..Aarti.. thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago

Originally posted by: S_Sara

13??Whoa aarti!
off ur own choice??
am i getting too personal?
plz dont feel obliged to ans its just tht generally in our cultures one tends to live with their parents for several years to come if not indefinetly, infact even here (UK) 13 is considered young, these guys dont kick thier kids out until atleast 16 or 18 so ur comment really startled me is all 😊

actually doesn't have to sound so bad necessarily...moved, cos dad had a trandferrable job. lived with grandparents, but was like living in a hostel, cos they had their own problems and at best they gave me boarding and lodging. but hosteler from age16-25....

ashvez thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
WoW1!!! aarti this is great.From 13, independent...on ur own.
No wonder I find a very stable and sensible gurl talking.Must have been a hell lot of a good experience.
👏 👏 👏
ash.
..Aarti.. thumbnail
@ ash...well, yeah..in hindsight i regret not a single day of my life...however hard it may have been. its made me who i am today!! good or bad...sometimes am too independent for my own good....
S_Sara thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: vaarti

actually doesn't have to sound so bad necessarily...moved, cos dad had a trandferrable job. lived with grandparents, but was like living in a hostel, cos they had their own problems and at best they gave me boarding and lodging. I too have lived with grandparents and extended family albiet not as long as u but it is certainly...different, can be called difficult too but i would not want to make it seem as if they made the living difficult, perhaps my own lack of adjustment but hosteler from age16-25.... and was the experince of being a hosteler monumental?i have heard a lot of ppl say tht they would not be the person they are today had it not been for tht period of independence (be it good or bad at the time)

S_Sara thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
omg aarti i have unknowningly just asked the question u answered 4 ash 😆
..Aarti.. thumbnail

Originally posted by: S_Sara

omg aarti i have unknowningly just asked the question u answered 4 ash 😆

yeah but adding to what i said to ash...staying at grandparents was just like staying in a hostel...no difference whatsoever...the same struggle for shower time, closet space, a pocket full of money, privacy, decent meals and someone to talk to. hostel scores higher cos of the number. i wasn't alone in my predicament!! i would say the hostel experience is something everybody should go through...just to apprecaite the finer things in life!!!!

tania_786 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
omg... this is soooooooooooo true 😆 ... i m soooo glad DMG is not like Ekta kappor's serials...
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: vaarti

Thinking caps on, you don't need very fancy or very large ones…since we are about to discuss what it would have been like had it been a declaration of love in a KEKTA show…

• The heroine would be decked in an embellished chiffon sari with a choker around her neck, a long chain dangling till her waist, kundan earrings that seem like they will tear their way through the unsuspecting lobes, assorted bangles in both hands and a few million rings adorning the fingers.
  • The hero would be dressed in a suit.
  • Both would be clutching identical cell-phones in their hands. The model…of course, the very latest from Nokia.
  • The hero or the heroine would have driven his/her car off a cliff (in Mumbai), after driving through traffic like a maniac doubly possessed by the devil, amidst screaming horns and blaring lights!!!
  • Depending on who ran off the cliff, he/she would be lying in a hospital bed, miraculously with just a scrape on the head. If it is the heroine, then god forbid we ruin her perfectly made up face with a plaster around her head, so it would be the arm.
  • The counterpart would run through the corridors of the hospital with drum beats and a panicky music playing in the background and meet the same doctor who played a gynaecologist, oncologist, cardiac surgeon, general physician blah blah blah in some previous episode and face the bitter truth…'Unki condition stable hai, par abhi voh khatre se bahar nahin hai'.Omg, so utterly true!!🤣🤣
  • The door would be pushed open with a force that could rock the entire set and the love-struck patient inside would glance up to see his/her significant other standing by the door.
  • The camera will flash between his and her face at least 10 times with the same looks of astonishment and concern and finally break time!! (God bless our souls!!)
  • The patient will attempt to sit up on the bed and probably knock off a glass of water on the bedside table.
  • The visitor will walk up to the bed and oblivious to the shards, will walk on with a purpose. Several shots alternate… of the feet on crunching the glass and the tear stained, yet still made up face, with a few shots of the patient's still stunned face thrown in liberally.
  • After 18 minutes of eardrum-splitting god awful music, one dialogue, and all of India's jewellery on display,Oh god, this is hilarious, Aarti!!🤣🤣🤣 all of India's jewellery on display the visitor will finally reach the bed and with no precedence mutter the magic words, which will be returned in equal fervour by the patient.
  • Again, alternate shots of the two speakers, only this time, they will be accompanied by the words too. I love you, I love you, I love you…..the background will be blaring with the sad version of the theme song or the title song. Sad=slow. No change in lyrics.
  • And finally they will embrace and this historic moment will be captured and preserved in our aching heads with a pan-shot taken with the camera revolving around the couple to the beats of a war-dance!
  • Some one outside dressed just as flamboyantly as the heroine in addition to a bindi that covers all her forehead in the most innovative and garish shape possible, will have witnessed this epiphanous moment and will wring her hands in displeasure and you will be witness to the plots forming in her mind within seconds, through the elasticity of her facial muscles contorting at the rate of 5 movements per minute.🤣🤣🤣 Omg, you are so bang on with this one, yaar!! The famous K-vamp!😆😆
  • Of course this would be the 4th time the lead pair would have come together and separated, marrying others, dying, changing their appearance in the times between.

Welcome to the world of realistic television!

🤣Aarti, do pardon me as I take a couple of moments to compose myself here.

Brilliantly written!!👏👏👏 You've captured the entire K-universe perfectly!! To use Mehakoo's phrase here, the entire thing was just Mind blowing Mahiya types!! And the parts that I highlighted especially had me ROFL big time!!

Especially cuz I admit to sadly having been a K-watcher myself for a while...but for a non-K-shows watcher, that was amazingly insightful, yaar!! I used to watch some of her shows...followed them for about 2-3 months, then moved on to another one...it's my personal Kekta 2-month rule😆😆😆

Which is why I'm thankful for the millionth time that we have a show like DMG on air now...Kekta se chhutkara!! Woohoo!

btw, I love how they keep taking digs at her in the show as well..."Kyunki saab bhi kabhi bahu thi"....and Atul replying, "Woh kya hai"😆😆...the Jhaapad queen...perfectly characterized....complete with her obsession with weird bindis😆😆...and recently....Dadi comparing herself to the Undyingly eternal "Baa" of Kyunki😆😆😆
dhvanisoni thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
OMGGGGGGGG...I missed this post....
its sooo funny...and I loved the last line "Wlecome to the world of reality" AWESOMEEEEEEEEEEEEE......line u got there...it says everything....surely dmg is the realistic world on TV nowadays...great post 😆 funny

EDIT:well u talkt abt KETKA..remeber the scene when nani says something abr "baa" lady in ksbkt...tht was hilarious too...
Edited by dhvanisoni - 17 years ago
..Aarti.. thumbnail
@ anu...glad u liked it...i don't know if people actually believe me when i say i don't watch hindi serials. am not trying to be fancy, just that honestly never felt like i could endure anything but laughs. i don't even watch american dramas. am the sitcom person...so gimme friends, scrubs, monk, raymond, 70s show any day...an occasional grey's anatomy if am in the mood.

i just really have heard lots and stolen several glances at the tv set (and when i was newly married, even endured a couple of episodes of KZK to impress the MIL) to know what they are about!!!

yeah, kekta is the standing joke of all...but she never learns does she? its not just her shows...i hate her attitude in general. big huge boulder on her shoulder!!!