked," who Golu? And where is he?"

He pointed towards her stomach, her eyes grew wide in shock and she held her belly tightly," I don't believe this. You'll call him Golu?" he smiled and nodded his head," hmm I want my baby to be round cute and chubby." His eyes shone in excitement while she shuddered at the thought of calling the baby "Golu! Golu Arnav Singh Raizada!", couldn't he find a better name than this she thought and frowned at him then asked hesitantly," but Arnav ji, Golu? Everyone will call him Golu?"

He slipped his hands in his pockets and replied calmly," C'mon khushi, golu will be his nickname. When he or she will grow up,we'll think of some other name."

She closed her eyes in relief and thanked god that this was just a nick name and he had said*we'll keep* that meant her opinion would also matter. Would she be around then? She didn't know.

Once again he began walking ahead of her, seeing this she didn't move a step forward making him turn around. He raised his brow questioning her when she answered crossing her arms around her chest," I think we were walking. Together."

He rolled his eyes and indicated with his hand to come up to him then they both slowly started walking together, she touched and admired the pretty flowers on the way while he accompanied her silently.

The whole family was having breakfast when anjali and shyam came to meet them. Anjali was thrilled as she had an important news to share with everyone," daadi, a very good marriage proposal has come for payal." Daadi was pleasantly surprised and narrowed her eyes when shyam explained," daadi ji, you remember Aakash? my uncle's son ..after doing M.BA from Pune, he has got a job in a MNC in Banglore. Now uncle and aunty are looking out for a suitable girl for him."

Anjali interrupted and continued further," I've spoken to them regarding payal." she waited to know everybody's reaction when no one opposed then she stated, "and I've invited them here for tea. Today they'll be coming in the evening."

Payal lowered her eyes shyly and daadi nodded her head with a smile," good. This way both the families will get to know each other. What do you say chotte?."

Arnav raised from his chair and said," whatever you think right..one more thing, don't worry about the expenses. I'll look into them" Then glanced at Aman and said," let's go Aman, we are getting late." And left the house leaving the remaining people aghast with his remark. Nobody was talking about money they only wanted to know his opinion about the proposed alliance. He was known to be brutally honest about his feelings but this time his comments really hurt everybody especially Payal who lowered her head and went to her room quietly.

Both daadi and khushi saw her going to her room sadly. Daadi too felt bad but didn't blame him, she knew her granddaughters had played with his feelings and all she wished was that with time he forgot their betrayal.

Khushi couldn't stop herself from reaching out to payal, she had always seen the good side of her, also she knew that payal cared about her and her brother a lot. Though she must have made mistakes in the past but now she only wished to see both of them happy, in fact whenever needed she was there along with aman to bring both of them closer.

Khushi saw her standing and weeping near the window, she kept her hand on her shoulder and turned her around, payal immediately wiped off the tears and forcefully brought a smile on her lips. Khushi could see the pain in her eyes, payal lowered her head to hide her emotions but couldn't control them for long when khushi lovingly brushed her fingers through her hair. She engulfed khushi in her arms and sobbed silently resting her chin on khushi's shoulder.

Khushi patted her back gently to console her then after some time broke the hug, she wanted payal to speak up and lighten the weight on her heart so lifted her head so that both could look into each other's eyes, "I know arnav ji was hurtful. He shouldn't have said that."

Payal shook her head in negation," no bhabhi. He's right. We sisters were mean to him. We considered him as our step brother and took advantage of his love." Fresh tears came in her eyes as she remembered how selfishly they had manipulated his love and used it for their personal benefit. Khushi couldn't see her crying, she knew deep down the sisters regretted what they did with him especially payal as she was the youngest and closest to him.

She tried to defend her," But now you truly love him." Payal smirked through her tears," it's so strange. There was a time when bhai used to love us and we wouldn't care. And now we do but he doesn't."

" payal, he does care for you." Khushi, urged by pressing her shoulder. Payal rubbed her tears and took a deep breath then said," he loves but he doesn't show. He has forgiven but hasn't forgotten anything. Perhaps we deserve this."

Khushi's heart went out to her on hearing her words. He had a wonderful family around him only if he could forget everything and accept them. Payal held her hand lightly and said," bhabhi, if you don't mind I wish to be alone for sometime." Khushi blinked her eyes and left the room.

He came back home early in the evening to meet aakash and his family over a cup of tea. He dropped his car keys on the bed and picked up the fresh pair of clothes to change. Khushi brought a glass of chilled lemonade for him, she knew tea would be served soon when the guests came over and she wanted to clear a few things with him and for that it was essential for him to keep his mind cool. He came out of the bathroom and saw him with the glass, he frowned at her, he was certainly not expecting lemonade from her but later on took it and sat on the bed. She gulped the lump down her throat and asked," Arnav ji why do you measure relationships with money?" his eyes shot up sending chills down her spine on understanding the real meaning behind her words, he paused for a moment then replied bitterly," because I've paid a price for every damn relationship ..money makes the world go round khushi."

She slowly sat next to him and looked at him," is it so difficult for you to forget your past. When memories hurt then why don't you get over them" He grinned inwardly, it was easier said than done, she didn't know what it felt like to be cheated by those whom you had loved selflessly. She kept her hand on his knee and said," payal has changed. She genuinely regrets what she did."

He sipped on to the cool drink as he remembered how heart broken he was when he had seen the real faces of his sisters, payal being the youngest was loved the most my him, he had never refused her for anything and pampered her to no extent. That was why he was shocked beyond belief on knowing that she too only cared for his money and not him.

Seeing him silently have lemonade she thought of pushing the conversation a little forward," can't you forgive your sisters? After all they are your family." he kept the empty glass on the tray and replied dryly," khushi, now I don't hold anything against them." It was true he had forgiven them all but couldn't forget anything even though a part of him still cared for them like before. He was cordial with them but didn't wish to display his love for them fearing that they might take advantage of his emotions once again.

Aman knocked at the door to inform them that aakash and his family had come over, arnav got up to exit the room when khushi said from behind," soon payal will get married and leave not just this house but this city as well." She paused and added hesitantly," Arnav ji, she needs her brother."

He clenched his jaws hard on hearing her statement, his mind didn't wish to acknowledge the truth behind her words nor did it appreciate the way she was

awakening the dormant feelings residing in his heart.

Families from both the sides gathered, Arnav glared at Aakash, checking him from top to bottom, listening to what he had to say as well as attempting to read the actual thoughts running in his mind. A while later payal was brought before the families by anjali, on seeing Aakas's gaze shift to his sister, he pressed his lips firmly. Although Arnav didn't like the idea of aakash and payal exchanging some words alone but he had to stop himself from opposing when he saw that even daadi had no problems with it.

As the evening came to an end the families accepted the proposal and fixed a suitable date for engagement as well.

When everybody left the hall, Arnav ordered Aman," I want a detailed report on this aakash. Where he was born and brought up..where he studied where he works ..details about his and family and friends. In a nut shell every small little thing about him must be known to me."

" I will not hand him payal just like that."

Unaware that khushi was listening to him from behind, aman scratched his neck and agreed," don't worry boss, it will be done."

She placed her one hand on her waist and bulged out her stomach while standing before the mirror. She straightened herself and picked up a small cushion and stuffed it under her sari then admired herself in the mirror. Just then Arnav entered the room after having dinner and saw her swaying with the cushion tucked under her sari. He frowned at her through the mirror, she quickly turned around and removed the cushion then said sheepishly," I was just wondering how would I look with a baby bump?" he rolled his eyes and shook his head on hearing her," there's still time for that. At least another 3-4 months."

She narrowed her eyes thinking she was in her second month of pregnancy and after two more months her stomach would bulge out but how did he know all this," who told you all this?"

He unclasped his watch and laid down on the bed without replying then rested the back of his head on his palms with his eyes fixed on the ceiling above. Some time later when she too laid down next to him he asked her," Khushi, the baby will love me, right?" she turned her neck towards him, it was impossible for anybody to not love him," of course. Why do you doubt that?" she questioned back.

He nodded his head in agreement," hmm he's my flesh and blood so obviously he'll love me." The bias that he held towards blood relations often disturbed her but she kept silent about it because she knew his sisters earlier didn't value him considering he was their step brother, he still held that grudge against them somewhere," Arnav ji, relationships are relationships. It doesn't matter if people are related to us by blood or not." This time he turned his neck to look at her as she continued," for instance daadi ji, is related to you by blood but Aman is not. However both of them are close to you."

Those two relations were the only relations which helped him to survive and face this world, he never denied that but that didn't help him to ignore what happened with him in the past so much so that he lost faith in himself and in the people around him," do you think I'd be a good father?" he forgot that he would not only have to be the father but also the mother of his child.

She was cent percent sure that he would be a wonderful parent," You're an excellent grandson, brother and friend. And I have no doubt that you'll be a great dad too."

His lips broke into a smile, she always managed to lift up his down spirits, no matter how dark the situation was she succeeded to bring in that small ray of hope for him. He didn't know how and why she had this enormous trust in him.

" you know sometimes your blind trust in me, scares me."

She shut her eyes and said" don't be scared I know you won't let me down."

" how can you be so sure?" he asked in surprise.

" well you love and trust people with your heart and your brains. And I like to follow my heart."

Love? He didn't know but surely he was beginning to trust her, her thoughts, her point of view which was why he had started to share his innermost feelings and fears with her. He turned his back to sleep and said after closing his eyes," I'm also quite sure that you'll continue to look lovely even after putting on weight. And I am saying this from my heart."

She blushed on hearing him and bit her bottom lip.

As the engagement day was fast approaching , Raizada mansion was bustling in excitement. Anjali and khushi were looking forward to their shopping expedition. Anjali asked payal who was still feeling a little low ," so payal what have you decided which color lehenga will you were..red, yellow, pink?"

Payal kept quiet when suddenly everyone heard a voice," yellow. Yellow suits her a lot." She turned around and saw her brother standing who kept his hand on her head lovingly, bringing tears in her eyes. He brushed her tears off and shook his head gesturing her not to weep.

He stepped closer to khushi and said softly ensuring nobody else heard him ," while shopping I don't want you to run out of cash. So before leaving take out more money from my second drawer"

Now she had no problem in accepting the money because he was not buying his relations instead was valuing them.

She opened his cupboard but forgot which drawer he had asked to take money from. She pulled his upper drawer and moved her hand searching in it for money. However something else came in her hand which pleasantly surprised her, books on pregnancy and parenting, she raised her brow and thought no wonder he knew so much about all these things. She grinned and kept them back then opened the lower drawer and took out some money from it.

Thanks for reading

Rose

..ri.. thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
wow..me first..
superb update.. loved it..
khushi is changing arnav slowly..
loved it.. :-)
Edited by ..ri.. - 10 years ago
raaz19 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Lovely update...super excited to read more soon..wow arnav is still as strict as ever and khushi is as sweet...
Cannot wait to read about the engagement soon..Thanks for the Pm
rulama thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 8
The secret behind Arnav's knowledge is out... The hidden emotions of Arnav is out... Arnav's trust in Khushi is out... Arnav's surprise in Khushi's implicit trust in him is also out... Khushi is instrumental in channelling Arnav's thoughts and actions in the right direction... Loved the update...
sweety421 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
I loved the update. ...Very beautifully written dear. ... She is helping him to rebuilt the faith in relationships. ... wonderful
blue_rose1605 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
awesome update... hope arnav will start loving kushi... he is changing
Aish002 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 5
nyc update...the gradual change that khushi brings in is doing wonders for arnav...loved the arnav payal moment at the end...loved this chappy...