Aryan-Imlie marriage track -- ITV and masala

mango.falooda thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail 7th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4

*** I started writing in response to @jayasharma25 post on Arylie DT thread

gist of @jaysharma25 post I started writing to: "nothing in this serial has made any sense earlier also…a forced marriage which was not annulled, then Imlie not only accepting it but use to perform rituals related to marriage,knowing that Adi is getting married to Malini, Malini suddenly taking the turn for worst after establishing her as such a positive character…etc etc. my point is that in ITV if they only show Imlie studying and achieving her dreams then where will the masala come to justify the 8.30 PM time slot"

My response turned out to be super long. 🤣🤣 So I thought rather make a separate topic to fully dissect. 😃 ***

Ooh, super! Here, let me add points on and against -- just for fun. hahahha

The 'against' argument:

So I get why some feel taken aback by this forced marriage track. It is because they love the character of Aryan. If I had to explain in an image, this would be it.

Someone who has her back when she falls, someone strong pushing her to be better version of herself, someone protecting her. He is in many ways a dream charcter -- strong, honest, unapologetically himself with zero emotional yo-yo and very supportive. So for some, it feels like a change in his character that he is forcing her; it also feels like repeat that yet again, we are getting a similar setup to the origin of the drama that starts out with an unwanted marriage. Is it rinse, repeat and wash?

So that is one side. The other side of the distaste is perhaps something a little bit more deeper. I am going to assume that there are not many high school students here on this forum but instead, most are matured women. (Are there men on this forum? If so, raise your hand and let us hear your voice too! A male perspective on this track and story would be interesting too! 😊 )

We don't know the stories behind the display names but every woman will have a story depending on what stage of life they are in. If they had been through the arranged marriage market, they will have varied reactions and experiences. For some, it would have been pleasant -- maybe they got married to the first rishtha and they were comfortable saying 'yes'. For others, they might have gone through several rishthas where they disliked the guy but the family was in favour -- so they might have faced emotional pressure themselves. Therefore, it might be uncomfortable to watch that on scren. Some may have faced broken relationships/marriage and would prefer to make a happier choice for themselves as well as a drama character they love (even if fictional). My point is that our life experiences can subtly influence a reaction to track in the drama. We are aware that it is fiction but we feel strongly anyway.

Some would argue that as our society changes, our dramas need to be looking at the more positive aspects and therefore, dramas need to reflect women who are strong and have the freedom to make choices for themselves.

Another reason for the distatste is the character of Aryan -- he has been such a support that it might seem like a change to see him be so pushy. Basically if he was outright villain from the start, no one would be surprised but since he was written that way, it might seem a bit out of the blue.

Now the 'for' argument:

In addition to what was posted by @jayasharma25, I would say that forced marriage tracks are really not new to ITV. They have been around for years and I think there are several reasons for that. One, it does reflect society in some ways -- many would have gotten arranged marriage without knowing their partner and may have done so because of family or societal pressure.

The forced marriage track presents creatives a way to write two charachters falling in love/develop feelings after marriage -- this is something a good chunk of the audience could relate because that is how arranged marriage works. As a couple live their lives together, they develop feelings and the bonds interwine -- well this is the good scenario. 😊

It also allows creatives to get two characters to live under the same roof and explore the kind of co-habitation hijinks in way that is approved by audience. Living together is still not the preferred scenario for most. So a good chunk of the audience who are not necessarily keyboard warriers (like the aunty/mom generation), they would not bat an eye to this track. It is just a meh type reaction. They understand it is TV and there is no strong for or against type feels anyway. We won't necessarily hear their thoughts because they are not necessarily going to get there on twitter or forums to type away their thoughts.

When it comes to Aryan's character or Imlie's abilty to decide, I have posted this before several times. I don't see any of this as out of the blue in terms of story or character and the writing is on point and feels natural. Aryan is being exactly who he is and this isn't forced but rather negotiation. Imlie is not the type of weakling character who will cry for 25 episodes because she can't open her mouth. No, this is a character that can always make the choice to say 'no' because she has a strong voice and heart. She is choosing to say 'yes' rather reluctantly and has zero qualms showing her annoyance to Aryan. It is different dynamic to the usual forced marriage track where someone does not have a choice and is instead being blackmailed.

Why we need this arc:

I also think that we have to look at the overall story arc the creatives are setting up here. From what I read, the creatives had to scramble their way out when their main lead (Gashmeer Mahajani, the previous actor playing Aditya) decided to quit. They could have chosen to keep the same dynamic and track that had been happening earlier -- Aditya/Malini/Imlie triangle.Instead, they used the opportunity to create a different season type arc and go in a new direction.

Basially this is Imlie 2.0 where it is a new journey and chapter of her life and the challenges she faces. They introduced a new character Aryan -- the intial audience response would have helped them decide the track and angle they would like to pursue with Aryan's character. While they introduced a new character, they also had a chance to see how the audiene reacts to the new actor playing Aditya, Manasvi Vashist, and the changes he has displayed in character arc and his interpretation of the current arc.

Part of the magic of live shooting (as opposed to canned shooting with fixed episodes) is that creatives have a chance to get to know audience feedback rather soon. SInce they are only a few episodes ahead (in the bank), they get to tweak and reflect audience thoughts and concerns. Whether we realize it or not, they are paying close attention to what we post and how we react.

The positive reaction to Aryan and the overall feels of Arylie means the creatives have the freedom to fully explore what it means for a young woman to have another marriage/relationship and the dynamics that come with it. They have seen the audience is positive towards the Arylie arc and so now we see a full exploration of it.

Now you could argue that since Aryan and Imlie are already under the same roof (as she is their paying guest), do we really a forced marriage track in order to get co-habitaiton hijinks?

I think the next arc of Aryan and Imlie is going to be an emotional one and can be a powerhouse if written and acted well. So I have posted this earlier (maybe will post it agin if anyone interested), but Aryan is suffering from the effects of prolonged grief. He is wholly invested in the revenge which hasn't really begun yet. So in order to get emotional healing, there are going to be plenty of arguments and tears ahead.

In order to fully explore that, we need to have two in a real relationship where Imlie has the right to interfere in his life and his decision making. It can't be as a friend or a colleague because you are not going to get the kind of emotional dramatics that make good TV. For Imlie, she needs to learn how to care for herself first and to find a healthy balance to put boundaries -- this is something that again will happen only when Aryan has the full right to interfere and ask questions. Without a relationship, we see two friends who cannot really question each other because at the end of the day, they are individuals and free to make their own choices and vision for their life. However, in a marriage, the dynamics are different. They are in it together and one person's choice and reactions affects the other. So this means you are going to have rich conflict where they both will clash. There is going to be a push and pull in terms of emotions and character growth.

The other reason for the forced marriage track is that we need a push and pull romantically and we can't have it as friends and colleagues. Both of them are way too blind and obsessed with their own life that they don't really see or acknowledge what is in front of them. People have been gossiping at work and social that Imlie is Aryan's girlfriend. However, do either of them react to that? No. 😂 So we need them to see each other as man and woman and the kind of sizzle and confusion that follows -- that makes great TV. Again, since that hasn't happened with them living under the roof, we need a real relationship where they can explore this.

We are moving towards a track where there is set to be a clash between the Rathores and Tripathy families. During the engagement, there was this scene and some pointed that it felt like foreshadowing.

I think it is. If we notice, Imlie is at the centre and Aryan is behind to her right, Meethi to her left and Sundar to the far right. We are going to see changes and swaps in dynamics and reactions as conflicts arise.

We are likely going to see Aditya turn increasingly negative because of his ego and inability to accept his mistakes. Sundar and Arpita are going to fall in love and we will see an exploration of what it is like to fall in love after a loss. That will create havoc in both households. We are also going to see Aryan start taking more active steps in his revenge and Imlie will have to figure out where she stands in all of this. As a friend and colleague, she will be an outsider but as a wife (even fake one), she will be in the midst of this drama. The two families are set for a clash and if this scene is an indication (where Imlie is the centre, Aryan behind on her right, Meethi to the far left, Sundar to the far right), we might see Imlie ride like a princess ahead of battle. That will generate TRP and full on TV drama.

So as @jaysharma25 pointed out, this is television and we need strong emotional stories in order to keep tuning in. A story where a young woman matures and fulfills her goals is a 2 hour movie or 16 episode drama at best. You cannot write 400+ episodes based on that 😂. That is why shorter dramas and longer dramas have different ways of storytelling. With longer/daily dramas, the stories and arcs may be unrealistic but we need twists and turns to keep tuning in and be engrossed. With shorter dramas with fixed length, it is easy to stick to a point without adding unnecessary masala -- it is easier to be more realistc.

Most of us watch dramas for the same reason many love books -- it takes us into another world where we are lost and where we can let out our feelings and emotions in a different way. Whether it is a short drama or a long drama, as long as I am engrossed and it is my type of masala, I am happy. Aryan Imlie getting married -- bring it on!!! I am here for all the juicy fallout. 😂

Edited by mango.falooda - 3 years ago

Priti1610 thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4

So well explained yaar... Too good i loved this so much.. N your each n every word was 100% correct...

free_willy thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: mango.falooda

*** I started writing in response to @jayasharma25 post on Arylie DT thread

gist of @jaysharma25 post I started writing to: "nothing in this serial has made any sense earlier also…a forced marriage which was not annulled, then Imlie not only accepting it but use to perform rituals related to marriage,knowing that Adi is getting married to Malini, Malini suddenly taking the turn for worst after establishing her as such a positive character…etc etc. my point is that in ITV if they only show Imlie studying and achieving her dreams then where will the masala come to justify the 8.30 PM time slot"

My response turned out to be super long. 🤣🤣 So I thought rather make a separate topic to fully dissect. 😃 ***

Ooh, super! Here, let me add points on and against -- just for fun. hahahha

The 'against' argument:

So I get why some feel taken aback by this forced marriage track. It is because they love the character of Aryan. If I had to explain in an image, this would be it.

Someone who has her back when she falls, someone strong pushing her to be better version of herself, someone protecting her. He is in many ways a dream charcter -- strong, honest, unapologetically himself with zero emotional yo-yo and very supportive. So for some, it feels like a change in his character that he is forcing her; it also feels like repeat that yet again, we are getting a similar setup to the origin of the drama that starts out with an unwanted marriage. Is it rinse, repeat and wash?

So that is one side. The other side of the distaste is perhaps something a little bit more deeper. I am going to assume that there are not many high school students here on this forum but instead, most are matured women. (Are there men on this forum? If so, raise your hand and let us hear your voice too! A male perspective on this track and story would be interesting too! 😊 )

We don't know the stories behind the display names but every woman will have a story depending on what stage of life they are in. If they had been through the arranged marriage market, they will have varied reactions and experiences. For some, it would have been pleasant -- maybe they got married to the first rishtha and they were comfortable saying 'yes'. For others, they might have gone through several rishthas where they disliked the guy but the family was in favour -- so they might have faced emotional pressure themselves. Therefore, it might be uncomfortable to watch that on scren. Some may have faced broken relationships/marriage and would prefer to make a happier choice for themselves as well as a drama character they love (even if fictional). My point is that our life experiences can subtly influence a reaction to track in the drama. We are aware that it is fiction but we feel strongly anyway.

Some would argue that as our society changes, our dramas need to be looking at the more positive aspects and therefore, dramas need to reflect women who are strong and have the freedom to make choices for themselves.

Another reason for the distatste is the character of Aryan -- he has been such a support that it might seem like a change to see him be so pushy. Basically if he was outright villain from the start, no one would be surprised but since he was written that way, it might seem a bit out of the blue.

Now the 'for' argument:

In addition to what was posted by @jayasharma25, I would say that forced marriage tracks are really not new to ITV. They have been around for years and I think there are several reasons for that. One, it does reflect society in some ways -- many would have gotten arranged marriage without knowing their partner and may have done so because of family or societal pressure.

The forced marriage track presents creatives a way to write two charachters falling in love/develop feelings after marriage -- this is something a good chunk of the audience could relate because that is how arranged marriage works. As a couple live their lives together, they develop feelings and the bonds interwine -- well this is the good scenario. 😊

It also allows creatives to get two characters to live under the same roof and explore the kind of co-habitation hijinks in way that is approved by audience. Living together is still not the preferred scenario for most. So a good chunk of the audience who are not necessarily keyboard warriers (like the aunty/mom generation), they would not bat an eye to this track. It is just a meh type reaction. They understand it is TV and there is no strong for or against type feels anyway. We won't necessarily hear their thoughts because they are not necessarily going to get there on twitter or forums to type away their thoughts.

When it comes to Aryan's character or Imlie's abilty to decide, I have posted this before several times. I don't see any of this as out of the blue in terms of story or character and the writing is on point and feels natural. Aryan is being exactly who he is and this isn't forced but rather negotiation. Imlie is not the type of weakling character who will cry for 25 episodes because she can't open her mouth. No, this is a character that can always make the choice to say 'no' because she has a strong voice and heart. She is choosing to say 'yes' rather reluctantly and has zero qualms showing her annoyance to Aryan. It is different dynamic to the usual forced marriage track where someone does not have a choice and is instead being blackmailed.

Why we need this arc:

I also think that we have to look at the overall story arc the creatives are setting up here. From what I read, the creatives had to scramble their way out when their main lead (Gashmeer Mahajani, the previous actor playing Aditya) decided to quit. They could have chosen to keep the same dynamic and track that had been happening earlier -- Aditya/Malini/Imlie triangle.Instead, they used the opportunity to create a different season type arc and go in a new direction.

Basially this is Imlie 2.0 where it is a new journey and chapter of her life and the challenges she faces. They introduced a new character Aryan -- the intial audience response would have helped them decide the track and angle they would like to pursue with Aryan's character. While they introduced a new character, they also had a chance to see how the audiene reacts to the new actor playing Aditya, Manasvi Vashist, and the changes he has displayed in character arc and his interpretation of the current arc.

Part of the magic of live shooting (as opposed to canned shooting with fixed episodes) is that creatives have a chance to get to know audience feedback rather soon. SInce they are only a few episodes ahead (in the bank), they get to tweak and reflect audience thoughts and concerns. Whether we realize it or not, they are paying close attention to what we post and how we react.

The positive reaction to Aryan and the overall feels of Arylie means the creatives have the freedom to fully explore what it means for a young woman to have another marriage/relationship and the dynamics that come with it. They have seen the audience is positive towards the Arylie arc and so now we see a full exploration of it.

Now you could argue that since Aryan and Imlie are already under the same roof (as she is their paying guest), do we really a forced marriage track in order to get co-habitaiton hijinks?

I think the next arc of Aryan and Imlie is going to be an emotional one and can be a powerhouse if written and acted well. So I have posted this earlier (maybe will post it agin if anyone interested), but Aryan is suffering from the effects of prolonged grief. He is wholly invested in the revenge which hasn't really begun yet. So in order to get emotional healing, there are going to be plenty of arguments and tears ahead.

In order to fully explore that, we need to have two in a real relationship where Imlie has the right to interfere in his life and his decision making. It can't be as a friend or a colleague because you are not going to get the kind of emotional dramatics that make good TV. For Imlie, she needs to learn how to care for herself first and to find a healthy balance to put boundaries -- this is something that again will happen only when Aryan has the full right to interfere and ask questions. Without a relationship, we see two friends who cannot really question each other because at the end of the day, they are individuals and free to make their own choices and vision for their life. However, in a marriage, the dynamics are different. They are in it together and one person's choice and reactions affects the other. So this means you are going to have rich conflict where they both will clash. There is going to be a push and pull in terms of emotions and character growth.

The other reason for the forced marriage track is that we need a push and pull romantically and we can't have it as friends and colleagues. Both of them are way too blind and obsessed with their own life that they don't really see or acknowledge what is in front of them. People have been gossiping at work and social that Imlie is Aryan's girlfriend. However, do either of them react to that? No. 😂 So we need them to see each other as man and woman and the kind of sizzle and confusion that follows -- that makes great TV. Again, since that hasn't happened with them living under the roof, we need a real relationship where they can explore this.

We are moving towards a track where there is set to be a clash between the Rathores and Tripathy families. During the engagement, there was this scene and some pointed that it felt like foreshadowing.

I think it is. If we notice, Imlie is at the centre and Aditya is behind to her right, Meethi to her left and Sundar to the far right. We are going to see changes and swaps in dynamics and reactions as conflicts arise.

We are likely going to see Aditya turn increasingly negative because of his ego and inability to accept his mistakes. Sundar and Arpita are going to fall in love and we will see an exploration of what it is like to fall in love after a loss. That will create havoc in both households. We are also going to see Aryan start taking more active steps in his revenge and Imlie will have to figure out where she stands in all of this. As a friend and colleague, she will be an outsider but as a wife (even fake one), she will be in the midst of this drama. The two families are set for a clash and if this scene is an indication (where Imlie is the centre, Aditya behind on her right, Meethi to the far left, Sundar to the far right), we might see Imlie ride like a princess ahead of battle. That will generate TRP and full on TV drama.

So as @jaysharma25 pointed out, this is television and we need strong emotional stories in order to keep tuning in. A story where a young woman matures and fulfills her goals is a 2 hour movie or 16 episode drama at best. You cannot write 400+ episodes based on that 😂. That is why shorter dramas and longer dramas have different ways of storytelling. With longer/daily dramas, the stories and arcs may be unrealistic but we need twists and turns to keep tuning in and be engrossed. With shorter dramas with fixed length, it is easy to stick to a point without adding unnecessary masala -- it is easier to be more realistc.

Most of us watch dramas for the same reason many love books -- it takes us into another world where we are lost and where we can let out our feelings and emotions in a different way. Whether it is a short drama or a long drama, as long as I am engrossed and it is my type of masala, I am happy. Aditya Imlie getting married -- bring it on!!! I am here for all the juicy fallout. 😂

Interesting analysis, I agree with what you said.

I guess there is a typo at few place where you wrote "Aditya" instead of "Aryan"

Edited by free_willy - 3 years ago
mango.falooda thumbnail

Originally posted by: free_willy

Interesting analysis, I agree with what you said.

I guess there is a typo at few place where you wrote "Aditya" instead of "Aryan"

🤣 Thank you so much. I have corrected -- hopefully it reads right. I was typing for so long while doing other stuff inbetween. So yea, hopefully it is coherent now. 😂

jayasharma25 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

First off - very well written..and I am a mother whose own marriage can make an interesting story…my father had told a potential groom that “I understand arranged marriage…i understand love marriage…but I will not stand a forced marriage”…. So trust me when I say that I never liked this forced marriage trope…just that I take an objective outlook… Aryan has tried all the tricks in his bag…he counselled her, gave her opportunity, fought for her honour, stood as her support, made her hate brined schemes a success…he has gone above and beyond…I understand that Imlie appreciates him but all the appreciation goes into the gutter when she is emotionally pulled into the T family drama… the last straw was for him when she was begging in front of him for them.

We can argue until kingdom come that Imlie needs to have agency…she should be allowed to suffer if she chooses to…but in the real world also families do put up interventions… in Imlie’s world every body (her own family, her adopted family) supports her shenanigans… for godsake her own mother is alright with the idea of keeping only 5000 for own expenses and giving the rest for repaying loan… Aryan is the only one who sees her as the 19 yr old that she is… so he felt the need to step in… I don’t like it…but I get it. So I have made my piece…he is the dark knight who has chosen saam dam dand bhed to achieve his means… for me intentions are important and here his intentions are correct.

When I wrote the para in the morning - it was more from seeing the heckling on the TRP thread or the comments on the daily episode discussion. I can understand if you don’t like a story, character etc. you can have constructive criticism…but to find glee if TRP falls… I don’t get that… there are people whose home runs from working in these serials…so to wish failure is just down right cruel… hence the write up that this is fiction…enjoy the guilty pleasure

Edited by jayasharma25 - 3 years ago
sheen97 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 3

I loved how you explained it. Everything actually fits together. As you said and as i have read yt comments or anywhere in marriage promo people have since long been waiting to get them married. Tbh this track does leave a bad taste in my mouth bcz i so want it to be consensual.

Like you said the foreshadowing also suggest rathores vs tripathis and i also belive that is where the future tracks will be headed.

I also made a.post regarding how deeply traumatised aryan is that he deep down blames himself for his jeeju's death to the extent that he considers himself unworthy of happiness . That is why he is trying to hold imlie bcz subconsciously he wants to be happy.

Journey ahead will be interseting bcz it has to be imlie who will have to do.all.heavy lifting. Aryan will take long time to accept that he loves imlie bcz that means he has forgiven himself which also means that he is ready to let go of his jiju which id extremely hard for.him considering he was aryan's everything.

I.also.feel that through revenge aryan is just holding onto his jeeju because he is extremely terrified of letting him go . He is just not ready to let arvind remain only in his memories that he feels might eventually fade away. He needs to learn to forgive himself. That is where imlie's role come into play. She will have to teach him that its ok to let it go and it was not his fault. Imlie will realise her and aryan's feelings and will take it upon herself to make him embrace his feelings.

Also ,I feel we will see AKT vs Imlie where AKT will try his best to play with aryan's trauma and breaking him down emotionally and mentally by always throwing in his face how.imlie can never him. And Imlie will fight with AKT to support aryan emotionally and physically and make aryan believe that he deserves to be loved , he deserves to be happy and he deserves to be forgive himself.

Writters have build Arylie dyanmics as that of second chances, of love so powerful and selfless that heals a person .

Honestly, i am suprised how well written and realistic Aryan's character is and the actor they got on board with fahmaan is like a jackpot for makers.

The tracks ahead has all the elements of grabbing eye balls.

Arylie dynamics make me remember of that of jerry maguire

Ah! All i can think of is these two dialogues that defines their relationship

HELP ME HELP YOU

AND

YOU COMPLETE ME

mango.falooda thumbnail

Originally posted by: jayasharma25

First off - very well written..and I am a mother whose own marriage can make an interesting story…my father had told a potential groom that “I understand arranged marriage…i understand love marriage…but I will not stand a forced marriage”…. So trust me when I say that I never liked this forced marriage trope…just that I take an objective outlook… Aryan has tried all the tricks in his bag…he counselled her, gave her opportunity, fought for her honour, stood as her support, made her hate brined schemes a success…he has gone above and beyond…I understand that Imlie appreciates him but all the appreciation goes into the gutter when she is emotionally pulled into the T family drama… the last straw was for him when she was begging in front of him for them.

We can argue until kingdom come that Imlie needs to have agency…she should be allowed to suffer if she chooses to…but in the real world also families do put up interventions… in Imlie’s world every body (her own family, her adopted family) supports her shenanigans… for godsake her own mother is alright with the idea of keeping only 5000 for own expenses and giving the rest for repaying loan… Aryan is the only one who sees her as the 19 yr old that she is… so he felt the need to step in… I don’t like it…but I get it. So I have made my piece…he is the dark knight who has chosen saam dam dand bhed to achieve his means… for me intentions are important and here his intentions are correct.

When I wrote the para in the morning - it was more from seeing the heckling on the TRP thread or the comments on the daily episode discussion. I can understand if you don’t like a story, character etc. you can have constructive criticism…but to find glee if TRP falls… I don’t get that… there are people whose home runs from working in these serials…so to wish failure is just down right cruel… hence the write up that this is fiction…enjoy the guilty pleasure

Thank you! I really didn't mean to write an essay but you raised great points and it just kept getting longer as I wrote. 🤣 So I agree with you that Aryan's intent and heart is in the right place -- that may be why I personally don't have negative response to this track. Aryan is not a stalker who will run after Imlie if she says 'no'. Instead, he will walk away. Imlie is not this weakling who will not fight -- she can be super abrasive and agressive.

Rather than the forced marriage track, what annoys me is the toxic relationship Imlie has with the Tripathy family. I am 100% with Aryan -- they fleece her and she is such an idiot that she can't see how they are using her. Something that really cemented how unsafe they are is that she would rather sleep in the street or at office rather than go back to their house. She walked out of the house with nothing financially and for all their chatter about her being a daughter, they didn't take the means to see if she was safe. A loving parent would ensure their daughter is financially safe and has a roof over their head.

Part of my response is real life related.

One of my aunt's colleagues (lets call her W) walked out of her home close to midnight after a huge fight. The relationship was violent on multiple levels -- sexually, emotionally and physically. With nowhere to go in a city where she had no relatives, she called my aunt who was her colleague in a panic. My aunt took her in for a few days. W managed to find a PG within a few days and after a few months, took a flat for rent. While the divorce proceedings were on, her mom came over to give her emotional support. At that time, they invited us for a kind of housewarming as well as thank you. I was visiting my aunt and uncle at the time and so I went along with my aunt and cousin sister. W's mom held my aunt's hands as she wept -- my aunt was so embarassed and kept saying it was just a small help. W's mom could barely speak but her tears conveyed such strong emotions -- gratefulness, fear, worry, love. It was so emotional that I still remember it years later. W went on to get re-married happily and she now has a child. My point is that if you knew someone who had gone through such a situation, you would know that Aryan and his family opening their home to Imlie is an enormous deal. It isn't a small gesture by any means. Yet, she clings to the Tripathys like an idiot.

Also, like you mentioned, her keeping hardly any money for herself is another idiotic thing. Like Aryan mentioned, at least keep something for emergency ration like her mother falling sick and she brushed that aside. I was face palming at that scene.

So sharing another real life scenario that indicates how important it is for women to have access to money and have the smarts to keep some for themselves: During the first wave, lockdown was so tight in our city and we needed police certificate to even leave our neighbourhood zone. So this lady's husband had to be admitted in hospital but she had no money. It wasn't that this family was poor, they were doing well for themselves -- rather she didn't have access to the bank account as the uncle had taken care of all financial matters. She didn't even have a bank account to her name and so none of the relatives could wire her the money. The children were living in another city and could not come. After a lot of hurdles, the relatives in the city managed to get to the hospital to pay the bills. Now this is a real life scenario that shows that even in the best of relationships, a woman needs to have access to cash to face all sorts of emergencies. Back to the drama, since Imlie is an idiot and refuses to listen, Aryan is forced to push his hand because as friend, she won't take his sincere advice and wisdom.

There are lot of times when dramas annoy me -- for me, what keeps me watching (as opposed to dropping it) is when I look at the overall arc of the drama and the role this character plays and the current track. People think only serious dramas and movies can be analyzed. I disagree; It takes skill to write popcorn entertainment. Regardless of the type of drama or story, writers are planning ahead and thinking in terms of first act, second act, third act. Only when there is cohesiveness and a natural progression can the story be told in a good way. Otherwise, it will flop. So when I think about what the writers are trying to convey and where the story is headed, I feel okay even if I dislike or disagree about certain elements/characters/arc/reactions. 😊 Otherwise, I drop it and move on to another drama -- I am flaky that way. 😂

Edited by mango.falooda - 3 years ago
mango.falooda thumbnail

Originally posted by: sheen97

I loved how you explained it. Everything actually fits together. As you said and as i have read yt comments or anywhere in marriage promo people have since long been waiting to get them married. Tbh this track does leave a bad taste in my mouth bcz i so want it to be consensual.

Like you said the foreshadowing also suggest rathores vs tripathis and i also belive that is where the future tracks will be headed.

I also made a.post regarding how deeply traumatised aryan is that he deep down blames himself for his jeeju's death to the extent that he considers himself unworthy of happiness . That is why he is trying to hold imlie bcz subconsciously he wants to be happy.

Journey ahead will be interseting bcz it has to be imlie who will have to do.all.heavy lifting. Aryan will take long time to accept that he loves imlie bcz that means he has forgiven himself which also means that he is ready to let go of his jiju which id extremely hard for.him considering he was aryan's everything.

I.also.feel that through revenge aryan is just holding onto his jeeju because he is extremely terrified of letting him go . He is just not ready to let arvind remain only in his memories that he feels might eventually fade away. He needs to learn to forgive himself. That is where imlie's role come into play. She will have to teach him that its ok to let it go and it was not his fault. Imlie will realise her and aryan's feelings and will take it upon herself to make him embrace his feelings.

Also ,I feel we will see AKT vs Imlie where AKT will try his best to play with aryan's trauma and breaking him down emotionally and mentally by always throwing in his face how.imlie can never him. And Imlie will fight with AKT to support aryan emotionally and physically and make aryan believe that he deserves to be loved , he deserves to be happy and he deserves to be forgive himself.

Writters have build Arylie dyanmics as that of second chances, of love so powerful and selfless that heals a person .

Honestly, i am suprised how well written and realistic Aryan's character is and the actor they got on board with fahmaan is like a jackpot for makers.

The tracks ahead has all the elements of grabbing eye balls.

Arylie dynamics make me remember of that of jerry maguire

Ah! All i can think of is these two dialogues that defines their relationship

HELP ME HELP YOU

AND

YOU COMPLETE ME

Thank you! I love the character of Aryan and how layered he is. He is definitely dealing with trauma and it does mean his reactions to Imlie are a lot stronger. It can seem irrational on the surface but if you break it down, you can see that he is trying to ensure that no one he gets care about gets hurt. In some ways, he is like Imlie in that he is hyper protective. The difference between him and Imlie is that he knows boundaries, is sane and will think through his actions. Everything is like a chess board and his brain is constantly whizzing. I really enjoy that apect of the character. It will be interesting to see how they lay out the clash between the two families and what will Imlie's role who is caught in the middle. Am hopeful we will be entertained. 😊

jayasharma25 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

All valid points - I feel that T family represents the avg middle class family where if the Daughter-in-law is working it is good but if she can prioritises her house work and her office work only then she is great… there is a scene after the CEO debacle where Imlie is making poori- subzi in T house and BK says “well done” - Aryan taunts her that “yehi Sunna chahti ho”….no one asked her that why did she not take her responsibility seriously…or that what is her boss thinking now…everyone was happy in her serving them. So they may not be 💯 villain but their expectations from her were crushing her present and future.

And IMO why Aryan gained so much popularity…it is not the physique of the actor or the attitude…women want a knight in shining armour…who can save them…all our fairy tales have them…which is what he is to Imlie

sheen97 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: jayasharma25

All valid points - I feel that T family represents the avg middle class family where if the Daughter-in-law is working it is good but if she can prioritises her house work and her office work only then she is great… there is a scene after the CEO debacle where Imlie is making poori- subzi in T house and BK says “well done” - Aryan taunts her that “yehi Sunna chahti ho”….no one asked her that why did she not take her responsibility seriously…or that what is her boss thinking now…everyone was happy in her serving them. So they may not be 💯 villain but their expectations from her were crushing her present and future.

And IMO why Aryan gained so much popularity…it is not the physique of the actor or the attitude…women want a knight in shining armour…who can save them…all our fairy tales have them…which is what he is to Imlie

@ bold to add one reason for aryan's popularity is he is inner conscious of all the woman who struggles . His dialogues ,his leasons just hit home and most importantly makes you introspect your own thought process

His dialogues in rain confrontation hits home and that chopstick scene in a sense opens you eye that to grow in life its impt to start learning new things .

Even though writing is sometimes miss, but the way aryan charcter is written needs applause