HotMess thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
I don't think it was a non-challenging role. I don't understand why there is this idea that every light-hearted (or even 'comical' ones) roles are easy to play, and all sad/serious ones are hard to.

Very often actors go OTT while playing such 'bubbly' and 'outgoing' characters, a more recent example being Anushka in Jab Tak Hai Jaan. So, really, I don't think it's easy and nor is she overpraised for it.

I really don't understand the point of taking this away from Kareena. She did very well, and deserved the praises imo. She portrayed both the lively and vulnerable sides of Geet really nicely. :)
DanceUntilWeDie thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
Come on yaar..she has only dat omkara n chameli..she deserves all da praise..dat character actually changed my life n point of view. .dat n srk's chak de 👏
870349 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Deathstroke

That's the problem with BW in general.They think that only playing intense roles and disabled characters is good acting

Especially when movies like that are snooze worthy 😆 😆

I'd take JWM over Chameli everyday of the week and twice on Sunday

Same way id take Ranbir in APKGK over Barfi .

ElOqUeNcE thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Dat movie was realy nice n she was jst too good! I cnt evn imgine othr actres doing dat role
ibelieveinpink thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
I don't think so at all. I'm seen ppl try to play "geet" and it's failed miserably. Kareena brought this likeabililty and vunerability to the character that if someone else might not have. Also, she made me wanna root for her, she made me cry, and she made me laugh (which no BW actress sicne Juhi has been able to do). Kareena is one of the rare and few actresses that was solid comedic timing and it's approved and she tamed her OTTness. I mean Geet was life and energy unleashed but Kareena tamed it enough so Geet wouldn't be annoying.

Remember that JWM-TV remake where lord knows who was casted as Geet. That girl was irritating and no fun to watch. On paper Geet may seen easy to play, but look at Sonam's portrayal of Aisha. Easy on paper, but so shallow--it lacked depth. And Anushka can be OTT at times from what I've seen in PH.

Also, ppl forget that comedy is so hard to do, especially good quality comed with the solid lines. The fact that she can play a character, be true to it and form something so real from something so raw proves how good of actress she is.

Lastly, I live for the line "main apni favorite hoon"...forever my favorite self-motivating dialouge. I'm clearly bias towards this movie and geet and hence another long ass essay response. 😆
desigal90 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
"Nalyaayak, wardi utaar ke phenk de!" 😆
lentils thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
If we look at the script, Geet was not life and energy unleashed. She was just an extremely talkative annoying girl in the beginning of the story according to what Imtiaz wrote. It was Kareena who made her bubbly and yet a likable one.