Londoner thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
Can shaken Bollywood still stir a triumph this year?

By Priyanka Khanna Jul 1, 2007, 18:05 GMT

New Delhi, July 1 (IANS) Extending numerological superstitions to taglines of film titles may well be the newest trend in the tinsel town, given the superb box office opening garnered by latest Hindi film - 'Aap Kaa Surroor: The Moviee'.

The film introducing irrepressible singer-composer Himesh Reshammiya as lead actor released Friday to an opening that was at par with the biggest openers of 2006 like 'Krrish' and 'Dhoom 2'.

For the Hindi film trade that has been facing a crisis with big budget, mega hyped and heavily promoted films sinking at the box-office with unnerving regularity, the stupendous and unexpected opening has sent hopes soaring.

The composer of super hit numbers like 'Aaashiq banaya...', 'Jhalak dikhlaja' and many others that chiefly fuse pop and techno, Reshammiya's acting debut has clearly taken Bollywood by surprise.

Characterised and often mocked and criticised for his vocals that have a distinctively nasal twang that he defends by terming them as high pitch and his forever capped and unshaven look, Reshammiya seems to have got himself a strong following of urban and suburban youth a la Salman Khan.

Marketing himself as an outsider who made it big, he has been taking all ridicule in his stride and even has an animated version of himself coming up. If 'Aap Kaa Surroor: The Moviee' continues its great start at the box office, it will surely rock the star system of Bollywood.

The film starring Mallika Sherawat and newcomer Hansika Motwani has the singer-composer playing himself mostly. It has all the masala elements thrown in to make it appealing to masses.

It is not the best on story, technical or musical fronts but rests squarely on packaging of Reshammiya as a hero.

The triumph of a new banner in the wake of box-office drubbing of two high-profile Yash Raj Films (YRF) 'Jhoom Barabar Jhoom' and 'Ta Ra Rum Pum' would reaffirm that no one knows what will work or which trend to follow.

Critics moan that YRF, Bollywood's biggest banner, has long stopped making quality films. It has been taking the audience for granted, promoting camps in the industry, packaging egos as entertainment.

But this year audiences have given them a good fright. The biggest hit of the year so far is 'Bheja Fry', a film costing Rs.6 million going on to make about Rs.120 million. 'Honeymoon Travels Pvt Ltd' collected about Rs.80 million and 'The Namesake' also raked in approximately Rs.50 million.

Among the big-budget films, Mani Ratnam reaffirmed faith in his genius with the seemingly commercially non-viable 'Guru' garnering Rs.300 million.

Other decent performers were 'Shootout At Lokhandwala', still running in theatres, and 'Namastey London' that fared decently by earning more than Rs.150 million.

The duds of the year include 'Salaam-e-Ishq', 'Eklavya: The Royal Guard', 'Big Brother', 'Provoked', 'Life Mein Kabhi Kabhi', 'Shakalaka Boom Boom', 'Just Married', 'Water' and 'Yatra'.

'Tara Rum Pum' raked in more than Rs.150 million in two weeks, but has been unable to rake in the moolah from the single screens. At best it can be described as an average hit. But nothing could prepare for what was in store for 'Jhoom Barabar Jhoom'.

The movie pitted as YRF's super hit of the year had no substance. It is struggling to find its feet after its June 15 release. The film is no match to the Rajnikant-starrer Tamil film, 'Sivaji: The Boss', which is racing towards Rs.1 billion mark in the first two weeks and is expected to pocket another Rs.500 million.

The other big money-churner on the Indian marquees was 'Spider-Man-3' smashing all previous records for Hollywood films in the country. Grossing Rs.640 million in India, it was released in four Indian languages that gave it unprecedented reach.

But after the dry spell in the first half, the monsoon for Bollywood is expected to arrive now with upcoming movies.

Says director Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra: 'After 2006 viewers were expecting more from 2007. Maybe predictable cinema has not cut ice with the audience but it's not as if we haven't had hits. The creative seed sowed last year will bear fruit soon.'

http://movies.monstersandcritics.com/indiancinema/news/artic le_1324721.php/Can_shaken_Bollywood_still_stir_a_triumph_thi s_year
Londoner thumbnail
Aap Ka Surroor's main feature is supposed to be Himesh Reshammiya who dons the acting cap along with debutant Hansika Motwani and Mallika Sherawat. Himesh or HR attempts to prove that he can act too after proving himself as a singer, composer, judge etc. The film has a very stale love story turned thriller for its script but unfortunately it is the screenplay that seems to be the weakest point. The script has the usual run of the mill love story which is set against the backdrop of a conspiracy against Himesh, who plays a world renowned singer. Although Himesh has tried to give his film an international appeal with foreign locales, high action, romance and a good dose of drama, the overall film seems to be high on gloss but low on content and quality. The execution by director Prashant Chadha too is barely average and the screenplay often seems to be a collage of hi-fi sequences thrown in together. Meanwhile performances too are not satisfactory. Himesh comes across as stiff and does not have that powerful screen presence required for an actor. Overall the film may appeal to die-hard Himesh fans, but the film barely makes it to the average mark.

The film belongs to the romantic genre and has been produced by Vijay Taneja and directed by Prashant Chadha. The story has been written by Vibha Singh and the film stars Himesh Reshammiya, Hansika Motwani, Mallika Sherawat, Raj Babbar etc. The music has been composed by Himesh Reshammiya.

Himesh is a singer with fame, fortune and everything going for him. He has fans all over the world and women swoon just at the sight of him. He goes to perform a concert in Germany and there he falls head over heels with the young girl who is co-coordinating his concert. Meanwhile the event organizer and his partner Mallika Sherawat are busy publicizing the concert. Mallika too gets enamored with Himesh but unfortunately he does not reciprocate her feelings as he loves Hansika.

Unfortunately there is an underlying conspiracy being worked out by some who want to crush Himesh's rising glory. A conspiracy is set in motion and Himesh finds himself accused of a murder which he has never committed. He is arrested for the murder of a reporter and no one is willing to believe Himesh's innocence. So Himesh is forced to take the law into his own hands and prove his innocence if he wants to get out of jail and win his ladylove back. There's loads of opportunity for music as Himesh plays a singer. So will Himesh emerge from this crushing conspiracy unscathed? How will he prove that he has not committed any crime? Also what will happen of Himesh's true love?

The story has nothing novel; writer Vibha Singh does not offer any major interesting twists and turns. It is a love story which turns into a thriller later, but unfortunately there are many clichs used in screenplay. The screenplay seems to be more of a collage of stylish sequences but unfortunately these sequences don't completely grip the viewers' attention. The execution by director Prashant is average and he attempts to carry forth the film despite a stale script and a lackluster screenplay. The film has a stylish look and the music too is fine. Performances range from satisfactory to below average. The climax too is predictable. The love story between the lead pair is not very convincing too. The part of the thriller is average but the mystery of the murderer should have been maintained throughout the film to extract full value. The film's pace though is fast and there is a fare dose of drama, action, romance and music included which makes for an average masala flick.

The screenplay often ignores rationality and logic, like when suddenly rickshaws are seen in Germany or the simplicity with which Himesh escapes from prison. There are many sore points like these. But nonetheless Himesh fans may take a liking to all the drama and romance in the film. Music is fine and the good locations and average choreography lift it a notch. Dialogues though seem unconvincing especially the one which Himesh keeps repeating about fate.

Performances are also nothing to rave about. Himesh seem to be stiff at times, though in a few sequences he manages to depict certain emotions well. His dialogue delivery is not up to the mark and unfortunately he does not have that amazing screen presence. But again for a newcomer one could say that he is average and could improve with future films. Hansika Motwani looks sweet but her acting too is not up to the mark. Mallika Sherawat is average in her role which offers limited scope. The rest of the star cast is just average.

Overall the script and screenplay is not convincing enough but there is enough of drama, romance and music to make it an average film. Die- hard loyalists will enjoy Himesh's acting efforts. At the box-office it may be just able to make it to the average mark. The film seems to be an average time-pass flick.

http://www.bollywoodmantra.com/movie-reviews-422-aap-ka-surr oor.html
Londoner thumbnail
The man with the golden noseAds By Google
Bollywood Hot Pictures

June 29, 2007
First Published: 01:12 IST(30/6/2007)
Last Updated: 01:22 IST(30/6/2007)
Himesh Reshammiya's nasal septum has been a greater cause of national concern to purists than, say, Lata Mangeshkar's vocal chords being under threat courtesy the Pedder Road flyover, or even Bappi Lahiri's bling.

But Himesh has always been a matter of 'national concern' it would seem — the headlines just won't leave him. Only this week, he was all over the news for visiting Ajmer Sharif clad in a burqa, to seek divine blessings prior to the opening of his debut film as an actor, Aap Kaa Surroor — The Moviee — The Real Luv Story. Before the issue could take an ugly turn, Himesh, diplomatic as ever, was quick to tender a public apology. His line: he went disguised in a burqa to avoid being mobbed.

Back to his singing, and the news is finally out there! Himesh has agreed in print that — yes — he does sing through his nose. But that certainly hasn't diluted the crowd frenzy — there is a certain amount of collective spontaneity in moving to a Himesh song, never mind the ooohs and aaahs. Last week I was at a posh Bandra nightclub… and guess what the crowd was grooving to?

Whatever the orifice — nasal or vocal — the mania about the guy is only increasing. Blogs have been dedicated to him, hate mails are assuming a new form, lookalikes are being born by the dozen… there are more ringtones, call-back tunes, caller tunes inspired by his music than any other composer's. What next? Elevator music? The last time I was at a music store, there were double and triple CD compilations of Himesh Hits — and someone is surely buying them.

And no music composer can match his autorickshaw following: they have lapped up every Himesh beat, with or without reverse echo jhankar beats.

As fans multiply, so do enemies. Himesh has fallen out with Anu Malik, Boney Kapoor, Asha Bhonsle, to name just a few. In fact, Ashaji wanted to slap him over his Mehbooba version in his film Aap Kaa Surroor. While they have now kissed and made up, Lata Mangeshkar maintains a studied silence and claims she doesn't know him and hasn't heard him ever…

We meet Himesh in his Versova abode, having spent more time sipping milky chai waiting to talk to him, than actually talking to him. He eventually emerges, swathed in a long black leather jacket and, of course, the proverbial cap. Then, our photographer commits the ultimate blasphemy — he asks Himesh to take his cap off. "What are you saying…?" he chokes. "Don't think such thoughts — there will be a national calamity." Somehow, his words sound ominous and we settle for the cap, over his flamboyant jacket and a whole medley of rings.

Early start

Picture this. Himesh Reshammiya is nine years old and on stage in school, giving his debut vocal performance in an aspiring Mohamed Rafi voice with the song John Jani Janardhan from Naseeb. Yes, that's where it all started…

He composes for the 15 year olds. "It is very important to know what they are thinking, they are my biggest audience," he says.

Much has been said about his 'oooh' factor — that long, plaintive sound that forms the opening bar of any Reshammiya song and his 'rich' vocabulary, peppered with words like kashish, suroor, kasoor, aashiqui and sarfarosh, to name a few…

Even if you switch channels on the television or the radio when they are playing his songs or reprimand an auto or cabwallah for doing the same, or walk out of a club that breaks into Reshammiya beats, stop a workout as the gym is teeming with Himesh fans, chances are that when you call a friend to bitch about it, the friend's ringtone may well be a Himesh number. There is no escaping this guy.

With his father well entrenched in the music industry, one would have thought making an entry would be no big deal. "I could have entered any time, but I didn't see myself struggling — I wanted to enter in a big way," he says, with his trademark enormous self-confidence.

Hit pe hit

And Tere Naam, of Salman Khan's not-so-lovely locks fame, was just that — big. Loudspeakers went frantic, so did charts, and so did producers who went on a mad signing spree, hoping for further musical blockbusters — which he seamlessly delivered with his 'hit-pe-hit-pe-hit' formula, and his relentless frenzy of producing 30 tracks in less than six months.

When he says he has a bank of 3,000 songs, you believe him. When he says he owes every thing to God, dad and Salman Khan, you don't say a word. Dad, Vipin Reshammiya, is a Gujarati composer who got him on track (pun unintended). Salman Khan is the good samaritan who signed him on as music composer in lieu of a film that never got made (which, incidentally, Himesh's father was producing). When he says he is inspired by world music, and wants to explore it in every form and sound, you grant it to him. Probably that's why both raga-based melodies and sprinted youthful numbers come easy to him — Tere Naam, Aitraaz, Aashiq Banaya Aapne, Maine Pyaar Kyun Kiya, Aksar, Phir Hera Pheri, 36 China Town, Namaste London, to name a few. When he claims to be working on 40 films and giving up to three to four tune options for every song, you accept this 'Himeshism'. When Aashiq Banaya Aapne scored way higher than Parineeta at the awards two years ago… you didn't bat an eyelid.

But there is one question that still remains unsolved: Cap ke peeche kya hai? And yes, the just released Aap Kaa Surroor, inspired by his eponymous album that sold a record of over 10 lakh copies purports to unravel the Himesh mystery — what is his love story, why he wears a cap, why he does not smile… get the picture?

http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/StoryPage.aspx?id=4f 4fa5de-f143-4e40-b363-c6eab18d3a3b&&Headline=The+man+with+th e+golden+nose
Londoner thumbnail
Aap Kaa Surroor is a perfect debut'

Most of us remember Hansika Motwani as the child artiste in movies like Koi... Mil Gaya and the hard-hitting Jaago.
But the actress has grown up, and has now made her adult debut in Himesh Reshammiya's Aap Kaa Surroor: The Moviee: The Real Luv Story.

Hansika looks nothing like the cute little girl we saw earlier. The 16-year-old has turned into a beautiful woman. She talks to Narendra Singh about her film.

You were kept under wraps before AKS released. Why?

If I were to talk to you before the release of the film, I would have had hardly anything to talk about. Now, when the film has finally hit the theatres, you can ask me more questions. Now, I can talk more about myself and my role in the film.

Did you sneak into any cinema hall to gauge the audiences' reaction to the film?
The film has just released and hopefully in three or four days, we will get to know its fate. As far as what I have heard, the report is very good. But I don't want to boast about the film. Whatever we have done in the film has come straight from the heart so I just hope our audience and God likes it, and we are able to live up to their expectations.

How will you rate yourself as an actress on a scale of 10?

Who am I to rate and judge myself? I can't rate or judge neither others nor myself. I have just taken a small step through Aap Kaa Surroor and I have to go a long way. I have to learn a lot. It's only my audience who can judge me.

So you won't give any number to yourself?

I don't know how much I should give myself. I can give myself even a minus figure because I have a long way to go.

It's said that when the film shoot was on, on one occasion you referred to Mallika Sherawat as Mallika Aunty. Is it true?
She is a senior in the film industry. How can I call her Mallika Aunty? All these things are fake. I have learnt so much from Mallika; she is such a good human being. She is a thorough professional and a perfect person. She would be the first person to be on the sets on time. I had a very good equation with Mallika and she was very sweet to me, so why will I call her aunty?

Is Aap Kaa Surroor the perfect debut for you or do you think you could have had a better debut?

This is my perfect debut. I should be happy with whatever I have right now and I am happy with what I have got. I could not be happier than this debut. I thank God that he has given me so much and I thank everyone who had faith in me that I could pull my role in this film. With folded hands, I say thank you to all of them.

The reference point for Himesh when he says Aap Kaa Surroor is you. Who would be reference point for you, if you were to say the same to someone outside the film?
(Laughs) I don't want to answer that. I don't know, it could be anyone, the person you love or the person who is closest to you. It depends from person to person.

Any interesting anecdotes while shooting?

HR sir came up with this fictitious name and would always ask me who 'Antonio' was. It would confuse me! He used to tease me like that and most of the time, he forgot the name himself! Both HR and Prashant sir (Chadha, director) has this amazing sense of humour.

Is Himesh Reshammiya a better actor, singer or composer?

He is number one in all the three departments.

You're being diplomatic.

No, he has proved himself as music director, singer and now, as an actor as well. I have learnt a lot from him.

What next from here? Have you decided upon your future projects?
I have many offers. Let's see what appeals to my mom and my manager. Let's see what God drops me in my small kitty.

Only mom and manager? What about your choice?

Yes, obviously, it does matter. But they guide me

http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2007/jul/02slide5.htm
Londoner thumbnail
Up, close and personal with Himesh
2 Jul, 2007 l 0000 hrs ISTlAGENCIES

Himesh Reshammiya met his audience and his screaming fans at the first day, first show of his movie Aap Kaa Surroor at Cinemax, Versova.
HR or Himesh Reshammiya met his audience and his screaming fans at the first day, first show of his movie Aap Kaa Surroor - The Moviee - The Real Luv Story at Cinemax, Versova. Himesh entered the multiplex with his cast and crew and his mother Madhu, whose birthday it was on the day of the release of his movie.

Sitting in the Red Lounge, he interacted with the media at length, patiently answering all their queries. He proudly announced that it was also his mother's birthday, and that the release of his movie on the same day was not a coincidence, but was in fact, planned. He then introduced the director, Prashant Chadha, Prashant's sister Rupa Chadha, also the film's stylist and the cameraman Manoj Soni to the media.

Himesh was visibly ecstatic to celebrate his mother's birthday with the audiences. In the interval, he was felicitated by the Cinemax staff and the whole audience sang 'Happy Birthday' for his mother. Himesh was touched and thanked Cinemax and its patrons for this encouragement

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Cities/City_Supplements/B ombay_Times/Up_close_and_personal_with_Himesh/articleshow/21 65254.cms
Londoner thumbnail
'Aap...' - Reshammiya, cancel the sequel.
Email Print Download PDF Comments (0)
By Subhash K. Jha. India, 01:30 PM IST

Film: Aap Kaa Surroor; Cast: Himesh Reshammiya, Hansika Motwani, Mallika Sherawat; Director: Prashant Chadha; Ratings: *

Can Himesh Reshammiya act? What a silly question! As silly as asking, can Reshammiya sing? Of course he can't! Who said he was an actor in the first place?

The role of Reshammiya has been written to accentuate his capped unsmiling visage. He gets on stage, bursts into many self-written songs where hordes of fans shriek, clap and cheer. They take to Reshammiya like fish to water.

If you are Reshammiya you win the race even before the gun goes off.

Guns do go off in this musical thriller where the music often provides the thrills while the suspense about a murdered girl's body in the rock star's purview leaves you as cold as the corpse that triggers off a chain of reactions ranging from weird to wired - depending on which side of the stage you're standing and peering from.

To ensure a safe passage into celluloid stardom, Reshammiya has spared no pains. 'Aap Kaa Surroor' has everything - from untried snow-capped locations to spotlight the capped cheerleaders auspicious journey into the sphere of stardom, to dozens of auto-rickshaws suddenly appearing to support Reshammiya's hefty hi jinks.

To be fair, the songs and the stage performances do make your pulse pound and your feet feverishly wild. The 'Mehbooba' track put there mainly to make Mallika Sherawat sizzle, gets slightly off-colour. It tries too hard to win over the audience and influence their judgement.

But you really can't win over the audience with songs and stage performances. They see Reshammiya doing that anyway. What was required was a strong plotline to carry his acting aspirations into the sphere of the bearable, if not the believable.

Vibha Singh's screenplay seems to have borrowed generously, if somewhat unnecessarily, from Jon Avnet's thriller 'Red Corner' where Richard Gere played a foreigner in China who has to clear himself of murder charges with the help of a sexy lawyer.

Mallika doubling up as a femme fatale and a lawyer provides all the unintentional laughter.

It's hard to answer why Reshammiya decided to become an actor when he very obviously can't act?

His leading lady Hansika Motwani can act. She does so in every moment, countering Reshammiya's deadpan expressions with an overdose of facial gymnastics, which qualify her as the new age all-purpose Barbie doll.

Rock meets deadwood in this mixture of staged splendour and doctored misadventure. The locations are well exploited by Manoj Soni's camera. The frames avoid garish overstatement. But a quiet confidence is no substitute for genuine ability.

Both Reshammiya and his director fail to generate a high level of curiosity in the screen adventures of the nasal drifter.

Reshammiya, cancel the sequel.

http://www.indiaenews.com/bollywood/20070702/58657.htm
HR ki sayyonni thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Hey all !!!11

ooh my god !! i can't believe Shubhas K jha said such things - i thought he supported Himeshji .....hmmmm 😕

Dhruti thanx 4 the articals yaar !!!!!

Jem4Himesh thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: HR ki sayyonni

Hey all !!!11

ooh my god !! i can't believe Shubhas K jha said such things - i thought he supported Himeshji .....hmmmm 😕

Dhruti thanx 4 the articals yaar !!!!!

arre sis dun 4get he's a journo...they dun support anybody thanks dhruti!!

Londoner thumbnail
He's the choice of the masses

FILMS

Archana Jahagirdar / New Delhi July 03, 2007

The nasal singer gets the thumbs up at the BO as well

People like us may not be thronging the theatres to watch Aap Kaa Surroor, but those who do watch Hindi movies first day, first show, have spoken. This Himesh Reshammiya starrer — his first film as the main lead — has had an opening response on par with blockbuster movies like Kkrish and Dhoom 2.

Says trade analyst Taran Adarsh, "Himesh enjoys tremendous popularity with the masses. Whether you like him or dislike him, you cannot ignore this man anymore." Agress film critic Anupama Chopra, "Honestly, Himesh has proved everyone wrong again." Chopra's reference is, of course, to the flak that Reshammiya has been at the receiving end of ever since he burst into the limelight two years ago with his first music video.

Critics have more often than not damned his voice for its nasal quality; then his foray into acting too was met with a lot of scepticism. And after the film was released, critics once again went hammer and tongs at it. But, responds its director Prashant Chadha, who studied film making in Canada, assisted Mukul Anand and has made all of Reshammiya's music videos, "Himesh's fan base is in the smallest centres. So you can't make an art-house film with him. We are catering to the masses here. This is not art house cinema."

Says trade analyst Vinod Mirani, "The movie is doing well in all territories."" And according to C R Sharma, north India-based film exhibitor, "People are already coming to see the movie again. And young people have appreciated the movie."

Assuming that the movie does sustain the opening response that it has got, what does the director of the film plan to do next? Says Chadha, "I am not in the rat race. Right now I am looking to take everyone for a nice holiday." But when pressed as to the possibility of a sequel he says, ""The market will demand it. It would be prudent to make a sequel and, really, why not?"

Why not indeed? Sequels in recent times in Bollywood have done well and given Reshammiya's ability to surprise, that too may have an equally good opening response. As for PLUs, time to get in touch with the real India, the one that appreciates Reshammiya and his brand of music and cinema.

http://www.business-standard.com/common/storypage.php?autono =289798&leftnm=5&subLeft=0&chkFlg=
Londoner thumbnail
Today Himesh Reshammiya and Salman Khan are not even in talking terms

When Himesh Reshammiya was struggling to become a music director, he was taken under Salman Khan's wings. But today they are not even in talking terms. When asked actually what happened between them, Himesh clarifies, "Salman and I did have a difference of opinion over a concert in Nagpur a year ago. But it was sorted out. And if we don't meet often it's only because we're both busy with out respective careers." Things changed drastically when Himesh gave hits one by one and become a superstar. A source informs, "Suddenly Himesh was hugely much in demand and not at Salman's beck, and call anymore. Salman's sensitive side revolted to this development."

http://www.bollywoodpremiere.com/movies/news/07/jul/himeshsa lman-2.php