-castaways- thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: LilyJames0194

This is such an on-point post! There have been others too on the forum which have raised some very good points: why are such regressive thoughts being packaged as entertainment in today's India?

I used to love the characters and actually thought that Ishqbaaz would be an overall interesting show (looking at some of the early episodes and the technical budget).. but I think I am done.

True love is an intense journey, absolutely! Dramatic sure, but no where abusive.

I don't care whether the production house claims it's all part of a long term track wherein they will eventually try and say that this was not okay - SSO reformation or something on the lines. This episode was NOT OKAY.

The girl slept with someone for money, so? That does not give you the license to manhandle her.

She interfered in something that was not directly her matter? So? That does not give you the right to manhandle her?

She slapped you because of your comment. That slap was not a challenge. It was an absolute refusal.

You could be some form of God himself and a no would still mean a freaking no.

Completely agree with everything you said!

I'm so frustrated with the PH saying that its a 'long-term track' and how its all about Shivaay's journey as a person. YEAH, but does this journey really need him to be an abusive bas***d throughout?

I feel like a female lead could breathe too loudly in a GK show, and the male lead would find his perfect opportunity to manhandle her.
blackorwhite thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
👏👏
My thoughts exactly!!
Gul needs to stop romanticizing this crap.. I have already mentioned this in a few other thread but..
Such scenes need a statutory warning and They should be banned from planning OJaana(sad, happy, instrumental) for any such scenes.

Angry Shivaay throwing his iPhone around is in character but this manhandling is Not..

My other big issue is inconsistency .. Copy pasting this from another thread:
"In the past 3 months, He has interacted with Anika. We have seen his good side.. Ohh come-on 10 mins before the abuse, he was reminiscing their O-Jaana moments and giving himself a peep talk..Aaj ka reaction is unacceptable and cannot be justified in anyway.. Character growth naam ki bhi koi cheez hoti hai.. Dark character banana tha toh dark hi rehne dete.. My biggest issue is yeh pendulum jaisa jo Shivaay ka character idhar udhar pheek rahein hai.. Decide kar lo.. Dark hai ya Gray ya White(sarwagun sampan 🤢) "

I want Anika to file a police complaint and throw him in jail and then he can OJaana salakhoon ke peeche se... But alas I know not going to happen.. 😭

Edited by blackorwhite - 8 years ago
-castaways- thumbnail

Originally posted by: zeherili

You happened to pen down my feelings the way I felt, exactly. This is not something new nor is it really going away at some point. The fact that we know that Anika will inevitably end up with Shivaay at some point is probably what gets me. For someone who didn't want Daksh to touch her, or at the Sangeet when he stated that "No" means "No"- where was all that today? Where was the man who fought for equality, respect, and consent of women today as he threatened the life of a child, manhandled a woman, threatened to rape her?

I felt my skin crawl today at Shivaay's behaviour and to show this in a show where "Nayi Soch" is supposed to be present is disgusting.

Do the CVs not realize that this is the reality that so many people go through everyday and to trivialize it is despicable.

His characterisation is very broad right now.

What makes me really upset is that he didn't want Daksh to touch her, because he subconsciously feels like he has some right over her. 'No, means no.' is even more upsetting, because while even Daksh nags her continuously about getting married to him, Shivaay downright forces her.

Rape is extremely sensitive, so I wish that the CVs wouldn't throw it around when it was so obviously unnecessary.

Yeah, and apparently, to hell with Nayi Soch.
-castaways- thumbnail

Originally posted by: twerping

As I said, even if Anika later on fights back, I don't see how Shivaay's character can be redeemed. He threw her around like a sack today. That is something that visually was so revolting to many of us.
I started to watch the show a little late in the day and so have missed the episode you refer to, but yes, Shivay has repeatedly been shown as speaking up for women's rights... but I guess that is all for show. He is someone who will not hesitate to physically bully a woman. I guess that is just the way he is but he needs to be taught what it is to be a gentleman rather than being a boor.

I swear to god, if Annika becomes another Khushi and starts crying constantly about everything and anything, I'm going to bid my farewell to this show.
And yes, I hate the notion of passion somehow interconnecting with manhandling and rape threats.
Exactly, how far can his redemption go anyhow?
It's not like Annika is going to physically beat him up - so while I know that it won't ever compensate for the shit he pulled today, I hope she freaking makes life hell for him after they get married.

-castaways- thumbnail

Originally posted by: LilyJames0194

And I really think that this show has taken the name and the definition of 'khaandaani, khoon, naam' a little too far. His lineage, his global higher studies, and his life experiences all amount to absolutely nothing after today. Because believe me, if he was actually anything that he was or his family keep claiming he is - they should be ashamed today. Even in maddening all-consuming rage there is chivalry (and I don't mean that strictly because he is dealing with a woman here... but more generally towards another person).

Khaandani log aise nahi hote.

Just had the weirdest visual - imagine a royal family person behaving this way in today'/ that mes behind closed doors? One media leak and the entire family would be facing some extremely serious legal charges plus societal rejection.

Yeah, to this day, I have never heard of anyone in high society breaking phones, let alone manhandling women. The controversy that that would cause

The Oberoi's aren't exactly the classiest and most apt high-society members, as it seems 😆

richa1792 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 2 Thumbnail + 4
You know what was the most ironic think? What, in this complete f**ked-up, misogynistic, a slap to women everywhere kind of episode, pissed me off the most?

It was Shivaay's whole ideology. You see, he wanted to marry Richa because she had a prestigious khandaan. He cannot stop crowing about his lineage and his blue blood and his stupid izzat. Yet, his actions are that of an uneducated man with deep familial issues whose dad must have beaten his mom and taught him that women deserve to be treated like this. He, who has been educated from one of the most prestigious business schools in the world. He, whose whole house runs on the word of his grand mother. He, who was so liberal with his 'morals' when Riddhima wanted to move in with O.

He is the same person who is pushing a woman, pulling her hair, and indulging in criminal activities. There is no way what he did to Sahil isn't illegal. So Shivaay darling, pray tell, what blue blooded aristocrat with tehzeeb does this?

I was disgusted with him today. And that was the reason I absolutely loved today's episode. Because of the fact that I didn't even feel an ounce of sympathy for him. That I didn't want to defend him. We tend to do that, don't we? Defend our heroes and actions, no matter how unjustifiable they are. Today, I didn't want to do that. Today, I wanted Anika to run as fast as she can. Today, I wasn't rooting for a happy ending. Or may be I was. Because honestly, anything without Shivaay is a happy ending for Anika.

P.S. I think Nakul should take a bow. For the first time today, I was completely bowled over by his performance. For me, today was the day he decided to be Shivaay and not just wear him as a mask which he could take off when he gets off. Today, they weren't two different entities.
-castaways- thumbnail

Originally posted by: AnnzSageflower7

I don't think it was meant to be romantic at all...

It was a scene of a humiliated man, who lost his marbles and lashed out at her. He's gone off the rails and behaved very badly. He will pay for it.

All his Khoon Khandaan Naam fixations was leading to this. I don't think it was meant to teach about love at all. Just that men are cruel sometimes, and women have to deal with people like this in their daily lives.

True story:

I knew a girl, homely but stinking rich, really sweet and nice person. Her parents arranged for her to get married to another business family's heir. The wedding of the year, finest bash to be seen in the community. Wow.

The next day, the groom sent her home because he thought she was too ugly under all the makeup, and couldn't imagine life with her. It ruined her. Men are awful also, not just romantic and gorgeous.

Really?
I've been quite used to Gul Khan putting off violence as 'romantic' and passionate, indeed, the ShivIka pool scene is hardly ever acknowledged as having implications of rape, and is rather always looked at as 'hot' and very sexually charged. In fact, to a certain extent, the CVs are trying to portray his attraction towards her, even if it is through a rape threat.

But even so, I don't know how he will pay for it. Is his redemption ever going to be completely retrieved? What could he possibly do that could make up for all the shit he pulled today?

And that's a terrible, terrible story.
I actually knew someone who had a huge, grand wedding to a guy that she apparently loved, and they divorced two months into the marriage, because he ended up beating her up quite terribly.
It's dreadful that domestic violence is still so prevalent in society, in this day and age.
-castaways- thumbnail

Originally posted by: Smiley_23

In deed its infatuation with violence...🤔

very aptly put together 👏👏👏

and sadly Gul Khan will justify it showing the High TRP they are going to get for this track...👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼

Of course they'll get high TRPs for this track, which freaking sucks!

All the older female viewers dig this type of disgusting angst
-castaways- thumbnail

Originally posted by: LiveLoveLaugh96

i stopped watching ipkknd after ASR forcefully married Khushi and i always wondered how ppl loved ASR so much!

Im sticking around for RuMya otherwise it would've been a tata bye-bye from my side 😆

I don't know either, I downright loathed ASR.

OMFG I love RumYa too, but it seems that Rudy has inherited the manhandling tendency too, so if it becomes like that with them too, then that's me signing off
-castaways- thumbnail

Originally posted by: mishti4maan

No he went beyond ASR today for me tbh..

Actually, you're right.

From one of Gul Khan's sweetest heroes, to one of her cruelest 😭