Nupur was working in the kitchen ,humming along with the song playing on the music player. she had plans to surprise Mayank & Shilpa aunty.It was Mayank's birthday that day & she intended to prepare a celebrational dinner,before the both of them got back home. it was a dinner for the sharmas only ,2 actual Sharmas & 1 would be Sharma. Nupur blushed at the thought.
she set the prepared dishes near the microwave ready to heat them up ,before serving. Nupur took out fresh vegetables & started chopping them up for the salad.
Mayank opened the latch with his key ,put his laptop on a side table,he spotted an overnight bag, he was intrigued at the tempting aromas wafting from the kitchen. he followed his nose & stood at the door of the kitchen looking at a sight ,he hoped would greet him every day for rest of his life. Nupur in his kitchen , she wore a pink shalwar suit,her hair was bundled up on top of her head,she was wearing an white apron.
Nupur stood at the kitchen sink washing her hands.she did not realize Mayank was back home. Mayank held the bow of the apron & pulled her backwards , Nupur gasped ,she collided with Mayank's chest. Mayank let go of the apron & encircled her waist,his chin found its favorite place in the crook of Nupur's neck. Nupur looked back at Mayank & said," why did'nt you say something instead of scaring me this way??" " who else but I can do this with you Jaan?"asked Mayank " besides its more fun this way." he turned her to face him ,pulled her closer & asked " so what are you doing here at this time? did'nt you have office today." " i took a half day off today as i had to plan a surprise for special some one" said Nupur,tweaking Mayank's nose. " wish you a very Happy Birthday Mayank!!!" said Nupur putting her arms around his neck.
"hmmm... just plain Happy Birthday??" asked Mayank,"where is my gift??" " i have it in my bag , just a minute i will go get it." said Nupur smiling mischievously ,she knew what Mayank meant ,but she loved teasing him.
Mayank sighed heavily & touched his forehead to Nupur's & said ," whats the fun in acting thick as a brick Nupur??" " just wanted to see this same reaction Mayank!!" said Nupur mimicking Mayank's tone & started laughing. Mayank looked at her & shook his head saying" how on earth i fell for a contrary girl like you ??" " because Mayank Sharma you love challenges & i am the best challenge ever in your life." said Nupur still laughing. now Mayank smiled too & pulled her tighter in his arms .
Nupur put her head on his chest ,Mayank caressed her hair.both stood there in silence listening to each other's heart beats. a feeling of bliss settled over them.
Shilpa Sharma stopped short in the doorway ,she saw her son & his fiance in each others'arms ,they were totally oblivious to their surroundings. She smiled indulgently at the couple & retreated silently, mentally utaroing their nazar. She opened the front door, shut it again & called out ," i am home. Mayu!!!! you there??" then she walked back slowly to the kitchen giving the couple time to pull themselves together.
Both Mayank Nupur came out of their trance with a start .Nupur backed away from Mayank hastily , picked up a rag & began wiping already clean kitchen island.she was blushing hard. Mayank was flustured too. he had to clear his throat before answering back ,"yes Maa!! i am in here ,in the kitchen."
Shilpa came back in kitchen & smiled mischievously at both of them.both would 'nt meet her eyes ,so she took pity on them & decided not to pull their leg.
"something smells wonderful!!! i was undecided what to cook for dinner ,said Shilpa ,"thanks Nupur beta .
"Maa ,lets first eat it & then you can thank her ,if we survive. " said Mayank smiling mischievously & teasing Nupur.
The moment Nupur heard this she forgot all her awkwardness,she turned towards Mayank her eyes blazing ."you take back your words Mayank Sharma, right this instant, you know i am a better cook than you.right Maa??" said Nupur hitting Mayank with the dish rag in her hand.
" yeah right !!! Maa is partial towards you so of course she is going to say yes." said Mayank laughing.
"kids,kids!! quit bickering." said Shilpa," i am going to freshen up , both of you freshen up too . As Shilpa left the kitchen Nupur looked at Mayank & asked ," you really think i am a lousy cook??" " tumhare haatho se to main zehar bhi kha sakta hoon to ye khana kya cheez hai", said Mayank. Nupur's jaw dropped open at Mayank's filmy line. she hit Mayank lightly on his chest & said ," Mayank i am really serious."
"Nupur!!! come onnn!!! you know i was just kidding. of course you are a good cook but not better than my Maa." said Mayank smiling.Nupur smiled back at him," i know . but i am better than you."
Mayank stood before his wardrobe ,trying to decide which shirt to wear.
he stood in a black vest ,his hair dishevelled & a bit damp.
Nupur entered Mayank's room,holding a gift wrapped package. "Mayank!!!" she called . Mayank turned towards her & was enchanted .
Nupur looked stunning in his fav white colored anarkali, her long hair open. Mayank looked at her unblinking ,Nupur felt a bit shy at Mayank's intense gaze. she looked down & pushed back the hair fallen on her forehead.
Nupur walked shyly towards Mayank & said " Mayank!!! i want you to wear this shirt that i got for you." she handed the package to Mayank & lightly kissed him on the cheek ," wish you very Happy Birthday Mayank !!! may all that you wish for come true."
Mayank opened the packet & took out a deep blue shirt. Nupur helped Mayank put on the shirt ,as she began buttoning it up Mayank's arms wound around her neck. Nupur fastened the buttons & looked at Mayank ," hmmm... just as i thought ,this looks good on you. take a look & tell me did you like it??" She turned Mayank towards the mirror . Mayank glanced at his reflection ,then turned & pulled Nupur in his arms. " i like the shirt but i love the one who got this shirt more than anything in this world." he wound his arms tighter around her & dipped his head . Nupur looked up at him, her heart started racing. "MMayank what are you doing??" " i want to thank you for this lovely gift . may i ??asked Mayank smiling. looking in his deep chocolate brown eyes , at his dimpled smile Nupur just nodded. Mayank looked deep in Nupur's eyes & kissed her tenderly.