A little honesty would have meant the world to us

lazyleaves thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 4 Thumbnail + 7

This post is to bring an end to all the conspiracies surrounding Barun Sobti's dramatic exit from the show. Firstly I will state the facts. Look at the time line and decide for yourself.

I have loved Barun and Sanaya for more than a year just as you have. That's why it hurts when I am being lied to.

This post can be read by anyone who can keep an open mind and accept the facts as facts. You don't need to pick team of Barun, Sanaya or Sarun to actually reflect on what happened. A little vision and a little wisdom is all that is required. The text in blue is an observation by a forum member, that is me.

Timeline and Excerpts

27th September, 2012 : 'I am not leaving the show'- Barun Sobti

Though a source from the set confirmed Barun's departure from the show, "Yes, Barun is quitting. How it impacts the show and the future is undecided."

However when Tellybuzz contacted
Barun Sobti today at around 4:30PM who said, "There is nothing like this, I am not leaving the show."

28th September, 2012 : Message From Gul Khan

"Barun has given us a 2 months notice... But he might stay back a little longer"

29th September, 2012 : Please beware! - UPDATED

Barun's status will be posted on the 4 Lion's page next week.

Two months later...

8th November, 2012 : Barun Sobti to take a break from Iss Pyaar Ko Kya Naam Doon

It was speculated that Viraf Phiroz Patel would be taking his place in the show.

"I am not leaving the show, but I am taking a well deserved break. I don't know the length of the break, but it won't be a small one. I just need a break".

We asked him whether 23rd November would be the last date of shoot, " Nothing has been finalized, things are still being worked out".

His Quotes, My Views

14th November, 2012 : https://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w853lwkUikc

If I give a bad impression to someone I feel very bad
(Barun you didn't really leave a good impression on us by repeatedly denying that you were not leaving, when you actually were)

Everyone on the show has been so sweet
(This was said by other cast members as well. It gladdens me that whatever happened off-screen they are still being thorough professionals)

People have been very supportive
(We can see that. Your fans supported you by tuning to their TVs everyday at 8.00 p.m. even though you were not there to support the show in your absence during the kidnapping track. Your PH supported you by giving you the leaves required)

I was going to leave in Feb because you know everyone was making a fortune ... even I was making a fortune. I thought that and carried on.
(Money matters! Who cares about the show that made him who he is!?)

I have always done what my heart tells me to do
(His heart wants him to pursue movies. Fine by him. Fine by me. But why not be honest about it from the start? Why give false hope to fans?)

Every hardworking person in the industry in television who has the ability to do well and is hardworking deserves that Gul should happen to him at least once
(THIS. I like. And accept it or not he is what he is today because of the character made by her. He himself said he didn't do anything beyond the writing)

There has been not one fight.
(Take his words for once. Another cast member confirmed it as well. All the fights were in our heads because we wanted to absolve him of all blame)

The day we become an actor we give everyone the right to talk about us. You can't choose what you hear. If you accept the good with all the heart you should accept the criticism too.
(LEARN from him!)

24th November, 2012 : Barun Sobti chooses films over TV

"I loved playing ASR and I am very thankful to Star Plus for giving me this opportunity. I also wish to thank my fans who have appreciated my character and showered me with unconditional love. However everyone wants to explore new avenues and I plan to work on a few movie projects now. In future I might comeback to TV someday. I would like to request my fans to continue loving me the same way,"

Nachiket Pantvaidya, General Manager, Star Plus, said, "ASR is hugely popular with our viewers however Barun has decided that he wants to pursue films.

MY VIEWS:

Regarding SP running the ticker against him, I admit it is unprofessional. They should have instead held a press conference. But they opted for this method. And if we think what SP did was wrong, then let me tell you that they don't need us to tell them that. They have a team of well-experienced lawyers for that and they are paid to tell SP when not to go the dishonest character defamation way. So that disclaimer must have been 100% percent true and legally correct.

If you feel SP was wrong to announce this right after the SPL (once they got the success they wanted from SaRun), then so was Barun who announced to his fans (and no one less) that he will be doing films the very next day of his last day of shooting (Check the 24th Nov link again)

Now let us just assume the new of Barun already getting a movie is true then just a week or two long vacation was enough to revive him from his tiredness? The fans and PH would have happily excused him for 2 weeks if he wished to be back to the show after that.

September was the re-marriage track month and the month in which the news of him leaving leaked. If he had been clear about his intentions to leave IPK for movies had been clear then as they were on the 24th of November, 2012 we would have seen a proper closure of this show. The PH soon said the show had run its course, other actors were leaving, Barun wanted to leave too. An end everyone would have liked. I don't know what the reason was for not coming clean from start. But above is evidence enough to prove that he had decided to quit the show by November. But he didn't admit and what did we get? November...

November was the Sheetal and Mrs. India track month and the last month for this show as well.

In my sister's (Rasgulla_sp) words : If he had come clear two months back, had announced that he wants to do movies, all these conspiracy theories, useless petitions, Gul-Barun interview, Barun's and Sanaya's individual radio interviews, all the e-mails and calls fans made to retain Barun, all the PH and SP bashing for mistreating Barun, this entire circus wouldn't have happened.

But no. No such thing happened. What happened was a show which could have got a far better ending, ended abruptly.

If it has not been clear from my post, let me put it in words. I have no issues with him going for movies. I would have done the same, may be. But I would have been clear from day 1! That I wanted from him. Just THAT! If he had been honest, it would have saved us from the headache.

Keep a hand over your heart and ask yourself "Is this how the show deserved to have ended?"

So the bottom line is : There was never a conspiracy!

Edited by lazyleaves - 12 years ago

Sultan_Of_Swing thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7
Barun just like any other human being has the right to make decision on his career. We have all been trough the same in our lives, we all want to move to greener pastures. What I hold against him is the lack of crisp communication skills. All he had to do was to issue a statement saying- I'm going to try my luck in Bollywood. Please give the show a chance even after I leave it. PR skills is very important in the entertainment industry. How long can you keep saying, I'm a simple guys, I cant do PR. If you cant then acting is not the career for you. Its like someone working in a bank saying- I'm a simple guy, I dont know accounts. Barun is a PR disaster. I mean who takes calls while accepting an award on the stage? heck, even SRK doesnt do something like this. Eventually industry people will run tired of his lack of communication skills and move to the next best thing.

I'm only upset due to the various theories and how fans have behaved over this while. The petitions, protests, harassment was all uncalled. The worst part of that even after knowing that Barun is acting in a movie and Gul didn't exploit him none of them are willing to accept their mistake and have instead become even more delusional. yes they are telling us not to spread negativity and are asking what mistake Barun did, totally forgetting the fact that they shut a show unnecessarily. That my dear friend is the extreme case of delusion.

Anyways what is done is done, hope Barun learns from this experience to communicate better in future, I hold no such hope of his fan base though who are probably busy tweeting SRK and who knows even Obama.
Edited by Naach_Basanti - 12 years ago
shinaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Res. Zehra as much i am mad at this whole situation but if i think thande dimag se then yup that guy got a break.but would it take your life if you come clean about that from day 1.why so secrecy,why contradicting statements.all it take was a courage that yes i am leaving the show and i made my mind.but what he said was longish break,well deserved break,i dont know my return date.infact he said that you never know wheather i return or not in 23rd nov.and about me that well deserved break line was just pathetic.the whole kidnapping track happened because of him which actually brought the actual doom for the show.if he said the truth for once then this show would not ended up like this.
Edited by shinaa - 12 years ago
...Doctor... thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7
Bang on! Brilliant post Zehra & I am glad that you provided the link to each & every article. Eye-readers please stop reading eyes & concentrate on words. I am in a good mood so I'd like to say a lot of things here.

My take on Bhaiya:

He is a great actor & nobody can deny that he is really talented but as they say fame comes with a price & that is what happened with him. His PR skills suck & it led to all this chaos. He should have said that he is trying his luck in Bollywood, no big deal, sab karte hai. I still don't know if he has a movie in hand or not but I am quite sure that he left IPK because he wants to try his hand in BW & TV takes a backseat for sometime. But why did he lie? He could have come out clean but as usual he gave confusing answers. I just wish him best of luck & I'd like to advise him- "If you want to make it big in BW please brush up your PR skills asap"

My take on fangirls:

Just one request to them-"Please stop reading eyes & please stop believing imaginary sources" Because of you people our beloved show is ending abruptly, the entire cast had to suffer, some XYZ actor who didn't even get a chance to enter the show was bashed right & left & some talented actors were left jobless. Also your wish of seeing Sarun as Arhi in the last episode is not coming true, so enjoy BDs & have fun. The actor for which you fought like maniacs doesn't care about you, he doesn't know that you people exist, he was actually defamed because of you & a beautiful show was lost because of you. So please be honest now & accept that those conspiracies were written by some obsessive fangirls. Stop making "Stop the blame game" posts to cover up your guilt & stop being obsessive about someone who doesn't even know you.

My take on SP:

It was really unprofessional of SP to show that tickr because:

a. Barun had put down his papers 2 months ago so they knew he was leaving.
b. He didn't provoke the fangirls to support him so why should he bear their brunt?
c. Many actors leave TV shows for movies, no one flashes a disclaimer stating the same.

So SP needs to grow up!

P.S.-Sorry for the rant 🤔

Edited by ...Doctor... - 12 years ago
312787 thumbnail
@ zehra thank you for making such an awesome post😊... never had a problem with BS leaving, was upset when i first heard the news but knew this was inevitable...perhaps things would have been much better for him, the fans and the show had he spoken the truth from the beginning rather than beating around the bush with statements like not quitting/longish break or whatever...but i was(still am) furious with the fandom, who claimed to be Arhi fans and wanted the soap to end with them, but could not accept another actor in Asr's shoes except BS...height of hypocrisy...the PH/channel had no choice but to bring in another character for khushi(ppl couldn't accept that neither)...unfortunately for this beautiful serial the offscreen drama often overshadowed the story and the soap had to meet such an untimely death.

my advice to the fandom: attach yourselves to the characters not the actors coz replacements happen quite often in the tv industry...as fans restrict yourselves to what's happening onscreen, you pay for entertainment that's all...offscreen interactions between the actors/PH/Channel is none of your bussiness, stay clear of it for your own sanity.

Edited by iria - 12 years ago
McNinja thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

I never had a problem with Barun leaving. I did not blame him or hold it against him, he has every right to pursue his goals and ambitions.

But I did have a problem with all of the evading from his end and conflicting news we were getting.

As you have so clearly laid out the timeline of events, it is pretty clear he went from "still with the show", "break", "longish break", and then finally quitting.

If he has simply said from day one that yes I am in fact leaving, that I am serving my 2 months notice, if he had been a little more clear with his answers, then people wouldn't be left to their own imaginations and secret sources to come up with theories.

I don't appreciate people who are not honest or those that evade the truth.

And it's time people accept he simply left, there was no bigger scheme going on to ruin him. No conspiracy theories. These theories being spread are actually more damaging for the poor guy, so please let him be.

So no, I never wanted him to dance to our tune, give into the spamming campaign...but I did expect the truth from him.

No legacy is so rich as Honesty. - William Shakespeare
Edited by McNinja - 12 years ago
maana thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Exactly there was never a conspiracy theory it was just in the minds of the fans. The day Zee_News gave the spoiler from then I knew he would leave as she never lies n then even Mishti said the same thing after a few days but the actor kept on lieing. If he would have been clear n honest that Yes I want 2 leave the show coz I have some movies in hand n want 2 pursue films now the reaction of the ppl would have been different. Nobody would have built this stupid conspiracy theory n maybe the show would have continued as the fangirls would have known he is not been victimised but its his wish 2 pursue films or even the fans would have rebelled then SP could have taken the decision earlier n instead of an abrupt end v would have got a far better end..
-HappyBird- thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
"eyes will only see what they want to see"
Most of the fans didn't want to see the truth ...But you know "Truth is always out there"

prabbs thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5

We as viewers don't own the show , the channel, the actors. We pay to watch them. there is an undefined contract of loyalty between us.

We all have jobs , for livelihood , BUT we also got to have a MORAL RESPONSIBILITY AND ETHICS towards our jobs, though we have a right to choose or quit . But to do it in the ethical way is the key for not creating confusions and misunderstandings.
But to an actor it is not just a job, it is a responsibility towards his followers, his Ardent Fans , if not no fan clubs existed for actors, nor loyal voters for politicians.
With Great Power comes Great responsibility.

All Celebrities give a part if their freedom for fame, bigger stars have also certain responsibilities to their fans, they go out of heir way to keep their fans
In the loop.

WHY IS IT WRONG TO EXPECT HONESTY FROM AN ACTOR, A PRODUCER AND A CHANNEL AS LOYAL VIEWERS, CUSTOMER SATISFACTION IS GUARANTEED IN EVERY PRODUCT , WHY NOT A SHOW...
Edited by prabba - 12 years ago
girlTalks thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
The most important thing people forgot was that it is just a show not your life , if they did not like it they can always stop watching , dont want to play the blame game here but things would not have been so ugly if people could differentiate between real and reel life.

Edited by Jusad - 12 years ago