EK ANOKHI KAHAANI
Part 31
"What's so special today?" wondered Aditi. Shlok seemed very happy and excited as he left for office. Everyone was surprised. Aditi couldn't resist asking, "What is it today?!!"
"Saturday!!" replied Kavya with excitement.
Aditi was irritated by that reply. "I know it's Saturday!!" she spat back. Kavya frowned. Aditi said to the others, "Shlok said that today is special... What is so special about today?!"
Everyone was confused and tried to recall whether there was anything significant on that day... but it was just another day...!
Shlok happily ignited the engine of his car with the thought that he would soon meet Aastha. Just then his phone rang and there was change of plans. He had to go to meet a client somewhere. So now he would rech office late, probably 3-4 pm. He was a bit upset. But then he thought, "Koi baat nahi... I will see you in the evening Aastha...!!" He smiled to himself and drove off.
Aastha was desperate to know Shlok's feelings for her. "How will I know?!! What should I do so that I know more about him?!!" thought Aastha. "Oh yes!!" she exclaimed, "I can ask the senior members here... They might know him better...!!"
Aastha happily entered into her cabin. "I will ask them questions about him. 'Plus One' if the answer favours me, and 'Minus One' if it doesn't...! If the ultimate score is zero, then I am just like any other girl for him... If it is negative, I am nothing at all for him... And if the score is positive, then..." and she blushed thinking about it.
Aastha and her team were working on their project. Most of the team members were there.
"C'mon Aastha!! Your test begins now!!" Aastha told herself. She opened her mouth to begin asking about Shlok, but then she did not speak realising that it would seem so odd if she asked about Shlok directly without any reason. But she wanted to know more about him at any cost. She was confused knowing not how to proceed. And then an idea lightened up her mind.
Shikha saw Aastha lost in thought. "Aastha? What happened?!" asked Shikha.
"Nothing..!!" said Aastha as she smiled. "You know what..." said Aastha casually, "I love to study the personalities of different people around me...!!" told Aastha in a voice as loud that everyone present there could hear.
"Oh really?!!" asked Avi. Aastha nodded, smiling. "Have you studied me?!" asked Avi as he winked.
"Ofcourse!!" said Aastha and she went on to describe Avi, considering ever single detail, in such a way that everyone would believe that she really loves to study various personalities. Everyone had gathered around her as she was explaining. Avi was very impressed by her keen observation and interpretation.
"Wow!! Now tell about me...!!" said Shikha excited.
"Well" said Aastha, "I haven't studied you in detail yet... Actually, I consider one person at a time...!!"
"Oh is it? Then whom are you studying presently?!!" asked Shikha curiously.
That's what Aastha had wanted. She was glad her plan had worked out. "Presently, I am studying the mysterious Mr. Shlok Agnihotri...!!" she said in the most dramatic way and everyone laughed including herself.
"True that is...!!" agreed Dolly, "He is a mysterious man!! He is so unpredictable...! And he can get angry anytime... And Aastha, who can know his anger better than you?! He has scolded you much more than anyone else...!!"
Aastha frowned. "Kya Bappa... The test has started with a negative point... Start hi 'Minus One' se hua hai... Pata nahi aagey kya hoga...!!" wondered Aastha.
Looking at Aastha's worried face, Avi said, "Looks like Aastha is recalling Shlok Sir's anger...!!" Everyone giggled.
Aastha just smiled. "Okay...!" she said, "Has anyone of you seen him smile?!!" Aastha was hoping for a negative reply from everyone.
Shikha immediately replied, "Oh yes!! How can I forget his smile when he wished me on my Birthday...!!" Shikha was blushing as others giggled.
"Yeah... he rarely smiles... But it is not like he never smiles...!!" the others were discussing.
"One more negative point...Minus One!!" thought Aastha sadly, "so total Minus Two..."
The others were still discussing over his smile when Aastha asked, "Have you seen him laugh?!" She waited desperately for replies praying, "Please say 'no'... Please say 'no'..."
"Aastha, we see him smile so rarely... seeing him laugh is like next to impossible...!!" said Pranav. Everyone agreed on this.
Aastha was very happy. "Yayy!! Plus One... So total 'Minus One'...!!" she thought.
"Have you seen Shlok Sir cry?!" asked Aastha.
"What?!!" exclaimed Shikha.
"Can he even cry?!!!" said Dolly as everyone laughed.
Aastha was glad. "Shlok Sir cried in front of me...!! So 'Plus One'... Now total is 'Zero'... Phew!!" she thought.
"Have you been to his home?!" asked Asastha curiously.
"Yes, many times!!" said Shikha, "He calls for meetings at his home once in a while..."
"And also, his Birthday celebration is always at his home...!" said Varun.
Aastha was new here, so she didn't know much about that. "And his room?!! Have you seen his room?!!" asked Aastha desperately.
"Room?! Are you kidding?!! Why would he take us to his room Aastha?! No way!!" said Avi.
"Yess!!! Plus One!! So total is 'Plus One'!!! That means he has feelings for me...!!" thought Aastha gladly.
"Has Shlok Sir ever dropped any girl home?!" asked Aastha anxiously.
"Yes... He has dropped me home twice..." said Shikha smiling. "And I guess he has dropped Sonali home once... He might have dropped others too... He is a nice guy that way...!!" she further said.
Aastha nodded smiling sadly. "Minus One... Now total is again Zero..." thought Aastha sadly, "so I am no special for him..." she frowned.
Just then Aastha realised that Sonali wasn't there. "Where is Sonali?!" she asked.
"She hasn't come..." told Avi.
"May be she is not well yet..." said Shikha.
A peon came there. "Aastha Madam," he said, "the van is ready...!!" Aastha remembered that they had to go for sight inspection. Aastha and the team packed their things and went to the venue.
Shlok reached office after his meeting with the client. "Send Aastha to my cabin...!" he told Mansi as soon as he reached.
"But Sir, Aastha is not here..." said Mansi.
"Not here?!! Why?!! I mean... where is she?" asked Shlok desperately.
"Sir, Aastha, with her team, has gone to Sharao Lawns... for sight inspection" informed Mansi.
Shlok was upset. He went to his cabin and sat down on his chair. He cursed his fate. "The day began so beautifully... But then this client and this site inspection is ruining it!! Argh!! When are you coming back Aastha?!!" he wondered. He took out his phone to call Aastha. He was about to dial her number when his phone began ringing. He picked up the phone in anticipation and said, "Kahan ho tum?!!" Where are you?
"Ghar pe, aur kahan?" At home, where else?
"Tum ghar chali gayi?!!! Why did you go home?!! Aur tumhaari aawaaz ko kya ho gaya hai? Why do you sound so different?" saying so he checked his mobile screen. "Oh no!! Yeh toh Aditi hai...!!" he thought. He realised that it was not Aastha but Aditi.
"Shlok... Kya hua hai? Are you okay?!!" asked Aditi listening to his weird questions.
"Err... umm... yes! I am fine!! Why did you call me... by the way?!!" asked Shlok.
"Aise hi...! I was getting bored... so just called you...!! Why don't you come home early today? Let's go out somewhere...!!"
Shlok was very irritated now. "Ek toh Aastha chali gayi hai... aur oopar se iss Aditi ki bakbak!!!" he thought. He said to Aditi, "Sorry Aditi, I am very busy today... can't come home early...!! Bye!!" and he cut the call. Aditi felt very bad.
Shlok dialled Aastha's number at once. The bell was ringing. "C'mon... Pick up the phone Aastha...!!" But there was no reply. Aastha didn't pick up the call. Shlok tried again and again but got the same result. "Why are you not picking up the phone damn it!!!" said Shlok frustrated. He then called Shikha who told him that they would return in an hour.
Shikha told everyone that Shlok had called her to ask when they would be done. Aastha felt very bad that Shlok called Shikha and not her. "I am the event manager. Sill Shlok Sir called Shikha ma'am instead of me...!! Do I mean nothing to him!!" she thought. She was hurt. Later, they left to return to office.
Here, Shlok was waiting in the lobby at the reception for Aastha to return. He was constantly shaking his leg impatiently as he sat there on the chair. Aastha and the team returned to the office. Shlok stood up on seeing Aastha. Aastha saw him, but she was upset with him. She just ignored him and walked ahead with the team.
"Aastha...!!" Shlok called her. She stopped and turned to face him. Everyone else stopped too. "Aastha... Come with me... right now!!" he said.
Aastha was surprised. Everyone looked on curiously. Aastha was already upset with Shlok. She said, "Sorry Sir... But I have got a lot to do here... I haven't finished my target for today...!!"
"You do that afterwards... Right now you are coming with me!!" said Shlok.
"Sir, I don't want to get scolded later for not completing my work on time...!!" she said targetting Shlok scolding her.
Shlok understood that. "I wont scold you... And I am taking you with me, why would I scold you?!!" said Shlok.
Everyone was surprised to see that. Aastha was surprised too. "Come now!!" said Shlok. Aastha still stood at her place confused, "But Sir..."
Shlok just held her hand and and pulled her with him, leaving the others staring at their backs in surprise and curiosity.
TO BE CONTINUED...
Hope you all liked it... Do give your precious feedback...
All criticism, comments, discussions, suggestions,requests are most welcome.
Edited by ..optimist.. - 11 years ago