fly2me thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
^^^Yea lets leave it here.
And i respect your opinion very much even though i might not agree with everything you say.
😊

xoxo
-Lara :)
Edited by fly2me - 16 years ago
429108 thumbnail

Originally posted by: pragya0

Im a hindu & a citizen of UK but even I have experienced it once. Itsa not a big deal. If it means that my city wont be blown up in a terrorist attack Im all for it. Its worth for the cause of security. And most of the major attacks in the last 10 years have been associated with Asians- so as US or UK I have every reason to ensure the security of my country. If you feel so strongly about it then dont go to the country.

And SRk or any one does not make a diffrenece, everyone is equal.

I totally agree with you. Just because SRK is a celeb doesn't mean he should be searched or questioned. I am not saying he will do some unlawful act but like you said everyone should be equal so if the security feels something wrong then they are entitled to question. :) They can't take any risk when it comes to security, if someone is interrogated than they have to just co-operate. SRK is also a normal person too, right!!!
Edited by stint - 16 years ago
429108 thumbnail

Originally posted by: angelic_devil

exactly!! even rahul gandhi was interrogated at the time of 9/11. APJ did not say anything when he was questioned. y was the need for media even SRK to make such a big deal abt all this? i think they should have kept quiet. i am with what salman said.

It is not about pride of India when it comes to ex-president or one of our politicain but it is when its SRK. Looking at the protest on news channel I guess SRK is bigger than the president of India 😕
friends_rock thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

SRK tune yeh kya kardia.... baat khatam hi nahee horahe...

Sujal_Fan_No1 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
y cant this topic just be dropped now, its kinda getting boring now, and can i just say yeh ppl fink that this is a publicity stunt yeah and wat not, but ur still talking about it that is still giving srk the publicity.

I am an srk fan yeh, but am just getting annoyed now with all these topics being open on the same subject about 20 times.
ar78655 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
SRK: Detention wasn't a drama

King Khan addressed the media explaining exactly why he felt angry and humiliated

Bollywood superstar Shahrukh Khan (in pic) on Tuesday clarified that his 'detention episode' at the US airport wasn't a drama that people are making it out to be.

King Khan, as he is popularly called, returned from the US on Tuesday and briefed the media about his ordeal in the US.

Recalling the incident he said that though he is not angry over what happened there, however he feels that the airport officials 'went a little overboard' with the questioning.

"I was asked bizarre questions by the airport officials. It wasn't a drama. I don't want publicity. But, I feel routine procedure was not followed there. We should not be treated on the basis of our colour or nationality," the actor said.

Shahrukh Khan said he didn't feel bad that airport authorities questioned him, but what really hurt him was the question they popped at him several times, "Your name is very common. Can anyone vouch for you to enter here?"

He also rubbished the reports that he was trying to promote his upcoming movie My Name is Khan by blowing his detention issue out of proportion.

"I hate people who rake up religious issues for their personal gains. I don't want to sound pompous here but I don't need publicity to promote my movie. I am too big a star for that," SRK said.

The actor also said that this incident won't prevent him from visiting US again.

He said that if a 'tit for tat' policy was to be followed then he would love to be allowed to frisk Hollywood stars Angelina Jolie or Megan Fox.

403365 thumbnail
Two words my brother from another mother: Who cares?
We have enough shiz to care about.
I am sorry SRK, but I could give shiz to this matter of yours. I have had this so called 'profiling' done innumerable times and guess what bachche, we all move on. Last time I checked, you were no God and lets keep my facts right.
In defense of him, media waalo chod toh ab yeh story. Please go dig up other fresh stories that do not destroy our brain cells and IQ.
Edited by zainab25 - 16 years ago
104869 thumbnail

10 Reasons why SRK's detention wasn't a disaster

http://movies.rediff.com/report/2009/aug/18/why-srks-detention-isnt-a-disaster.htm

Too much heat has been generated and too much dust has been raised by the 60 minute detention of Shah Rukh Khan [ Images ] by the US airport authorities. The Page 3 crowd has been vociferous in condemning the 'evil empire' and the whole episode is being portrayed as it an assault to India's dignity by some over-zealous US officers. SRK [ Images ] doesn't represent the collective honour of 1 billion people. (Nor does Dhoni [ Images ] or Rahul Gandhi [ Images ] for that matter!)

I have 10 lines of arguments to prove that SRK's detention is a complete non-issue:

1. A 60-minute interrogation must have been caused by some suspicious aberration on the computer screen of the clearing officer. It is one thing by the fans of the superstar to say that their icon was insulted but come to think of the mental state of the guy who dared to stop him. He felt suspicious about a passenger whose superstardom in India was none of his concerns. In the matters of security, one must err on the side of caution. Better to search a celebrity rather than letting a suspect go out and cause the mayhem.

2. If a former Defence Minister of India can be searched and a most revered ex-President of India can be frisked, then surely SRK can be detained too. Is a film star to be attached more importance than the former President of our republic?

3. Does anyone recall a movie titled, Sarfarosh. The story revolved around a famous singer from Pakistan who was much loved in India and was a toast to the millions of Indian fans but he eventually turned out to be a terrorist. Now we all know that that was a movie but sometimes the reel life can resemble the real life. If a Hansie Crownie, the much respected South African cricketer can be a match-fixing enabler then anyone can be anything. At least theoretically! Nobody should be exempt from detailed scrutiny if the initial checks point out that more detailed checks are required. After all who could have imagined that the lovable Munna Bhai once kept an AK 47 in his house!

4. Okay fine, SRK was detained and interrogated and he came out clean, so why should the matter not end there itself. Is it because there is a certain film My Name Is Khan that is yet to be released and all the current publicity will help the film which may have a similar theme. Sorry guys, just thinking aloud. No insinuations meant!

5. The recent Hindi movie, New York, portrays the fundamentalists in a rather 'none too bad light.' It tries to create sympathy for the terrorists by saying that all those who are terrorists are terrorists a result of bashing received at the hands of FBI. And the movie is a big hit, I hear. Anyone by the name Khan from India then becomes a suspect for the US state. I am really surprised that the movie didn't get the condemnation that it deserved. What else do you want the US authorities to do?

6. All the bigwigs of Bollywood are up in arms against the US. They say that US suffers from fear psychosis. That is correct my dear Bollywood biggies. Any country which suffers a man-made calamity like the 9/11 will have fear psychosis. Anything less than would make them more vulnerable and the US is determined to let its people feel safe once again.

7. SRK says that he doesn't feel like going to the US again. Well he can't avoid it. The US represents more than 1/4th of the huge overseas market for Bollywood movies. In fact, he shouldn't have made this remark. And why don't you want to go to US? Just because you were detained for 60 minutes. I think SRK made these utterances so that he escapes such detailed scrutiny the next time. Indian film stars find it demeaning to be standing in queues along with the ordinary folks. They would rather strut out majestically letting others gasp at their swagger!

8. SRK felt insulted by being detailed for a routine interrogation. This is most unbelievable. For a man who routinely insults fellow celebrities when he anchors some award ceremony, this was a like him getting a taste of his own medicine.

9. Spare a thought for some of the producers and directors in whose sets, SRK reaches late. They are virtually detained in their own sets by the star's tantrums. Good revenge for them.

10. And finally it's time these film stars started to think of themselves as mortals. From dust we all came and to dust we all shall go. There aren't any superstars really. We are all children of One God. My 13 year daughter says, "Dilip Kumar [ Images ] who?" when I tell her that Dillipsaab was the greatest actors of all time. In 20 years time, my grandchildren will say, "SRK who?"

So Mr Khan, just chill man.

gossipgurls thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Tfs pragya0 , very good articel by rediff.

And finally it's time these film stars started to think of themselves as mortals. From dust we all came and to dust we all shall go. There aren't any superstars really. We are all children of One God. My 13 year daughter says, "Dilip Kumar [ Images ] who?" when I tell her that Dillipsaab was the greatest actors of all time. In 20 years time, my grandchildren will say, "SRK who?"
So Mr Khan, just chill man.

🤣
pksanam thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
since when do you have to agree to a country's law or disagree or like them or dislike them for you to travel there...
every country has it's own share of negatives... so much corruption back home and yes, even more discriminatory issues to deal with... i have family there... so i will still go on vacation to visit, but that does not mean i have to be in love with everything that happens there... do i have to like the country... NO...? would i go there on vacation... YES...! since when do you have to like a country and it's rules in order to visit there... that logic is, well, illogical...!!
i am here in the US... there are things that i do not like, but then there are things that i do like... one of them is security...that does not mean i have to approve of EVERY SINGLE thing that the government does.. that's how it is... tough luck... will i continue to live here... YES... will i always bow down and say bravo to every single thing that goes on around here... NO... that's the beauty of living here, isn't it... you have freedom of speech... would that be held against me...? NO....
that's how it is... how much you agree with what goes on in the country, well, that does not make one less or more patriotic....!

Originally posted by: dizzyonlemonade

I respect your point, but I guess we will have to agree to disagree. And I am certainly not the most gung ho person on this issue. But come on, the frisking comment and the whole saying my name is Khan and comparing how in UK he is escorted to the car and treated are not helpful things to say. For example, my aunt came from Saudi Arabia, and it was hard for her to get a visa. But she wanted to come here for the sake of professional advancement. It worked out so well for now, and she practices medicine in the Ozark Mountains region and loves the rural community. But I guess the thing is that there are instances where a system may be abused, but you can't just cry foul every single time because I can go on telling tales if you want for hours. One of my classmates has the unfortunate first name of Osama. Could his parents predict what could happen a couple of decades later? No, they liked the name. Sure, he is sarcastic about it, telling jokes, and blames Osama bin Laden for the uncomfortable giggles his name gets the first day of class. At the end of the day, though if your friend wants to just deal with the system, then she will and wear her name as a badge of pride no matter the problems she faces. Sure, it is easy for me to say this from my computer monitor. Honestly, I do believe in the idea of the melting pot, and I love and embrace diversity, as it makes a place richer. Will prejudice and stereotypes ever be stamped out of society? I don't know if that will ever be the case, but being open and having a dialogue is what should be the case, not just playing the blame game and being outraged. His luggage was missing, and there was a delay. And he was questioned, treated humanely, and released in 66 minutes. It wasn't the worst thing in the world.

i completely agree, SPECIALLY on the bolded parts... which is why i am kinda glad at the end of the day, that this is being discussed....!