Expectations Vs. Reality

natkhat_angel thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
So, there has been a lot of speculation over the bloopers and issues with the story line.
Truth to be told, I agree with most of the issues wholeheartedly. Especially the bullet not hitting Dev because of the locket. Can anyone say "cliche"? Then there's the fact that Shaurya is not just a stupid and ignorant character, even other characters (read: Suchitra and Dev) fail to see through his blatantly over-melodramatic behavior and are forced to look like idiots, in fact, mere caricatures of real humans.

Being a doctor, don't even get me started on medically impossible feats like the plastic surgery and now the Durga can enter the OT without scrubbing in, and Dev goes from being critical to being alright in a span of hours.

Then there's the overarching theme of Durga being George Orwell's 'Big Brother' fron the book 1984. (Has anyone read it? Read it in high school - not a book you easily forget!) While others are either unknowing or unsuspecting of her motives; except for Sakshi - but all she does is lament over it and say repetitive dialogues!

There isn't a dearth of real issues in our country of corruption and rape belittling (the unfortunate country to have someone like Mulayam Singh Yadav as a minister), and we hear everything from the rape of a 2 month old to the rape of an 81-year old - so, being people with say "a little heart", we are looking for the correct amount of angst, revenge and morality. Which suffice to say, diminishes little by little when Shaurya never feels guilty, everyone can be bought, neither teachers, nor friends, or police has even a bit of humanity or loyalty, and Sakshi Goenka, who has been my favorite character in the show, for being an utter feminist and simply a strong character, is becoming extremely redundant.

However, I am going to give the show some concession because, at the end of the day, it is a television show. And things like love (the pendant) can save lives, and Durga can have enough footage of Rajnath and Raima's sexual escapades to make a few dozen po*n movies, Shaurya can hire a sharp shooter to kill Dev and just stand in the background while she does so (isn't the whole point of hiring a killer to be away from the crime scene so that one has an alibi?!).

So, I guess we simply have to accept that no matter what the theme of a show, Hindi mirch-masala and romance have to be added to it, to make it click with the Indian audience.
That being said, EHT is still probably much higher than other shows in terms of actors, concept, execution and the sophistication and dirt of the rich!

P.S. Merely a rant in stream of consciousness. Excuse such a big and much discussed topic. I have been on call for hours, without much to do. This is result of no sleep and thankfully, no emergencies.

dey.bh thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
I had already warned.. people from legal and medical background please skip the track😆 Thriller ko jaan se mar dala in logon ne...
642126 thumbnail
Welcome to forum.😊
I agree some so called masala is needed in an Indian daily soap but it is getting too much. Too filmy. It might be a shade better than other shows but it can not be tolerated if it swings into their territory with luv story or saas bahu. Where will be uniqueness then?

I have drastically reduced expectations from this show. But hope it does not come to a point when I stop expecting anything at all and even stop watching it.
-SUZI- thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
bang on post!! 👏 loved it.👍🏼
the locket saving Dev's life is so unbelievable..!!! If lockets could save life from only 1 (forget 3)bullet shot from a highly efficient sniper(that too by a professional killer, pardon me, WORLD'S BEST PROFESSIONAL KILLER) then all the police and army men in the world would give up on wearing bullet proof jackets(which infact is not even 100% efficient) and start to wear armours covered with lockets.

Edited by -SUZI- - 11 years ago
-MONA- thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: -SUZI-

bang on post!! 👏loved it.👍🏼

the locket saving Dev's life is so unbelievable..!!! If lockets could save life from only 1 (forget 3)bullet shot from a highly efficient sniper(that too by a professional killer, pardon me, WORLD'S BEST PROFESSIONAL KILLER) then all the police and army men in the world would give up on wearing bullet proof jackets(which infact is not even 100% efficient) and start to wear armours covered with lockets.

Ooyi SUZI, ye locket ki galthi nahi hai, poora ka poora locha sniper ka tha,if she is the best professional killer, why the hell she dint hit him on the head? She shot twice one on shoulder, the second on locket and third on stomach for bonus? . shoulder and Stomach mein goli khake koyi marnnhi jaatha hai.
-SUZI- thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: -MONA-

Ooyi SUZI, ye locket ki galthi nahi hai, poora ka poora locha sniper ka tha,if she is the best professional killer, why the hell she dint hit him on the head? She shot twice one on shoulder, the second on locket and third on stomach for bonus? . shoulder and Stomach mein goli khake koyi marnnhi jaatha hai.

3 (ok, say 2)shots that too from a sniper.. and dev recovers within 12 hours?? either you have to consider that Elina is a sarakchap professional killer who claims to have the best "degree" in being a serial killer or you have to accept Dev recovery a completely unrealistic incident
natkhat_angel thumbnail

Originally posted by: atominis

Welcome to forum.😊

I agree some so called masala is needed in an Indian daily soap but it is getting too much. Too filmy. It might be a shade better than other shows but it can not be tolerated if it swings into their territory with luv story or saas bahu. Where will be uniqueness then?

I have drastically reduced expectations from this show. But hope it does not come to a point when I stop expecting anything at all and even stop watching it.

I seriously do not mind a love story or a saas-bahu drama. What I want is for the story of revenge to be the point of focus, and every other story can simply be in the background!

I actually watch Yeh Hai Mohabbatein too, and that is a mixture of both of the former themes - however the execution has been mature and crisp. So, as long as the major theme doesn't change and Durga remains on her path of revenge and destruction, I'll be happy.

That is why I made the post. I think we've had extremely huge hopes due to the beginning of show, which, needless to say was brilliant. However, now the pace has reduced, which has been sort of a bummer!

That being said, we both know that there shall be a love story! It will be sort of the crux of the show - the triangle of Love-Revenge-Lust. I just hope that they don't show weird couplings and stupidity. Even just the locket saga was OTT and unbelievable.
natkhat_angel thumbnail

Originally posted by: -SUZI-

3 (ok, say 2)shots that too from a sniper.. and dev recovers within 12 hours?? either you have to consider that Elina is a sarakchap professional killer who claims to have the best "degree" in being a serial killer or you have to accept Dev recovery a completely unrealistic incident

The locket saga is simply stupid. However, I understand the need of such a huge incident and then the following significance of it. The show is a drama, they needed something huge to bring Durga out of her "I hate Dev" coma. Now that it's done, I hope they go back to focusing on the several people who lied at the trial!

Elina's character was a waste of an episode - simply put. Neither was the character or the actor impressive. And Dev and his friends have no alibi for the time of murder. (Of course they'll say they were at Karan's farmhouse or Sakshi will buy them), which completely beats the purpose of the shooter. Don't sharp shooters need concentration? Shaurya and his gang of rapists already had no morality, they don't even have intelligence now!