sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Sandhya, my pet, a big 🤗 to you for such spontaneous and warm comments, I had a ball writing this one - did you notice that it is more than twice as long as the 2013 version? I have no idea how it expanded itself in this fashion!😉 And I knew that you would have a ball reading it.

My supplementary comments, such as they are, are in blue, as usual.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: Sandhya.A

Lovely reliving the episode and post. This is like yummy cream cake. Jalal got his and we got ours.😃 In fact double. For Jalal himself was like strawberry delight.😳

sashashyam thumbnail
My dear Raksha,

I am very glad that you liked this one so much.And yes, you are spot on about Rajat's eyes.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: 1357raksha

Amazing review of d episode aunty...
u have explained everything in detail...
nd as u said jalal eyes expressed a lot of things which he did nt say...
ones again aunty loved this review. ...
thanks for pm...

sashashyam thumbnail
My dear Munni,

If this is being biased, then so am I biased.

As for the rest, I cannot believe that talent like Rajat's can go unnoticed or unexploited. He is still very young and the future lies before him. Let us see what it brings,and I am hoping very hard that it will be something that really showcases him.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: munni_rajatfan

well aunty, this will be a biased post so plz bare with me. how can a 21 yr old(his 22nd b'day was round the corner) can put up such a show like tht??? how can a guy with 5'6" height can give such a majestic performance?? how can a guy with a "feminine" voice can give goosebumps with such a voice modulation???? how can a cute looking guy can scare us with such cold & evil expressions?? if this is not an achievement as an actor, wht is it???

he may not be the most good looking, most talented, or most popular actor, but this things which he can do in such a young age & so many physical limitations is nothing less than any achievement from my point of view. he may not have a great body or height but such performances doesnt need one. who knows whts future holds for him. he may not be successful in future, he may not do any other shows in future or maybe he is just an good actor & not more than tht, but wht he did yesterday is the thing which very few people can do, & few means really few. srry aunty, just wanted to share my feelings.

sashashyam thumbnail
My dear Donjas,

If this post was so good, it was because the subject was superlative. One cannot, as they say, make a silk purse out of a sow's ear (why a sow? I have never understood that!), though I confess I do try to pull that off at times.😉

Your comment @blue is very perceptive. The khauf-e-Jalal comes in very handy at times!

I agree with you that Rajat never got such an "imperial" script ever again in the serial, more is the pity.

I really enjoyed myself writing this post - which is more than twice as long as the 2013 analysis of the same episode, and with the same name. I simply did not understand how it expanded itself so dramatically! And I am glad you enjoyed reading it just as much.

Shyamala

Originally posted by: Donjas

Wow! Wow! Wow! I have been a regular reader of yours for the past 2 years and I have read several excellent pieces. But this is simply amazing. I have a mind to got to Facebook sites of JA and post the link. Anyone who has any interest in the serial, needs to read this and marvel.

Where to start? O.K , the moment Bharmal begins his litany of complaints. He is clearly awed by the Emperor and it shows on his face.

In my opinion this is an interesting point to consider, Jalal is using the terror that the world has about him. He is using it now for his own purpose. I remember the words Bharmal spoke about Jalal in one of the early episodes, it is the way one would speak of dragons. That Jalal was almost supernatural in his powers and his ruthlessness.

It is to Jalal's benefit that Bharmal never gets to know of the Takhatmal affair when he goes against his own Khan Baba in pursuit of justice or his dire warnings to Adham about not mistreating the populace.

As for Rajat. That was an incredible performance. He is never this imperial, this calculating in any other episode. This is Rajat getting into the shoes of the real Akbar who was known to be an astute politician. It is not difficult to imagine the real Akbar, doing exactly what Rajaf's Akbar did.

Rajat's performance! I am lost for words. The body posture was perfect, the way he looked into the eyes of his opponent to unsettle him was done just right. The calm menace with which he spoke his dialogues was impeccable. And the smirks, they were on fire.

It helped that Rajat looked really good. His dress and the jewellery matched his mood.

Paridhi's role was small, but she looked pretty and effervescent.

As I finish, what I believe is the first of many responses to this post, I reiterate that this is an amazing analysis. Anyone who has seen the episode and liked it, will get double the fun reading this.

sashashyam thumbnail
My dear Zhanna,

I am delighted that you liked this one too so much; I really enjoyed myself writing it.

There are acting schools in India, founded and run usually by famous directors or actors. There is the Whispering Woods Academy run by Subhash Ghai, a noted director of the 1970s and 80s. Anupam Kher, the very versatile and famous character actor also runs such a school. But I do not know if they are of the method acting school of Stanislavsky.

There are also many celebrated theatre training schools, like the iconic National School of Drama in Delhi, and the Prithvi Theatre in Mumbai. Many noted actors of today, of films and the stage, have come from these institutions.

And most well known of all is the Film and Television Institute of Pune (the old Poona) In Maharashtra near Mumbai, where they have courses in all aspects of film making, not just acting. Their list of famous alumni is endless, and included Oscar winners.

Shyamala Di

Originally posted by: alffim

The great pleasure from your analysis Shyamala Di! To my regret my lack of English does not write much. Really terrific game Rajat Tokas. He has a lot of great scenes, but this is one of the best. And you're so wonderful highlight the entire multidimensionality and diversity these scenes!
When PT before gave interviews, he showed how to portray Akbar (bulging eyes, gone crazy person) and as how he wants to play - thinking person.
I would very much like to know how the done rehearsals. These are helps of the director or a godsends Rajat Tokas, he did it by himself? (And I really want to know how to teach actors in India? As long as materialI I is not found.
We have a classical theater schools (to Stanislavsky), have courses in theatrical institutions there where study at outstanding Russian actors; in America a great influence had Lee Strasberg ( but this again Michael Chekhov and Stanislavsky system). And I'm very interested. I admire the work Smiley Suri, Rajat Tokas, Paridhi Sharma. Maybe someone will answer me?
It is very precisely noticed - a quiet voice in tense scenes that immediately gives an advantage. This is a great find for the character role. When a person shouted, he "loses face" as the Japanese say. (By the way, Stalin was reticent and spoke quietly ...😉)
I am running a little ahead, what else to distinguish Jalal he never hold public disassembling (it's the scene with pereperchennoy food and when Jodha "swing right" , she trying to say that she would not spend the night with him in the same tent and many other scenes

alffim thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Dear Shyamala Di!
Thanks for the reply! We have just among the actors there was a tacit separation. Theatrical actors (attendants of the Melpomene), always theatrical actors always a little haughtily treatment to film actors. But now things are changing, the fees are much higher in the movie and the movie also has acquired a highly respected status. But still, the game in the theater is very prestigious.

harrybird thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

"It was an infinitely subtle, layered, and controlled performance, not only by the actor, but by the character himself. One would say a superbly choreographed and directed drama, except that it was a solo triumph. For the lead actor was all in one: writer, director and performer. The kind of bravura act that deserved any number of curtain calls. It was like a tennis match : serve, volley, retrieval, smash, set point, match point, game and match to the Emperor".

SORRY FOR STEALING YOUR WORDS WITHOUT PERMISSION ! 😳 😳 😳

If there is one thing any of you would say about me, without any hesitation, it would be that I am never at a loss for emoticons, right? 😉

Wrong. Today, after (re)reading your take on Rajat's Shahenshah Jalaluddin Mohammed in full flow, not once, not twice, but four times back to back, I find myself once more searching for EMOTICONS adequate to describe, judge ( oops...kindly ignore this word ) and appreciate your talent as it should be appreciated, and praise you as you should be praised .

THE EMPEROR STRIKES & SHYAMALA AUNTY RULES !!!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS BEAUTIFUL POST !!!

harrybird thumbnail

Collage credit : My Friend Sakhi ! 😊
Edited by harrybird - 9 years ago
Donjas thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I wish I could press the 'Like' button two more times and take the tally to 50.
harrybird thumbnail

Jodha Akbar Episode -31

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbJx-QkkcoA[/YOUTUBE]

Edited by harrybird - 9 years ago