Chapter 35: Kahani Mein Twist
July, 15th, 2012: Deshmukh Residence
Marriage
Riya's Thoughts/Narrations:
The marriage is happening. I don't know why, but the event seems rather gloomy then happy. I mean, other than the way Arjun's been behaving, everything seems in place.
Except Kunjal's been crying the whole time. Why? Purvi's own siblings aren't, so then why Kunjal?
Archana Aunty's been crying too, but she's Purvi's mom. That's understandable.
What I don't understand is what happened to Arjun. Or Seher, actually.
They both aren't here.
But where did they go?
Teju's Thoughts/Narrations:
The marriage is happening. I've been really pumped through the whole thing rather. Really recently, Riya seemed like she was looking for someone. That's when I realized that Arjun was nowhere to be seen. Or Seher. Hmmm.
What's really getting at my nerves is the way Purvi looks. Does no one else notice these things?
Even as Baba was working on Purvi's kanyadaan, he didn't seem to notice.
Purvi's been expressionless the whole time.
It's as if she's this robot, just listening to what the preist says, and doing so. She looks in no particular direction, and just seems… well lifeless.
Maybe they all think she's just sad? I mean, she is getting married. My little sister, the one I've only known for 5 months.
Should I be sad too?
What's not right?
I wish Purvi would change expressions so I could know what was going on.
Wait. Where's Seher?
Kunjal's Thoughts/Narrations:
The marriage is moving along. I've been crying the whole time. I'll truly never understand why Purvi does the things she does. All I know is I'm indebted to her forever. I'll never have a friend like her. Actually, she's like that sister I never had.
I was going about, watching the marriage, when suddenly, it comes time for the pheras. I don't know why, but I felt kind of anxious. Things kept moving along, when I notice this.
Purvi, who has seems blank the whole marriage, actually showed expressions of disbelief. Looks like Teju noticed too.
I mean come on. They asked Purvi to hold the groom's hand as they took the pheras. I felt even more guilty and terrible than before. It's all my fault.
But that's when is happened. Purvi had just hesitantly slipped her hand into the groom's. And instead of looking forward, her head snapped up at the groom in shock. It was pleasant shock. She was crying too—silent tears.
She continues staring at the groom this way. After they switched places, she stared forward and kept crying, but she never once let go of his hand. And her knuckles were ghost white.
She was holding on tight.
As he put the wedding chain around her neck, she continued staring at him in that phase of pleasant shock. She looked like she could pass out at any moment.
As he put the sindoor on her, she closed her eyes as more silent tears fell from her eyes.
Why wasn't anyone saying anything!?
It was over.
They were married.
She would leave.
I would be guilty.
But then—that's when it happened.
Riya's Thoughts/Narrations:
They went on to take the blessings. Purvi had been awkwardly crying the whole time. Everyone denied it though and tried to be happy and she tried to.
Which was obviously failing.
I just realized that along with Arjun, Dad never showed up.
And then I noticed that Seher slipped in as she thought no one was looking. She had this huge smile plastered on her face.
Soon, after all blessings were taken and all the crying was done and all the rituals were complete, it was time to go.
Or so we thought.
If anyone was supposed to pass out, it should've been the abnormally pale Purvi.
But I may think it might be my turn.
*back to reality*
Ranvir's mom: Okay, now. Let's go.
Ranvir's dad: Haan, chalo. *starts walking*
Groom: Wait. *slowly pulls away the "shield of flowers" in front of his face*
Everyone was shocked. Everyone was beyond shocked.
Teju: A—Arjun?
_____
*a while later after confused guests had left and everyone had sort of calmed down*
Ranvir's mom: What is this nonsense!? I demand my answer!
Arjun: *suddenly bitter, serious tone—AK mode* You'll get your answer, Mrs. Rawat. There's a whole lot of explaining to do. But rather, I'd like to ask you what this nonsense is. *slyly half smiles*
Ranvir's dad: Hey, you! Listen here! Don't get all smart on us! Where's my son!?
Ranvir's mom: Arre, they probably had this all planned out from the beginning! Where—
Manav: Excuse me, but—
Arjun: Listen, * still in AK mode* if anyone should be blamed, it should be you. I can't even imagine you bringing Purvi into this.
Ranvir's dad: Hey!
Arjun: Calm down, Mr. Rawat. If you don't give me a chance to explain, how will you understand what happened? Believe me, I would really like it if you guys left too.
Ranvir's parents: 8utterly shocked by Arjun's behavior*
Arjun: You son, by the way, isn't in my spot because… well… yeah he's in jail.
Everyone, especially Ranvir's parents, were shocked.
Ranvir's mom: Jail? What for?
Arjun: Oh, you know… blackmail, thievery, kidnapping… all that kind of stuff. All the stuff you guys knew about and still tried to threaten Purvi into marrying Ranvir.
Archana: *suddenly mad* Threaten!?
Arjun: Haan, aunty! They were threatening your daughter to marry a criminal!
Ranvir's dad: Hey! Shut up! You've framed him! It's not his fault! You're making up everything to get Ranvir out of the picture!
Arjun: *sarcastically* Right…. Which is why the police have tapes of your threats to Purvi, as well as Ranvir's threats to Purvi. You guys should be lucky your son's the only one in jail.
Ranvir's mom: It's all a lie! Archana! Dekho, he's lying—
Arjun: Why would I lie?
Ranvir's dad: Because you probably wanted to marry her all along!
Arjun: Uhm, excuse me. I've already told you to not drag Purvi into this.
Manav: Mr. Rawat! I swear—if you even dare to take my daughter's name—you'll see the worst of me.
Ranvir's dad: But, Mr. Deshmukh—
Archana: Mr. Rawat, we hold no relationship to you. Please, kindly take your wife and leave.
Ranvir's mom: Archana, we've known each other for a long time—how can you believe everything he says?
Archana: Because, Mrs. Rawat, I've known him longer. And something in my gut tells me he's not lying. Which is why I'm kindly asking you to leave my home.
Manav: If I have to, I can escort you two to the door. Or if you would prefer my sons to do it too.
Ranvir's dad: Oye! Chalo! Don't waste time with these *looks bitterly at Arjun* kind of people.
Arjun: *starts laughing* And that's coming from you?
_____
Manav: Arjun, how, I mean—
Arjun: Uncle, if anything, can I ask you one question? I think I've answered enough already.
Manav: Go ahead.
Arjun: You trust me, right?
Manav: Haan, how could you even think that—
Arjun: Then please, believe me when I say that it's a long story. Just be glad that through everything that happened today, your daughter actually married someone that you know.
Archana: Arjun, it's not that, but how—
Arjun: Aunty, it's a long story, that I promise will be relayed back to you slowly. Everything is just crazy right now.
Riya: (who was standing next to Teju and Sachin) *whispering* I'll say.
Archana: Arre haan, but Purvi—you haven't said anything. Are you okay with this? Did you know anything about what Arjun was doing?
*long, anxious silence*
Purvi: H—haan. Mujhe pata tha.
Purvi's Thoughts/Narrations:
Well, they were questioning me. And I had to answer. Actually, I wanted to ask a hundred questions of my own. Why was I so worked up about getting married to Ranvir, and then suddenly okay with marrying Arjun? How did I know it was him when I held his hand? Was I that comfortable with him? Why did I not say anything? I mean, we're all alive, but I'm—I'm Arjun's w—wife now. And all I could say was:
Purvi: Haan, Mujhe pata tha. And I'm perfectly fine with this.
*back to Purvi's thoughts*
I knew I said something when I felt everyone's shocked gazes burning through to me. Even Arjun's.
This was it. I was semi-comfortably Mrs. Purvi Arjun Kirloskar. Not Ranvir—the criminal's wife, but HIS. The one person that I trust.
Wait, what?
No Precap Again!
Things to Think About: Oh My God! Purvi and Arjun are married!
So, was Ranvir truly charged for all those criminal offences? Is there more to his story or is he a closed chapter? Why was Kunjal crying throughout the marriage? 😕
Why was Seher smiling? Eh…..? 😉
Is Purvi really okay with the marriage? Is Arjun really okay with the marriage?
How did Purvi know it was Arjun? 😲
To find out, stay tuned for the next update!
Thanks,
Esha 😃