@K- Seed round doesn't work for nations when your economy suffers and you have humanly loss of more than 100 people. Again deaths. So do explain to me how bold ideas work here especially when most rational economists , RBI's initial report warns of impending failures.
We have in a past flirted with the same policy with no success then ,so what made us think it will work better this time. Is it really bold then?
Well, the point we were originally making was that a lot of irregular transactions such as backdated accounting or deposits without a PAN, have left a money trail thanks to demonetization and that data could be used to further the original goal of going after black-marketeers; Whereas you first said, and I quoted you above, why ddo all this when we have Aadhar. And when we questioned what has Aadhar got to do with any of this (as in, without the incriminating data, what good is Aadhar), you seem to be saying that you are not against Aadhar (?!)
As you can tell, I am a little flabbergasted.
@Bold- I will appreciate if you can quote numbers, data, RBI , or anyone that such accounts or people have been apprehended
. The "money trail" you both mentioned is what RBI and the Govt has accepted is difficult to follow through. If you think it isn't, then please do share reports , because Income Tax of India in 2017 shared , " For instance, in income-tax probes from April 1 to Oct, 2016 financial year, black-money holders accepted having stashed Rs 7,700 crore worth of ill-gotten assets. The cash component was merely Rs 408 crore or 5%. The remaining was invested in business, stocks, real estate and benami bank accounts, the data show. Financial year 2015-16 saw the highest black-money detection in the period, of which 6% was cash. Since demonetization the money detection has dwindled to 4%. ".
Unless Birdie or you have a different take with some data that I seem to be missing , it would help greatly. Because Govt is saying that it is hard to nail this trail because of many factors , one being, Owners of black money have reportedly been able to get various FDs in such institutions in names of various villagers in back dates, and received new currency notes in due course, after paying a cut to those in whose name they deposited the money. Non-banking financial institutions who accept such deposits also reportedly acted similarly in helping convert black money into white. Financial Times carried an extensive report on how the trail was covered up https://www.ft.com/content/7dbe0e14-8d8a-11e7-a352-e46f43c5825d
I humbly request you to enlighten me about this "money trail", because I am very clueless what you both are saying or projecting when Govt. through IT and RBI are saying another thing.
So to be clear about my point of aadhar, it is compulsory for Indians to link their accounts with PAN and aadhar. Giving Govt. access to all necessary information. When you open an account or for an existing account- PAN number and Aadhar have been essential before this policy giving Govt. access to monitor accounts since eons.
Money trail if was detected by RBI, they would have been able to prevent the re-circulation of black money in Indian banks , 99% of black money is pumped back in. I mean, won't you stop that if you know about the money trail.
You mentioned going after black-marketeers , I am sure we will know the status in 2-3 years then? Or how long do you think is a good time to expect a crackdown ? I really do sincerely wish what both of you so optimistically hope comes true. Jaitley mentioned some 200 accounts under scanner , funnily he earlier mentioned 500 such accounts , the number keeps on changing and his statements too. The crux of my argument rests in the fact that Indians are good in jugaad. 😆
I defended this policy when it came through, evidence rests on this thread but the way Govt. went through with it and seemed incompetent and unprepared showed why it was a bad policy. Your banking system, IT are in co-hoots with real black-market mafia , till you sort that out, jugaad will always triumph.
Edited by charminggenie - 8 years ago