Is it just me or are the current Bollywood actresses rather bland?

1159628 thumbnail

No offense to them but the new generation seems kind of bland (Alia, Sara, Janvhi, Kiara etc.). When I compare them with Madhuri, Rani, Kajol, Juhi, Aishwarya, Piryanka, Vidya etc. they just lack character and look rather similiar too. Completely forgettable

Edited by Journey95 - 3 years ago

Rekha_ji thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

The same thing was said in 1992 about Kajol, Karisma, Raveena, Pooja, Manisha, Urmila when compared with Sridevi, Rekha, Hema etc

In 2037, we will be discussing "Why is Aaradhaya and Adira and Vamika sooo boring compared to Thespian Queens Suhana and Shanaya".

1159628 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rekha_ji

The same thing was said in 1992 about Kajol, Karisma, Raveena, Pooja, Manisha, Urmila when compared with Sridevi, Rekha, Hema etc

In 2037, we will be discussing "Why is Aaradhaya and Adira and Vamika sooo boring compared to Thespian Queens Suhana and Shanaya".

Well I'm not that old so I didn't know that..but the current Bollywood actresses definitely look too similiar

(https://i.redd.it/bnndrer9tn541.jpg) There is a lack of diversity

Edited by Journey95 - 3 years ago
Talis thumbnail
Dazzler Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rekha_ji

Not without an attendant /s 😆

642126 thumbnail

Kiara Advani is beautiful and has good screen presence. Sara has potential to do well if she works harder to improve herself.

In every era people feel yesteryear actors were better and present lot is bland. People said same about Kajol, Karishma, Raveena, Juhi etc when they arrived on scene and said they were nothing in comparison to Sridevi, Madhuri and the Sri, Madhuri types were told they were not as good as Hema, Rekha, Zeenat, Parveen who were also told they were not as good as Waheeda Rehman, Madhubala, Nargis, Vyjanthimala etc.

Rani, Preity, Ash, Kareena were also spoken of as 'not as good' as Madhuri or Kajol era actors.

Deepika and Katrina were told they were not as good as Rani, Preity, Ash, Kareena.

Now people think Alia, Jhanvi, Sara, Kiara, Disha etc are bland.

It's cyclical and natural not to find new lot good enough even before new lot proves itself.

Give them time. Slowly they will find own fanbase and grow on public minds as well.

Shaitan-Haiwan thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail 13th Anniversary Thumbnail + 8

I don’t remember anyone ever saying that Rani, Preity, Ash, Kareena were not good. Although Ash/Kareena got a lot of hate for some of their movies, the audiences still loved them. Every actor will be criticized. I don’t think any of the above names were ever questioned as to why they’re actresses .

Even the generation after them, Priyanka, Deepika, Katrina - they are we’re also highly regarded.

The current generation is definitely bland. 80% of them can’t act and then you have someone like Alia who is just annoying.

Anjalika01 thumbnail
5th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

It's not just you at all, standards have fallen massively, mostly due to nepotism imo.

Luv_ShomaAnand thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail 6th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4

Yes bland.

Look at actresses like Anita Raj, Sangeeta Bijlani, Sonu Walia, Bhagya Sri, Poonam Dhillon, Ranjeet Kaur , Anu Aggarwal or you take any actress from 90's or before who doesn't have that much good/ successful career but still they had so much grace in them unlike today's successful actresses like Alia, Jhanvi, Ananya, Sara etc.

PangaNaLe thumbnail
Own Your Stories Participant Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail + 3

It could be nostalgia.... and it could be that they all have work done to their faces so they all end up looking the same....and it could also be that they have not done enough work in movies which makes it difficult to differentiate between them....or maybe most of them are really talentless.

One thing is definitely true that even among the actresses, the new lot has not been able to replace the old ones from the top spot.

Just like the Khans, Akshay and Ajay are still Superstars....Deepika, Kareena and Katrina are still top actresses. The only actress from Alia's generation to survive is Shraddha. Rest all failed and the generation of Janhvi, Sara and Ananya are also finding it tough to compete.

Maroonporsche thumbnail

I’m 2013 this place was saying same things about a few girls who stars now lol