Saat samundar ki gehrai ko
Saat shabdon mein dhal kar

Saatwe Aasman ke indradhanush ko
Dharti ke sej par utaar ke
Kore jeevan mein bhare tumne
Saat Rang Pyar Ke

Part I: Pehla Rang Takraar Ka

Chapter I: Barsaat

The sky wore alternate colors of dark blue, grey and black. The rain, which had started out as a slight drizzle, had taken momentum by the hour and was torrential at the given instant. The streets to the byway leading up to the temple were mostly deserted except for those stray dogs and cats which kept looking for some random overturned cart under which to hide. And a lone dimunitive figure, fighting a losing battle with the rain and the wind with an upturned umbrella. As she tried to set the umbrella right, a strong gust of wind blew her dupatta over. For a few seconds,she helplessly traced the path with her eyes, holding onto the umbrella with all her might.

To her intense mortification, the errant dupatta, rather than perching itself atop a tree, blocked someone's stride by covering their head completely. As she gathered it, sliding it off their face, her eyes met light brown ones. Surprised. "Sorry", she muttered apologetically, as she almost ran toward the temple. Depositing her slippers hurriedly outside the temple door, she picked up a plate, some camphor and flowers from a nearby vendor. The temple gates were closing and she ran in. Handing the priest her plate of offerings, she bent down to touch the feet of Lord Ganesha's statue. The exact moment, another hand performed the same gesture with the result of covering her own. She looked up into the pair of brown eyes the second time that evening. She stayed put, willing the other to withdraw his hand. He just raised his eyebrows faintly with no gesture resembling withdrawal.

"Beta...Mandir ke dwar band karne ka samay ho gaya hai." The priest reminded them gently. The priest's voice jolted them out of their angry - albeit - silent contest. They finished their prayers and incidently held out their right hand for the prasad at the same time. The priest, who was watching the whole episode with growing amusement, just chuckled and with a rather jovial "Ladies first", gave the girl the prasad first. She thanked the priest and ran out of the temple, just turning back before she left the gate to give him a pitying "Tsk Tsk" look. He glared back with a "Just-You-Wait-Till-We-Meet-Again" look.

Barkha Doshi was lucky she reached home that day at all. The inclement weather had made it near possible to get a public conveyance and she had to literally beg an autorikshaw walla to take her home in one of the better areas of the city. She was not a little annoyed, firstly with the rains, then with the haranguing rikshaw driver and most of all with the rather haughty gold - brown eyed stranger she'd met in the temple. But keeping all possible negative emotions away from her at this time, she patiently waited for her aunt to come home. To share with her the happiness which far outweighed any such vexation she felt.

Nakul Virani reached home in a not-so-good mood either. His car had stopped midway, his cell had stopped working and he'd had a nettling experience in his fifth visit to a temple in his lifetime. He'd shared some good news with his father who had urged him to seek out god's blessings and thank him for the good fortune. Not wanting to aggravate his dad by arguing, the inherently agnostic Nakul had pulled over at the nearest temple. And met the yellow dupatta girl. What an irksome way to end a perfectly good day.

------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------------------------------ ---------

I'm not a very active member here at this forum but wanted to just try my hand at a fanfic. Please tell me if I should continue any further...

Part 2: Updated Page 1
Part 3: Page 2
Part 4:Page 2
Part 5: Page 3
Part 6: Page 3
Part 7:Page 4
Part 8:Page 4
Part 9:Page 4
Part 10:Page 5
Part 11:Page 5
Part 12:Page 6
Part 13:Page 7
Part 14:Page 8
Part 15:Page 8
Part 16:Page 9
Part 17:Page 10
Part 18:Page 12
Part 19:Page 13
Part 20:Page 13
Part 21:Page 14
Part 22:Page 14
Part 23:Page 16
Part 24:Page 16
Part 25:Page 17
Part 26:Page 18
Part 27:Page 19
Part 28:Page 20
Part 29:Page 21
Part 30:Page 21
Part 31:Page 22
Part 32:Page 23
Part 33:Page 24
Part 34:Page 25
Part 35:Page 26
Part 37:Page 28
Part 39: Page 29
Part 40:Page 30
[concluded ]

Edited by anut - 18 years ago

nightangel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
WOW ITS SO CUTE...KEEP WRITING.. 👏 😳
smitzz thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Excellent !! 👏 I've always wanted to read a Nakul's FanFic.

Pls continue.

darkness_123 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
oh niceeee.... will be bookmarking this page!!!!! do continue soon! 😛
anut thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Chapter 2: Naukri

When the tall, elegant lady entered her house late into the night, she saw her ward slouched into the chair. Barkha had waited long for her aunt to come back holding the letter of appointment in her hand fighing a losing battle to exhaustion. Her aunt's first reaction was to fetch a comforter and place it over the sleeping girl. She gently patted her hair and was about to retire into her own room when the paper Barkha was holding onto slipped and fell on the floor. Her aunt picked it up and read it, her reactions changing from elated to stunned to enraged. And then just as quietly she placed the letter back on the floor.

Ganga Mehta did not believe in dwelling over the past. It was a different issue that she often could not let go of it either. Her life had been shattered when she found out that her husband was having an affair with her friend. She had won her divorce case but lost the custody of her kids. She had moved away from the city and tried to start life afresh. She had built her own thriving business and had thought that perhaps her inner, undemostrated grief and angst against her in-laws would give way to apathy over time. But perhaps twenty years were simply not enough to numb the pain of one night of unfaithfulness. Atleast reading who Barkha's employers were had reestablished that. Her first impulse was to jolt the girl awake and demand why she'd applied there in the first place. And refuse downright, her approval to associate herself with the Virani's in any way."What a hypocrite I am" she told herself as she walked towards her room. She had employed Sahil Virani as a junior manager in her firm for the sole purpose of revenge and here she was trying to stop Barkha from taking up a post she had no doubt won due to her merit. She entered her room to spend another one of those sleepless nights. They still had the power to hurt her, she rued.

Breakfast in Mehta residence was an early affair, something which in her 22 years of existence, Barkha had never quite reconciled to. She walked in groggy eyed at the breakfast table with a "Good morning Massi."
"So...I thought you changed your sleeping quarters yet again?". "Kya massi...you should have woken me up na..." " And be greeted with a wild cat hurling invectives at me. No thanks." Ganga said dryly.
Two sips of tea later Barkha's mood had visibly brightened and she began " Massi...you know....." "Let me guess....You've got a job..." "So you saw the letter??" "No....I'm the omniscient. Barkha, why don't you join
Doshi Hotels and Inns instead?" Ganga asked. "No massi....I wouldn't learn anything there...I want to slog it out from scratch...Its just a part time position which will give me an introduction to the hotel industry. And besides", Barkha continued impishly, "how else would I make a bid for Virani Hotels if I don't know how to bankrupt it?" Ganga's response was just a There-she-goes-again look. "Chalo then hurry up, you don't want to be late for your first day, do you?" Ganga chided her. Barkha got up from the table and came up to Ganga. "Massi....Main yeh job kar lu na?" Ganga smiled and answered with a very paternal "Of course beta."

Punctual to the second, Barkha arrived at the Virani Group of Hotels for her first day as the banquet manager. With pleasant anticipation she met a genial Mr. Antulay, who took her around the hotel, acquainting her with people and a small part of her duties. "Miss Doshi...now lets meet our supervisor, the person we all report to. " said Mr. Antulay knocking on a gleaming wooden door. A curt "Come in" resounded from within.
"Sir ...I've introduced Miss Doshi to all the staff and given her an outline of her duties. If you would get her to sign the non confidentiality agreement. " The person thus addressed was intent on reading the file before him and he casually waved a hand indicating he would do the needful. Mr. Antulay left after directing Barkha to go up to the staff room after this. The person continued the perusal of the document, while Barkha restlessly looked around the room. "Ok...This should be fine. Miss Doshi if you would please sign..... ", the sentence was left incomplete as for the third time in their lives Barkha Doshi and Nakul Virani looked at each other.
anut thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Chapter 3: Dosti

Barkha's first day at work was an enjoyable experience. Except for the one minute glitch when she realized who her boss was. If Nakul Virani was taken aback, the only indication was the ten second pause before he completed his sentence with " the non confidentiality agreement." Barkha complied and he proffered his hand for a handshake. He concluded their conference with a rather pleasant, "Welcome to the Virani Group".

Nakul Virani's first day as the Assistant Director of Virani Group of Hotels left him expended and invigorated at the same time. When Karan Virani, CEO, Virani Hotels, had walked into his cabin and announced that he was being promoted from overseer to Assistant Director, Nakul could not believe his ears. And then, in a rare display of affection, his uncle squeezed his shoulder gently and smiled. "The only reason for you to have this position is your talent.", he said, assauging Nakul's fear that nepotism had a hand in his advancement. He had called his father, mother and brother to share the good news with them and each had been delighted, though for a different reason.

He had coolly walked into his cousin Manthan's room and offered him sweets. "Kyun...Tumhein Virani industries ka chaprasi bana diya hai kya?" his cousin jeered, taking a piece of sweetmeat nevertheless.
Nakul waited till Manthan had finished the sweet before answering "Main tumhari jagah kaise le sakta hoon Manthan.? Mujhe to sirf Assitant Director of Virani Group of Hotels ki post mili hai." The look on Manthan's face as Nakul left the room had been priceless.

He had been told by his uncle that they had hired a new banquet manager the same day and she would be reporting to him. He had not expected it to be the yellow dupatta girl, but he made no allusion to their meeting the previous day. In his mind he had already dismissed it has a coincidence and welcomed her as he would have any new employee. He was professional enough not to harbor any prejudices against her just because their first encounter had started on a wrong note.

Though Barkha was bone tired by the time she reached home at 8:30 p.m., she changed hurriedly and started preparations for one of usual exotic dinners. He aunt had called her later in the day and told her she was leaving for Gujarat for a week. Barkha was used to this by now, her aunt often flew in and out of the city numerous times a week. Her remedy for the intense loneliness she felt during these occasions was an exotic dinner and a movie, mostly with her best friend. And today was a cause for celebration, her first day of work. The dinner was ready in forty five minutes and as she laid out the table and sat drumming her fingers looking at the clock expectantly. At 9:30 p.m. the doorbell rang. She strolled towards it, opened it and shook her head exasperatedly, "As usual, never on time ...... Manthan."
chat_222 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
wow, buddy this story is wonderful. 👏
chat_222 thumbnail
I had a similar idea, but you expressed it beautifully. Please update soon.
Edited by chat_222 - 18 years ago
indiandoll89 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
This is great, continue soon!!! 😛
Yojina thumbnail
wow thats really good..and a nakul story nice