satish_2025 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail + 5
CHAPTER 16

For nothing is lost, nothing is ever lost. There is always the clue, the canceled check, the smear of lipstick, the footprint in the canna bed, the condom on the park path, the twitch in the old wound, the baby shoes dipped in bronze, the taint in the blood stream. And all times are one time, and all those dead in the past never lived before our definition gives them life, and out the shadow their eyes implore us.ROBERT PENN WARREN

I was born a bundle of flesh once.I crawled,toddled and stood tall.I have travelled through time and yet today as an adult i carry them,the baby,the toddler,the teen.From diapers,feeding bottles to a hanging cigarette low on my lip and a dirty glare i stood alone on the road with a devil may care attitude.Where and why did they come these magic moments.Like dead bodies i carry them my past lives,a christ i carry my crucifix up this rocky mountain.I will crucify myself and stare into the blazing sky beseeching for answers that have plagued the universe.And god in majesty will circle high above in the hot thermals and as life bleeds out and the sun sets he will land on my body to eat out my eyes and carve out my flesh.God is death,god is a burden and he comes in the end with answers to all your questions but most importantly he has questions of his own.Satish kumar

COLLATERAL DAMAGE-2

"So it's a coincidence. Just like you said. Two rich parents with two rich kids at the same school. They're both killed in accidents. Why are you so interested?"
"Because I don't like coincidence," Blunt replied. "In fact, I don't believe in coincidence. Where some people see coincidence, I see conspiracy.
That's my job.? Anthony Horowitz, Point Blank

The house where balaji was taken to was at the end of a road which broke away from the main road,Ecr.Every house nearby was surrounded by high walls as if they were meant to keep people out and people in.Privacy,people valued privacy so much i guess balaji thought to himself and opened the curtains at the far end of the house and the sun streamed in chasing away the dark and the gloom of the hall.Balaji stood transfixed at the sight before him for the BAY OF BENGAL lay spread like a blue quilt before him.The waves topped with white froth appeared as children running away from their blue mother and they made a splash as they crashed against the shore.Mesmerised, balaji stood watching until he saw a woman run on the beach.Lavanya,balaji thought and hurriedly opened the doors and ran towards the beach which lay just a 100 feet from the door.Like in a trance he ran and searched for the woman,for lavanya whom he had just glimpsed but there was no one there.He sank to the sand in despair and wondered what was happening to him and what help he could be to his friend in this condition.

Come to me in my dreams, and then
By day I shall be well again!
For so the night will more than pay
The hopeless longing of the day.

Come, as thou cam'st a thousand times,
A messenger from radiant climes,
And smile on thy new world, and be
As kind to others as to me!

Or, as thou never cam'st in sooth,
Come now, and let me dream it truth,
And part my hair, and kiss my brow,
And say, My love why sufferest thou?

Come to me in my dreams, and then
By day I shall be well again!
For so the night will more than pay
The hopeless longing of the day.

Longing by Matthew Arnold

Chandru was in his cabin with malaiswamy and both were going through their copies of the investigation they were going to begin.Malaiswamy "chandru sir,i know you well and also am well aware that you are careful with every step you make and every word you speak.But i feel something wrong in this matter and wonder if you are letting your feelings rule your head.Please forgive me for speaking my mind aloud but i want to debate this a bit more before we go any further." Chandru "mr.malaiswamy,i know exactly what you feel and let me tell you that my feelings for priya have no bearing on this case.That is the reason i included you and the others in an open dialogue and also additionally we are sitting here discussing further without the knowledge of priya or others.I understand your fears and that is why i want you to investigate this on your own,quietly,discreetly and report back only to me."

Malaiswamy smiled " yes sir.for if there is any truth in this rumor than we could all find ourselves in grave danger.But give me until tomorrow evening and i will definitely have something by then.I will first go to the govt hospital where the girl lavanya's autopsy was done and see if i can get the report and also talk to the people who conducted the investigation.By talking to both these sources i am sure i can get real information and then we will decide how to go about it."

Chandru thanked him and sank into deep thought after malaiswamy left.Getting up he walked to the mini fridge and picked a bottle of water and stood by the window slowly sipping from it.He smiled when he felt the soft hands of priya hugging him as she rested her head on his back and both stood quietly in love and thought.Chandru staring out of the window softly said " mum wants to meet you.so if you are free why dont you come along with me to my place and stay back for dinner." Priya came in front of him and looked into his eyes "God,meeting your mum makes me recollect my public exams.I was so nervous and a total wreck.Everyone around me kept saying public exams,public exams,this is your life,this is your future and if you dont do well,that's it.But once i took them and finished them i realised how easy it was.I hope it is the same way for your mum scares me more than your dad." Chandru cupped her face and kissed her forehead tenderly " i am there,i am yours until i die and not my mum,dad or even god can keep us apart.so just come and be yourself."

"The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds. And that's what you've given me. That's what I'd hoped to give you forever"? Nicholas Sparks

The day hurried for some and crawled in slow motion for others.Balaji sat near the shore and let the waves play catch me with his feet.The touch and go game the water played were soothing to his aching heart and lost in his thoughts he did not hear dhana come and stand near him.Realising someone was near him balaji looked up and saw dhana and hurriedly stood up.It had been many years since they had said goodbye and those years in passing made for an uncomfortable presence between them.Balaji came closer and said "dhana,how are you?".Dhana smiled his magic smile and hugged balaji tightly and all the ache and pain that balaji had been feeling vanished instantly.He felt his spirits lift as the darkness that lavanya had cast on him receded in fear.They both sat next to each other and let the waves touch their feet.They both giggled like children and the years fell away and the setting sun struggled in the west to shine brighter and to do the impossible,rise from the west to get a glimpse of the two friends who had met again,but spoke very little.Alagesan appeared out of nowhere and placed a tray with two glasses,a bottle of scotch,a ice bucket with ice cubes and a bottle of cold water.Dhana fixed two drinks and balaji took one and the glasses clinked cheers and both sighed in the same breath after taking a sip and stared out into the dark water reflecting the black sky. Balaji looked at dhana and said " i feel i have finally come back home.thank you."dhana chuckled and said "you are going to make me cry,say that again like nadigar thilagam shivaji and i will laugh,really laugh.balaji cleared his throat and said "amma,ennamma" and dhana started roaring in laughter.

Hidden in the darkness,the handpicked special forces policemen stood guard over their leader without intruding into his privacy.For them it was a great relief to see their boss relax and it was the first time they were seeing him drop his guard like this and be totally relaxed.This alone gave them initiative to patrol the area and see that he and his friend were not disturbed.The late evening slowly slipped into the late of the night and the friends sat making small talk,but generally silent and just enjoying their bond of friendship.

Come let us leave dhana and balaji to their silences and friendship and wonder whether we have such friends or ever had such friends.

"True friendship comes when silence between two people is comfortable".
"Love is blind, but friendship closes its eyes".
"Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born".

I shot an arrow into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For, so swiftly it flew, the sight
Could not follow it in its flight.

I breathed a song into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For who has sight so keen and strong,
That it can follow the flight of song?

Long, long afterward, in an oak
I found the arrow, still unbroke;
And the song, from beginning to end,
I found again in the heart of a friend.

The Arrow and the Song by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Edited by s.satishkumar - 11 years ago
satish_2025 thumbnail
CHAPTER 17

"Her eyes were glittering like the eyes of a child when you give a nice surprise, and she laughed with a sudden throaty, tingling way. It is the way a woman laughs for happiness. They never laugh that way just when they are being polite or at a joke. A woman only laughs that way a few times in her life. A woman only laughs that way when something has touched her way down in the very quick of her being and the happiness just wells out as natural as breath and the first jonquils and mountain brooks. When a woman laughs that way it always does something to you. It does not matter what kind of a face she has got either. You hear that laugh and feel that you have grasped a clean and beautiful truth. You feel that way because that laugh is a revelation. It is a great impersonal sincerity. It is a spray of dewy blossom from the great central stalk of All Being, and the woman's name and address hasn't got a damn thing to do with it. Therefore, the laugh cannot be faked. For all any man really wants is to hear a woman laugh like that." Robert Penn Warren, All the King's Men

You sit among others watching a great film and you walk out satisfied and suddenly nudge a person next to you who is shuffling out into the mundane life and light and say "that was a great film,wasn't it" and he nods yes.Yet a few days later you have forgotten most of it but for the few scenes which touched you and will remain with you until the end.Rose crying as she pushes the frozen body of Jack away into and watching him sink into the depths towards the end of the movie TITANIC.Jack holding on to the raft which bears Rose as he is slowly freezing to death and even though he knows for certain that he is going to die he stays in the water for he knows the raft cannot bear both their weight.I cried silent tears while watching that film and still cry in my soul for those scenes are very much alive and will never die.Life my dear ones are like that and we only remember the most important ones,the ones that touched our soul and they remain fresh even in our aging and dying soul.During my school days i used to walk back home after school with a few of my friends although i had been given 50 paisa to catch the bus.But i used to spend that on bajjis and vadais and eating them we used to walk back to our homes.The final leg was a lonely one for all my friends had gone of to their homes and i left alone but with a feeling of content in my stomach with the vadais and a feeling of content in my soul that had come from being with my classmates.They are all gone now,scattered like leaves and seeds on the wind and have fallen far and wide.Some have passed on and many remain but not the ones i want to walk back home again.What is home my dear ones,where is the content which i experienced those days.Yet they persist and walk with me on my lonely walks and lonely moments.They come and stand silently,the ghosts of my memories,they come and gather me in their arms and beg me to talk to them.And i talk long into the night and soon i wake up and find myself talking to myself and all alone with only my memories.

antha naal gnapagam nenjile vanthathe
nanbane nanbane nanbane
intha naal andru pol inbamaai illaiye
athu aen aen aen nanbane

paadam padippu aatam paattam
ithai thavira veru ethai kandom
puthagam paiyile puthiyo paatile
palliyai kandathum othunguvom mazhaiyile

nithamum naadagam nithamum naadagam
ninaivellam kaaviyam
uyarnthavan thaazhnthavan illaiye nammidam

palliyai vittathum paathaigal maarinom
kadamaigal vanthathu kavalaiyum vanthathu

paasam endrum nesam endrum
veedu endrum manaivi endrum
nooru sontham vantha pinnam
thedugindra amaithi enge

Song by vaali from uyarntha manithan

CALM BEFORE THE STORM-1

It was nearly 10.p.m and suddenly balaji turned to dhana and said " if i ask you to do something for me,will you".Dhana nodded "sure,what do you want". balaji opened his mouth to ask him but shook his head and said "no,forget it,not now for it will be too late".dhana calmly looked at balaji and smilingly said "bro,i am the chief ministerand what use is this position if i cannot fulfil what my friend wants.so just tell me what you want." balaji leaned towards him and whispered something and dhana laughed aloud and "ada paavi,people stand and wait for hours for grants of money,land and other favours.and you were worrying about this."dhana turned towards the darkness and like magic his chief of security stood "sir".dhana told him where they were going and off the man went and made calls and a few minutes later their car was ready to leave to where ever they wanted to go.

Although pleasantly drunk both looked calm and steady and kept giggling like children in the back of the car.Dhana kept pointing out new landmarks of chennai and the major changes which had changed the landscape of the city,starting with it becoming CHENNAI from MADRAS.The security chief turned towards dhana and said something and dhana said "thank you.that will do for now.".dhana told balaji that the place which he wanted to go was no longer there but they had a branch nearby in ELDAMS ROAD,TEYNAMPET and would that do. Balaji said ok,as long as the food tastes the same like it would use to when we were in college.

Started on Eldams Road by Velu Amabalam in 1952, Velu Military soon grew to be famous for its excellent cuisine, reasonable prices and personalised service.The owner then opened a branch on Valluvar Kottam High Road and this rapidly became popular. It was a no-frills place , no neon signboard, no A/C, no cushioned chairs, no parking facility. And yet, there would be traffic jams on the road outside the restaurant at lunchtime.
The name resonates in old-timers' memories but the restaurant on Eldams Road is now somewhat run down, and its property on Valluvar Kottam High Road has been leased out. Over the years since these hotels first came up, the non-vegetarian scene in Chennai has changed considerably with luxury hotels and specialty restaurants mushrooming and palates too growing more sophisticated.But the military hotels have survived. Some have woken up to ongoing changes and expanded their fare to accommodate Chinese and north Indian food.The newer menus though, seem to be a somewhat forced concession to the times.
The smell of fried fish lingers in the air, and mounds of steaming rice sit on plantain leaves on the tables.The rice is surrounded by scarlet chicken fry, all kinds of other fry and varieties of kuzhambu. No one looks up from their food. Here, to be absorbed by taste is all that matters.

As ordered by dhana,the cars carrying his security all fell back a few hundrend feet before they reached the hotel and only his car slowly halted before the entrance.M. Mahesh Kumar, owner of Velu Family rushed up to dhana "sir,vanakkam sir.we are honored sir,very honored.please come.Since it was dark and late in the night,and being a week day,traffic had thinned and there was not much crowd around the hotel.So quietly dhana and balaji entered the hotel and found a place in the corner and the table nearby had been cleared out and none were allowed to sit there.Dhana sat with his back turned to the crowd and somehow managed to remain invisible.Huge plantain leaves were laid out on the tables and then food fit for kings just flowed to their tables and they dug in.Balji mixed the rice with his favourite chettinad chicken masala and exclaimed " aha,aha,machaan,ithu sappadu.god i have been dead eating that bland karnataka food which had coconut in everything and even their sambhar tastes sweet.Dhana looked at balaji with great affection and said "bala,i never knew how much i missed being called machaan and how much i missed being with you and eating like this,the way we used to do in college.Just then Mahesh Kumar, owner of Velu Family slowly came to their table and "aiya,food okayva.vere enna vennum sollunga." dhana shook his head "enough,this is too much,bala do you want anything else."balaji said no

.Mahesh Kumar said " sir,we were only given half an hour notice before your arrival and still my mother rushed to the kitchen and made this RAVA kesari for you.please will you taste it for that will make her very happy." dhana said " why are you still standing here.just go get it and we will not just taste but finish the whole damn thing." Mahesh rushed out and rushed back with a tray holding two big cups of rava kesari and tasting it both dhana and balaji closed their eyes in sighed in ecstacy and said " heaven,nectar,beautiful and soon they had wiped their cups clean and before he could control it balaji burped loudly and immediately said " sorry,god that is so embarassing." Dhana said "remember shrek,better out than in i say."

MAHESH the owner had a huge smile on his face and when dhana turned to him and thanked him,he folded his hands and bowed saying that he was blessed to have the chief minister grace his humble hotel and if it was okay could he bring his mother out to meet him.Dhana said okay and mahesh rushed in and a frail old woman but distinguished accompanied him to their table.Dhana stood up as did balaji and folded their hands in namaskaram but the old woman tried to touch his feet and dhana jumped back "what is this.you are like my mother and how can you touch my feet".The old lady said " i wanted to touch the feet of the man who has brought back pride and respect to my state.i wanted to pay my respects to my leader who makes me raise my head and proudly say,i am a tamilan from the land of tamilnadu." dhana hugged the lady and said i am just doing my duty and i dont need thanks for that.he posed for photos with them and everybody who worked there and everyone tried to touch his feet and kiss his hands.Dhana's security chief came near him " sir,we have to leave now for crowds are gathering and soon it will be uncontrollable and a few tv crews have already arrived."So they left in a hurry and as they came out of the hotel a huge roar went up cheering him.Dhana waved to all of them and surrounded by his security team he neared his car.One popular news channel somehow thrust his mike into dhana's face and asked him to say something.Dhana took a deep breath and smiled " chinese,korean,continental and so much more but nothing will beat namma tamil sappadu." And into the night the cars sped away carrying dhana and balaji.

Sorgamae Endralum Athu Nam Ooru Pola Varuma
Athu Ennaadu Endralum Athu Nam Naatukkeedaaguma
Pala Thaesam Muluthum Paesum Mozhigal Tamizh Poal Inithidumaa

As a single entity i came into this world but from the joining of two entities.As a single entity i go to my end but i carry everyone of you,my parents,my family,my friends,the dogs i have known,the places i have seen within me.Our life is not singular but plural for we are a sum of all parts,sum of all fears and put together by events that have made us and broken us.Life is similar to many pieces of a puzzle game, every life,every person we have known create a new you,and a hack a new dimension to our soul.I am an island and yet all of you crash into me as the waves constantly breaking your lives into my being bringing new tastes,new feelings and new emotions and recreating me.

In the beginning I was just a shadow
In the beginning I was alone
In the beginning I was blind, living in a world devoid of light
In the beginning there was only night

I was shattered, left in pieces
And I felt so cold inside
Then I called you from the darkness
Where I hide

I am made of you

"I Am Made Of You" ALICE COOPER

Edited by s.satishkumar - 11 years ago
satish_2025 thumbnail
I am writing because i have some of the chapters already written down in my head.But sometimes there will be a lull and a gap between chapters when my mind is blank.Forgive me and bear with me and most importantly forgive the grammatical errors and liberties that i take with my rudimentary english knowledge.Be well.
spain thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Thanks for posting all these chapters in such quick succession.
Really enjoyed reading them...especially the last one.
Honestly, who cares about grammatical English here?
I finished reading the last chapter...and I found myself drowning in mouthwatering agony...
All I want to do is eat ALL that food you've described so palatably right NOW!!
Thanks for including great lyrics of such classic songs and thoughtful quotes into your story.
I somehow predicted you would post the lyrics of "antha naal gnapagam" here...
the build-up of two old friends reuniting...black and white songs...the sivaji factor...
I put it all together and I was almost anticipating to read about this song...sometime soon...
and here it is!!
I get the mood of the chapter when you posted the lyrics of "Sorgamae Endralum..."...
but it just kept me laughing hysterically.😆😆
I mean, of course, the lyrics are very true and close to anyone's heart who loves and misses their hometown dearly...
but on a random note, have you ever done a close-up check on Ramarajan in the video of this song?
He waves his hand widely to the environment of Singapore, singing this song gloriously wearing lipstick, a bright flashy coloured shirt (sometimes white shirt) with a white lungi...
but the best part is, the Singapore wind accidently lifts up his lungi into the air...and I mean, all the way up...
People still debate if he was wearing any underwear or kovalam or nothing beneath that white lungi.
I couldn't believe how he could sing so proudly and yet make me laugh like a nutcase every time I watch this song.
When I become an old grumpy lady...I may have dementia...
but if someone shows me Ramarajan in this song, I know I will start laughing hysterically again.
Thanks for posting such a beautiful quote about a woman's laughter too.
But those words hold true for a man's laughter as well.
Remember these words:
Dreams are more powerful than facts.
Laughter is the only cure for grief.
And love is stronger than death.
Through laughter and humour, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers.
And once you find that kind of laughter, no matter how painful that situation might be...
you know you will survive it.
Looking forward to reading Ch. 18 whenever you are ready to bring in the storm (in the story).
satish_2025 thumbnail
Thank you spain for a great review.Reviews and comments from a few of you keep me going and are a great inspiration to write more,write better and write quickly.Be well.
satish_2025 thumbnail
Temple talk and my inner voice

Most of you know that i have been living in besantnagar for a long time.Some of the temples i regularly visit are Rathnagireeshwarar temple,Maruntheeswarar temple,adyar padmanabhaswamy temple and when th calling comes Mylapore Kapaleeshwarar temple and that particular shiva's call i take only on sundays or holidays because traffic is a bit of pain when coming back.

I try to go to the temple at least twice a week,preferably monday and thursday and those days reflect why,shiva and his other form Dakshinamurthy whom i have accepted as my guru.But sadly the guru has not accepted me nor given me intimation that he has accpted me for he made it apparent that i was not qualified for his gurukulam.When i questioned why he said i talk too much and that i suffer from verbal runs and am too fond of hearing my own voice and that is school and method of teaching follows the exact opposite.I said okay and he whispered "say that too silently".Yikes,i have been running of my gob from the time i was born and now i know why most people run a mile when they see me.But all that has changed and changed a long while ago and happily for me people still avoid me from my reputation as " The Lord Of Gob" and i am happy to let people believe that and leave me alone.Obviously some of my dearest ones would not abandon me or unfriend me because of my condition and am proud to say that i have a few left.Funnily now when i look back,more than talking too much or talking loudly i think people run when they hear me coming for in fear that i would ask them weird questions.Well i am left wondering who is weird me or the ones who run.

For example many years back in traffic a man put his hand inside his lungi and was practising proctology practicals with his own asshole and yours faithfully went near him and politely asked him if he had lost his ring inside his asshole for he was so frantically digging around.The man took great offence at my own question and found no humor in it.I wonder why.Can you please explain it to me.One more incident was near saidapet when i stopped to have a tea and a smoke and found a couple of grown up guys ogling a pair who were having sex in broad daylight.They were dogs you perverts and one man had the gall and audacity to say "koduthuvetcha nai" and i couldnt help myself telling him " why dont you join the dogs,since you have nothing else to do".Well they wanted to break my face but for the bulging chest and biceps on your humble me,they backed off.But i did hear my great grand mother and ancestors being targeted and abused with some unknown tamil dialect.So when i asked them if they learnt all that from their parents,that is when they decided to vanish and left the shopkeeper and me alone and he asked me why it mattered what they were doing or talking about.I was stumped for an answer for many a time i have been asked this question by my family elders and peers.

Last january i shifted to 1st main road and since Rathnagireeshwarar temple is just down the street,i started going to the temple everyday and it brought me great joy and peace.And since everyone in the temple knew i was a tv actor i got pongal,kesari every other day.well business with pleasure i say.This year sometime during february a new calf was born to the cow called PATTU and they promptly named the calf who was a cowboy like janakaraj says in annamalai Rathnagiri.I have posted that sweet calf's pics on facebook and everyday i went to the temple i sat next to him and played with him,stroking his ears and scratching his throat which used to put him to sleep.But sadly it has been a few months since i have visited the temple and the reason was a conscious one and deliberate one.One day i found Rathnagiri tied to the wall with a length of rope measuring one mollam.The poor calf had his face stuck to the wall and could not move or stand up and looked at everybody pitifully.I confronted the temple people on why the calf was being tortured like this and why he was tied to the wall with such a short tether.

The temple authorities and the priests told me that if extra rope was given to him,then Rathnagiri tried to suckle his mother and then there would be no milk left for the pooja.They added that apart from that when extra length of rope was given to him to move freely he butted devotees and tried to nudge them when they came near his reach.A calf trying to suckle and drink milk from his mother and that is a crime.that mother makes that milk for her calf and it is stolen and used to bathe the god and all that milk goes down the drain rather than the poor calfs belly.Seriously i think at some point all of us hindus have to make up our minds on this wastage of milk on god who i am sure will be only happy to see the milk go to feed calves,puppies and children,dont you think.Imagine all that milk going down the drain into the sewage when lakhs of babies in orphanages are crying for milk.so there you have it and that day i told them what i thought of them and vowed never to step into the temple again.My loss,i dont think so.i have to confess that on my way to the gym early in the morning i stand outside the closed doors of the temple and pray for my secret wishes and most importantly for Rathnagiri and other lives like him.And in the dark i hear a voice whisper,stand by your beliefs,stand by your convictions for i am not in traditions,i am not in rituals,i am not in temples with doors of gold but i am wherever you want me to be.Well, i want to believe that i have been accepted in the house of silence but prefer to keep quiet about the whole damn thing.My wife tells her self and convinces that it is only early stages of dementia or some form of schizo.But i will let you readers be the judge of it.
spain thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Hi Satish,

You are right with your thoughts and I can safely assure you that you are not weird, you are not going through early stages of dementia... or any form of schizo for that matter.
All of us do have some streaks of insanity within us!!
And as long as it does no harm to others and it keeps idiots away from damaging our soul, I think it's a great weapon to have these days.
My rule of worship is simple:
God is anywhere and everywhere you want Him to be.
He resides within your soul.
Your soul resides within your body.
Therefore, worship and respect your body. Don't take your health for granted.
And keep away from those who vex your spirit. Don't waste your time talking to idiots.
Simple rule, huh? Till now, it's kept me at peace.
I've heard about a social activist in Rajasthan who has implemented the water harvesting infrastructure in more than 300 temples. This is to help avoid wastage of gallons of milk and water poured daily over Hindu idols. And the biggest hurdle he faced when he started the campaign was to convince the priests of the temples of the negative consequences these rituals have.
I do know people who gave up Hinduism because of the practice of wasting edible food in rituals.
Yes, the whole business is quite disturbing.
You pour milk over the Hindu deity to wash away your sins, while the action itself is a sin in its own way.
Meanwhile, I do hope you find time to meet the calf Rathnagiri soon.
He sounds like a lovely pet to have.
There was a news article I wanted to post here last week, but I found it rather disturbing and avoided it after reading your "Jai Hind" post.
India did make international news last week for the successful Mars Orbiter Mission and I was very excited about it.
But India made it to the international news for another reason:
18 month calf was gang raped by 4 men last week.
It is very disturbing to read...and I have no comments to make about it.
Even an animal is not safe from India's sex-starved creatures.
Edited by spain - 11 years ago
satish_2025 thumbnail
Your article seals what i think about human beings.I feel totally ashamed and angry at what we human beings are capable of.I am too hurt and dumbstruck to write anything more.
satish_2025 thumbnail
A small story
It was their anniversary, and Aisha was waiting for her husband Rajiv to show up.Things had changed since their marriage, the once cute couplecouldn't-live-without-each-other had turned bitter.Fighting over every little things, both didn't like the way things had changed.
Aisha was waiting to see if Rajiv remembered it was their anniversary!Just as the doorbell rang she ran to find her husband
wet and smiling with a bunch of flowers in his hand.The two started re-living the old days.
Making up for fights, then was dinner plan for champagne, light musicAnd it was raining outside! Just perfect to be home.
But the moment paused when the phone in the bedroom rang.
Aisha went to pick it up and it was a man. "Hello ma'am I'm calling from the police station. Is this Mr. Rajiv Mehra's number?"
"Yes it is!""I'm sorry ma'am; but there was an accident and a man died.
We got this number from his wallet;we need you to come and identify his body."
Aisha's heart sank.!!! She was shocked!
But my husband is here with me?"
"Sorry ma'am, but the incident took place at 2 pm,
when he was boarding the train."Aisha was about to lose her consciousness.
How could this happen?!
She had heard about the soul of the person coming to meet a loved one before it leaves!
She ran into the other room.He was not there. It was true! He had left her for good!!
Oh God she would have died for another chance to mend every little fight!
She rolled on the floor in pain. She lost her chance! Forever!
Suddenly there was a noise from the bathroom,the door opened and Rajiv came out and said
"Darling, I forgot to tell you my wallet got stolen today".
satish_2025 thumbnail
HEY RAM

Many decades ago the man we call the father of our nation was shot and killed.A few decades later our very own IRON LADY also called MOTHER INDIA was shot and killed.Just a few years later a man who was our nations pride (very briefly) and the toast of the world was blasted to bits.The past decade a white lady pulled strings holding a mute puppet and together nearly assasinated our nations growth.

The chief minister of tamilnadu is in jail and was sent there after a long but just process of the law of the land.But it has left me with a bad taste in the mouth and an ache in the heart.I asked myself why and posed the same question to a few at the gym and to a few on the way back home.The answer was the same "maybe it is true that she should be sent to jail for the crimes she had committed,but then so many who have done far worse and involved in bigger scams that run into thousands of crores are outside roaming and plotting more an bigger schemes ".

China is doing well simply because although they have diversity in languages,culture etc,they are still governed by one strong mother-f**king government and who brook no nonsense or shit from anyone or anybody.The partition of andhra pradesh is an example for if this situation had arose in china,any guesses as to the outcome.But here in our country,however we say jai hind and salute the flag there is too much politics and too much shit going on.I will speak from first hand experiences as a model and who has done many national ads and have interacted with many people from many ad agencies from mumbai.Their vision of a South indian is somebody from Madras or better still Madrasi.One who has oiled hair,viboothi in his forehead and speaks English like " i am Murthy.i coming from Tamilnadu".Seriously this is the vision many people from the ad world have of us from South india.they forget that South india means Tamil,Telugu,Malayalam and Kannada put together and prefer to collectively term and classify us as Madrasi's.Just check out the popular voltas ad which has vivek in it and judge for yourself.

For india to change from from the comatose cub to a roaring and growling tiger,radical and painful changes have to be made now in this generation for it will be too late.I think most indians have no clue as to how to enjoy their freedom and independence and exercise by pissing in public and spitting in public.They think gandhi got them their freedom to ride and drive in traffic lanes as they wish and no wonder india has the highest fatalities in road accidents.Hard measures,hard laws have to be brought into effect and first and foremost law and order and protection of the innocent and weak.

I wonder what the people of my state are thinking about all the mayhem and destruction which took place when the chief minister was sent to jail.Agreed as the party members you feel betrayed and cheated but why take it out on public property and people who are working hard to make ends meet.The death toll stands at 16 and many,many more injured.What did you try to achieve and what has been achieved,nothing but the anger of the people.These moments will be used by the opposite parties and high lighted in the next election.You could have turned the tables and protested in anger and fasting which you are trying now.

A strong and really strict but fair central government is what we need now,right now for our country to move forward on the world stage.First and foremost i think we should call pakistan's bluff and put our guns on the table and ask them if they really want a war and a ass kicking.I think this fear of antagonising the arab world and losing oil supplies is what is keeping us down and amking us look like cowards.After the killings of thousands in the mumbai blasts and recently when kasab and co killed hundreds,we are still groping around dickless and impotent.

India lost its dignity and pride in the many years of rule under the mughals and then the british and has yet to regain it.and still we have come a long way and still coming,god knows when.

To be continued