LilBitOfAlexis thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
I just came out of the theatres and the word I can think of to describe the experience of watching the movie is EPIC .
In my opinion the first part seems nothing when compared to the second part .
I personally didn't like the first half of the Part I . I main problem being the shivudu-Avantika 's story . It was anything but romance ,their story was a cringe fest for me , also shivudu aka Mahendra was too creepy to watch .😵
On the contrary in the second part i simply LOVED the bahubali and Devasena's story .They shared such a striking chemistry which actually convinced audience them as the divine couple . Especially the scene where he teaches devasena the archery whilst fight and when devasena bridges the gap between boat and her by walking on him .That smile !!! ENCHANTING
Their story is better than the most of love stories bollywood churns out these days .

Devasena : God I love her character I mean I never expected such strong written female character in the movie but it is easily one of the finest female characters ever . Devasena is the true definition of a feminist .The way bahubali stood up for her lady and other women in general by cutting that guard's head in one swift moment was one applaud worthy moment .Bahubali not even for once forced himself on devasena and respected her wishes and choice ,which is such a fresh breath of air to see in the era of the dozens of MCP trynnna be romeo's in movies/TV these days . Not even the typical Indian mother sentimental complication stopped him from doing what was right .
Bollywood people take notes ,that's how you portray women empowerment.

The climax was little disappointing in terms of cinematography as things went overboard in some of the action scenes but thats forgivable given how final product is .
Must watch . 4/5
P.S The end scene where Bhalla asks devasena to join him so they can die together gave me creeps 😳 (In a good a way )
Also tree seemed liked the most favourite weapon for Bahubali 🤣
Edited by MrsChandlerBing - 8 years ago
Padfoot_Prongs thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Watched it. 4/5. Will write in detail later.
I am surprised though. Not a single person has written abt Kattapa-Amrendra scenes. They were among the best scenes of the movie. All comedy and fight. They were so brilliant. Like Devsena entry scene and Amrendra was daydreaming while.fighting 😆. That scene and all those at Kuntal. They desrve a mention atleast. I loved their relationship. 60 saal ke buddhe ko prem karna kon shikhaye and that bird wala. Those were hilarious and I did have tears when Kattapa killed Bahubali. It was a torture.
TheekThaak thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: rogerrocks

At the risk of revealing spoilers (those who are yet to watch please ignore this post 😆), I have to list out some of the most fascinating aspects of the film. Why Kattapa killed Baahubali is nothing really in comparison except it just ended up being the selling point of the film-

1. Sivagami was an extremely fascinating character. She was blinded by pride and ego. I think SSR had too much to show and too little time to focus on her psyche but from what lil was shown, her meltdown and that one decision she took in a hurry which eventually destroyed everyone, was quite well done. Despite taking the right decisions, she always felt like she was being unfair to her son and as a consequence, always tried to over-compensate in other ways. That scene where she showers him with gifts was quite telling. And Bhalla did a great job in guilt tripping her and showing off his 'magnanimity'. That coupled with her hate for Devasena and the fact that her foster son was going against her for a girl he hardly knew blinded her rationality. She couldn't see that he was supporting Devasena cos she was right and not because he was blinded by love. The tragedy of it all is that Baahbali only remembered his mother when he died. Not his wife or his child who were also in desperate need of protection. It was too late and he never got to become the king despite being worthy of it.

2. Devasena was one hell of a character. She was a feminist through and through and I loved how she always asserted her opinion. Love din change her and she din act coy and dainty all of a sudden just because she fell in love. Baahubali fell for her for what she was-fiery and confident. He respected the fact that she had an opinion of her own and he never manhandled her or lost his temper even when she spoke against his own family cos he knew she was right.

3. Baahubali respected Devasena's right to choose. This mad me so happy cos most movies and shows have this twisted way of glorifying sacrifice and mahaanta. Where you sacrifice your girlfriend/boyfriend just because your parents want you to/because your sibling is in love with them. Not for a moment did he flinch or think of giving her up for his mom/brother simply because it was not his choice to make. Ekta, Gul and various otherw omen who make shitty shows on TV glorifying sacrifice and making a kachra out of the concept of choice need to watch this 😆 Oh and that scene where Baahubali cuts the guy's head for misbehaving with women was whistle-worthy.

4. Bhalla's dynamic with Devasena was fascinating. He seemed to be weirdly obsessed with her. That scene where he caresses her chains or the one where he asks her to die in the pyre with him showed his unhealthy obsession. SSR doesn't explore it enough which is quite sad cos Rana and Anushka had fantastic chemistry and Bhalla was the most psychologically intriguing character in the film..

5. That scene where Baahubali teaches her archery was poetic. Not patronizing or with an intent to show he knows better than her. It was beautiful and that bit where she walks on him- all kinds of romantic and his smile was to die for 😆

Phew. Thats it for now. I cant believe I have written an essay on a film 😆 The film drags and the climax is definitely underwhelming but I really cant deny the moments of brilliance.

All my favourite scenes! Absolutely loved Devasana as a charecter. All her scenes of confronting Sivagami over the wrongs was so thrilling to watch. But it was sad how a strong character like Sivagami fell prey to her son's tactics..I think she was too guilty for not giving his son the throne and it was easier to manipulate her for the same reason.

For me why Kattappa killed Bahubali was a huge chunk of the movie , it was a series of events which lead to it eventually. I loved loved all the Baahu-Kattappa scenes. Both the comic ones and the tragic ones. For once, I was so glad that they established a fun camradrie between them and not just the soldier king relationship. It made Baahubali's death much more sadder and painful to watch.

Devasana walking on his shoulders was such an amazing scene. 😳 And the bow and arrow scene. So gorgeous. One of the most unconventionally romantic scenes I have seen off late. It had been directed beautifully.

And boy! Rana is hot or what!! 😲 I somehow still wish his character had got more shades than they were. And he looked very creepy during some scenes with Anushka. He asks her to die with him 😆 and the only thing that gave him happiness was her being his prisoner for all these years.

I so enjoyed the wild pig hunting scene. 🤣

But one thing I felt sad about was how Sivagami doesn't even acknowledge Devasena's kid with love, in all her ego and blind anger. She doesn't even look at Amarendra when he becomes the commander. So freaking sad. Given how they shared an amazing bond in the first part and even the first few minutes of the movie. 😭

And I loved how Baahubali stood for Devasena the entire time and never did the movie make a big deal out of him sacrificing the throne for her. Glad about that. And also loved how she calls the politics a tamasha and asks Baahu to fight for the throne. 👍🏼 😆

I loved the movie. Despite some flawed action scenes here and there which tbh, didn't really bother me much. It was an amazing experience to witness such larger then life-ness on screen. Trademark south Indian movies which I miss watching! 😆
Edited by TheekThaak - 8 years ago
1109060 thumbnail
I watched it late nyt n theatre was full. One word I must say it is epic. Prabhas has more appeal than bw actors... He can be pan india superstar. Iron is hot he needs to strike it n his sahoo movie looks another blockbuster in making...

Cmng to the movie I loved everything abt it. Dev sena heads down. She was truly a Rajput princess a strong personality n a feminist of her own time... Rajmata should've giver bahubali a chance but fate had different plans...

N now I m prabhas fan... Before this movie I never knew I can be fan of south Indian actor more than new gen of bw stars but with prabhas we get the feeling of mass hero. People were literally cheering for him here
abinash079 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Watched the movie Friday only and just one word comes is epic they way SSR portrayed both sivagami and devesena was terrefic bahu and kattapa scenes were awesome and when kattapa killed bahu with that heart touching BGM brought tears in eyes 😭 😭
MrChatVsNorway thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Bigbang_GD

this is my fav post ...because you expressed everything i feel
tats y i loved devasena ...she dint change just because she married him or stopped talking to please her mother in law... she always spoke her mind and marriage definitely dint change

and i loved amerendra baahubali character ...men needs to learn from him
its ok to be mamma's boy, its ok to love your mom to earth and back but when she is wrong you gotta speak up ...tat's the part i loved the most everyone knew how much he loves his mother but still stood up to her when needed

ps: i love that seen where devasena walks on him ...that attitude and their smiles are to die for
for me that scene was more romantic than all the romantic movies which show too much physical intimacy to generate that love feeling lol

@bold totally agree and this scene for me was the most romantic scene in a movie atleast in the last 15 years
rogerrocks thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: TheekThaak

All my favourite scenes! Absolutely loved Devasana as a charecter. All her scenes of confronting Sivagami over the wrongs was so thrilling to watch. But it was sad how a strong character like Sivagami fell prey to her son's tactics..I think she was too guilty for not giving his son the throne and it was easier to manipulate her for the same reason.

For me why Kattappa killed Bahubali was a huge chunk of the movie , it was a series of events which lead to it eventually. I loved loved all the Baahu-Kattappa scenes. Both the comic ones and the tragic ones. For once, I was so glad that they established a fun camradrie between them and not just the soldier king relationship. It made Baahubali's death much more sadder and painful to watch.

Devasana walking on his shoulders was such an amazing scene. 😳 And the bow and arrow scene. So gorgeous. One of the most unconventionally romantic scenes I have seen off late. It had been directed beautifully.

And boy! Rana is hot or what!! 😲 I somehow still wish his character had got more shades than they were. And he looked very creepy during some scenes with Anushka. He asks her to die with him 😆 and the only thing that gave him happiness was her being his prisoner for all these years.

I so enjoyed the wild pig hunting scene. 🤣

But one thing I felt sad about was how Sivagami doesn't even acknowledge Devasena's kid with love, in all her ego and blind anger. She doesn't even look at Amarendra when he becomes the commander. So freaking sad. Given how they shared an amazing bond in the first part and even the first few minutes of the movie. 😭

And I loved how Baahubali stood for Devasena the entire time and never did the movie make a big deal out of him sacrificing the throne for her. Glad about that. And also loved how she calls the politics a tamasha and asks Baahu to fight for the throne. 👍🏼 😆

I loved the movie. Despite some flawed action scenes here and there which tbh, didn't really bother me much. It was an amazing experience to witness such larger then life-ness on screen. Trademark south Indian movies which I miss watching! 😆

Maya 🤗 I knew you'l like it. One film which we can appreciate after ages 😆 I love Anushka man. She is awesome. She has been through a lot off late thanks to all the weight gain but its amazing to see her get such fab reviews. Its long overdue. I cant think of one contemporary heroine in Indian cinema who can play historical characters better than her. And she looked stunning in the film. I could watch an entire film on Baahu-Devasena and I kinda gave up on the film the moment he died 😆 I really din care for how Shiva avenged his father's death 😆

Ditto to everything you said. For me personally, the fact that they din glorify sacrifice in the name of loyalty or mother's love coupled with the fact that they din make a big deal out of his giving up on the throne were the best parts of the film. And Devasena not feeling guilty for everything that happened and being overtly nice to his family was the icing on the cake 😆 Its been so long since I saw a love story with so much respect and dignity. Makes me happy and their crackling chemistry just made it even better to watch on screen..

Yeah Rana is HOT. Like I said, he din indulge in OTT dialoguebaazi and he was this quite, intense villain which added to his hotness 😆 I really wish there was more of him and Devasena.

P.S. Sathyaraj was fantastic as Kattapa. Those bits where Devasena asks him to lift their baby first and ones where he confronts Sivagami- some amazing piece of acting ⭐️
AllBlacks1 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
UN FREAKING BELIEVABLE !!!!!
iT'S LIKE BJP VS ALL THE CHUTIYA PARTIES OUT THERE.

YourDream thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2
taran adarshVerified account @taran_adarsh
More

The *Hindi version* of #Baahubali2 is all set to cross *opening weekend* biz of #Dangal [A$ 735,755] in Australia... SENSATIONAL...

More

#Baahubali2 - AUSTRALIA - Hindi version: Fri A$ 211,996, Sat A$ 325,678. Total: A$ 537,674 [ 2.59 cr]. TERRIFIC! @Rentrak

More

In New Zealand, #Baahubali2 *Hindi version* has overtaken *opening weekend* biz of #Dangal [NZ$ 188,732] on Sat itself... AMAZING...

More

#Baahubali2 - NEW ZEALAND - Hindi version: Fri NZ$ 84,782, Sat NZ$ 115,398. Total: NZ$ 200,180 [ 88.29 lakhs]. WOW! @Rentrak

AllBlacks1 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
For an Indian movie creating such a buzz in NZ.. wow. They still think it's BW.. hahaha.