zoyah thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

N a recent interview to HiTLIST, Shah Rukh Khan had hinted that he was planning a big coup on Kaun Banega Crorepati 3.

Now, we've discovered SRK's big secret. SRK has roped in Salman Khan and girlfriend Katrina Kaif for a special episode of KBC3, which will air in April.

The episode has already been filmed and Salman and Kat have won Rs 50 lakh, which they will donate to the Salman Khan Foundation.

Says the source, "Salman has applied to register the foundation, which will help the poor and needy."

The special episode will be aired on Star Plus on April 19. When contacted, Katrina was hesitant, saying, "I can't comment on how much we won and which organisation we have donated the money to. You will have to ask Salman or Shah Rukh about that."

Pehli baar

A source from the channel says, "It's one of those rare events. Salman and Shah Rukh have come together for the first time in the history of Indian TV. The special episode will also feature Priyanka Chopra and Kareena Kapoor.

It has been reported that they are professional rivals, but going by the friendly banter between them on the KBC sets, one would never have guessed. It was a very warm and friendly atmosphere."

Salim Khan on the SKF

Salim Khan says that they are in the process of setting up the Salman Khan Foundation.

"We are getting the legalities formalised. It's a foundation that will take up the cause of needy and deserving people in society, people who want to do something but don't have the means.

The SKF will give them financial backing and will also provide money for important things like heart surgeries and other medical emergencies."

zoyah thumbnail
Abhishek Bachchan obviously hasn't quite acquired that comfortable level of detached calm when it comes to ex-flame Karisma Kapoor. We've heard that he still doesn't want to have anything to do with her and, by proxy, her family either.

Right now, her 'family' in the film industry refers to sister Kareena Kapoor, the actress he debuted with, in Refugee. Very reliable sources tell us that Abhishek doesn't want to work with Kareena, even today. And that he dug in his heels and made his stance very clear to director Tarun Mansukhani when Tarun planned a cast of Abhishek, Kareena and Saif Ali Khan for his next, the yet untitled film he's making for producer Karan Johar.

"The result was pretty simple. Kareena was quietly removed from the picture and Abhishek's fiance Aishwarya Rai was pencilled into the cast. The problem was solved immediately and all was well," says our source.

Kareena Kapoor
Incidentally, this is not the first time that Abhishek has tried to avoid sharing screen space with Kareena. A couple of years ago too, during the making of Mani Ratnam's Yuva, Abhishek had requested that he be spared from being paired with Kareena. So, although the original cast read Abhishek-Kareena and Vivek-Rani, the names were shuffled later. And Rani Mukherji ended up opposite Abhishek and Kareena was paired with Vivek Oberoi.

Evidently, nothing has changed in these last two years. Abhishek is still avoiding anyone close to Karisma Kapoor. And Kareena is still bearing the brunt of her sister's failed relationship

zoyah thumbnail
By IndiaFM News Bureau, March 31, 2007 - 12:18 IST

Salman Khan has received a lot of flak for his infamous deeds in the past. However, the actor has made genuine efforts to rectify his image ever since. After extending financial help to a cancer-stricken child, the brawny actor has decided to institutionalize the cause of helping the disadvantaged.

Salman has applied for the registration of an NGO called the Salman Khan Foundation, which will render support to the poor and needy masses. He decided to throw light on his cause in a special episode of Kaun Banega Crorepati 3. Hosted by Shah Rukh Khan, the episode was shot recently with Salman Khan and Katrina Kaif on the hot seats. It is speculated that the duo have won a prize amount of Rs. 50 lakh on the particular show, which they will forward to the Salman Khan Foundation.

It is learned that Bollywood babes Priyanka Chopra and Kareena Kapoor will also be seen together in that episode of KBC.

TrustYourSelf thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Bebo in tears over Shahid
By: Vickey Lalwani
April 3, 2007

It wasn't a lovers' tiff, but a dangerous stunt sequence that had the actress sobbing with fright

It's All Good: Shahid Kapoor in Fool And Final
Kareena Kapoor relied on choreographer-turned-director Ahmed Khan for her beau Shahid Kapoor's safety, but he almost failed to live up to his promise. While shooting for Firoz Nadiadwala's Fool And Final a few days ago, Shahid survived a near fatal accident at Filmistan Studios.

Biking glory

A few days before the Filmistan incident, Shahid was shooting a stunt for the film in Dubai, where he had to pedal a BMX bike down the face of a 16-floor building over a long cloth that stretched to the ground.

Midway through the shooting, the cloth snapped from its clasps leaving Shahid in mid-air. Needless to say, Kareena was overtly worried and Ahmed promised her that Shahid was in safe hands thereafter.

When contacted, Ahmed said, "The cloth had been hung so that Shahid would not feel the great height he was coming down from. Shahid has a vertigo problem and is scared of heights – just like Aamir Khan.

When the cloth snapped, I almost fainted. There was a pulley holding Shahid from the top, and there was also a safety net below. I wondered how he would manage. Lekin ho gaya."

During the entire shot, Bebo was constantly on the phone with Ahmed. She was literally in tears. "She was very scared and Ahmed kept assuring her that nothing would happen. To compound her tension, Shahid did not speak to her until the shot was okayed," Ahmed says.

Wired up!

Later, another incident happened at Filmistan that made Ahmed's promise to Kareena almost go kaput. Ahmed explains, "It was a song sequence. There were 16 mounted pulleys and 120 men pulling up many dancers, including Shahid.

Never before in the history of Indian cinema has such a dangerous and exciting dance sequence been picturised. While shooting, the left wire of Shahid's pulley suddenly snapped. Luckily, he was not dreaming.

He is very active and agile and immediately held on to the right wire of the pulley to balance himself."Ayesha Takia was also supposed to be a part of this shot. "But we dropped her at the last minute as we thought it would be very dangerous for her.

A small lapse of concentration and I shudder to think what would have happened to Shahid. I wouldn't have been able to face Bebo. I wouldn't have been able to face my wife Shaira either, as she treats Shahid like a brother.

In fact, when Bebo was on the line with me during that stunt in Dubai, Shaira was on the other phone asking me to cancel the shot. But Shahid was extremely buoyed and wanted to do it.

Thankfully, we pulled through on both occasions," Ahmed concludes with a sigh.

Fool And Final stars Sharmila Tagore, Sunny Deol, Jackie Shroff, Viveik Oberoi, Shahid Kapoor, Ayesha Takia, Sameera Reddy, Paresh Rawal, Arbaaz Khan and Chunky Pandey.

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/april/154701.htm
TrustYourSelf thumbnail
... Ayesha upset with Kareena!
By: Upala KBR
April 3, 2007

Takia is apparently miffed with the publicity that Bebo has been is getting for her item song in Kya Love Story Hai

Ayesha Takia is back in Mumbai after a 15-day shooting spell in Delhi for Rohit Shetty's Sunday.

Ever since she's returned, there's been buzz that she's upset that Kareena Kapoor is hogging all the attention for her item song, It's Rocking, in Kya Love Story Hai. The song is already climbing up the charts and this fact is making Ayesha jittery.

Says a source from the unit, "Ayesha was very upset when Lovely asked Kareena to shoot for It's Rocking. She felt that she should do it since she is the film's lead heroine, but not only did Kareena shoot for the song but is also hogging all the attention.

Now, Ayesha has told people close to her that she won't promote the film if things continue this way. Tusshar Kapoor, the male lead, has been going all out to promote the film but Ayesha has not been talking about it at all."

Returning favours

Hogging The Limelight: Kareena Kapoor in Kya Love Story Hai pic/rane ashish
Says producer N R Pachisia, "I haven't spoken to Ayesha lately, but I have heard that she is upset.

Kareena has done us a huge favour by doing the song for free, so naturally we had to return the favour by making the song larger than life.

We have spent a bomb on it. What Kareena did for Lovely as a friend, my production company will always be indebted to her for this."

Pachisia feels Ayesha has no reason to be upset. "She's the heroine of the film so there's no reason for her to be upset. It will always be a Tusshar-Ayesha film.

She was shooting in Delhi for another film, so what can we do if she can't make herself available for the promotions? She has to do some promotion now, but Ayesha has done a brilliant job in the film," he says.

When we touch base with Ayesha, she's down with flu and puts on a nonchalant air. "I am happy for the film if the song is climbing the charts.

Whatever works for the film is good for me and Kareena is really good in the song. I have just returned from Delhi and have fallen sick. I did some promotion in Delhi for Kya Love Story Hai.

I will be here for the next couple of days. If I am feeling well I will do my bit for the promotion of the film."

Was she upset because they gave Kareena the item song? "I wouldn't have done it even if it was offered to me. I don't do item songs," she says.

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/april/154702.htm
TrustYourSelf thumbnail
www.bodhtree.com www.pressmart.net
< =text/> < src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js " =text/>

*Dipti* thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Kareena Kapoor:How dare you

Kareena Kapoor was voted by her peers as one of the most stunning stars, at the recent Filmfare awards show, totaly denied that her career was going down.

She refused though to tell us what her forthcoming projects were, yet she did promise us that there was plenty to look forward to from her.

"How can you talk about me as if I am a has-been? I am Kareena Kapoor." Truly spoken like Bebo!
zoyah thumbnail
The buzz doing the rounds in Bollywood is that the gorgeous gal from the Kapoor Khandan is out of work after being replaced from prestigious projects like Zoya Akhtar's Kismet Talkies, Karan Johar's untitled film and Harry Baweja's Love Story 2050. In the last one year, she has not signed any new project and the old projects which she had signed, have either been shelved or she has been dropped from them.

For instance she was dropped from Karan Johar's next to be directed by Tarun Mansukhani on the insistence of Abhishek Bachchan who refused to work with her due to Karisma factor. As she has a friendly relation with Karan Johar, it was natural for her to be upset over this issue. As a source reveals, ' Kareena called Karan and spoke to him at length about this film. But Karan seems to be caught in crossfire where he can not afford to upset Abhishek Bachchan and also please his friend Kareena. It seems that Kareena is really upset with Karan though she refuses to admit it in public.'

Her other film, Mani Rathnam's ' Lajjo', has been shelved due to problems between Aamir and Mani Rathnam on some creativity front. Ram Gopal Varma's ' Time Machine' too has met with the same fate due to Ramu- S R K tussle. Even in Benegal's ' Chamki Chameli', she has been replaced with Urmila Matondkar. Some attribute this fall in Kareena's career to her rude behaviour towards others. Be diplaomatic Bebo, its tough world out there!!
zoyah thumbnail
Where does she go from here?

Kareena Kapoor has been dropped from too many films recently. Is the industry sidelining Bebo?

Bebo black sheep? Kareena Kapoor
It will be more than a year since Kareena Kapoor has signed any new project. She has been replaced in all her films that she had signed earlier. The actress, though, refuses to believe that she is out of work. In an earlier interview to Mumbai Mirror, she stated, "I am Kareena Kapoor and I know that even if I sit home for a year I will get work. I just want to take time off, I have done enough."

Well, Kareena might be living in her own paradise, but in reality, the actress is out of work. It is evident from the fact that Kareena has been unceremoniously dropped from all her projects. She has been replaced in Kismet Talkies after Hrithik Roshan refused to work with her, then she walked out from Harry Baweja's Love Story 2050 because she wanted to work with Shah Rukh Khan in Ram Gopal Varma's Time Machine. Unfortunately, Ramu decided to shelve the film after he had a fall-out with Shah Rukh Khan.

Then, Kareena made a conscious effort to get back into Karan Johar camp and finally they agreed to work with each other. Kareena was signed for Tarun Mansukhani's film opposite Abhishek Bachchan, but she was again replaced by Karan Johar because Bachchan Jr didn't want to work with Kareena Kapoor, or anyone else from ex-flame Karisma Kapoor's family.

"Kareena called Karan and spoke to him at length about this film. But Karan seems to be caught in crossfire where he can't afford to upset Abhishek Bachchan and also please his friend Kareena. It seems that Kareena is really upset with Karan though she refuses to admit it in public," says our source.

Thereafter, she signed Shyam Benegal's Chamki Chameli, but due to some creative conflict, she was replaced by Urmila Matondkar. In fact, Madhur Bhandarkar had offered her Konkona Sen Sharma's role in Page 3 which she had refused, and later on she also turned down Shyam Benegal's film because she thought that she was not mature enough to play that role.

When we contacted Shyam Benegal, he refused to comment, stating that it's too early to talk about the project. In fact, Kareena had signed Mani Ratman's film Lajjo with Aamir Khan and she even lost weight to get into the character. But Mani had some problem with Aamir Khan and now the film has been postponed until the time they can both work amicably with each other.

The last time Kareena made an appearance on screen was for Farhan Akhtar's Don with Shah Rukh Khan. And after a year, she again agreed to do another item number in Lovely Singh's debut movie Kya Love Story Hai produced by NR Pachisia. Kareena agreed to do an item song in Lovely's film because their friendship goes back a long way since Mujhe Kuch Kehna Hai days. "It seems that Kareena isn't any director's favourite actress anymore. She is talented and gorgeous, but she has been rude to a lot of people. She is not a popular star anymore. It's a pity that an actress her career came to a sudden end," says our source. Though we believe that Kareena will make a comeback and she will overcome this lull in her career.

zoyah thumbnail
Ex-it Kareena, enter Ash

Abhishek Bachchan has Kareena Kapoor replaced with Ash in Karan Johar's next production. Apparently he still doesn't want to work with ex-flame Karisma's family

Abhishek Bachchan obviously hasn't quite acquired that comfortable level of detached calm when it comes to ex-flame Karisma Kapoor. We've heard that he still doesn't want to have anything to do with her and, by proxy, her family either.

Right now, her 'family' in the film industry refers to sister Kareena Kapoor, the actress he debuted with, in Refugee. Very reliable sources tell us that Abhishek doesn't want to work with Kareena, even today. And that he dug in his heels and made his stance very clear to director Tarun Mansukhani when Tarun planned a cast of Abhishek, Kareena and Saif Ali Khan for his next, the yet untitled film he's making for producer Karan Johar

"The result was pretty simple. Kareena was quietly removed from the picture and Abhishek's fiance Aishwarya Rai was pencilled into the cast. The problem was solved immediately and all was well," says our source.

Incidentally, this is not the first time that Abhishek has tried to avoid sharing screen space with Kareena. A couple of years ago too, during the making of Mani Ratnam's Yuva, Abhishek had requested that he be spared from being paired with Kareena. So, although the original cast read Abhishek-Kareena and Vivek-Rani, the names were shuffled later. And Rani Mukherji ended up opposite Abhishek and Kareena was paired with Vivek Oberoi.

Evidently, nothing has changed in these last two years. Abhishek is still avoiding anyone close to Karisma Kapoor. And Kareena is still bearing the brunt of her sister's failed relationship.