IPSO_FACTO thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: _Hannah_

After reading the real law discussion here I must say indian law regarding child marriages are too weak No wonder the child marriage ratio is increasing than decreasing in the country The law needs to be more strong and whether its adult male or female the law should be same until the woman is not forced into it or sold by her parents

Well, it has actually gotten better fom the last few laughable Acts we had 😆 But, still many loopholes persists.
pomegranate thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: HawasKaPujari

Indian TV is regressive, no defending that, period. However since you asked why there is no outrage-

1) Women, or rather girls, have been playing older characters since time immemorial. IIRC actresses like Sridevi, Rambha etc played adults at 14 or so. Unfortunately, this practise has become normalised.

2) PPK had a pre-teen child, playing a child character marrying an adult. Heard this happened in Gulaal too but people here defend that it was a good show idk 😕 Anyway the show was really blatant with the child-marrying-adult aspect and their suhagraat promos made many uncomfortable as it looked like it's crossing the line to paedophilia which probably didn't happen with the other shows.

I have never watched gulal but my mother said this is what happened.

Gulal was married to basant, however he was killed by his cousin brother. The the same cousin brother used to lust after gulal and after her husband was murdered she had to marry his brother as per the custom. but how can she marry her husband's killer? she knew he murdered basant but had no proof, so she had to no choice but to marry her devar who was 14 I think in order to stay in the house. Even though the story was set in a old remote village, the villagers were disgusted that gulal married a child. some level of discomfort was shown and even his parents were angry. however, gulal promised his parents that she will take care of him and get him married to another girl when he is older. later, Gulal sent him to boarding school to keep him away from her and give him some semblance of a normal life.

Gulal was actually his bhabi before so even after marriage, they had a devar-bhabi relationship., there was no talk of honeymoon, suhaag rat, sindoor scene or trip fall catch sequences or muh dikhayi. the boy actually behaved like a child and not like a 20 year old, with mature dialogues. The difference between gulal and PPK is execution.according to my mother, the subject was handled tastefully with as much sensitivity as possible, Whereas, everything about PPK was a tasteless TRP gimmick, the honeymoon or suhag raat talks were only used for shock value even though nothing sexual happened. The villains actually instigated those things but it is obvious that the makers used them as a plot device show muh dikhayi or the decorated suhaag raat room. the last episode I watched, ratan skipped school to help deeya buy groceries😆 the child marriage aspect was not even needed because the show was usual kitchen politics.

IMO, any taboo or controversial subject can be brought to the screen but makers have to be responsible. execution is the key, and shashi sumeet productions failed.

Edited by pomegranate - 8 years ago
pallavi25 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Main difference is pedophile nature of Pehredaar Piya ki story...the 18 yr old adult female is married to a 9 yr old boy...now just imagine if an 18 yr old guy was married to a 9 yr old girl, it would be the same disturbing, disgusting scenario.
TV cannot and shd not show an adult married to 9 or 10 yr old, whatever gender the child is.

If other shows had shown that in the past and people did not protest that was WRONG too.

With child abuse, predatorial crimes, pedophilia on the rise, people have become more aware of these issues hence raising their voice against showing such stuff on TV.
IPK3 is standard Gul Khan crap with abusive hero torturing the heroine, and its supposed to be romantic in Gul's universe. nothing new really...🥱
Read somewhere that IPK 3 is also going to shut down soon as its not getting good TRPs
1119479 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Justmoi

WTH ??? How is it ok that he puts a special lubricant in her hands to not burn her but burn her ? The threat of burning her is enough. That takes him to scary sociopath territory, not anti hero or villain.

And who told u I don't know that!?
1119479 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Pehchaan.Kaun

IPK3 is Gul Khan show is it ? That explains.😵I say bring down all these MCP shows along with Icchadhaari Naagin etc type craps or even Sasural Simar Ka where leads become flies etc.👎🏼

Indian Television is messed up for the longest time now, and taking PPK off air might be the only positive thing here in a long long time. In my opinion, there's no difference between the glorified crap GK shoves (in particular) down us and PPK which tried to shamelessly glorify a pre-teen kid talking about honeymoons, suhaag raat and leaving studies to help household. Nothing to watch in Tele IMO. Last good show was Bade Acche Lagte Hai for me.

how can u criticise gul's couples whilst loving prerna with the crazy psycho Bajaj!? Hypocrisy!
Edited by Niks77 - 8 years ago
1119479 thumbnail

Originally posted by: TeAmo_Messi

Ekta has given break some TV icons like Ronit, Ram, Rajeev, Karan, Harshad, KVB, Sushant, Iqbal. All of them known for their acting prowess and equal fan base with a scintillating graph too

Gul has mentored actors like Sobti, Gurmeet, KSG , where sobti and KSG quit her show for doing some c grade BW films and Gurmeet nevertheless ended up playing a bhoot in a bhatt erotica😆.. I am not saying its the actors fault, but nobody considers you an actor if Gul khan makes you famous😆

These so called to actors u r mocking are a million times more popular than the flop harshad! And since when did Gul make KSG famous!? Do ur research butt hurt flop harshad ki fan!
Edited by Niks77 - 8 years ago
1119479 thumbnail

Originally posted by: .rasgulla.

As for Gul heroes, unko karna kia hota hai, take their shirt off, manhandle the heroine and then have a gazzilion eyelock sessions.. Us mein acting ki zarurat nahi hoti.. I mean it is believed that KSG is the best out of Gul heroes.. That alone says a lot

KSG is a million times better actor than winget! And the fact u don't see that says a lot about u!
1119479 thumbnail

Originally posted by: TeAmo_Messi

The standard is too damn high then if KSG is the reference😆🤣

Wasn't harshad a Gul hero!? Says a lot about his acting skills if KSG is considered the best Gul hero
piya2025 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 7
No matter what you say,The likes of Maan/ASR/SSO will still remain legend.😕
Manhandling/Putting one on fire etc are only considered violence in reality..In dramas it's pure pure purest love coz that's chemistry.. hero has a sad bg,heroine is either a softy or a bublypie 🤔

I don't deny that at some point even I have watched and liked these shows ..but they just forget when n where to draw the line. You can't sale anything in the name of love but unfortunately we audience buy it so people like Gul/EK just use it to the max n shows whatever the hell they want..hardly we think while watching n even if we do,we bash for a while n move on but the shows goes on.

As for PPK, never watched the show so no comments..but if they are pulling it down for it's regressive content , so many other shows deserves the same treatment or to be fair with the artists at least, makers need to tone down their wild thoughts a little..
Edited by SahiPakdeHai. - 8 years ago
664269 thumbnail

Originally posted by: ScreamForMe

Kya pta active hojaye during AA. In today's time Social media means alot for these actors. Even Barun needs to be active on SM specially when he has Big Fanfollowing

He was never socially active during any of his shows so don't know about this one. But yes i hope he becomes active because as you said these days its necessary to stay socially connected