AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: ...Nihara...

Beautiful write up and very well articulated as usual 👏😆...

Shivika +AY = khidkitod combination😆

For me Shivika is more than just a fictional couple...eventhough the first scene of IB i watched was not of Anika/Shivaay/Shivika... i decided to continue watching the show mainly cuz of Anika...The first scene of Anika/Shivika i watched was their first car scene where Anika dancing cutely on "ladki beautiful" song...She was a live wire attracted me in the first sight...i can say love at first sight.😆...Then the next scene that followed after the car scene...ie., Billu offering his hand to help Anika to walk...Anika's "main chali jaungi"...Billu was adamant on helping her😆 ..Anika's expressions of somewhat "touched" at his gesture..After watching this episode...i was like omg i have never seen such an actress who can show such range of expressions in one single scene(first car scene)..and decided to watch the show...ofcourse Anika's characterisation was beautifully written it was difficult to not fall in love with her..Yes the scene you mentioned where Anika talked about love...Billu saying kisi ko baat pe we are. agreeing on ..Rudy's..".kisiko baat pe nahi.."love" pe...in that scene Anika' s idea of love touched my heart and i had to 👏 for the depth in writing ...dont know who had written that scene😆...And there has been so many such scenes where i fell in love with Anika...slowly i started falling for Shivaay...i fell in love with shivaay when he realised he was falling for Anikal ie., when he called love angel to clarify himself about his feelings for Anika ...the dialogues of Love angel in that scene👏...ie.,..how his heart found its saat.something on this line i dont remember the words exactly...now i want to go and watch that scene haha..it was such a beautiful scene👏...Then i started loving them as a unit "Shivika" ...i kept falling in love with them again and again for eg: the phans scene..and the scene where Billu fussing over her and scolding "dont act cute okay" ...putting ice pack...ie.,after NDE when she went to spa resort along with Rudy suspecting Tia...Haha...How can i forget the scene..Billu khilaoing Anika after comes to know how she suffered "hunger" in her childhood being an orphan...i cried in that scene😭...it was so emotional and heart touching...And the scene where Billu holding her from not leaving and he allowing her to vent out and cry😆..where.he kept on kissing her head ...and asking "are you embarrased"...i can go on and on😆😆...there were many scenes and i should stop here otherwise i would end up writing LONG list of scenes😆...Shivika is a unique couple having Takkar in everything😆..and where can we get such unique kind of their Tadi sessions,their blush,dard, lessons😆...And their hand holding had its own journey😆...their bantering,their arguements,their love,their romance aww i loove everything about them..😆...ofcourse there were instants where they pakoaed me..😆...Their first seperation and their post first separation track of 2 months😆 ...but still i loove everything about them😆...

The first test i had was their first forced shaadi...By that time...i connected with them as if they are real...Billu's epic stunt on the day before forced shaadi.. where.he throwing her on the bed and forcing her to wear the Shaadi dress...i dont lie i got depressed seeing that episode..my heart was so heavy...i decided to quit the show on that day...as i couldnt see shivaay in that avtar😭...but i ended up logged in the forum to know the different opinions on that episode...then i saw your "lulz" post...where you were laughing at colorful socks😆...it was the first post of yours i was reading...i never forget that post as after reading that post...my depression(due to that episode),the heavy heart everything disappeared...i felt very light...as that post changed my whole perception on those scenes and after reading that post i watched the episode again...then i laughed a lot😆...thats how i could be able to continue with the next Shivika scenes in post first forced shaadi regressive track😆...if i didnt read that "lulz" post...i think i would have quit the show on that day and i would have missed the further beautiful journey of Shivika😆...So you played a big part too and thank you for that😆...idk i can say here what i said above...but i had to say that 😆 when i am reading your journey with Shivika...i wanted to post my journey with Shivika and your post was part of it 😆...And i looved all your posts on Shivika in those days and now this..😆... okay i should stop here otherwise i can go on and on about your posts...it would become long essay😆😆...This is not the thread for that😆...

Sorry for the blabbering😆...i am neither a great writer nor an articulated like you😆...so other than random blabbering i couldnt do anything😆😆

Aww thank you, Nihara😆...haha happy I could help facilitate your journey with Shivika in some form, jaise bhi😆...even BW credits that lulz wala post with helping her keep watching IB...haha when I made that post, I never thought it would give himmat to ppl...I was toh just laughing my head off...genuinely😆

It's interesting to read how we all traveled different parts with them, what they meant to us at different points in this journey and what they mean even now after it has all ended😊
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: ashti1234

#shivika in itself is a brand😳

My journey too has been very hakte with them, I broke up loads of time 😆 and then returned back😆 (thanks to some very bad writing,arcs and tracks, etc)

I started the show mostly for annika. SC was so good as annika. She added a different spark to the bubbly character. NM only managed to impress me in the Jo bheji thi dua checkmate scene and from then on it was a beautiful journey with shivika. Sometimes Happy, sometimes depressed, sometimes angry... I went through a lot ups and downs.

And I totally agree, the writing let them down many times, it was mainly narbhi who elevated the show each time. They were, are and will always be an iconic couple.

I stopped watching the show in Nov when leap news came, never cared for DIB ever. So for me it's only #ShivikaForever 😳.

Though makers did give us this show, yet the mess they did in Nov and still doing now- so I have no good words for them at all.

So to shivika/narbhi, thank you for entertaining us for so long.
With loads loads loads of love.
Now we can sign off after getting a much deserved closure 😉.

I will keep dropping here to discuss shivika on and off.

Haha Ashti, yes I remember you breaking up many times...you toh left before social gyaan tracks only na...and I don't even blame you 😆

For me, it's just funny that I stuck with them through a LOT that I would NEVER do for most other stories...lol mainly because they genuinely had the ability to make up for lost ground with one great scene...case in point the stupid seperation during the Bua track all got made up in that amazing rain scene...they brought that kind of conviction to it.

And it's for that reason that I feel compelled to give them that acknowledgement when they are otherwise being brushed aside as a generic part of old IB😆
Arudra1009 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
A very heartening & heartwarming goodbye I must say AY, you & all the others too👏!! Shivika managed to stand out, capture hearts & stand above lousy scripts too!NM & SC together were fantastic. For me IB ended eons ago with Shivika nikah way back in June 2018. I stuck around due to the habit of watching Shivika.Apart from Shivika I loved many other characters too villain vamps inclusive. That was the beauty of the original IB where characters essayed by the cast lingered on, as opposed to the present monstrosity 😕. I have nothing more to add except things could have had a much graceful end with a happy closure, but certain things were never meant to be because of over confidence & egos.
swash2 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
A lovely ode to our favorite Shivika!
Heroes like Shivaay were plenty in the telly land but he stood out because he showed his vulnerability too!
For every one of his hateful moves against poor Annika, it was as though he turned around in anticipation of her counter moves, albeit expecting them and liking that challenge! That was the specialty about Shivaay's character! And Annika's was never breaking down even once when all odds are against her!
And they were ably supported by Omru and sweet Sahil even though his mouth overacted at times!
But as Rudy's muscles and Om's hair grew, their portrayal or acts diminished in proportion based on poor script all in the name of redux!

I still will connect only Narbhi = Ishqbaaz and can never remember IB as NMs and NItis!
AreYaar thumbnail
Was reading an old thread today and felt like these lines belonged in this letter too...so adding belatedly:

-
...the way Shivika literally live for each other's company...even if it is to drive each other insane...is pretty remarkable.
Edited by AreYaar - 6 years ago
Free_Rein thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
I was searching for Shivika VMs...i just came cross your longer version of Dhadak on Shivika...it is simply love!...how i missed it at that time..😆..i was busy in june and i didnt know about this VM at all lol...and i just watched it and went to comment and bump up the post...but the post got closed...it was on june 21..i never knew even 8 months old posts get closed🥱...
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: ...Nihara...

I was searching for Shivika VMs...i just came cross your longer version of Dhadak on Shivika...it is simply love!...how i missed it at that time..😆..i was busy in june and i didnt know about this VM at all lol...and i just watched it and went to comment and bump up the post...but the post got closed...it was on june 21..i never knew even 8 months old posts get closed🥱...

Aww thanks, Nihara😊

Haha yes, old posts get closed after 3 months of inactivity I think...or maybe it's 6 months...somewhere b/w the two...lol

I remember that VM...bade mann se banaya tha...."Jo meri manzilon ko jaati hai, tere naam ki koi sadak hai na...jo mere dil ko dil banaati hai, tere naam ki koi Dhadak hai na"...still feel Shivika personify these lines😊... and that is what motivated me to make the VM...it was my grand fantasy of how the redux and RU shall intersect over the feeling of deja vu😆

As usual, Harneet murdered anything that evoked a remotely good feeling...so that was that😆
naadanmasakalli thumbnail
so back here again because you know what after weiting that sort of goodbye note i am feeling more empty and restless and BY GOD it's been over 3 months but it is hard to be absolutly normal and be ok . I keep telling myself you are just overreacting you will eventually find something that will mean as much as these 2 and just forget it is overbut then somewhere on back of my mind it keeps lingering and though i started watching so many of random shows just like i used to before nothing actually touches or even keeps my interest hooked beyond 5 mins i zone out after that and go whyyy? Whyyy is it so hard to move on move on. I swear it never was this hard ever and i have stanned like a bazillion jodis before and it never took me more than 3 days to find something else and busy myself into it and be like it is done and dusted
Idk why i typed it here but i just felt like typing it out because i just cannot be absolutly normal. Dramatic this maybe but it is what it is

Oh Shivika aisa kyon kar rahe ho humare saath.
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: naadanmasakalli

so back here again because you know what after weiting that sort of goodbye note i am feeling more empty and restless and BY GOD it's been over 3 months but it is hard to be absolutly normal and be ok . I keep telling myself you are just overreacting you will eventually find something that will mean as much as these 2 and just forget it is overbut then somewhere on back of my mind it keeps lingering and though i started watching so many of random shows just like i used to before nothing actually touches or even keeps my interest hooked beyond 5 mins i zone out after that and go whyyy? Whyyy is it so hard to move on move on. I swear it never was this hard ever and i have stanned like a bazillion jodis before and it never took me more than 3 days to find something else and busy myself into it and be like it is done and dusted

Idk why i typed it here but i just felt like typing it out because i just cannot be absolutly normal. Dramatic this maybe but it is what it is

Oh Shivika aisa kyon kar rahe ho humare saath.

Aww Fary🤗

Haha I can understand...yes, it's been three months but until something engages my interest or emotions this CONTINUOUSLY, I'm also stuck on these two...lol wohi toh problem hai...as I've said before...it takes SO much time to painstakingly develop a connection this deep...and this one took time as well...so until something shows up to replace that, the void will remain.

With these two, it's just extra hard, cuz we followed them for so long...I've never followed any other story/pair for this continuous a stretch of period...so three months...that too such a messy three months with forced continuation of the show...that closure is not easy to come by.

Anyways, it will come with time...for now, I want to do my part in acknowledging their legacy :)
soapsuds thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
I don't know how I missed this post AY. But am finally here.

You have pretty much said everything AY and said it so well that I have nothing much to add.

Where do I even begin with Shivika? For me they have been a one of a kind experience with ITV. I have never been so invested in a couple in the way I became with Shivika.

My journey with Shivika began very late. The show was somewhere between 350-400 episodes at that time. I used be a fan of Gul's previous show on StarPlus although after the initial 6 months that actually lost the plot and never lived upto it's promise and the end was very messy as is a pattern with all Gul's shows with bitter fandom wars and everything that it brings in its wake. Having been burnt by that I pretty much didn't watch any GEC show until IB barring an episode or two here and there. I actually started watching SP because of IPK3 more because that was a reunion of sorts with my old forum friends but all of us found that show to be quite unwatchable. It was a personally difficult period in life for me at the time and I was looking to a show to watch as destressor and distraction and a most unexpected friend suggested IB. I was sceptical and wary but with nothing else worth watching starting watching it with really no expectation. Fortunately for me although the show was closer to 350-400 episodes in real time I started watching from episode 1 on Hotstar resisting the temptation to watch the current episodes until I had caught up.

Anika was the easy character to like because she was so engaging and Surbhi played her beautifully. Shivaay took a little longer but before I knew it I was completely sucked in and I binge watched with barely any sleep (i don't how I functioned 😆 ) and in 3 months caught up with 400 episodes and started watched real time with the 2nd KC episodes. And of continued watching until the leap. It was easier to deal with lack of story and plot lines while binge watching because I could move on to the next episode immediately but by the time I started watching real time the story had lost its plot long since and what held me still engaged was just Shivika and Narbhi. I almost gave up many times but never actually did because one good Shivika scene with substance would reel me right back in. Such was their magic that it outlasted all the crap that IB threw at the viewers in terms of writing. No matters what anyone tries to project or pretend and whether the makers ever acknowledge or not this show was always Shivika's and survived only because of them. NM-SC were what held it together.

It's ironical that Shivika were conceived as a cliche but took a life of their own and became anything but. A large part of the credit for that I think goes to the nuanced way in which NM and SC played them. They made Shivika special and far beyond the standard hot TV Jodi. I think if anyone else had played Shivika they might have been still popular but not unique. They would have turned out to be like any other hawt couple from Gul's shows because the template was the same.

Shivika were never about TCF or LLHH or any of the standard hot Jodi tropes. What always drew me in was their conversations be it their banter or the emotionally charged poignant ones or the powerfully evocative non verbal ones. They were truly saurangi and every rang held me spellbound. There are countless stand out Shivika scenes and if I start recounting them I will never stop. And the sheer range of emotions they navigated often in a single scene transitioning them so seamlessly without it being jarring is truly kudos to NM-SC. And Shivika were a team. Always. That was the standout for me. And what kept me connected to them despite everything else.

Most Jodi's however popular lose their charm after the major romance milestones of confession, marriage, SR etc are reached. It barely lasts beyond 200 episodes. RU Shivika lasted the distance and never lost their charm over their entire journey of 567 episodes.

And NM and SC played Shivika superlatively. Theirs was truly a one of a kind tuning as costars where they managed to play the whole range with aplomb (and what a range it was!) from the eyes that emoted so powerfully without any words to the zany chavvani chhaap dancing and everything in between. NM-SC managed to ace it all. It never felt to me like they played Shivika. They seemed to live Shivika.

A big thank you NM and SC for Shivika. Without the two of you Shivika wouldn't have been what they are.

No one gave Shivika their due for what they brought to the show while they were on the show or even in it's bitter aftermath but the place they created in the hearts of so many who love them will bear that out over time. Shivika will prevail long after the show as they have through all that was thrown at them on the show.

I am finding it hard to let go of Shivika. I guess it's going to take me a while (if ever) but I will always cherish them for the joy they brought to me. They were a truly khidkitod pair.

PS: I have just been rambling and already for too long and real life is beckoning urgently at the moment. I also want to read the rest of the thread but that will have to wait. A goodbye to Shivika probably deserved a better thought out post but even though there is a lot I feel I can't seem to string it together. So I am going to let your words talk for me as well AY. Thank you for this post.
Edited by soapsuds - 6 years ago