pooja-menon thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 7
Student Of The Year Strong At Multiplexes

Friiday 19th October 2012 16.00 IST

Boxofficeindia.Com Trade Network

Student Of the Year is doing well at multiplexes on day one. The collections are especially strong in the Delhi NCR belt at multiplexes. The single screens in Delhi also managed a decent 40% start. The film has opened on around 1400 screens across the country.

If compared with other recent releases the morning and afternoon numbers suggest that it is way ahead of Heroine and similar to Barfi! but the release of Student Of The Year is 200 odd screens wider than Barfi! The first day collections at multiplexes in big cities are going to come in very similar to Barfi!

The first day all India collections should come in higher than Barfi! which was around 8.25 crore nett with the wider release adding to collections though a lot will depend on how evening shows perform. The contributions from Mumbai, Delhi and Bangalore will be good while CP Berar, Nizam, (due to major Telugu release) and Bihar will be lagging.

heerhoney thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
noseasync thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Yahoo! Movies Review: Student of the Year

By Rummana Ahmed | Movie Reviews – 3 hours ago

Cast: Varun Dhawan, Siddharth Malhotra, Alia Bhatt,
Rishi Kapoor Director: Karan Johar Rating: ***1/2 Karan Johar does what he is best at; create a glossy
fairytalish world revolving around love, friendship and
mush. Infact, KJo manages to steer clear of heightened
melodrama and actually packs in a little message,
floundering on the logic once in a while but never on
the slick production qualities. The film is quite obviously inspired by Mansoor Khan's
classic 'Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar', where the inter-school
competition has been replaced by an intra-school
Triwizard Tournament - like (Harry Potter and the
Goblet of Fire) contest that will decide on the 'Student
of the Year'. Fortunately for us the plot is focused on the spirit of competition with a romantic interlude and
keeps manipulation and vindication to the bare
minimum. KJo insists on taking a short digression to
show a Bollywood-style Big Fat Indian Wedding but
we can make allowances for a little indulgence. What
will all the NRIs do at their forthcoming weddings without the latest fashion tips from a KJo film? Karan
takes quite a few cinematic liberties like the treasure
hunt and the dance competition which are done just
for the effect and have little semblance to a real
competition. This is the first time that Karan has stepped out of his
comfort zone and worked with debut actors. Varun
Dhawan and Siddharth Malhotra not only have
gorgeous bodies but also have enough acting talent to
make their presence felt. Going by the audience
reaction, Siddharth has definitely garnered a huge female fan following in his very first film. As far as the
looks are concerned, KJo had definitely prepped his
cast well. Alia Bhatt might have shed the extra fat but
her acting still needs a lot of work. The supporting cast with Rishi Kapoor playing the gay
dean, Ronit Roy as the coach, Ram Kapoor as the over-
ambitious father and Kayoze Irani (Boman Irani) as the
fat friend, do complete justice to their roles. Vishal-
Shekhar's music is peppy but some of the songs could
have done with better lyrics, especially, 'Ishaqwala Love'. In 'SOTY', Karan incorporates all his KJoisms but
manages to make this one an effortless watch. The
film is sure to be a big hit among the young cinegoers.

http://in.movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-reviews/yahoo-review-student-105612225.html
briahna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
quick updt ...
some critics takes:

STUDENT OF THE YEAR narrates the wonderfully intricate and complex trajectory of three high school kids, their transition from adolescence/teenage to maturity/adulthood and the emotions they experience in this journey called life. Although love stories is a beaten to death genre, STUDENT OF THE YEAR doesn't fall into the 'typical romantic fare' category either. Karan and screenplay writer Rensil D'silva pay minute attention to detailing and character development and what comes across on screen seems like an unmarked, charming and bona fide experience within the commercial parameters.

Recommended
Zeenews | Ananya Bhattacharya

To sum it up, watch 'Student Of The Year' for the debutantes. They have really pulled off a tough task of playing praiseworthy roles in a film which suffers from the lack-of-a-story syndrome.

Not Recommended
Bollywood Life | Prathamesh Jadhav

Johar's leading men and the leading lady have been employed for enough of unnecessary, so-called aesthetically well put up, skin show, and the director hesitates in showing some restrain. You can't help giggle when you see the boys emerging out of the sea in their teeny-weeny boxers with camera hovering over their torso – almost greedily – capturing every detail of their bod. It's one thing to see John Abraham pulling his trunks beyond permissible limit to create a frenzy, but quite another to see Varun Dhawan flashing his butt crack as he comes out of the pool after a refreshing swimming section. Karan has definitely failed to ask the most critical question here – why?

Not Recommended
Glamsham | Martin D'Souza

The interest now moves on to the three debutants. All three give a confident performance, including Kayoze Irani (Boman Irani's son), who too is making his debut. His role, however, is badly structured and within the limitations, he does well.

Alia Bhatt has that 'X' factor which will take her places. There's not much of a scope performance wise, but given the scenes, she looks glamorous when she has too and also emotes reasonably well.

Not Recommended
Koimoi | Roshni Devi

With three big debutantes in the movie, it is a bit difficult to pick and choose, but my vote goes for Sidharth Malhotra as Abhimanyu. He's the sweet charming boy who steals your heart with his sighs. Varun Dhawan does very well as the spoilt brat but there are a few places where he needs to buck up. Alia Bhatt ends up with a very dumb-blonde role who has to do standard ramp poses for the camera but she performs ably. Undoubtedly, Varun is the best dancer among all three.

Average Movie
Filmfare | Raedita Tandan

Even though SOTY is a high-school drama, at no point in the film does Karan offend the audiences intelligence. Every scene in the film engrosses you. Though he takes familiar material, it's his modern take that makes SOTY a special film.

Among the performances, Sidharth, Varun and Alia do their best not to seem like newcomers and they emerge triumphant. Sidharth's restraint is impressive. Varun is charming; his brilliant dancing skills deserve a special mention. And Alia definitely has what it takes to be a star. The three make confident debuts.

Recommended
Rediff | Sukanya Verma

Treatment is Karan Johar's forte and it is what makes his first film with rank newcomers, despite the absence of a logical plot, so fresh and zany. Unlike KKHH, which had the advantage of two superstars and one dazzling aspirant, neither of SOTY's three key players are seasoned actors. Incisive as he is, the filmmaker is well aware of the strengths and limitations of his inexperienced cast, concealing their inadequacies to imply that strange allure of rawness while drawing on their eager energy to convey a refreshing charm.

Recommended
NDTVMovies | Saibal Chatterjee

Student Of The Year is an updated rehash of Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, the mushy love triangle that KJo made his directorial debut with a decade and a half ago. To tailor it for the times, he throws in mild twists (including stale gay gags borrowed from Dostana and the like) for good measure.

That is Student Of The Year for you. It definitely isn't the film of the year. But if you like your entertainment to be served up with glitzy but pulpy garnishing, pirouette your way to the nearest screen by all means. If you don't, go for it only if your life depends on it.

Average Movie
DNA India | Kanika Sikka

K Jo has done a marvelous job when it comes to grooming these three debutants in their acting skills. Though Alia has very little role to play, with all the attention on the leading boys. She leaves a mark with her glamorous presence. K Jo does a fab job in presenting her as a doll. Varun shines throughout the movie with a very a resilient performance. His dancing skills are commendable. Malhotra too has done an extremely good job and his presence is strongly felt throughout the film.

Average Movie
Dailybhaskar | Mayank Shekhar

You can tell how good the director is with choreographing moments from a beautiful sequence, right before the interval, when the two boys and the girl are at a wedding, there's a lilting background score, no dialogue, and the whole story gets revealed merely with eye contact: the girl is in love with the new boy! Sadly the film hardly lives up to that wonderfully subtle moment. I guess, you need to suddenly break into half a dozen songs and music videos to ensure a full-on, old-world Bollywood soundtrack, and as many random scenes to guarantee the hit of the year. The drama has to be mawkish. If you tone anything down, I suppose, you'll lose the big bucks. The insecurities show.

Not Recommended
Yahoo | Rummana Ahmed

This is the first time that Karan has stepped out of his comfort zone and worked with debut actors. Varun Dhawan and Siddharth Malhotra not only have gorgeous bodies but also have enough acting talent to make their presence felt. Going by the audience reaction, Siddharth has definitely garnered a huge female fan following in his very first film. As far as the looks are concerned, KJo had definitely prepped his cast well. Alia Bhatt might have shed the extra fat but her acting still needs a lot of work.

Recommended
Indian Express | Shubhra Gupta

The trouble with 'Student Of The Year' is that it doesn't even feel as if it is trying for novelty, despite the brand-new talent it showcases. Not one of the three main leads fully breaks out of the 'types' they are assigned, even if you can see they have been schooled hard for their parts : the swimwear rounds are most impressive, the abs are washboard, the skin glistens, and they are all very glossy to match their environs, but the acting chops are slender. Of the three, Malhotra fares best, and Bhatt wears her clothes well, but none of them have zing. The supporting cast is better : I liked the overweight fellow with the glasses (Kayoze Irani, Boman's son) who's given a nice little blow-out scene in the end

coolfire thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
Just watched it, I hope I can post my personal review. To put it in simple words, it was old wine in a new bottle. The story and portrayal has nothing original to it, cliched candyfloss film. Time pass entertainment-- but I knew this while going in. I just thought the treatment would be new, but it isn't.

Performance wise:
Siddharth: Extremely easy on the eyes, amazing screen presence and exudes confidence. His swagger and confidence look natural, but few dramatic scenes could use some work. He also needs to brush up his dancing skills. He has great voice (a mix of Arjun Rampal's and Hrithik's) which helps in dialogue delivery. His looks while romancing! I think we have a new romantic hero in the making here!

Varun: Had the most complex and layered role, lucky guy. But at the same time, he was more likely to stumble as well. He mostly looked like a ball of anger throughout the movie. While he delivers well in the dramatics, sometimes he comes across as he's trying too hard. His dancing skills deserves a special mention, it's on par with the likes of Shahid. Doesn't have too great of a voice though.

Alia: Her role was almost one-dimensional, all she had to was pout and look pretty. But she isn't staggeringly sexy either. She has the least screen time among the three too. Can't say much about her acting because there hardly was any. I don't see much screen presence here either.
AishMinoz thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
wow 3 stars from Masand

Rajeev Masand

Movies That Matter

Our Films

Pass class

Student of the Year

Rating: 3

October 19, 2012

Cast: Sidharth Malhotra, Varun Dhawan, Alia Bhatt, Rishi Kapoor, Ronit Roy, Ram Kapoor

Director: Karan Johar

The hardest job on a Karan Johar film set must belong to the cleaners, who I imagine spend most of the day on their knees scrubbing floors, dusting furniture, and basically making sure everything is spotless. The director's new film, Student of the Year, is set on an impossibly chic campus where good-looking teenagers are invariably breaking into song or breaking into fights. Yet you'll never spot a carelessly strewn cola can or even a stray sheet of paper lying around in the corridors or in the canteen. Oh those poor cleaners!

At St Teresa High School in Dehradun (think that Riverdale-like setting of Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, only swankier), trust fund brat Rohan (Varun Dhawan) is the coolest kid with all the hottest toys – a flaming red Ferrari, designer togs, and the prettiest girl in school, Shanaya (Alia Bhatt). That is, until Abhimanyu (Sidharth Malhotra) roars in on his bike. He's the one with modest means – which is relative in a Karan Johar movie, because while Abhi's family may not have enough makhan for their parathas, he can still afford the brands. After the typical teething troubles, the two boys become fast friends despite their drastically different ambitions.

What tests their friendship is the Student of the Year competition, an annual event devised by the school's gay dean Yogendra Vashisht (Rishi Kapoor) to pick the one student who will land a full scholarship to an Ivy League college. Typically, however, it's the girl…or rather their ishq wala love for Shanaya that drives a wedge between the friends.

Unapologetically aspirational, wearing its pedigree on its sleeve, Student of the Year plays out in a Gossip Girl-like universe, where feelings are surface-level and everyone's a frenemy. The rich kids live it up extravagantly, while the rest (and even their families) aspire for membership into this exclusive club. In Johar's world, clearly your biggest crime is being poor. This is the kind of world where the rich kid's obnoxious dad flies half the campus to Thailand on his private jet to attend his son's marriage.

But it's also true that Student of the Year doesn't ask to be taken seriously. This is Johar's "holiday movie"; intended to show you a good time. So you have Glee-style introductions to the three leads in snazzily choreographed set pieces, a soundtrack of bubblegum hits, crisply edited sporting sequences, and outrageous humor like a track involving the dean's crush on a strapping (and married) football coach.

Johar's secondary players may come off as stereotypes on paper – the rich kid's chamcha, the heroine's nerdy best friend, the fat boy everyone makes fun of, and the opportunistic girl who makes a play for someone else's boyfriend – but more than likely you'll find traces of yourself or your friends in each of them. And therein lies the film's secret weapon – look beyond the shiny classrooms and the sun-kissed Thai beaches, the brightly lit song sequences and the repeated shirtless shots of our heroes…and there's heart to be found, particularly in the film's second half when Rohan and Abhi truly lean on each other.

Karan Johar displays his trademark flair for light-hearted laughs and prettified emotions, capturing a world he knows inside out. This is the most extravagant launch any newcomer could have asked for. Good for them, Johar doesn't know how to do things small.

The debutants, in turn, put their best foot forward: Sidharth Malhotra is earnest and has a pleasing presence, while Alia Bhatt is cute as the clueless Shanaya, if a little raw. It's Varun Dhawan who stands out with a confident, charming turn, able to tackle both comical and vulnerable scenes with ease. Yet if there's a performance that glues together this film, it's Rishi Kapoor's. He never flinches in an unusual role, playing the part for laughs yet also infusing soul into what could have so easily turned into a caricature.

Too long by about twenty minutes, the film could've done with some tightening – perhaps the clunky treasure hunt sequence could go? Nitpickings aside, this is a breezy, enjoyable film by a director who knows his craft.

I'm going with three out of five for Karan Johar's Student of the Year. If fun is what you're seeking, you won't be disappointed.

(This review first aired on CNN-IBN)

HotMess thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
Review by Anupama Chopra - 3/5

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTtj1bE7iSk[/YOUTUBE]
Edited by HotMess - 12 years ago
YoMomma thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
OHMYGOD watched it tonight and REALLY LIKED IT!

...and yeahhh, I'm watching it again tomorrow in the theater. 😆 The extravagance, the glamour, the songs, the actors, etc...enjoyed it all!

It was like a breath of fresh air...yes, even with all the flaws, superficiality and whatnot. 😆 I can pick quite a few things that I didn't like or that were wrong with the movie, but not now since I'm on a SOTY high atm. Maybe tomorrow when I come back from watching it again lol.

I knew for a fact even before watching the movie that I was going to LOVE Varun but my oh myyy, Siddharth has TOTALLY won me over. ☺️ He was not bad at all! I'm not hesitating to say that Siddharth and even Alia, to some extent (just hated that pom-pom dialogue though that was used in the trailer...maybe it was the way she was saying it), were the surprise package of the movie. Oh and Varun is sucha smooth dancer...Siddharth wasn't all that bad either. BOTH the guys were great in their respective roles. I hope they actually last in BW...

KJo obviously went right somewhere with this one. Also, it was awesome how he incorporated a few old songs here and there...like the dafli wale dafli baja one and 2-3 more. That was pretty neat. All the songs were even better to watch on the big screen...especially the first song with Siddharth's entry...the picturization was actually really good for all of them.

Yeh mujhe kya ho gaya hai...never thought that I'd see myself praising this movie. LOLL, I had decided a long time back that I would watch it in the theater cuz KJo films are nothing but guilty pleasures for me...but I didn't expect to like it this much. 😆

I'll try to write a more detailed and less fangirly review tomorrow...with criticism and spoilers...but not now haha. I'd definitely give the movie a 3.5/5.
you2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
Posted by
studentofdayearNewbie
Posted: 19 October 2012 at 8:25pm | IP Logged
It was a great movie! light-hearted fun with a few draw-backs but the hot guys definitely made up for it!!

Some of the things were unnecessary like Kayoze's speech at the end, Rishi Kapoor's gayness - and the screenplay needed improvement - the treasure hunt was simply lame - triathlon was more like it! the guest appearances were fun (except Kajol looked like a cow) and I enjoyed the remixes a lot!! (Dafli song was a highlight)

The music was fantastic!! With such a strong soundtrack I dont think they even needed that many remixes!! but they were great anyway!! The song picturisations were impressive and the dancing was simply amazing!! Hats off to Vishal-Shekhar, Manish Malhotra and all the choreographers - songs were truly a highlight!

Kayoze is impressive as he is confident on screen - but his character at the end is just like W*F? and Sana Saeed is just plain annoying - child artists will never be successful hero/heroines

Alia's character was too one dimensional so I thought that needed more development, but shes definitely got a lot of potential, she'll go far!

Sid and Varun both were BLOODY AMAZING!!!! They were both equally good actors and will do great ahead!! However I think Sid needs to work on his body language and dancing skills a bit more and Varun needs to improve his dialogue delivery in bits! Sid is great in the scene in hospital - he's definitely got talent. However Varun does steal the show to some extent because you just love his character so much!! Very impressive for a star child. Nevertheless, Sid is shown a bit of a jerk in the movie but you never hate him! SO CLAPS FOR BOTH BOYS!!

(I really do hope they star in Dostana 3 :P )

Overall the film is fun, light-hearted, typical Karan Johar masala and all and really funny - but lacks screenplay and proper development of characters!! The friendship between Sid and Varun however is lovable!

My rating is a 3.5/5

I think they all deserved debutante awards - not just coz they're in a KJo movie but because they impress with their acting in such a cliche movie
you2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
BlackStar.

Posted: 19 October 2012 at 1:11pm | IP Logged

MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS.. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

I must say, SOTY had the potential to be a really good film if KJO had just toned the glamour a little down and focused more on the story and depth of characters. I LOVED the movie despite its flaws and if the story was worked out more it would've been even better. The cast is fresh.. and seriously it's nice to see different faces apart from the one's we usually see all the time.

The story is nothing special.. it's simple. I just wish they'd develop some of the relationships in the film..

Varun's relationship with his dad was complex.. yupp. We saw many eye contacts.. but apart from that one scene I really wish they'd added something more.. Especially after the competition. Even Alia supposedly has hidden feelings which no one knows about yet they never show it to us either? I mean we didn't get to know much about her family dynamics at all.

Rishi Kapoor's gay angle wasn't needed.. In-fact it was quite unnecessary.

Also, were told Rohan tends to ignore Shanaya a lot but he loves her too.. She's supposedly his childhood sweetheart.. Umm yah but where's the love part? I mean honestly besides those kisses on the cheeks and maybe a few hugs there is no relationship. How are we supposed to know she likes him or cares for him.. or he loves her? I get that the love angle isn't really a huge part of the film, but it adds to tarring apart the boy's so they should have justified it better.. and I must say Shanaya is pretty dumb and unclever to be with him if Tanya is all over him all the time..

And the most randomest thing on earth was how Abhi falls for Shanaya.. seriously? You could've shown us more. SPOILER: Especially if he's the one she ends up with. I really wish they'd shown her liking abhi more than rohan, because honestly their feelings were pretty much as numb as she had with rohan.

I liked the dialogues.. very enjoyable. The movie was shot beautifully.. Nice locations and editing.. Good cinematography. Ishq Wala love was beautiful and so were the other songs. The dance off in Kukkad lol..Oh and the old remixes were so much fun. The movie was really a musical.. Kajol in Disco Deewane.. She rocked!

ROHAN and ABHIMANIYU's friendship was so nice.. Especially when he goes "Abh kya kiss bhi karega?" lol.. I felt bad that the competition tore everyone apart.. I mean honestly Rohan was the only loyal one of-course until the kiss comes into the picture.. The way Jeet leaves him shows what competition can do to people.. Kayoze's speech at the end was AWESOME! The supporting cast did a very good job.. Minus Sana Saeed. For some reason she just plain annoyed me.. I really did not like her. From the elders to the younger's they all performed well..

Coming to the main leads..

Alia- I thought I would hate her but she wasn't that bad.. She's young and fresh and she does have some screen prescence. Her acting wasn't cringe worthy but it wasn't spectacular either.. Her dialogue delievery and emotions could use some work.. I think her one-dimensional role is also to be blamed. Seriously it was all gloss no depth.. They couldn't even show her feelings.. how dumb.

Sidharth- He has so much screen prescence! Omg he's so natural and awesome.. very confident. His and Varun's friendship in the movie is so real and cute.. He does lack in the dancing department though.. and a little bit of dialogue delievery but I'll ignore that because seriously his eyes are so expressive.. Such a calm and warm performer..

Varun- I loved him the most! Call me biased or whatever but I think Varun was equally good to Sidharth. His role was harder and he justified it well.. Maybe in the first half he could have brushed up a bit more but the second half was totally good. In the scene with his father, I think he was the only one who cried with depth. Sid seemed a bit awkward.. Alia was kinda fake. Really good dancer.. Dialogue delievery could be worked on like Sidharth but he was confident in the role.. I loved his entry. And I felt for his character the most.. Abhimaniyu too but I really felt bad for how everything kind of just tumbled apart in his life when the competition came. He wasn't a mean guy.. Just a bit twitched..

Overall, a good movie. Nothing like Barfi, English Vinglish, Kahaani or Vicky Donor but entertainment. Entertainment/Candy Floss stuff that is enjoyable unlike those painful masala movies.. at least for me.

I liked K3G, and KKHH so maybe that's why I love this one too.. but trust me, the way the trailer shows it to be an awful film it really isn't that bad..

3/5 or 3.5/5.. I really would've given it a four had there been a little more depth.

My favourite line.. When Alia says main maa bane waali hoon so randomly. and then she goes just joking 😆 That was funyy.