Bigg Boss 19 - Daily Discussion Topic - 20th Sep 2025 - WKV
🏏T20 Asia Cup 2025: India vs Oman, 12th Match, Group A at Abu Dhabi🏏
Deepika starts shooting for King
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Sept 20, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
🏏 Asia Cup 2025: Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh, Super Four, Match 1 Dubai🏏
Anupamaa 20 -24 Sept 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Downfall is Real! No one even cares for SPA pics this year
Star Parivaar Ki Favourite Saas
Book Talk Reading Challenge & Book Bingo ~ Oct 2025 Sign up open!
HONEYMOON🏩 20th and 21.9
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Sept 21, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
Homebound - OSCARS 2026 Official Indian Entry
Baseer’s Accent
Akshay Kumar Is Back To Giving Hits
H-1B Visa Crisis: Families Forced to Return, Futures at Stake
Chunkey Panday happiest for Ahaan’s success (Saiyaara)
Tabu likes a reel shading Deepika on Instagram
👻😈😈😈Mask Of Zorro😈😈😈👻
24 years of Ajnabee
🏏India vs Pakistan, Asia Cup-Super Four, Match 14 (A1 v A2) Dubai🏏
@Meenji22: Thanks. There's still some time.
@v.p.joshi: Thank U :)
@Jyoraj: ThankU I happen to like twists and turns.
@Cucking_Frazy: Thanks. Unfortunately I can't send pms. Takes too much time.
@chinnamsahithi: Thanks!
@aaliya14: Thanks! Yes he's married to both"sort of.
@.Shree: Thanks! And same to you too! :)
@namita25: ?
@SHINYSHREYA: Thanks sweetie :)
@NehaVDian: Thanks for liking the story. Yes, Rishabh is unfortunate and you are right about Madhu. Maybe she is the way she is for some reason? A past? More to come.
@noiseygirl: Thanks! Wait and see :)
@Clara20: Thanks. Yes I did, but stopped. I hope not this time :)
@momi78: Anger is a vice of Rishabh's and Madh's. LOL! Will he need to? ;)
@Prettyliars: Thanks!
@shweta: Thanks! In next :)
@kank_dah: Thanks! :)
@Ni33: Sweetheart, excellent predictions I must say!! Happy to know that you want to read more! :D
Will update soon!
7: AAKHON KE SAGAR
Rishabh applied an ear to the door. Faintly he perceived the rumble of chatter from the crowd gathered below. Propping the door slightly open, he strained harder, but couldn't distinguish his mother's distinctive voice from the rest. He knew that she, along with the rest of his small family had arrived with much fanfare at least 10 minutes ago, when Uncle Rajbir's ancient khattara Merc had pulled up in the driveway. Had the main purpose of their visit bypassed their minds in the excitement of meeting the rest of the clan?
What should I do? I can't just hide here in my room and wait for someone to break the door down! Madhu is right. I have to face the music. And if my mother tries to twist my arm into getting hitched to her beloved Renu or somebody , I will put my foot down and say that I'll remain loyal to my wife as long as I live, even if she has no interest in me!
The thought conjured up Madhu's impassioned face, and with it came a sense of emptiness that was immediately replaced by fury at himself. How could he waste his time thinking about her? Certainly she had no place in his life. None whatsoever!
He was jolted out of his musings by a couple of piercingly loud whistles. He ran out onto the balcony. A slim girl dressed all in white, her face shrouded under a thick dupatta was standing below, waving wildly at him.
"Who in hell are you?" He shouted irritably, in no mood for congeniality, especially with the female of the species.
"Hush! Idiot! Tum toh bilkul gadhe nikle! It's me, Madhu!" She retorted lifting her veil while casting a wary glance around. "Who else do you think will try to attract your attention like this? Now don't just stand there and stare. Give me a hand up!"
"What a weird girl you are!" Rishabh observed with a perplexed smile, noting an immediate dissipation of his anxieties.
"Jaldi! Before I change my mind!"
Those words were enough to prompt him to propel his legs over the railing and jump down.
She looked inquiringly at him, "Don't you know of the blanket trick? Picture nahin dekhte kya?"
"Nahin. Phir bhi, I think lifting you up would be quicker and far more efficient. You are such a tiny creature anyway." He said smiling at her. It had escaped him until now that she was indeed quite small and delicate. Her forceful personality made her appear much larger than life.
She snorted and managed to look supremely offended.
"C'mon, we have no time to waste!" He urged, cupping his hands together and going down on his haunches.
She looked unconvinced but without saying another word, removed her lucknowis and placed a dainty foot in his hands. Then using his shoulders as a step ladder, reached up for the iron railing and attempted to haul herself up.
He, without a fraction's hesitation, positioned both his hands on her backside, and pushed hard, hoisting her up. Then ignoring her loud appalled gasp, followed immediately behind.
"How dare you handle me so intimately?" She exclaimed, her fair complexion hot and flushed.
"There is no place for modesty right now, besides feminine anatomy doesn't affect me at all!" He retorted promptly, though experiencing quite the contrary. But he wasn't willing to admit it, not even to himself. Instead he snapped brusquely, "Why did you come? Or did you suddenly take a liking to honesty?"
She laughed aloud, not appearing the least affronted. It was a pretty sight. "I felt bad for you. At first I thought that I will let your mother make a bharta of you, then...' She shrugged her shoulders, "I felt remorseful and decided to come to your aid. Besides I was curious to meet your tyrant mother." She said with a cheeky grin.
"I don't know what to say." Rishabh muttered, at a loss. She had managed to upset his rhythm completely and it annoyed him.
"Don't say anything, then. Let's proceed." She smiled, as if well cognizant of the effect she was having on him, and ambled over to the door.
"Hey, you can't go down like that!" Rishabh said suddenly remembering the red box his aunt had given him. It was still lying on the floor at the exact spot where he'd tossed it earlier that morning. He thrust it into her hands, "Wear whatever is in this and come down." She took it reluctantly. "Till then I will try to hold the fort. People must be getting restless."
And they were...
As he stood at the head of the stairs, Rishabh could sense an undercurrent of unease. Anxiety was written clearly on many faces, while on others there was obvious bemusement. It was just a matter of time before all hell broke loose. He closed his eyes and sent up a fervent wish to be miraculously whisked away.
But his prayer wasn't granted.
"Rishabh!"
Schooling a pleasant smile on his face, he let himself be enveloped in a series of hugs.
"A married man at last!" His father exclaimed, disbelievingly.
Married man? Rishabh couldn't believe it either.
"My son!"
"Mom!" Grudgingly he accepted a loud smack on each cheek, fingers rising automatically to erase the smudges left by the deep pink lipstick.
"You look utterly nerve-wracked and upset! Kya hua beta?" Shobha asked, her discerning eyes sweeping over him anxiously.
"Ah..it's nothing, mom."
"Mama! My diehard bachelor brother has just got hooked! He's still in a state of shock. What else did you expect?" His sister pitched in with a knowing wink, coming to his rescue.
Rishabh smiled gratefully at her. Rima had always acted as his shield, protecting him from the brunt of his parents' wrath that he somehow frequently appeared to kindle with his rebellious and unconventional attitude. It was fortunate for him that the passage of years had watered it down into a grudging tolerance.
But Shobha wasn't convinced. Experience had fine-tuned her instincts to near perfection. She could smell a rat a mile away. "Where is my bahu? Or is she planning to remain incognito forever!" She demanded, shoving her son aside easily, despite her slight stature and prepared to march up the stairs.
"Mom, please...she's getting ready!"
"I don't care! If I don't see her now, then I won't ever!"
A sudden hush descended over the entire room. Rishabh saw everybody's eyes including those of this mother's focus on the staircase behind him. He followed their gaze and identified the cause of this singular attention. An ethereal vision in jewel encrusted gossamer floated down to the accompaniment of a rhythmic tinkle of glass bangles, her identity concealed behind a thick veil of teal netting.
He wasn't sure if his heart stopped or his breath or both, but he was feeling oddly spaced out, as she came to a standstill next to him.
A hard nudge in the ribs revived him, along with an urgent whisper, "Ghoonghat!"
"Wha..at?...Oh!" With rigid hands, he followed the implied instruction then stood gaping blankly as apparently did everyone else. Even his toddler nephew's constant whimpering had died down.
Her glorious eyes bordered by shimmering lids stared meaningfully at him. He blinked.
His mother recovered first, "Rishabh, introduce us."
"Uh.. mom... meet my wife, Madhu..umm Rathod..."
"No.. Madhu Rishabh Mehta. I wouldn't want to be addressed by any other name." She said demurely, her flamboyant eyelashes fluttering coyly down.
"Waah Shobha waah! Seems like your bahu not only has the looks of an angel, but also knows how to ensnare your son's heart!" Roared Uncle Rajbir, breaking the silence and sending everybody into merry laughter.
Rishabh looked pleasantly confused, while Madhu colored deeply overcome with apparent shy pleasure.
"Chalo, take your elders blessings! Now that my little brother's beautiful mystery has been unveiled!" Rima said gazing admiringly at Madhu, then wrapped her into a warm hug.
Rishabh, letting out an inward sigh of relief, stooped down.
"No! First I have to satisfy myself that she is indeed worthy of being my daughter in law!" Shobha said sternly.
"Aww c'mon mom! She's my wife for crying out loud!" Rishabh blurted out in an incensed tone, causing Madhu to throw him a startled look. She smiled reassuringly, before mutely allowing herself to be led away.
My wife?! WTH did I say there? Rishabh thought glaring at her receding back. She is certainly not my wife, not in the real sense. Or is she? Damnit!
Hey Bhagwan, now what does she expect of me? Madhu mused fretfully as Shobha sat her down by her side on the settee, and subjected her to a minute perusal. Sasuma seems to have been watching a lot of TV soaps in anticipation of this day.
"Alright! You seem to like the natural look and that's good! I'm not fond of face paint. Makes girls look like bhoots and daayans!" Shobha admitted reluctantly then cleared her throat, "I see that you can talk and talk well. But can you cook?"
Madhu shook her head, "Uh.. not much..."
"Yeah mom, she's a very good cook. She made superb upma today." Rishabh volunteered from his spot of observance.
"What? When? In your dreams? As far as I've been told, bahu hasn't stepped out of your room until just now!" His mother retorted aloud prompting a general burst of merriment which made Madhu turn and glare furiously at him.
"It was a good try to save your wife, but you failed beta." Shobha declared with a smug smile. Then she turned to Madhu, "It is a tradition in our family that every new bride has to make dessert for everybody without any assistance whatsoever!"
"But mom! Madhu..."
"Shut up Rishabh! You had your manmaani. Now it's my turn! What say bahu?" Shobha said subjecting Madhu to a steely gaze, and received a dumb nod in reply.
"Good, let's move on. Do you know any handicrafts?"
Madhu shook her head again, thinking that she was turning out to be a really lousy daughter in law.
"Mom, she's a photo journalist. I've seen her work. It's fabulous!"
"Wow...seems like bro is completely lattu over his wife. Nothing you do can change that, ma. You lose!" Rima said with a giggle as Madhu turned crimson.
"As if I care! Get lost Rishabh! You have no place amongst us women!" Shobha said banishing her son. He left in a huff, leaving his wife looking utterly flustered.
He took position in a secluded alcove, from where he could monitor the goings on undisturbed. He watched silently as she was put through a thorough grilling.
"My parents? Uh...um I'm an orphan. I was brought up by my maternal uncle and his wife who were sort of obligated to adopt me. But I've been on my own for the past four years. My mami hates me. She was happy to wash her hands off me. They were here for the wedding and thereafter promptly departed for Malaysia which is where they live now. If you contact them, you'll probably get a very unflattering report of me."
That was news to Rishabh. But then he knew nothing about her at all. Madhu was very much mystery to him, and that included her odd behavior--one instant soft and genteel and the very next, aggressive and belligerent. He could tell she detested all the attention that was being heaped on her, though she was trying to appear cool about it. The fire in her eyes could burn the entire house down. But he felt no inkling of empathy. Rather, in his opinion, she deserved it. A sardonic grin flickered across his lips when her eyes flashed in his direction. She quickly looked away.
"Hey man!" A familiar voice shouted in his ear and made him jump, "What's up? You can't take your eyes off her. They seem stuck as if by a strong adhesive!"
Rishabh twisted around, "Rudy? You here?"
"After I heard that you'd found someone, I couldn't control my curiosity!" Rudy replied. "And let me tell you this. You've made an excellent choice! Kya cheez hai yaar! If I didn't have Shirin on my back..." He said looking longingly at Madhu.
"Watch it now!" Rishabh spluttered angrily, "She's not like Renu, nor is she for sale. She's off bounds!"
His friend appraised him in wonder, "I'll be damned! You are smitten, absolutely besotted! Must say she is eye candy. Girls like her can be really distracting man! They are not for you. Whatever made you choose her?"
"What the F*** do you mean?" Rishabh countered, "She doesn't affect me at all! I...she just happened to fit my requirements to the T."
"If you say so." Rudy said, with a knowing smile in his hooded eyes, "But a girl like that needs attention. If you just go about your business as usual, she may get bored and go looking elsewhere."
"Whatever she does, you have no business getting any ideas about her. She's my wife and I want to make sure you get that fact crystal clear!"
"We shall see about that...no woman is immune to Rudy's charms."
"Rudy!" Rishabh blistered, his hands bunching into fists, ready to punch his friend's impertinent jaw. But his honorable intentions were laid asunder by a small group of females who suddenly manifested in front of him.
A giggling Rima pushed Madhu to the fore. She was holding a small bowl with something in it. "Here! Since you chose her, you get to be the guinea pig."
Madhu's hands trembled as she extended a spoonful of kheer toward Rishabh. Please say that it's okay. Please! Her huge dark eyes implored silently.
His face twisted into an expression of disgust. "You better taste your handiwork too!" He reproved before placing a loaded spoon into her mouth.
Her eyes widened in surprise, "But its fine!"
"Did I say it wasn't?" He grinned teasingly at her.
"Ayee hayee! Kya baat hai! Dulhe miyan bahut ishmart ho gaye hain! Look how he makes our bahu blush!" Rashmi chachi laughed, as Madhu gaze sought the ground.
Shobha pulled her into a bear hug, "Bahu, I was just playing with you. I knew you were perfect for my Rishabh as soon as I laid eyes upon you. But kya karoon aadat se majboor hoon!" Then looking at her bewildered son, she said, "Now what are you waiting for, won't you touch my feet?"
The rest of the evening went by in a rush-- meeting and greeting relatives, receiving gifts and seeking innumerable blessings with Madhu bearing the brunt of it all.
It was close to 11 o'clock, when the last of the guests had finally taken their leave. Madhu looked almost ready to collapse under her own weight.
Rishabh relented. Poor girl, she had come to help him after all.
"My wife needs to sleep..." He announced to no one in particular.
There was an outburst of laughter. Everyone seemed to find them terribly amusing as a couple. Madhu glanced at him momentarily confused, then her cheeks caught on fire. No one complained when they excused themselves and hurried upstairs.
'
'
"OMG... What a family you have!" Madhu exclaimed as soon as he shut the door and she began peeling off her sari. He stared rapt.
"Turn around! This isn't a striptease!" She said pushing him against the wall. "And no peeking!" She warned when she saw him glancing at the mirror.
He grinned reluctantly obeying her instruction, "Yes they are kind of crazy and overwhelming. My mother is the worst. Your picture must be all over the net by now."
"So you never shared Deepika's photograph with her?"
"No, I wanted to keep it a surprise." Thank Heavens that I did.
"Here... take your amanat." She said, handing him the jewelry she had discarded.
"Don't you want to keep any of these?" He separated the dainty anklets. Their tiny bells made a pleasant tinkling sound.
"Why? Do you think I'm doing this for some kind of payment?"
"No, I just felt ..." He looked chagrined.
"Keep your feelings to yourself. I don't want anything that wasn't meant for me. Maybe you'll find use for it in the future, when you consider having a relationship with someone other than just your work." She said seriously, before heading over to the balcony.
"You are leaving?"
She looked back, "I'd better, I think. Before it is too late..." Her eyes filled with a deep melancholy. But then it all seemed like a momentary illusion, when she smiled brightly, "Besides I have a job and students who depend on me. I can't afford to go on a vacation."
He followed her to the railing, automatically repeating the act of the night before. It appeared to have become a routine. "But what will I say when they ask me about your whereabouts in the morning?"
She peered up at him. He was holding on tight to her arms and did not seem to want to let go. A lump formed in her throat. She swallowed before replying, "Think of something. You're brainy enough, aren't you?"
He didn't hear a word she said. Her face absorbed all his attention. She looked like a dream. Perhaps that was exactly what she was--- a dream.
"Please, let me go..."
His grip grew tighter as she began to struggle to free herself. Rudy was right. A girl like Madhu was not for the likes of him. But somehow the notion seemed to rile him. He let go and made sure she was safely on the ground, before briskly turning away and disappearing inside his room.
"Rishabh, please understand." Madhu called after him, her eyes filling with spontaneous moisture. But when he didn't respond, she steeled herself, and headed out onto the street where her Scooty was parked. It's better this way. We were never meant to be.
At the gates, she looked back and waved at the empty balcony, "Good bye for the last time."
tbc
PS: Please press like and share your thoughts and comments. Your feedback is precious!
And I can't send pms.
Thanks!
S
Do follow me on twitter @simikrao