Brushing over the core

LoveToLaugh thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Let me just begin with the beautiful shot they started the episode with. Nikumbh lost in thought, and the peaceful Gomti river watching over him. A companion. And then the scene shifts beautifully to Nikumbh sitting on the steps, and letting out all his frustration through the medium that works best for him- the pen and the paper.
I'll give the director from Munbai (who had seemed to me too thick-brained to understand anything) a plus point today because he got one thing straight- that Nikumbh is a sachha artist. Although how he got that impression, considering the way the play ended, I don't understand. But anyway. It was the truth. And Yamini's smile at hearing that made me happy. But when the same Yamini asks Nikumbh why he did not like the ending, considering that everybody else liked it, I wonder if she understands Nikumbh at all? Like AT ALL?
I had hoped that this track would be a character-developing moment for Yamini. I thought that it was about Yamini realizing the magnitude of her mistake. Apparently not. My hopes are now almost gone. The precap almost stamped it for me. This is apparently about Nikumbh misunderstanding her thoroughly, and Yamini suffering and tolerating it like the ideal friend that she is. Everybody seems to tell Nikumbh that he should move on and suck it up. That because it all ended well, he should be all happy and glory. The focus is obviously on NIKUMBH hyper-reacting, misunderstanding, and judging Yamini all wrong. Like Nikumbh said, there was not a trace of guilt on Yamini's face. A discomfort perhaps, now that he is not speaking to her. But no remorse. Funny thing is, nobody expects it either. So what if she made a little change? She did it for him, right? For the play? And it ended great, didn't it? So why is Nikumbh overreacting?
Perhaps, Nikumbh really is misjudging her. Yamini did not use him. She truly wanted to just help him. But they choose to focus only on this. Somehow, the real reason why he has every right to be thoroughly angry gets sidelined. That she broke his trust, that she totally disregarded his view gets totally sidelined. That she totally failed to understand the person that he is, it is amazingly brushed over. Because after all, Nikumbh is the one who fails to understand her!
I don't know for sure if this is how they want to proceed with the track, but it seems likely considering the precap. I don't understand why walking away should be Yamini's reaction. Is she that used to just letting things be and not confronting? But it is easy to see how it work out. Yamini will step out of his life, he will feel guilty, maybe Azam will help him realize how amazingly he has overreacted, he will feel guilty again and realize his mistake and then everything will be happy again. Maybe he will let her work with him in another play.
Is that really how they want to bring them closer to each other? Is that how their bond is supposed to develop?

AreYaar thumbnail
Yes, the main issue has been brushed over with...I enjoyed the epi otherwise cuz some of the scenes...especially the opening one with Nikumb venting out through his writing as always was nice.

But it is becoming apparent now that Yamini is treating Nikumb like a tantrum-throwing kid she has to pacify...a kid who doesn't know what's best for him...also mixed in with this is a weird roundabout way of Yamini wanting to pay him back for all that he did for her...yet again we hear her say today, "Kaun karta hai kisi ke liye itna aaj kal?"...she feels indebted to Nikumb and seems to think this is her way of paying him back and she does indeed think she's done him a favor even if he doesn't think so.

Raghu is taking advantage of the situation and widening the rift...riling up Nikumb every chance he gets.

Yamini alternates b/w making puppy dog faces at Nikumb and asking him to understand her and facepalming over how her father is alienating Nikumb from her...

Yamini also came across as remarkably simple-minded to me today or maybe it was just the direction of the scene...when the director was telling Raghu that only Nikumb can polish Yamini into the artist she needs to become before she can go to Mumbai, Yamini was nodding like a child about to get candy...I wish her reactions weren't all so childish and displayed some hint of maturity vis a vis the way she views Nikumb or art in general.

As of now I don't see any signs of Yamini rising above the materialistic trappings she's been a part of for so long...she has also completely failed to see WHY Nikumb feels so betrayed.

Precap is also along such lines...Yamini saying ok I'll walk away from your life if you want me to...so yeah no doubt a few epis down the line, Nikumb will be expected to "realize his mistake" and go bring Yamini back...Yamini understanding him or what his work truly means to him doesn't seem to be on the table sadly.
CyberOstrich thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Tanisha- You just said everything- I am just nodding my head to each word you have written.
Yamini not even ONCE has uttered - 'Shayad humme yeh nahi karna chahiye tha' and I have dwindling hopes that she will ever! It is going to go EXACTLY as you have mentioned. Was a frustrating watch today😔
Yes she doesnt understand him AT ALL! Thats what has been really disappointing. yet again she repeated that why is he angry- everyone liked the ending- that should have diffused his anger😕 She really does not get it that it was not about the 'reaction'- it was about a certain creative vision which she trampeled upon! But yes- they are not going to take the route of that 'self realisation' from her- it seems to be going- making Nikumb more 'user- friendly' way.

You know I really wanted Nikumb to throw away all the retraint today and go for the kill by the end of it!i wanted him to let go of all the tehzeeb he has- I just wanted him to come out with the sharpest barbs that he's capable towards both Yamini and her dad. It was nice to see that his aggresiveness towards raghu today and he should have really rubbed in the fact that the GREAT (kahe ka great?!!) DIRECTOR from Mumbai had actually asked HIM and not the STAR Yamini to assist him! That would have burned Raghu. And sad Nikumb was not there when the directorji mentioned that Yamini needs more polishing- Nikumbs comeback to that would have been classic I am sure.
And all the himmat that Yamini has gathered was only worth changing the drama's finale kya? Where does that dissapear when her father is being obnoxious with Nikumb in front of her?

I am hoping against hope now that Azam will actually tell Yamini that she has been in the WRONG here and how she needs to realize that! She might have done it with a good reason and surely wanted to help nikumb- but that is NOT how Nikumb operates! But again as you have mentioned- Azam might just do the opposite instead- make Nikumb realize how he has overreacted and how Yamini did this only for him- his advancement- his benefit... *SIGH* atleast dont butcher MY Azam here!

AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: CyberOstrich

You know I really wanted Nikumb to throw away all the retraint today and go for the kill by the end of it!i wanted him to let go of all the tehzeeb he has- I just wanted him to come out with the sharpest barbs that he's capable towards both Yamini and her dad. It was nice to see that his aggresiveness towards raghu today and he should have really rubbed in the fact that the GREAT (kahe ka great?!!) DIRECTOR from Mumbai had actually asked HIM and not the STAR Yamini to assist him! That would have burned Raghu.

Nikumb is venting out in frustration but he lacks the vindictiveness to see his threats through...he planned all kinds of things in his head to put Yamini and her stupid father in their place but when the time came, he didn't create a scene and just walked away...

I like that he can still hold on to his dignity...creating a public tamasha would just be pointless...whatever little he said in an indirect fashion was good enough.
CyberOstrich thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: AreYaar

Yes, the main issue has been brushed over with...I enjoyed the epi otherwise cuz some of the scenes...especially the opening one with Nikumb venting out through his writing as always was nice.

But it is becoming apparent now that Yamini is treating Nikumb like a tantrum-throwing kid she has to pacify...a kid who doesn't know what's best for him...also mixed in with this is a weird roundabout way of Yamini wanting to pay him back for all that he did for her...yet again we hear her say today, "Kaun karta hai kisi ke liye itna aaj kal?"...she feels indebted to Nikumb and seems to think this is her way of paying him back and she does indeed think she's done him a favor even if he doesn't think so.

Raghu is taking advantage of the situation and widening the rift...riling up Nikumb every chance he gets.

Yamini alternates b/w making puppy dog faces at Nikumb and asking him to understand her and facepalming over how her father is alienating Nikumb from her...

Yamini also came across as remarkably simple-minded to me today or maybe it was just the direction of the scene...when the director was telling Raghu that only Nikumb can polish Yamini into the artist she needs to become before she can go to Mumbai, Yamini was nodding like a child about to get candy...I wish her reactions weren't all so childish and displayed some hint of maturity vis a vis the way she views Nikumb or art in general.

As of now I don't see any signs of Yamini rising above the materialistic trappings she's been a part of for so long...she has also completely failed to see WHY Nikumb feels so betrayed.

Precap is also along such lines...Yamini saying ok I'll walk away from your life if you want me to...so yeah no doubt a few epis down the line, Nikumb will be expected to "realize his mistake" and go bring Yamini back...Yamini understanding him or what his work truly means to him doesn't seem to be on the table sadly.

@ Bold- this rings a bell- A strong SHRILL ALARMING BELL... NOT AGAIN!!

As I said in earlier post- can they please spare my Azam in all this-and not take the route of him being the catalyst here to make Nikumb 'realize' Yamini's mahaan altruisim behind her generous act!

LoveToLaugh thumbnail

I enjoyed some scenes too. The few light-hearted moments thrown in between, like the one where Azam asks Nikumbh to go and put his chai ka cup in some fridge, uski ice tea ban jaayegi! 😆
Good point about Yamini wanting to return the favor. She is constantly like...aap ne humare liye itna kuchh kiya, hum kaise kuchh na kare... She thinks she has done some grand thing! Even though Nikumbh was explicit with her. She knew this was not what he wanted. What is honestly so great about happy ending? Does that mean that in her eyes, he was never really successful and that is why she wanted to help him make a success of this play?
Raghu gets on my nerves so much! And he is making things so much worse! Even Nikumbh thought Yamini sent her father to reason with him!
Somebody needs to knock some sense into Yamini. If this is not the trigger Yamini needs to rise above her materialistic trappings, then I don't know when it's going to happen. Obviously the tasks failed to have any lasting effect, and now she cannot even see that in her effort to make things smooth for her friend, she has totally broken everything.
Maybe they will even have Nikumbh acknowledge that he had been wrong in not being happy with the way she twisted the ending. And that will be sheer disrespect to a character like Nikumbh! For someone who holds art as dear as Nikumbh does, I don't know how he is ever going to be okay with this without any hint of remorse from Yamini's end.
Edited by LoveToLaugh - 11 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail
The problem is that the issue has become complicated now...

1) Nikumb feels betrayed that the ending was changed and moved away from his vision

2) He feels used...he feels Yamini played him all along, primed him and at the last minute stole HIS play from under his nose to gain the limelight.

3) There is a hint of an Abhimaan type angle as well with the way ppl are throwing out the jealousy argument or putting Nikumb down to hail Yamin's superstar status again and again.

So overall this has become quite muddled and at this point, it's hard to tell what Nikumb feels worse about...the betrayal or his creative vision being tampered with...the effect seems simultaneous...

So if he actually apologizes for not loving the ending, I would be quite disappointed as well...I'd rather see someone making Yamini understand...doesn't seem likely though *sigh*
AreYaar thumbnail

[

@ Bold- this rings a bell- A strong SHRILL ALARMING BELL... NOT AGAIN!!

As I said in earlier post- can they please spare my Azam in all this-and not take the route of him being the catalyst here to make Nikumb 'realize' Yamini's mahaan altruisim behind her generous act!

LOL it happens in all shows...but Nikumb as a character is more creatively passionate than your average women-hating "alpha-male" type lead...the way they've sketched him, I was hoping they would not undermine his thought process just cuz he's cynical...

All cynics don't need to be "cured" in life...that's an overly simplistic and misguided funda.
LoveToLaugh thumbnail

Tanisha- You just said everything- I am just nodding my head to each word you have written.

Yamini not even ONCE has uttered - 'Shayad humme yeh nahi karna chahiye tha' and I have dwindling hopes that she will ever! It is going to go EXACTLY as you have mentioned. Was a frustrating watch today😔
Yes she doesnt understand him AT ALL! Thats what has been really disappointing. yet again she repeated that why is he angry- everyone liked the ending- that should have diffused his anger😕 She really does not get it that it was not about the 'reaction'- it was about a certain creative vision which she trampeled upon! But yes- they are not going to take the route of that 'self realisation' from her- it seems to be going- making Nikumb more 'user- friendly' way.

You know I really wanted Nikumb to throw away all the retraint today and go for the kill by the end of it!i wanted him to let go of all the tehzeeb he has- I just wanted him to come out with the sharpest barbs that he's capable towards both Yamini and her dad. It was nice to see that his aggresiveness towards raghu today and he should have really rubbed in the fact that the GREAT (kahe ka great?!!) DIRECTOR from Mumbai had actually asked HIM and not the STAR Yamini to assist him! That would have burned Raghu. And sad Nikumb was not there when the directorji mentioned that Yamini needs more polishing- Nikumbs comeback to that would have been classic I am sure.
And all the himmat that Yamini has gathered was only worth changing the drama's finale kya? Where does that dissapear when her father is being obnoxious with Nikumb in front of her?

I am hoping against hope now that Azam will actually tell Yamini that she has been in the WRONG here and how she needs to realize that! She might have done it with a good reason and surely wanted to help nikumb- but that is NOT how Nikumb operates! But again as you have mentioned- Azam might just do the opposite instead- make Nikumb realize how he has overreacted and how Yamini did this only for him- his advancement- his benefit... *SIGH* atleast dont butcher MY Azam here!

Nikumbh's outbursts gave me a good deal of satisfaction too. But he is not capable of being through and through tehzeeb-less! Oh and I so wanted him to bring that up against Raghu. That what he wanted for his Mini was offered to Nikumbh. But he refused it, because just like the person he is, he could not care less that the improvised version of his play ended up getting him accolades.
The confidence was totally misplaced. The tasks had no real effect on her. She has never spoken in front of her father. I had always hoped she would at least speak for Nikumbh when the situation will really demand it, but I don't know if she ever will. She will probably always expect somebody else to speak for her.
Haha... Your Azam...I have very little hope that he will make Yamini see sense at all! Sad reall!
LoveToLaugh thumbnail

The problem is that the issue has become complicated now...

1) Nikumb feels betrayed that the ending was changed and moved away from his vision

2) He feels used...he feels Yamini played him all along, primed him and at the last minute stole HIS play from under his nose to gain the limelight.

3) There is a hint of an Abhimaan type angle as well with the way ppl are throwing out the jealousy argument or putting Nikumb down to hail Yamin's superstar status again and again.

So overall this has become quite muddled and at this point, it's hard to tell what Nikumb feels worse about...the betrayal or his creative vision being tampered with...the effect seems simultaneous...

So if he actually apologizes for not loving the ending, I would be quite disappointed as well...I'd rather see someone making Yamini understand...doesn't seem likely though *sigh*

I know. But he does seem more angered over the fact that Yamini used him and the way people are reacting, it has sealed it for him. Nothing seems to help the situation.
But yeah... If they make him apologize for that, they would have totally destroyed his character. It is not like him at all. They treat his cynical nature as a wrong thing. A result of the past and something that needs to go out of the way if the Yamini-Nikumbh bond has to develop. And that is crazy. I do expect better stuff from this show!