Chapter Four
Kripa gaped at Angad like a deer caught in headlights. What was he doing here? She thought. Her shocked expression turned to one of recognition then a big frown as she recalled Kavya telling her about Anjali's brother. She glared at him and turned around not wanting to create a scene.
"You know you don't have to play hard to get if you want my attention" he said sitting next to her
She rolled her eyes ignoring him "Anjali where's your sister?" Kripa asked looking around
Anjali smiled a little awkwardly at the current situation "she's gone to the library. Her exams are starting so she's studying really hard"
Gauri grinned a little amused "Anjali, go get the photo album, we'll show Kripa some pictures"
Angad smiled impishly "Yeah Anjali, show her my pictures in the buff" Everyone gasped turning to him while Kripa glared daggers at him. He chuckled "of course of when I was small you dirty minded people" he said stretching his arms with a naughty grin wiped across his face
Kavya frowned at Angad's behavior "that was a bad joke" he muttered
Angad laughed glancing towards Kripa "you know you all need to lighten up a bit"
Kripa groaned and snapped at him "What's your problem? I only met you yesterday and you have made my life a living hell"
"Ohhooh" he howled "it's not my fault god made you pretty"
"See your still doing it. Don't you have any shame?"
"Naaa, I'm shameless" he said pinching her cheek
"Don't touch me" she retorted pushing his hand away
"I'm not" Angad shrugged "I only pinched your cheek" he said repeating the action
Kripa grumbled and stood up "You are a moron"
"Proud to be"
"Pig"
"Sweetheart" he took her hand "it's a dog" he winked
Everyone stared at the fighting duo horrified. One minute Kripa was sitting laughing with everyone, the next moment filled the room with an awkward aura and now they were fighting like cats and dogs.
Kavya sighed and walked towards Kripa who was now standing, name calling Angad like a two year old. "Jerk" she yelped when Kavya caught her arms from behind "Kavya Bhaiya" she looked at him with a questioning frown
Kavya sighed "come on" he mumbled pulling her out
She realized everyone staring at her with shock while some smiled with amusement. She flushed with embarrassment "sorry" she mumbled pulling Kavya outside with her "Oh my god that was embarrassing" she grumbled
Kavya raised his brows "Uhmm tell me about it"
Kripa turned to him looking guilty "Sorry Bhai, I didn't realize everyone was watching. I made a complete fool out of myself"
Kavya smiled giving her a side hug "It's okay, just don't do it again"
She scrunched her nose "if he stays away from me I won't but I can't guarantee otherwise"
Kavya sighed rolling his eyes "in that case I'll pray for you" he smiled then winked taking her hand "come on, let's go back in and don't talk to him if it helps" he advised squeezing her hand
"You know why I called you today?" Shabbir murmured in Aliya's ear while she fiddled with her fingers her eyes looking panicked. Shabbir smiled at her nervousness and held her fiddling fingers "I don't bite"
Aliya gasped then glanced towards him, lowering her gaze again "I need to go" she whispered
"Uh, huh" Shabbir caught her hand before she could escape "You can't escape me today" his hands slid up to her upper arm "I need to tell you how I feel about you" he mumbled then kissed her ear
Aliya shivered with the sweet sensations floating through her "I know how you feel"
Shabbir gave a slight smirk then pulled her towards him as she gasped looking at him wide eyed "I know you know but" his fingers traced the side of her face "I want to tell you how special you are to me. I like you Aliya. You've set a big impression on me. I can't stop thinking about you"
She smiled bashfully "I know. I like you too" she whispered letting her head fall onto his chest while he laughed wrapping his arms around her.
Shabbir was Angad's Best buddy from school days. They studied together through high school then parted ways. He was a young intelligent man who was a lawyer by occupation.
He had met Aliya at a Reunion party. Somehow her simplicity stood out amongst the flashy fashions of other women and he was a fallen man. He had met her several times on the pretext of meeting Angad which soon enough stepped up to silent coffee dates on the corner caf.
He'd known Aliya exactly 1 year, 3 months and 4 days and now and he thought there was no better time to let her know what he felt. He knew she felt it too but recently he had been craving for words and now he had them, he thought tightening his hold around her waist.
"Kripa" Anjali called after greeting her in laws
Kripa walked down the stairs looking sorry "Sorry. Give me a few more minutes; I'll be ready in a minute"
Anjali smiled shaking her head "it's okay, I'm waiting" she watched Kripa rush upstairs while Kripa's mother complained about Kripa working too hard. She gasped at the feel of hands on her stomach.
"It's just me, relax" Kavya mumbled stepping closer
"Kavya" Anjali whispered pushing his hand away "everyone's watching"
He frowned "So, we're engaged" she glared at him and moved at a distance. He narrowed his eyes stepping closer "You know I've noticed you've been spending a lot of time with Kripa lately" he stated with a edge to his voice.
Anjali grimaced at his tone and glanced at him "that's supposed to be a good thing"
He rolled his eyes as he took her hands "Yeah it's good but you seem to have forgotten me" he muttered, his hands caressed hers "You spend too much time with her. It's the sixth day today you're doing something with her"
Anjali suppressed a smile as her eyes lowered "well I like to spend time with her. She's fun to be around. You normally don't have time when I want spend time with you" she complained
Kavya sighed "You know how busy it gets with my job"
"That's not a valid reason for the excuses in the past"
Kavya turned towards her "Look, I'm sorry I haven't had time lately but I promise I'll take out time for you" he smiled seeing her brow raise "I promise" he mumbled. She smiled nodding in agreement "well then it's settled we'll go out today"
Anjali frowned "No, I already have plans with Kripa"
"But I just promised to—"
"I know what you promised Kavya" Anjali said irritated "but I didn't say I was going to cancel my plans"
"Fine, be that way" he answered walking past her towards the stairs.
"Bhai, Can you give me and Anjali a lift to the Mall" Kripa asked while she came down the stairs
"I'm Busy" he muttered walking up the stairs
"Okay" Kripa said with a frown "What happened to him?" She asked walking towards Anjali
Anjali shook her head grimacing "He's just being typical moody brat" she muttered
Kripa raised her brow "No, seriously what happened?"
"He was complaining about me spending too much time with you and not spending time with him. I told him he was never available when I wanted to spend time. He apologized then wanted to go out right now. I said no so he's angry"
"Oh" Kripa smiled pulling Anjali towards the stairs "Go tell him you're going with him"
Anjali growled "no, we have plans"
"Come on Anju, we can go later. Don't get him too angry. You're going to be married in a few days"
She sighed "fine, but he better make it up to both of us"
"Oh sure, I'll make sure he makes it up to us alright" she exclaimed with a mischievous glint in her eyes as Anjali walked up the stairs to get her sulking fianc.
"Can you lay off the flirting" Kripa growled after listening to another cheesy line from Angad
He smirked "Do I get to you?" he leaned back in his chair "You know if you didn't care then you wouldn't react so much"
"Oh please, your just looking for reasons to pin point me" she turned towards him from her cabinet "you really need to get a life"
"I'm trying my best to do just that" he stood up walking towards her "life with such a tempting beautiful creature" he mumbled standing next to her.
Kripa gasped at the close proximity giving him the glares "well Mr too busy looking for a life, I'm not the one" she pushed him and walked towards the little kitchen in the staffroom.
Angad grinned shamelessly following her footsteps "Oh you think that now. After a few days-"
Kripa turned around with a huff "What's your problem? When I told you I don't like you flirting with me then why don't you back off" Kripa exclaimed poking his chest
He chuckled in response taking her hands into his "you know, you contradict yourself" Kripa looked at him confused "I mean you're telling me to lay of the flirting but at the same time your touching me" he glanced towards her hands "I mean the pictures a little blurry sweetheart"
"Ughh" Kripa growled pulling her hands from his grip "pushing you was to get you out of my way and I poked you because you anger me that much"
He grinned "Oh, covering up now, are we?"
"You know what, just forget it" she moved to walk away but he blocked her path. She attempted again and got the same reaction "Move man"
"I am moving" he retorted blocking her path once again
"That's it" her balled fists hit Angad's chest in attempt to move him out of the way while he guffawed keeping his ground "It's not funny"
"I think it is" he looked down "I mean you punching me, touching me. Ironic, isn't it? Owww" he yelled when she hit his cheek
"Not so funny now is it?"
"Is that the hardest you can do?" he challenged rubbing his cheek
Kripa pushed him harder making him stumble. He turned around when he realized he bumped into someone and gave oomph when Kripa punched him hard on his back.
Kripa froze when she heard someone clear there throat noisily. She peaked from behind Angad and straightened at the sight of the Principle, his wife and Geet giving her a mischievous glance.
"Miss Sharma, I hope this is the first and last time I see you act so violently" The principle stated looking firm.
Kripa nodded, her eyes lowered in shame "Yes sir" she mumbled "If you could please excuse me" she said walking straight towards the toilets.
Maya looked at her husband and then at Angad sternly and turned on her heal, following Kripa to the toilets.
"Kripa" she called walking in "Kripa" she found her wiping silent tears quickly as she turned her head away from her "Kripa" she murmured softly taking her face into her hands "What's wrong my dear? Why the tears? Ignore my husband. He's just an old grouch" she said wiping the falling tears.
Kripa let out a sob and hugged her "I'm sorry; I shouldn't have behaved that way. It's just that Angad makes me so angry"
Maya stroked her hair in encouragement "carry on sweetheart"
"It's just that from day one he's been teasing me. I thought it would end after the first day but then it carried on and to make it worse it turns out he's going to be my Cousins brother in law" she pulled away rubbing her cheeks "He's flirting just bothers me too much and I got angry when he blocked my way so I hit him" she said pouting childishly.
Maya smiled in maternal affection. Standing on her tiptoes she placed a kiss on Kripa's forehead "Angad's been this way from day one. Everyone's so use to him acting this way, they could care less. It has been a long time since we've had someone new. Three and a half years to be precise. Geet was the victim before you but he lightened up on her when he realized she was engaged" she explained caressing her hair "I'm not justifying his actions. What he does is wrong but he's never had someone oppose him so strongly about his flirting"
Kripa lowered her eyes then glanced at Maya "So am I supposed to carry on this way?" she mumbled hesitantly.
"No" she shook her head "of course not Kripa. I'll speak to him about his behavior but I just wanted to let you know so there's no misunderstanding" Kripa nodded silently "Now don't think I'm just an old lady bluffing. I promise I will talk to him and tomorrow morning he will apologize to you, alright?"
"Of course I don't think you're bluffing Dadi" Kripa frowned "I just hope you talking to him actually works" she mumbled knowing very well it wouldn't. She had a gut feeling this would go on for a very very long time.
"Oho, what was all that punching and pushing about?" Geet asked, mischief in her eyes
"Did we miss something?" Dev asked looking confused
"Well" Geet said dramatically "I walked into the Staffroom with Mr Kapoor and Dadi and we found Angad and Kripa up and close. They were talking quietly so we didn't hear half the conversation but the next minute you know Angad's blocking Kripa's way and she's punching him"
"Poor thing" Rajesh mumbled "What did you do Angad?"
"Me. I didn't do anything, she punched me" he replied defensively
"Yeah right. We've known you too long to believe that" Dev exclaimed "How did you get all lovely dovey then earn a punch, huh?" he questioned
"It was nothing man. I was just teasing her. She got serious and punched me. Simple" he shrugged "but I've got to say, she is one hot pepper man" he said rubbing his hands gleefully
Geet frowned "Listen Angad, if she doesn't like your flirting then lay off. It's different with her. We handled it because we were all married or engaged and it was just easy. She's had to shift to Mumbai all the way from Masoori. She's already having a hard time settling into this city; let's not make it harder for her"
"She's right Angad" Rajesh agreed "On her first day you troubled her enough. You should be thankful she didn't tell anyone what happened in the office. You would have been in some serious trouble if anyone had found out. Be easy on her; let her get use to the place first"
"Office? First day?" Geet mumbled in bafflement
Angad turned a shade of red with the scolding "It's nothing" he covered up "Just the usual I went to see Mr Kapoor, he wasn't there. I saw her and you know, I had to say something. She is beautiful, you've got to admit that" he murmured
Geet shook her head in disapproval "What's done is done. Just don't disturb her so much to bring her to tears. I saw her after the incident and she did look upset"
Angad rolled his eyes "Alright guys, I'll try to behave" he mumbled like a child who just got scolded by his mother.
Anjali smiled shyly at Kavya's romantic tone. She had gone with him like he had originally wanted. They had spent the day in the park reliving the first moments of first love. It had truly been a magical day. At the moment he had called her after a hard day at work telling her how much he missed her today.
"I can't wait for the days when I'll come home to see your beautiful face instead of just listening to you over the phone, hoping and wishing you were here in my arms" he murmured huskily
Anjali pressed her hand to her cheek, her gaze lowered timidly as if he really was there "Me too" she whispered
He chuckled knowing very well what she would look like at the moment "Just seven more weeks to go and all the wedding preparations will be in high gear" he smiled dreamily "What are you wearing on the wedding?"
Anjali rolled her eyes all smiles "You'll see on the day" she mumbled "I told you before I want it to be a surprise. It takes the magic out of it if you know what I'm going to wear"
"Yeah I know, I thought you'd give up on that by now" he rolled a tennis ball under his hand "You know moms really excited about our marriage. She's been running around like mad for this wedding. It actually makes me worry"
"Oh let her enjoy herself. She's lived half of her life alone Kavya. Living with only men is not easy especially when your other half is no longer with you" Anjali rolled over on her bed laying her head down on the fluffy cushions "She became a widow at a very young age, she didn't have the emotional support that she needed at that time. She's just happy it's all happening for her now. First she found out we're getting married then Roshini Aunty came to Mumbai. It's just a little overwhelming for her" She explained
"Yeah I guess" he turned around at the sound of a knock "I'll call you tomorrow, someone's knocking. I love you" he murmured
"I love you too, Bye"
"Bye" He put his mobile down and turned towards the door "come in"
"Bhai, have you got a belt I can borrow?" Sagar asked walking into his room "The hook on my belt just broke" he complained
Kavya stared at him for a second then smiled "Yeah, I might have one. Let me have a look"
He sighed; he still found it hard to accept that he lived with so many people now. Although it was loud and disruptive at times, it was what brought the feeling of a family. Anjali was right, maybe this is exactly what his mom wanted all along.
"What have I done now? I didn't even tease you today" Angad moaned when Kripa gave him a dirty look
"What?" she asked looking here and there "I didn't say anything?"
"Then why are you giving me dirty looks?" Angad muttered a little frustrated
"Because you deserve it, you embarrassed me in front of the principle"
"Oh please, no more lectures man. Because of you I've heard so many lectures since yesterday" he grimaced with a slight pout
"Yeah well if you had behaved then you wouldn't be lectured"
Angad sighed walking to his cabinet "I didn't misbehave. I was only teasing"
"Yeah well I don't like your teasing" he was about to retort but she interrupted "and don't tell me it was a joke because I warned you beforehand" She glanced up from the paperwork and saw him open her cabinet "What do you think you are doing?" she asked rushing towards him.
He frowned turning around "What am I doing now?"
"Why are you going through my cupboard?"
"This is mine" he moved aside showing her the cupboard filled with music notes and books"
"Oh, oops" she mumbled looking up "my mistake"
"You know, it's not fair" he turned back to his cupboard "just because I tease you doesn't mean I'd go through your cupboard. I'm not that bad"
"Yeah well it was an accident" she muttered turning to walk towards her work "you haven't exactly left a good impression on me"
"Nope, I don't think it's that" he glanced at her ducking down to pick up his guitar "I think you enjoy arguing with me"
"No I don't" she looked mortified "You're just irritating"
"Oh please, heard that too many times, this is how it all starts you know" he smirked sitting next to her
"What starts?" she lifted a pen to her lips in confusion
"Love, attraction, romance" he murmured nearing her ear, then he leaned back chuckling when she threw her pen at him in anger.
Angad smiled to himself as he lay on his bed doodling on a piece of paper. He was supposed to be writing the music he had composed with his students today but his mind was elsewhere.
Kripa had captured his mind. Of course he was a little frustrated with all the lectures he had to hear for teasing her but she was a unique piece for him. He had never been very serious when it came to flirting but seeing Kripa just encouraged him. It was like someone was literally holding his mouth and making him say those words.
Dadi had given him quite a scolding for disturbing Kripa and he had been terribly annoyed because he couldn't stop himself. It was almost out of his control. But Kripa was a beautiful distraction. Her reactions to his flirting were amusing and humorous.
Her cheeks would be fused pink but she would still be arguing with him like her life depended on it. She was just something else. His chains of thoughts were broken when Sahil walked into his room with a pout on his face, a blue book hanging from his hands.
Angad raised his brow as he sat up "What's wrong?"
"Hindi Homework" he muttered "I need to write a poem but it's so hard" he moaned sitting next to Angad
Angad smiled pulling him closer "come on then, open up, let me help you"
"Thanks chachu"
"No problem kiddo. What's the topic?" Angad asked flipping the pages to Sahil's book
"Ms. Choudhury said it has to be about something that flies"
"Okay" Angad leaned back and caught hold of his notepad "now write down a list of things you know that can fly" Angad instructed. Sahil nodded and started writing a list with great concentration.
"Sagar, How many times have I told you not to touch my stuff" Kripa growled walking into his room "Where's my A.R Rahman CD" she questioned
Sagar bit his lip "Oh shit" he muttered "Uhh, Kripa di you probably forgot it back in Masoori"
"I haven't. I was listening to it just last night. Where's it gone?"
"I don't know" he retorted "you probably left it downstairs"
"Sagar, I need it. I was going to take it to work with me tomorrow" she argued "I know you have it"
"Why are you blaming me? I didn't take it. What am I going to do with your boring Dance Stuff?"
Kripa narrowed her eyes "Soham saw you take it this morning"
Sagar turned towards Soham glaring at him "Kripa di" Soham mumbled feeling intimidated
"There's no use of glaring at Soham. I want my CD's. Where are they?"
Sagar pouted then muttered "My friend Misha's borrowing it"
Kripa gasped "What am I supposed to do for tomorrow?"
"I don't know" he shrugged "take another CD or something"
"Sagar" Kripa flopped down on the bed next to him "I'm serious. I promised Dadi I would bring it in tomorrow"
"What's going on?" Kavya asked walking into the room as he sat next to Soham
Sagar shrugged while Kripa continued pouting "Sagar took Di's CD without asking her and gave it to his friend to borrow" Soham mumbled while Sagar glared daggers at him "and di needs it tomorrow"
"That's it" Kavya asked amused. Kripa grimaced looking towards Kavya "Okay, sorry"
"What do I do now?" Kripa muttered falling back on the bed
"You can use my laptop to download the songs onto my IPod" he suggested "Angad's got speakers for an IPod; I'll ask him to bring them in for you"
"No, it's okay. I don't want to trouble you"
"Its no trouble Kripa" Kavya shrugged "Sagar can do the downloading since it was his fault"
Sagar scowled "Oh come on, I think you owe her"
"Yes, you owe me big time" Kripa sat up "don't you know someone else who has iPod speakers?"
"Tut tut Kripa, Real mature. Its okay, Angad will lend them to you"
"Fine" she pouted glowering at Sagar "it's not like I have a choice"
Kavya sighed leaning on his arms "Anyways, I came to tell you that after two days it's Holi. We normally host a Holi gathering or we go to a relative's house. This time we're going to Anjali's because it's her last Holi so all of you need to be ready for eight okay. The prayers are going to start at nine"
"Okay Bhai, we'll be ready" Kripa grumbled dreading seeing Angad the next day.
Alright , heres Chapter 4, hope you enjot it. A lot of playful and flirty Angad and kripa irraitated. Holi coming up in the next part. Happy belated holi to you all😃 Next part to be updated next week. I might take longer has become really really busy at work so having to do a lot of overtime at the moment😔 But I'll try my best to update on time. Thanks for all comments, keep them coming, love to read all of your feedback. Enjoy
love you all
Faiza
xxx