Tu Har Lamha
A young man in his late twenties shouted into his Bluetooth. With papers in hand he stood up from the hospital stretcher. The blue gown he wore hung loosely on him.
"Just listen to me dammit! We need to crack on with that deal as early as possible. If it isn't completed then I'm firing you! He said as he threw his Bluetooth earpiece across the room. Massaging his throbbing temples he thought deeply, ignoring the advice of the Doctor beside him telling him to calm down. Switching off the lights, the Doctor left his patient to his thoughts.
He stood in the centre of the room, contemplating until something abruptly crashed into his arms. It took a few seconds for him to come to the understanding that it was another person, a girl. He tried free himself from her but she shushed him.
"Please don't move. Just for a few minutes, please, came the softly voiced request he found himself obeying.
When she left him a few minutes later, tiptoeing towards the window, he switched on the lights to find she was also in her mid-twenties and similarly dressed in a gown much like him.
"Who the hell are you? What the hell are you doing here? He shouted at her.
"Dekhiye bhai saab, the fact is I have no interest to be in your room, nor to be in this place either, She replied dramatically.
Misunderstanding what she meant, he raised his voice till it was louder than before.
"What do you mean by you're not interested in being in this place huh? Do you wish to commit suicide or something? It's because of people like you who do not value life that we end up paying for all this. Damn it, just get out of my sight. He raged.
"Excuse me. What did you say? Why would I commit suicide? And what did you pay for my sins?" She asked annoyed at his assumption.
"I'm suffering from a brain tumour because of you all. I only have a few days to live. We know how difficult it's to die but you cowards try to kill yourself before understanding the value of life. He ranted.
"Phir se suicide? I don't need to commit suicide, okay. Also I know the value of life. Even I'm battling for my own life. Even I have few days to live." She folded her arms below her chest.
"What? He softened listening to her speak of her own troubles.
"Yes, I have a hole in my heart and therefore only few days to live. Now I need to run from this hospital. She said and started to go but stopped as she saw her family searching for her.
"Uff! I can't even go outside now. My family are searching for me. God, now I have to stay in this room. She muttered loudly to herself.
"Anyways, why do you want to run from this hospital? He enquired.
"Simple, I want to enjoy my life in these last few days not stay cooped up in this hospital. For the last three months I've gone through torture, bland soups and a single coloured ugly gown. If I don't get a donor, I'll die soon. If anyone donates, then I'll be saved. All really filmy you see. Anyways, what's your name? She explained quickly in one go.
"Huh? Why do you even need to know my name? He asked. He spoke with same attitude as before but a little more softly this time.
"Haw, why means what? Arre we're both are sailing in same boat so it's nice to know about the other. No worries, I'll give you a name myself. Babloo...yes your name is now Babloo. Also, since you didn't reveal your name even I'm not going to reveal my name so you can just call me Misty. She chirped.
For a moment he was so overwhelmed.
"How can you be happy when you are going to die soon? Don't you feel even a bit dejected?" He asked.
"Uff... Mr Babloo why must we think as we are having few days to die. Why can't we think that we have some days to live?" Her eyes shone with happiness which made his heart skip a beat. "Listen do you have a bucket list? Mine is in my pocket you see." She showed him and gasped when he said he didn't have one. "Okay, no problem. You can make yours now."
He obeyed her and started penning down his wish list only to see her smile. When finished, they exchanged their lists.
His List:
To eat Golgappa
To sit on the Seashore
To have a girlfriend
To hug my PA Mihir and thank him for tolerating my temper till now
To smile
Her List:
To ride a bike without a license
To get a bob cut
To wear a beautiful wedding dress
To steal a burger from an eatery
To ---------------
After reading her list he asked her about the fifth wish which was struck off. She shrugged off the issue.
"Okay Mr Babloo, let us begin with the Golgappa. Come on we'll eat them now," She said and pulled him with her.
"But why now? We can go tomorrow right!" He argued.
"No! Who knows what's going to happen tomorrow. Let's live the moment right now." She smiled causing his heart to skip a beat again.
Both of them sneaked out from the hospital and into to the parking area.
"Won't your family get tensed if you go missing?" He asked her.
"Of course they will! But they will soon understand so no problems." She smiled.
"Okay here are the keys for my bike, come on and ride it." He said to her as he handed her the keys.
"Really? I can't believe my eyes! Thank you so much!" She said and hugged him tight making him feel elated.
Both of them drove towards the Beach road when a traffic constable stopped them.
"Show me your licence." The constable asked her.
"She doesn't have one." He said from behind.
"What? Then get down and pay the fine. Don't you know it's illegal to ride without a license?" The policeman shouted.
"But uncle, he is riding the bike not me. Isn't it okay if you see his license?" She said calmly.
"Do I look like a fool? If he is driving, then why are you sitting in the front?" The police asked craftily. They both grinned.
"Because we're romancing on the open road! They zoomed away laughing.
"Oyye look there's the Golgappa stall!" She pointed. Upon reaching there, they ordered a plate of Golgappe.
Both of them enjoyed every bite of it and relished its taste.
"Okay so we have already completed a bike ride and eaten Golgappa. Now what about thanking your assistant?" She suggested to which he agreed and moved aside to call his assistant to meet him here.
After few minutes Mihir came and handed him a bag. He was about to leave but stopped upon hearing his voice.
"Mihir. Thank you for being with me buddy." Saying that he took him into a surprise hug. The incident left them both tearful as it was his first thanks. After having a good chat with his assistant, the two bid a bye to Mihir.
"Finally. Here, this is for you. The world's most beautiful wedding dress." He said and places it in her hand.
She opened the parcel and was awed by its beauty. "This dress is so beautiful!"
"I know. And I want you to see in this dress. Will you wear it for me now?" He asked her.
"Of course. But where can I change my clothes." She asked and looked towards to the direction in which he pointed.
There was a beautiful tent on the beach shore and as it was night there are less people, making it look even more beautiful. She went inside the tent to change while he waited for her to come out.
"Ahem... ahem..." She cleared her throat making him turn and become breathless upon sight.
"You look ...beautiful." He whispered in her ears making her blush.
He smiled at her, may be for the first time in his life, which made her feel so happy at that moment when she saw him kneeling in front of her and taking out the ring from the box.
"I have never learned how to live may be I had no one to teach me or I am destined to learn from you. All I know is I would love to be with you for every moment of the rest of my life, in your life and to make our life. I love you Misty, will you be my Girl?" He asked with love and sincerity shining in his eyes.
She was about to say yes but controlled herself and instead said "Please try to understand me Mr Babloo. Please don't raise your hopes. We have very little time and..."
"I know misty. But you said it right that we must learn to live every moment. I'm trying to do the same. Please let me love you Misty, till my last breath and until my final heartbeat. Will you let me love you?" He asked touching her forehead with his.
"I ...love you too... Mr Babloo." She replied making the both of them giggle.
A few moments later they realized how close they were, how short of breath and how quickly their hearts beat. When he was about to pull away she consented with her eyes to which he obeyed by coming forwards to kiss her. At the first soft touch of his lips, she gasped letting him kiss her even deeper. The soft start burnt away with their ever consuming passion until they were both short of breath.
"I wish to love you entirely, for the whole of my short life." He whispered to her, feeling a tad emotional.
After kissing each other to their hearts' content, they sat on the seashore cuddled in each other arms.
"So then your final wish, will you tell me what it was now?" He asked kissing her palm.
"Don't laugh at me okay. It's just that...I wished to be kissed at least once before I died." She said into his chest
"Naughty girl or what? Why would I laugh? Arrey I'm happy that I got to fulfil your final wish." He laughed.
"Yes. Finally we have fulfilled half our wish list. Now what next?" She asked with her infectious smile.
"The night is still young Misty..." He trailed off with a smirk.
The real question is not whether life exists after death.
The real question is whether you have lived before death.