chicksoup thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

It was so good chatting with you, Sumo. It simply felt too good. You are the smart ass girl who wouldn't take any shit from me. The one who would take the bull by the horn and take no bull shit.

We had nothing to hide from each other...We would even confess the things we hid from each other. There was so much passion in the way you seemed to own me...You knew exactly what I needed.

Yes, there had been plenty of times when we had fought...most of the times, the fault had been yours...at times mine..But we always..A L W A Y S got around to settling it. We would never let it grow into a mountain of disputes.

I remembered that Sumo today...because I had been so lonely today. With not a single person to call MY OWN. But you were there in spirit...my imagination, indeed..but you had seemed so real. My Sumo...My dear Sumo. You knew I needed you...or was it I who knew I needed you..Badly...

The whole world has gone to their homes..to their rooms..and sleep evades me..the monster of loneliness mocks at me.

I wish for you. My Sumo...who would sit and chat with me for hours...who had a solution to every problem of mine.

You were exactly who you had been. The strong determined girl who spoke HER MIND. You even knew how to handle the bigger you, who seems to have shut her mind completely to me. She doesn't talk..doesn't share..She simply goes about her business and gets to sleep.

Sleep...when I feel like the monster who has hurt her so much in words..or have I hurt her indeed?

You said I should confess to her...about how I hurt more by hurting her...

But...

I see a block of Ice peacefully sleeping n my bed...heedless of how I felt or how I supposedly made her feel... Seriously! I have nothing against people having their beauty sleep..but..all that I said must mean something to her! How can she act like I don't EVEN EXIST! Nothing that I say makes a difference to her? She doesn't feel the need to reach out to me?...If not for me, for herself...

She doesn't need me???

God, Sumo! WHERE DID YOU GO?

Why didn't you just stay back and chat up some more!

PS: Firstly, I never thought I could write Shravan during this track..so don't know if Niki's absence made them do the epi this way..but all in all, it was wonderful. I missed adult Suman and her feelings on her first night in Shravan's house...but I'll console myself that the writers always alternate between Suman ans Shravan. So, it was his turn today and I hope I did some justice to it.

Didn't like the way Shravan stopped the servant and made him drink..probably because I started watching from the half when Kamini talks to Shravan outside his room..so may be it was the continuity...Even Chhotti Sumo seemed out of place, purely because I had wanted Adult Suman.

But the scene was brilliantly written, and I felt even the servant had been cleverly placed.

They had to build up Shravan's loneliness first..and the guy had to freak out and ditch him leaving him all alone...setting the scene for the person he needed the most at that hour to enter in his imagination. From then on, there seemed to be a flow in the direction of Shravan's thoughts, even though he was quite drunk..I have taken liberties with the precap part...I kind of expect the monologue to fizzle out something like this.

All in all, the brilliant part of this episode was where in Shravan's imagination he could still get along with the Sumo HE KNEW. He can still connect with her so well. So, where did that Sumo go?! Superlative writing there! 👏

Do share your thoughts. 😳

nith125 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Chick 😊
Beautifully written as always ! (Is there a way I can automatically add this comment right after you post ? 😉)

Where did she go indeed ? Shravan is the creator and his Sumo is his creation. Sumo's traits may have existed before Shravan, but he was the one who gave it a name, an identity which she didn't have before. The issue is that when Shravan left, Sumo disappeared. And Shravan searches for her, not knowing that there is no Sumo without him, there never can be, there never will be.
So Shravan has to look within to find Sumo and Sumo has to look within to find Shravan. Long back I remember mentioning this on some post. This relationship may have started as a symbiotic one, but the result of their separation is actually an assimilation. Their personalities have intergated in such a way, that the younger Sumo's traits are visible in adult Shravan and younger Shravan's in adult Sumo's 😊

Brilliance CVs ! How I wish EKDV was a book 😳

Edited by nith125 - 9 years ago
...MonaCo... thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
One of the best scenes in a long time... misplaced (because in all honesty Niki's absence is doing the show and its continuity much harm) but still very beautiful. Namik is a great actor. He carried this scene so beautifully with apt and able support from Palak.
It was well written. I wrote it in my post also but it echoes with Shravan's sentiments, Main rutha aur wo manane bhi nahi aaye... He just wants that one hand from Sumo. He realizes he has been un-himself and hurt Sumo so much and honestly he is willing to put everything Sumo did behind and make his life mast by apologizing for his wrong deeds. He knows if he says sorry life mast ho jaegi. In his rawest, barest Shravan has no ego, even if it means that he has to apologize to the woman who he feels has wronged him so much. And this, is what I love about Shravan <3
TangledThoughts thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
This was beautiful.
Shravan's thoughts were so wonderfully penned that it left me dazed.

She sleeps like a block of ice ... Something pierced my heart. So wanted adult Suman dragging back Shravan by his ears. But with minimum resources, CVs provided the maximum.
sanfan thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
RES...
Super post. ...Chick!!

EDKV delivers a masterpiece...to deliver this content under so much of pressure...Hats off!!
The feeling was surreal...

will comment soon...

UNRES

So...just gathering my thoughts and as usual I am my rambling self.

Your title sums up the emotion of the episode...where did you go? A Sumo who is lost to Shravan...someone he had got back for a brief while...but is completely lost to him now. He has been at his wit's end trying to decipher the reasons for the loss for sometime and had given into his bad side in despair. Young Sumo's appearance was the little window of hope he has somehow kept alive, perhaps even without his own knowledge, she is only one who has the capacity to pull him out of the deep despair he has fallen to. True to how Shravan has always remembered and cherished her, she gives him the soothing balm to his fears in her fiery avatar.

I have been going over this in my mind..Why did Shravan not bring out his litany of complaints against Sumo...why did Shravan not dream of a Sumo who would tell him sorry for where she had hurt him? there can be various interpretations...perhaps all right too..My interpretation has been that he has never wanted her to ever appear defeated...in some ways her sorry is not what he has yearned for rather he has yearned for her acknowledgement..As in the Preeti bhoj...when he stops her from apologising, ..he stops her when she is about to relate how her ego has been in the way. So, my ask aloud question is When he lashed out at Sumo all these times...what exactly was he angry with her for? More than her ego he has been hurt at her withdrawing from him, Her being invested in him emotionally is what he has sought all his life. Today he perks up at young Sumo's interest in his life. This Sumo he completely relates to. This Sumo who can see through all his bravado.

I found one answer to the perception of Ram.and Shravan..through this episode...even if the connection is a bit vague and tenuous and probably not intended to be conveyed by the writers themselves.

Ram's issue with Sumo has been how he perceives her...as Nirmala...a woman with a tremendous ego.

However Shravan's issue with Sumo has not been her ego. He has been worn down by what he perceives as Sumo's disinterest in him, despite them being close.
...He was forced to see her as Nirmala's parchayee by Ram and hence he has started talking Ram's language.

One more thing...I know I am sticking my neck out by saying this...but Ram was genuine in his words today. He is an absolute jerk of a man...no doubt about that...however, today all I could see was a man terribly worried that his son should not face his fate in love. Highly nuanced issue. Agreed, he is no stellar example of a man but in his ignorance and arrogance, he showed a glimpse of a worried father...

Edited by sanfan - 9 years ago
zeal11 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Completely agree ... Ur words r magical 😊
noexcuse thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
God upset when the scene started as I thought it was going to be another father son sad confession moment but was pleasantly surprised to see the teen sumo. I have been hoping to see this grown up shravan and teen Sumo till that teen shravan and adult suman scene. It was like getting a wish fulfilled and more because of the conversation, their acting, because finally I saw shravan actually knows how mean he has been off late with suman.

I just loved last night's episode. Bathroom bickering, nanu mamaji conversation and then the last 3 minutes- loved it. Given the fact Nikki is unavailable epi couldn't get any better.
chicksoup thumbnail

Originally posted by: ...MonaCo...

One of the best scenes in a long time... misplaced (because in all honesty Niki's absence is doing the show and its continuity much harm) but still very beautiful. Namik is a great actor. He carried this scene so beautifully with apt and able support from Palak.

It was well written. I wrote it in my post also but it echoes with Shravan's sentiments, Main rutha aur wo manane bhi nahi aaye... He just wants that one hand from Sumo. He realizes he has been un-himself and hurt Sumo so much and honestly he is willing to put everything Sumo did behind and make his life mast by apologizing for his wrong deeds. He knows if he says sorry life mast ho jaegi. In his rawest, barest Shravan has no ego, even if it means that he has to apologize to the woman who he feels has wronged him so much. And this, is what I love about Shravan <3

Hope I get to the catch epi as a whole again. Because this scene was really touching. This is one moment he let his ego and his mask slip...he would do that for his Sumo- if only he felt she actually cared about him. 😭

Why did you change and become so docile, Sumo? What in the world happened to you, baby? 💔

You think he needs space- but all he feels is the distance!
chicksoup thumbnail

Originally posted by: pearl.white

This was beautiful.
Shravan's thoughts were so wonderfully penned that it left me dazed.

She sleeps like a block of ice ... Something pierced my heart. So wanted adult Suman dragging back Shravan by his ears. But with minimum resources, CVs provided the maximum.

Aww..Drag him back by his ears...This is the Sumo he knows. If his Sumo didn't behave the way he expected, there is something fundamentally wrong. Poor guy! I am so glad he is slowly getting there! ❤️...Though it still might take more time to see past his hurt.
chicksoup thumbnail

Originally posted by: sanfan

RES...

Super post. ...Chick!!

EDKV delivers a masterpiece...to deliver this content under so much of pressure...Hats off!!
The feeling was surreal...

will comment soon...

UNRES

So...just gathering my thoughts and as usual I am my rambling self.

Your title sums up the emotion of the episode...where did you go? A Sumo who is lost to Shravan...someone he had got back for a brief while...but is completely lost to him now. He has been at his wit's end trying to decipher the reasons for the loss for sometime and had given into his bad side in despair. Young Sumo's appearance was the little window of hope he has somehow kept alive, perhaps even without his own knowledge, she is only one who has the capacity to pull him out of the deep despair he has fallen to. True to how Shravan has always remembered and cherished her, she gives him the soothing balm to his fears in her fiery avatar.

I have been going over this in my mind..Why did Shravan not bring out his litany of complaints against Sumo...why did Shravan not dream of a Sumo who would tell him sorry for where she had hurt him? there can be various interpretations...perhaps all right too..My interpretation has been that he has never wanted her to ever appear defeated...in some ways her sorry is not what he has yearned for rather he has yearned for her acknowledgement..As in the Preeti bhoj...when he stops her from apologising, ..he stops her when she is about to relate how her ego has been in the way. So, my ask aloud question is When he lashed out at Sumo all these times...what exactly was he angry with her for? More than her ego he has been hurt at her withdrawing from him, Her being invested in him emotionally is what he has sought all his life. Today he perks up at young Sumo's interest in his life. This Sumo he completely relates to. This Sumo who can see through all his bravado.

I found one answer to the perception of Ram.and Shravan..through this episode...even if the connection is a bit vague and tenuous and probably not intended to be conveyed by the writers themselves.

Ram's issue with Sumo has been how he perceives her...as Nirmala...a woman with a tremendous ego.

However Shravan's issue with Sumo has not been her ego. He has been worn down by what he perceives as Sumo's disinterest in him, despite them being close.
...He was forced to see her as Nirmala's parchayee by Ram and hence he has started talking Ram's language.

One more thing...I know I am sticking my neck out by saying this...but Ram was genuine in his words today. He is an absolute jerk of a man...no doubt about that...however, today all I could see was a man terribly worried that his son should not face his fate in love. Highly nuanced issue. Agreed, he is no stellar example of a man but in his ignorance and arrogance, he showed a glimpse of a worried father...

Beautiful, Rekha. 👏

Shravan's litany of complaints..Hothon pe tere shikvon ka shor hai..it is exactly that- plain empty noise.

You connected it all so beautifully. ❤️

He had forgiven her at the preeti bhoj itself...friendship had been sorted out..what remained was the 'Sumo, friendship mat thodna ' part...he had to confess to the next phase in their relationship.

But Shravan had changed too, in ten years. He had grown more confident. So it never felt like she didn't reciprocate his feelings. Even if Ramnath had not grudgingly allowed him to confess, he would have eventually reached out to her even without his dad's 'blessings'. In fact, he had even told him clearly- I know my Sumo. Let me handle this my way...

What Shravan never realised is, Sumo had changed...Not her love for him, but her perceptions towards life in whole. Something had changed in these ten years..something he had not been privy to. But the knowledge of that is so important to Shravan to understand why she didn't behave like the Sumo he adored ten years ago.

I keep saying this. There is so much he has missed about her...a huge part. The main kya thi part. He hadn't even wanted her to apologise...but she had only been too aware of what she had been. That was a part Sumo had wanted to correct- this is what I LOVE ABOUT SUMAN. She knows she had been wrong..even at the coffee date she had told him, despite him protesting. Deep down, she knew she had unwittingly dealt such a huge blow that may never be rectified..so she could only assure him she cared for him...she had wanted that to SINK IN TO HIM...

But Shravan had thought that had been unnecessary in their relationship. He had started protesting about the apology..but she had read him so well there. Probably that is why she doesn't even react that much..because when the dust he kicks up settles, she does know she had been responsible for the fall out in the first place. This is precisely why I rejoiced when Shravan wronged her with the 'sab kuchh hua'..It had not even been intended to remotely affect her when he said that..the intention had been something else entirely..but fact is, one carefully planned thoughtless blunder is going to COST HER A LOT...Love is not tit for tat, but his action was a great equaliser. At a physical and moral level, what he did may appear so out of proportion to what she had done...but emotionally..it just made them equals. I am so thankful the writers did that! 👏

And as you said, what exactly was he angry at her for?
It was for not being HIS SUMO. As simple as that. There are so many ways in which she failed to tell him she was HIS SUMO... But that was also because her voice had not been loud enough to stun his litany of grievances. This is where I call Shravan slightly selfish. Which I utterly love about him too...because it is in his ignorance. There is really so much he needs to know about her before HE JUDGES HER.

Ram- I have nothing for him, but pity. He ruined his life. But he hopes Shravan at least will be happy..the guy means well for his son.

He had bee explained quite clearly in the Urvashi track when he had been so shocked with Shravan's ideologies on women. He had been so shaken and had rightly wondered if his actions had scarred his son ...Indeed, Shravan has been scarred by Ramnath's actions which led to Nirmala leaving...everyone had a part to play in it..But even these scars...There was one person who could heal them...There still is only one person who can help Shravan...and that is his Sumo. But he needs to FIND THAT SUMO first.

I am so very eager for this love story to kick off!