AreYaar thumbnail
I guess I'm one of the few ppl in this thread who's followed both KY2 and IB so I can speak to both😆

Are ppl here trying to claim the KY2 script was PERFECT? 😆...It had plenty of issues in the storylines of the supporting cast as well...just like MaNan prevailed out of KY2, Shivika prevailed out of IB...

Proving IB was BAD doesn't make MaNan GREAT or vice versa😆...if you are so secure in your love for MaNan or want to defend Parth or Niti, why does that need to involve dragging down NM or SC? Defend them on merits if you can provide those. Bashing IB's writing so much while defending any poorly written show Parth or Niti are currently doing is a little extra ironic😆...Neither of them has worked in well written shows since KY2😆

The TM actually tried to have a civil discussion which I appreciate. It's pity that it was devolved into petty sniping.
Cookies.. thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: AreYaar

@Cookies: Just to add a few more thoughts:

Casting is important in terms of the give and take b/w two actors but producers these days seems to respect that important aspect less and less...simply putting two good looking ppl in a frame together does not instantly spark chemistry.

Their acting styles need to complement each other for anything to work...Niti and NM's acting styles don't even REMOTELY compliment each other...they are both acting in a vacuum without being able to forge any connect...Niti is playing her usual bubbly 17 year old part and NM has struggled with playing Shivaansh ever since this season started...he looks either bored or confused in most scenes...this on top of the fact that the writing is non/existent and shit...so why is this expected to work is beyond me😆

@Bold Exactly my point. The thing is two mediocre actors can make a couple work (most ITV actors are mediocre IMO), if the characters are well written,directed AND if the actors COMPLIMENT each other in terms of acting together as a unit. Simply putting two good looking people together will not work. I've watched Gul's other shows as well and the same has happened there. Surbhi Jyoti looked the best with KSG in Qubool Hai. After he quit and she reincarnated her character about 4 times or something, it was never the same again. Same goes for IPK. It created an iconic couple out of Arnav & Khushi (Sanaya and Barun) which is why the show even got shut down when Barun decided to quit and a huge reason as to why IPK3 never worked from the start (along with TERRIBLE storyline). Same happened with KY2 if you remember when Parth quit and they brought in Yuvraj as Madhyam, fans couldn't take that and they eventually brought Parth back. It's hard for people to accept another love story in an already existing show which already gave them an iconic couple. Like, nobody watched KY2 for Fab5 , they watched for Manik-Nandini. Every "iconic" show has ONE USP. Once you take that away, how can you expect people to accept that especially if the story is so darn trash. Just make a brand new show if anything. Why ruin the essence of an existing show people are clearly attached to with leaps and pairing the lead with someone else?! I don't understand it. This is a concept that has , till date, NEVER worked on Indian Television. Either the original actor was brought back or they eventually shut down the show. Again, before this, I only watched Ishqbaaz for the first month for Omkara-Ishaana (Kunal-Vrushika) but they scraped that plot, booted Vrushika out and started DBO at that point. So I never really took an interest in Ishqbaaz because Gul is known to destroy her couples. The only couple of hers that actually got a somewhat decent ending was Maan and Geet. It was all downhill from there.

Personally, every single actor I've mentioned, I do not find any of them to be great actors. The only good actors that came out of Indian Television IMO are Iqbal Khan, Rajeev Khandelwal, Sakshi Tanwar, Ronit Roy, KSG (ignoring his personal life), and Jennifer Winget (after Beyhaadh). Everyone else I feel are very average to below average with limited range. Yet, they can all still do good work if they compliment each other and are backed by good scripts. Alas, you have Gul and her team writing these bogus and outlandish story-lines with annoying characters that people can't even remotely relate to.

P.S. Watch Dil Hi Toh Hai if you have the time. It's a little cliche but it's well-written with limited episodes. They finished Season 1 and they just started Season 2 which is online (not a television show) so yeah, there is more 'give' in the story as it is a web-series..

Edited by Cookies.. - 6 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Cookies..

P.S. Watch Dil Hi Toh Hai if you have the time. It's a little cliche but it's well-written with limited episodes. They finished Season 1 and they just started Season 2 which is online (not a television show) so yeah, there is more 'give' in the story as it is a web-series..

LOL thank you for the recommendation but if anything, I find Karan Kundra to be an even worse actor than Parth...can't stand him😆...and whatever little I watched of that show, the girl's acting was quite vapid too.

Clearly, these opinions are subjective...you connected with Om-Ishana, I didn't...only Shivika worked for me in IB because I felt NM-SC shared a special tuning as actors and I still stand by that opinion 😊.

But I appreciate that we can civilly disagree about these opinions rather than get into petty sniping.

*Edit: Oh and yes, nobody watched KY2 for FEB5 even though that was how the show was sold😆...it was considered MaNan's show...same way IB will never be considered a three couples ka show no matter what narratives are pushed...Shivika were the ones that became the brand figure from this show.

So if replacements for Parth weren't accepted in a "new season" of KY2, why would some fans expect Shivika fans to accept half-baked replacement pairings in a so called new season of IB?

But yes, I do agree on the bottom line that good writing matters a lot in establishing basis...from there, if the actors have the scope to EVOLVE, they can take it to another place as they grow organically into their parts...that is what NM-SC did with Shivika.
Edited by AreYaar - 6 years ago
Cookies.. thumbnail

Originally posted by: AreYaar

LOL thank you for the recommendation but if anything, I find Karan Kundra to be an even worse actor than Parth...can't stand him😆...and whatever little I watched of that show, the girl's acting was quite vapid too.

Clearly, these opinions are subjective...you connected with Om-Ishana, I didn't...only Shivika worked for me in IB because I felt NM-SC shared a special tuning as actors and I still stand by that opinion 😊.

But I appreciate that we can civilly disagree about these opinions rather than get into petty sniping.

*Edit: Oh and yes, nobody watched KY2 for FEB5 even though that was how the show was sold😆...it was considered MaNan's show...same way IB will never be considered a three couples ka show no matter what narratives are pushed...Shivika were the ones that became the brand figure from this show.

So if replacements for Parth weren't accepted in a "new season" of KY2, why would some fans expect Shivika fans to accept half-baked replacement pairings in a so called new season of IB?

I didn't really "connect" with Om-Ishhana (in fact hated Ishaana's character) but I somehow felt that the actors could work it out together to make it work. But it didn't happen. I've watched Kunal on the Buddy Project and Vrushika on D3 so I somehow felt they might work. But whatever.

And even though I am not a ShiVika fan, I don't disagree with you when you say that Subhi and Nakuul looked good together and complimented each other's characters very well which is the very reason that I think that people will not be able to connect with this show furthermore. Like, I loved their "Tashan" in the beginning. I still remember the "Billu ki shaadi hogi, billu ghodi chadhega, BILLU BILLU BILLU" 😆 Watched that on repeat. So I understand where you are coming from

And yes, IB was always considered a ShivIka show. I agree. They were the faces of the show. Now if you suddenly change that, won't work I tell you.
jasleen-tsmsp thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2
Does anyone think Niti could've played ACP Aditi's role? If they'd simply changed the actress and gone on with the same story?
krithi1990 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: jasleen-tsmsp

Does anyone think Niti could've played ACP Aditi's role? If they'd simply changed the actress and gone on with the same story?

Never. Manjiri has the perfect structure and appearance for a cop character. But Niti looks like a college girl. I think now she is doing a different role not ACP Aditi's role. Makers selected the suitable actresses for the characters. But their perfect portrayal of the given characters are in writers and director's hands. According to me, the half-hour should pass interestingly and speedy. The story is the second part. This show failed to give the good impression in the past as well as the present..
Paahi thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
I am finding niti's acting pretty good if not the best.She is doing her part well and she is doing only what the script demands.
diju thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
LOL Niti's acting is at least way better than the male lead. He is so monotoned. I am confused as to why so much criticism is directed towards Niti when the nakul is spared despite being so much worse. At least Niti's putting an effort, that guy is being paid to do nothing! I understand that your fav couple isn't in the show anymore, but don't take out the anger by bashing niti left, right and centre. At least judge everyone with the same barometer. My point is you guys are taking your frustration with losing your fav couple on Niti. It's no fault of hers. Anyways, even had an oscar-wining actress had been there instead of Niti you'll would've found reasons to bash her so there really isn't Niti can do to please anyone. It requires maturity to differentiate between a decision made by the CVs and the new actor doing her job. You guys feel cheated that your fav couple isn't there anymore so all this pointed bashing at Niti while letting go of the way way worse performances by others
Cookies.. thumbnail

Originally posted by: diju

LOL Niti's acting is at least way better than the male lead. He is so monotoned. I am confused as to why so much criticism is directed towards Niti when the nakul is spared despite being so much worse. At least Niti's putting an effort, that guy is being paid to do nothing! I understand that your fav couple isn't in the show anymore, but don't take out the anger by bashing niti left, right and centre. At least judge everyone with the same barometer. My point is you guys are taking your frustration with losing your fav couple on Niti. It's no fault of hers. Anyways, even had an oscar-wining actress had been there instead of Niti you'll would've found reasons to bash her so there really isn't Niti can do to please anyone. It requires maturity to differentiate between a decision made by the CVs and the new actor doing her job. You guys feel cheated that your fav couple isn't there anymore so all this pointed bashing at Niti while letting go of the way way worse performances by others

Nowhere have I said that Nakuul is doing a great job. In fact, I've pointed out in one of my posts that Nakuul isn't doing well as Shivaansh. I was never a fan of his work so I don't expect much out of him anyways. Niti on the other hand, I've watched. I've seen an entire show from beginning to end and even various seasons of her "claim to fame" show so I know that if given the right character, she can do a decent job. But this is not the one. It's not working whether she is trying or not.
Edited by Cookies.. - 6 years ago
Koeli thumbnail
Topic Closed for reviewing.
- IB DT