-Sush- thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: JalebiJane

I love what you say about 'Signature Gul' scenes---yes, she has a certain sensibility, an aesthetic, which makes me want to watch her productions even when I am not necessarily invested in the story.

In fact, I was first introduced to her work by one such 'Signature Gul' scene from an earlier serial. A colleague sent me a brief clip, and though I didn't know the characters, the plot, I was spellbound. At the risk of getting too woo-woo, I feel great artists tap into something in our collective consciousness, and these scenes are just that. They work because they hit us in the sweet spot.

Always a delight to read your remarks.

True that!
There are moments that go beyond the screen play...and have an emotional connect...This was one of those...I watched It on replay once again, after watching the episode...which is very rare for me...Underscores how much I loved it...

Kudos to the director for making that connect...because it is impossible to do this without good actors, director or a camera team that can capture the moment...
Edited by -Sush- - 8 years ago
-Sush- thumbnail

Originally posted by: chicksoup

Great to see you back in action, Sush.😳

The pigeon poop actually was too nauseating for me to concentrate on the episode.🤢 I wished and wished they would continue with the drama after taking a bath and fresh change of clothes. Frankly, the writing didn't appeal to me much. It hasn't changed, when they should really take it at least one notch up.

So, PP doesn't have the noblest of intentions🥱. It is a very common track. Would have suited PP and the story better if he had failed to show up as the knight in shining armour to Chandni's damsel in distress in some situation. Advaiy could have saved the day, without Chandni feeling horrified at her judgement of character. Or maybe they want to stuff in a PTSD attack. Who knows!

Chandni walking around with the duppatta after changing her clothes looked very funny. It is actually too absurd and unfunny for an average viewer, however much the story tries to justify it by ways of electromagnetism or fevicol ka masboot jod.

Caught the new promo- cartoonish, but I do like promos made this way once in a while. Unconventional, still nothing to go gaga over! So, Advaiy is supposed to fall in love with Chandni as the promo explains. Funnily, a non cryptic promo! Makes me wonder how the writer wants to take it forward. Advaiy marries Chandni, falls in love with her slowly by slowly, while plotting against her family. He is the saviour, as she falls an innocent prey to her step mom's schemes. They could have cute nok jhoks and intense moments as Chandni is torn between her loyalty to her family and love for one man.

However the broad story promised how Chandni would have to prove herself over and over again to Advaiy. Doesn't seem very exciting, with the tweaking they have already one. I really hope Gul rethinks and makes Advaiy the resourceful royal guard. Okay, at the end of the day it is the story she wants to tell...or is it the story the trps want? I hope they think it over.

Shwets, thanks again, for making it all worth it.

Hi Chick,
Oh...the poop scene prior to it spoiled it for you!! i can see why!!

Sometimes ...when the scene can grab you...you forget all the worries/ dislikes about what's coming...what all is common place etc...I guess the Roka scene yesterday did that for me... it didn't for you...due to the poop hangover...I think the reason I escaped the hangover is may be because it was so unreal...my brain wrote it completely off...like it didn't exist...😆

-Sush- thumbnail

Originally posted by: Angels11

Hey Sush I still dont understand y Chandni cried. Can some1 explain this to me?

I love Barun's hair cut & stubble.

But I absolutely hate that Obelix inspired dress. Sorry but i hate experimentation when it comes to men's wear. I want to see Barun at least once in Blue Jean & white shirt. Aankhen taras chuke hain 😭

Ha ha...I can give you my interpretation...I think she cried because the intensity of emotions she felt in realizing somewhere ...THIS IS IT...This man is the one she is destined to be/ wants to be(?) with...It stopped being just (an unwanted) game...or nothing for her...If I were writing the story...I would think she cried...because she feared that it was still a game for him...and that it means nothing to him...so all the feelings that she was feeling were just for him to mock...and she looked back at his face...to somehow figure out how he felt...if he felt anything...

About Barun's attire...if I were the creative director and my designer came to me with that outfit for him...I will go with it...but only change one thing...use solid pants or better still Blue Jeans instead of the striped pants...I think the jacket would have gone well with that semi formal or mixed look...😃
-Sush- thumbnail

Wow!! a I watched the SBS segment and google prompted this VM for me that some one made...I CANT. BELIEVE IT!! One of my most favorite songs at the moment <Believer by Imagine Dragons> and the only show I am watching with my favorite ML <IPK3 with Sobti> Combined into one!! I bet this will go off soon due to copyright issues...so, please watch as soon as you can...if you want to enjoy as much as I did!!

THIS IS REALLY GOOD!! 👍🏼

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH-AxE8dedU&sns=em[/YOUTUBE]

The VM maker has done an absolutely great job matching the lyrics of the song to the scenes from the show...it looks like the song was written for Advay!!
ranjitha thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
Hey Sush,
Wonderful positive post !
Sometimes we get so involved in finding faults to soothe our frustration that we end up not looking at the good points.
It's true that a lot of stuff didn't work for me this week, but few worked like magic. Some scenes had the chaap of Gul Khan !

Friday, especially, most scenes worked for me, but my absolute favorite was PP-Advay scene. Normally when makers show a hero as the angry young man waiting for badla, they forget the key aspects of mutual respect, or just respect for a woman, but this scene effectively showcased what Advay thinks about Chandu and women in general. Of course aage aage we might see a contradicting scene, but for today the fan in me is super happy that they showed this side of ASR.

Chandu crying in duppatta scene: this was very well shot. Usually Chandu doesn't express the inner turmoil, so this came as a surprise. ST acted well and the direction was really good. ASR's smile was for his win but Chandu didn't cry because she lost the game, because for her marriage is no game.

Costumes: Barun's costumes worked 9/10 times for me on this week. Chandini's also wasn't distracting, except that I always feel someday those huge Bangles and ring might hurt our bitwa 😭
Edited by ranjitha - 8 years ago
Channa_mereyaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: -Sush-

Wow!! a I watched the SBS segment and google prompted this VM for me that some one made...I CANT. BELIEVE IT!! One of my most favorite songs at the moment <Believer by Imagine Dragons> and the only show I am watching with my favorite ML <IPK3 with Sobti> Combined into one!! I bet this will go off soon due to copyright issues...so, please watch as soon as you can...if you want to enjoy as much as I did!!

THIS IS REALLY GOOD!! 👍🏼

wow that was damn awesome from start to end .thanks for sharing 😃
Pixiepixel11 thumbnail

Originally posted by: -Sush-

THIS IS REALLY GOOD!! 👍🏼

The VM maker has done an absolutely great job matching the lyrics of the song to the scenes from the show...it looks like the song was written for Advay!!

Wow that's an amazing VM loved it so much.👏
Thanks for sharing sush.⭐️
-Sush- thumbnail

Originally posted by: aviation-ca

Gr8 writeup for today Sush.. I can ignore the CGI, science wala shady fundeys..

thankfully camera man also has problem with the costumes, if you notice this serial has more closeups than normal.. most shots are shoulders & face.. now since all cast members are good looking & a cleaned up, non-greasy Advay is a treat to watch.. so no complains with camera guy.. except when he gets into the mood of zoom zoom zat mood..

Lekin Screenplay or complete lack of it is killing it.. story is there, dialogs are there.. that is why we end up with surplus of RVs.. jumpy sequences...

Sochoo ki they are supposed to be Mahant family.. they have a huge house, with humongous chandeliers & HHM greeting.. lekin not a mandir in sight.. Roka ho raha hai, kamse kam Bhagwan ka ashirwad to le lo.. also hone walla damad PP ne to Sasur se mila bhi nahi.. even with memory issue..

If they can fix the screenplay writer.. it will be sau guna better. . Gul mata.. please.. 🥺

Ha ha...agree with you on both points@aviation!
Camera crew is doing a good job with focusing on faces and the top half!
😃

-Sush- thumbnail

Originally posted by: Ecrivain.

Sush 🤗

Welcome back and so glad that you finally took the bait and watched the episodes. Trust me they arent bad at all. Infact, the current track has been pretty well done as against the Week 2 which was a bummer. And I am loving the episodes. Yesterday's episode was just superb, I thoroughly enjoyed myself while I watched it. 😃

You have summed up the episode beautifully in the post. I will just add some bits from my end that will encapsulate this weeks episodes in a nut shell. And to begin with let me just say that the subtle nuances that the makers add from their end take the story to an altogether new level from a viewers perspective.

Let me begin with the equation of the leads..

Advay/ Dev - Chandni

I liked how the different touches of subtly was given to their scenes in this week's episodes. For instance, when Advay corners Chandni in the kitchen or in the bedroom, it was out of a long standing motif that was a result of the hate that he harbours in his heart against her and her family and that was Advay doing it. However, yesterday there was a connect between them at a whole new level. The Roka scene and the one between PP and Advay justified Advay's stance as a 'real man' in Chandni's life where he is not Advay but the young Dev whose trapped somewhere inside him and is camouflaged by the intensity of hatred. Yet, when Chandni is in need or in harms way, the knight in not so shining armour emerges out from the background and makes his way to save his damsel in distress. Brilliantly done scenes there and one cannot help but give credit to Sobti for his absolutely breathtaking portrayal and transition from Dev to Advay and Advay to Dev. He has oodles of charm and his talent just makes him an actor par excellence. 👏

Coming to Chandni, Shivani did a good job here and portrayed the confusion of a girl effortlessly. And the direction and thankfully the editing was good too. Overall I am very happy with the progress.

Indrani- Chandni

This is one equation which I feel will turn the tables in weeks to come. Indrani definitely is a layered character and I was kind of surprised with how badly she wants this marriage. Yes, its about money too but she didnt even bother checking about PP's background or asking Chandni what she wants. Pointers like these were thrown everywhere this week where she reprimands Chandni for her ill behaviour with the prospective groom and yet, she doesnt care what her daughter wants. In contrast, the sisters share a good bond with each other and eventually Chandni 's affirmation to marry Advay will makes things worse between Advay and Indrani, because Advay for once knows what Indrani is capable off. Again, I loved the portrayal of both the mother and the daughter and how Chandni trusts Indrani blindly, so much so, that she tells Advay to back off for the sake of her family. And I hope there are more scenes of Chandni and Indrani and Advay and Indrani next week. Ritu is a good actor and I want more screen time for her.

Yash- Chandni

Ah, the rare occurrences where we see the otherwise invisible and forgotten father making an appearance and whenever he does, he acts as catalyst to Advay and Chandni's equation. The first episode we saw him, Advay came to Allahabad. The second time he blesses Advay and wishes him luck in fulfilling his motives, thereby, the temple treasure is still safe and away from the greed of Indrani. And yesterday, he blessed the couple. Superb touch of finesse in scenes like these. And with time I see Advay will give more importance to Yash and Indrani will take a back seat, albeit begrudgingly.

So all in all, I see the story has been revealed in bits and pieces and the characters are now falling into their requite hues of positive and negative, setting the stage for the impending marriage. And I have enjoyed the show these last two weeks, just hope that the episodes are kept this way and the pace is maintained too. I dont know about others but I think the pace is working just fine without dragging the tracks much, a welcome change if I may add.

Oh and before I sign off, the upcoming week will finally see Advay playing his guitar. 😳 Oh, ever since the promos were released I had this wish to see Sobti doing a "Rahul Jayakar' sorts from Aashiqui 2. There was something about the intensity and the character that appealed to me a lot and knowing Sobti's calibre I had pegged a lot from this one character Advay. And needless to say that the makers didnt disappoint one bit when Advay threatens PP. That was WOW. Superb enactment of borderline obsession from Advay. ❤️ Keep them coming, I loved it.

Once again thank you for giving us Sushpective and a very special thanks to our dear friend Shweta for the beautiful collages. Both of you rock. 😃🤗

PS Come on Sush, the striped suit was a big no and so were the denims. I want to see Sobti in hues of black and white. He slays them like no other.

PPS I know next week is going to be a step closer for the leads in terms of discovering each other and there will be plenty of their scenes but I want a little more bolder romance now😆. LOL, I know SP and the slot wont allow it, 😆 but umm, those little touches can get a little bit more. For example, when Advay corners Chandni on the bed her bare waist was right on the camera and the man just touches her hand. Perhaps, if he wants to intrude her space without intimidating her, a brush of his fingers on the waist would have been lovely. But then maybe they have kept it for the time when Chandni finds out about his real intentions and Advay about her innocence. Oh that one track would be a treat to watch. Anyway, I am a happy bunny, so no complaints at all. 😃

Excellent write up Ecri!

Nothing more to add...except...striped suits can work sometimes...

Arziya thumbnail
The VM is great wonderful job, thanks for sharing, it suits ASR so much the lyrics were on dart