sanjay10 thumbnail
I hate to break it to you guys, but there are allegations of plagiarism concerning Delhi 6. Much of the plot appears to have been taken from an old website about the Monkey Man of Delhi.

Edited by sanjay10 - 16 years ago
lavienrose thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
I watched Delhi6
i cant believe i wasted my time n money on this movie. i was soooooo beyond disappointed. Abhishek Bachchan who had a bad accent. Sonam Kapoor was hardly there in the film. The only people they praised were couple of other actors like Rishi Kapoor, Divya Dutta, Atul Kulkarni.
the songs were mindblowing but the choreography was sooo bad.
its the most boring movie of this year 😳

I'll give 1.5/5
Edited by mania93 - 16 years ago
chocogurl thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
Ok, so i watched the movie last night and here is what i felt :

Delhi 6 may not be as great as Rang De Basanti or it may not be a masterpiece, but the movie is definitely good! People compare it with Swades, and I see why they do, but Delhi 6 is just something more. The actors are really good!! Abhishek did a really nice job as Roshan. Sonam was really good as Bittu, but her role was short. Divya did an awesome job playing her character!! The two kids in the movie also did a fab job! Everybody else did really good too! ROM has showed Chandni Chowk really nicely!! The first half is filled with good comedy, everyone in the theatre was laughing! and the serious scenes are also shot nicely. The music of this movie is just fantabolous! Every song is just sooo nice! The message of this movie is truly very good!! Everyone should watch this movie atleast once!
monu_tan thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Wow this is the first time i watch a movie on the first day first show here in spore..Theatre was jam packed..People who came in about 1 hour before cudnt get the tickets for the immediate show..
Cut to the film.. I should say i had very high expectations and the movie hmmmm the movie surpassed all my expectations.. Yes yes ..its an amazing experience.. The movie just grows on you and every character here is sooo meaningful..Every song comes at the apt moment..with every moment in the movie well defined.. This is NOT a MASALA movie, this is a very realistic movie with no forced humor incorporated..But the humor used in the movie are quite thought provoking.. Imagine two kids going to a lady and telling her 'We want to become a Man, and i have heard from people around that you make Man out of a boy' This not only potrays the sad state of the lady in society but also the hypocrisy with which society can treat some women..Another one, when they showed a ramayan sequence of lower caste Shabri feeding Lord Ram berries which she had tasted.. The hypocrites then stand up and says that 'Lord Rama is a god so he has all the permission to interact with a lower caste lady unlike a common hindu man'.. Hmmm so lord Rama who was called maryada purushottam, his actions are justified but not yours...So guys its definitely intelligent feed to your brains if you wanna experience this phenomena called Delhi 6.. I have to re watch it..coz as i said the movie grows on you..just like any AR Rahman music grows on you..You have to keep listening to an AR Rahman song to love it though when u hear the song for the first time you dont really hate it..but it flutters ur mind with in unusual beats and lyric..same ways Delhi 6 will grow on you and you have to watch it again to get connected to it..Am sorry if i had broken any rules while writing this post..But keep my word go and experience Delhi 6 and remember its not for watch but for experience..😊
sanjay10 thumbnail
According to some reports much of the movie's plot was plagiarized from a website called Monkey Man News Tracker at http://www.geocities.com/saltrange2000/monkeyman

the author has created a website to highlight this plagiarism at http://delhi6.org

Edited by sanjay10 - 16 years ago
LifeOLicious thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
First day first show

February 21st, 2009
By Our Correspondent

Some loved it, some hated it but everyone unanimously agrees that Sonam Kapoor and A.R. Rahman's music are the only attractions in Delhi-6

* The movie is fantastic. Different parts of the film are artistically weaved into the main story. The chemistry between Abhishek and Sonam is awesome. The film is aesthetically appealing, with some beautiful scenes shot in Rajasthan. The cinematographer has done a good job. In short, it is a visual treat with Sonam lighting up the screen with her graceful dance moves.

Dasrath K., Flim director

* I had expected the movie to be either based on Delhi or at least closely related to the city. But I was disappointed. Though Abhishek and Sonam looked good together on screen, the movie lacked a gripping storyline. On the whole it's an average film.

Vishal Jain, Aurora Degree College

* The title of the movie is not apt. The director fails to convey his point across in a convincing manner. As a result the movie drags on unnecessarily. I had a lot of expectations from Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra but he does not live up to it. The only saving grace of the movie is Sonam Kapoor, who looks absolutely stunning. The music is awesome, and it is the only thing that made me sit till the end.

Srinivas Y., KMIT College

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/headlines/first-day-first-show-235
LifeOLicious thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
[Box Office: Delhi 6 grosses Rs 80 million in India on day 1

updated on: 21/02/09

MUMBAI: UTV Motion Pictures and Rakyesh Omprakash Mehra's Delhi 6 starring Abhishek Bachchan and Sonam Kapoor, which released in theatres on 20 February grossed Rs 80 million (Rs 8 crores) at the box office in India on Friday.

On Friday the movie opened well in metro cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore and Chennai to an average of 60 percent with houseful shows in the evening and night. The opening was better in metros than in smaller centers where the movie is going relatively slow.

On Saturday, the occupancy witnessed a rise in comparison to Friday. The movie is said to have benefited to a great extent due to the advance bulk bookings.

UTV is targeting to gross between Rs 250 - 280 million (Rs 25- 28 crores) in the three day weekend business in India. Delhi 6 was released in 945 screens across India.

In Dubai, the film did a business of Rs 12.50 million (Rs 1.25 crores) on Thursday and Friday.

[www.businessofcinema.com]
naadanmasakalli thumbnail
ok my review Delhi-6 may not be an RDB but it still is a great movie, perhaps one of the finest in recent times, and for that Mr. Mehra deserves a bow. What Delhi 6 is about? it's about patriotism,( not in a usual mardhar way but in a very young and youthful kind of patriotism though the issues come later but still it's different) love, India and youth. The handling of the narrative is targeted to the gen x hence it doesn't gets too much of a lecture and remains enjoyable throughout the film and leaves a mark on u . when one leaves the theater so much is going on in ur mind( in a good way)and u r in aw of the film and ROM for his vision and his execution of the story. Let me Clear this it's NOT SWADES .D6 and SWADES r two completely different films set in total different locales and places the only thing common about these two films are an NRI realizing the importance of his home country and finding his roots and maybe that both films are set in India.

ROM showed the true chandni chowk. it's so rich and real u feel like being a part of that place haats off to him for this. he handled the characters well. everyone has been given equal importance and every character has something important to contribute. None of them have to stand in frame and look beautiful.abhi is fab as Roshan i don't think anyone else could have done the role of roshan with this much ease and perfection. let me tell when ROM didn't signed sid for it i was kind of feeling bad but now i know why and am happy with ABHI as roshan.For me it i probably his finest performance till date.

SONAm what can i say about this girl except beauty with talent. she's just not about her looks she knows how to act and that too amazingly. she's a taza hawa a jhonka . she brings the Freshness and charm to the film . Bittu is what everyone can relate with she's free spirit trying to find her way to get independent. bittu is not a girl who'll go a usual way she wasn't to be something and trying to find way to achieve it . her character is very well written and well performed. the only negative thing is the length of Bittu 's character i would've loved to see Bittu more but she made me so happy that am happy with this too ( ah finally was watching my jaanu after 15 months onscreen) and have no complaints. she improved heaps and bounds from saawariya so if she was brillant in saawariya she's excellent as bittu A ++++++ for sonam girl u have a long way to go and u make us the sonaholics proud of u .

the music is superb each song is better than the other still can't choose one as my fav the only complaint is most songs are cut off but that makes sense as it wasn't possible to put 9 songs full in a movie .

*SPOILER* rehna tu might disappoint u as rishi ji is in it argh why ROM why?

SPOILER the confessions scene between bittu and roshan kind of makes u laugh hahahah roshan dressed up in mokey suit lmao it's just funny :lol:

on the whole it won't disappoint u. it's beautiful go give it a try

my ratings 4.5/5
princessjojo thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 6
Big disappointment...first half of the story is spent on the setting itself. The story doesn't move. Too much idealism, especially with the religion part...
The promos were 'cool' and misleading. They do not represent the story...the love story is not developed neither is the reason why Abhishek does not want to leave India anymore. You do not have the desire to know 'what next' because it is all so cliche.
Sonam looks pretty but hardly has a role. She has the guts to dance and do crazy things in front of a sleazy guy and run away with him but does not have the guts to tell her father no and risk a slap.
It may be a good documentary on Delhi, but fails with its plot.
Nupur9 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Just watched the movie today.........
If I have to describe this movie in black & white just as life is for Bittu...I had say LOVED it!!!!
I think... I need to watch it again to really feel the movie, there are layers to it, and too many layers....actually!!
But here's my list of Do's & Don't for the movie........
Do treat this movie as a kaleidoscope on Chandni chowk which translates into every kasba-gaav-nukkad-mohalla of India.
Don't try to see it from the contempory India pov!!!
Do think of this as one big Collage.......beautiful snippets....idhar udhar.....Zen type.......free flow!!
Don't except the collage to get all tied together....they are meant to be just that....free flowing............think Zen!!!
Do enjoy each charcter as is.....
Don't excpet them to tell you a story.....
Do enjoy wathcing some of the most offbeat actors in the cinema together....
don't ask why they were there.......
Lastly, pray do be wise enough to know that the movie has beautiful soul.......and a powerful message......
Don't phoo-phoo it calling it preachy.....coz that is one thing this movie certainly is NOT!!
Absolute Thumbs -up to Sonam....what a tremedous screen presence that gal has.....