Part 9
KK is in Dadi's room and they are both having a chat over their evening tea. KK is very happy that Priya and Ram are back together and is sure that their differences will be sorted out soon as she can see that Ram's anger and frustrations have gone and she feels relieved that the feeling of being betrayed by his mother has also gone. She is very thankful to Priya for indirectly helping iron out her differences and bringing her son closer to her.
KK: Biji, it is so nice to see how well Ram is taking care of Priya and I am so grateful that everything is getting back to normal in their lives. KM feels like a home now and not just a house of bricks and mortar. My only prayer to God is to keep Ram and Priya happy for the rest of their lives. They have seen so much sorrow and pain in their lives and both of them deserve better.
Priya is slowly waking up from her afternoon siesta. She looks at the clock and is surprised that she has slept for a couple of hours in the afternoon – something that she has not done in a really long time. The room is so calm and quiet, so she looks around and what she sees next to her can't stop the wide grin that has formed on her face. The smile lights up her face and she sees Ram sitting against the bed with his reading glasses sitting on his nose, ear buds in his ears, iPad in his lap and he is asleep. Funnily he is not snoring, but he looks so cute.
Priya: Aww! He didn't want to disturb me as he was catching up with his games on the iPad.
She stretches out her hands to pinch his cheeks and on second thoughts withdraws her hands. She gets out of bed slowly so she doesn't disturb him and goes into Pihu's room.
Pihu and Kush are quietly playing a board game. She leans against the wall dividing the two rooms with one foot bent and resting on the wall, she is playing with her mangalsutra with one hand and is watching the two children. She smiles as she remembers her childhood when Karthik and she would play board games. She stands there for a few minutes and leaves the room without disturbing them. She goes back to her room and sees that Ram is still asleep so she tip-toes out of her room and is on her way to the kitchen. She sees KK and Dadi talking.
Priya: Dadi, Ma I am going to make some tea for Mr. Kapoor and myself, would you like some too?
KK: Actually dear, we just had our tea. You look refreshed.
Priya: Yes Ma, I don't remember when I had an afternoon nap before this. Mr. Kapoor made sure no one disturbed me. Pihu and Kush are playing quietly in her room and Mr. Kapoor is taking a nap. I thought I would make some tea and get the children some milk in the mean time. He needs the rest, so I didn't want to disturb him. I am sure he will be up by the time tea is ready. She then goes into the kitchen and gets busy.
Almost at the same time Ram suddenly opens his eyes and finds no one by his side: Where is Priya? Was this all a dream? Oh no!
He gets out of bed quickly and goes into Pihu's room and sees the two children playing: Where is Mamma, Pihu?
Pihu was busy playing so she replied very casually: No idea Papa, she is not here.
Ram has a puzzled look and he goes and checks the rest room and doesn't find her there either. He is now almost sure that he dreamt that Priya had come back into his life. He becomes sad again and tears well his eyes and he slowly walks into KK's room and sits by her side.
KK: Beta, what is the matter? You don't look good.
Ram placing his hand on the left side of his chest and almost choking on his tears: Ma, I don't know why, but it is hurting here.
KK thinks he is unwell and looks very worried: Beta, shall I call for the doctor?
Ram just holds on to KK and weeps like a little child. KK is confused and is calling out to Soumya: Don't worry beta, I will get the doctor here soon. You will be fine. She puts her arm around him and rubs his back.
Priya hears KK calling out to Soumya as she is bringing the tray with tea and milk. She comes to KK's room and sees Ram crying on her shoulder. She gets worried and immediately hurries by Ram's side and puts the tray down on the table. Seeing Ram in this condition, she begins to tear up as well.
She takes a hold of Ram by his shoulders: Ram, what is the matter? Why are you crying? Please tell me what happened?
Ram hears the voice of his Priya; it is music to his ears and looks up at her amid the tears that are flowing unendingly down his cheeks: Priya! He calls her name and holds on to her by the waist and buries his face in her tummy.
Priya bends her head and slowly and gently runs her fingers through his hair as he continues to sob. She looks at KK with a questioning look as if she is looking for some answers. KK shrugs her shoulders and shakes her head from side to side. She cannot understand what led to this outburst and why he is behaving in this manner. Slowly she rubs his back with one hand while her other hand is still caressing his hair. She has to find out what is troubling him.
She holds his face in both her hands and lifts it to face her: Look at me Ram, please tell me what is troubling you. I am here to help you if there is something bothering you. Please don't cry. Ram, see, look at me. Your Priya is here, wont you tell me what is the matter? Na Ram, don't worry, nothing will go wrong. Are you unwell? Do you need me to get the doctor home? Please tell me what happened.
She holds his face with one hand and gently caresses his face and his hair speaking in a soft tone of voice like a mother cajoling an upset child. Ram is still holding her by the waist and realizes that Priya WAS really back with him in his home, and that he was just worried. He gets up and takes Priya in his arms and hugs her tightly.
Ram: Oh Priya! Thank God. I didn't find you beside me in our room so thought I dreamt about you coming back into my life. Oh dear what a relief! It is indeed reality and I have nothing to worry about. Please don't EVER leave me and go.
Priya breaks the hug and looks into Ram's eyes: Here Ram, look at me. I promise never to leave you and go away. I am ashamed that I have caused you so much sorrow and pain and I will find a way to make up to you for all the anguish I have caused in the past five years. I promise Ram, I love you very much, from the bottom of my heart. There is no one in this world other than you that means everything to me. I am yours and yours alone Ram. Please don't cry! Priya looks up at him and wipes his tears and smiles at him.
She keeps repeating herself again and again as if she is reassuring him: Ram, remember one thing, I am here to stay with you for the rest of our lives. I am your Priya and I will never leave you and go. No one or nothing can come between us and separate us ever. I am ready to fight even with God, if anyone tries to come in our way.
KK looks at Ram and Priya and tears up. She comes close to Ram and rubs his back and turns to Priya: Beta, I am so glad nothing was wrong with him. He gave me a scare and I thought something happened to him and that he was having chest pain.
Everyone is relieved even as Priya blushes and avoids eye contact with her with anyone. Ram wipes the tears from her cheeks and smiles at her and she does the same to Ram. They walk back to their room and Priya calls the children to come and drink their milk. Pihu and Kush come running to their room and sit with Ram as Priya is preparing their tea.
Ram heaves a big sigh of relief as he is looking at Priya mixing his tea. Phew! What a nightmare and I am glad it ended on a happy note. He puts his hands across his face and rubs his eyes wiping the tears. Priya sees this and notices beads of sweat on his forehead and wipes it with her bare hands. Then she lifts his face and looks him in the eye and shakes her head from side to side. She sees the children waiting.
Priya: Come children, take your milk and I want you to finish it fast. Papa and I are also going to drink some tea.
Pihu: Mamma, Papa, can we go out after we are done with our milk? We are getting bored sitting at home all day.
Ram: Yes Rockstar! You have both been very good and obedient children. You deserve a treat. How about we go for a long drive?
Kush and Pihu in unison: Yes Papa and then can we go to Nanu's house? Can we spend the night there. Tomorrow is Sunday and Bua will be home. We promise to be good.
Ram and Priya look at each other and speak in signs: Ok children, finish your milk and get ready. In the meanwhile, I will call Bua and find out if she is free to take care of you. If she says okay then you can sleep over, otherwise you will have to come back home with us. Do we have a deal? Priya are you up to going for a drive? Some fresh air will do you some good – actually it will do all of us some good.
Pihu and Kush quickly finish their milk and go to get ready. Priya sits on the floor by Ram's side. She takes a sip of tea from Ram's cup and gives it to him with a shy smile. She holds his knees with her hands and rests her head on him.
Ram puts his cup on the hand of the chair and gently runs his fingers through Priya's hair. He bends down and plants a kiss on her hair and slowly bends her head upwards so she can look at him. He signs to her and asks her to come and sit by his side. She gets up and does as she is told.
Priya: Ram, I am so sorry to have scared you. I saw you fast asleep so I went to make some tea for you and me as I didn't want to disturb you. If I had realized that you were going to be worried, I would not have left your side at all.
Ram: Not seeing you in bed, I was thinking that I had dreamt it all and when I asked the children they said you were not here, so I misunderstood them. I thought they were saying that you were not with us at home while they must have meant that you were not in their room. When I went to Ma's room and held my chest and said it was very painful, she thought I was having chest pain and was calling for the doctor. She had no idea that I was sad because I was missing you. Priya, I was afraid that you coming back into my life was all a dream and that I was going to lose you all over again.
Priya immediately put her hand against his mouth: Hush! No more tears Ram. I am here to stay and like I said no one and nothing can separate us. We are meant to be together and we have stood the test of time. Please don't worry and hurt yourself, because when you are hurting yourself you are hurting me as well. I cannot bear to see tears in your eyes Ram.
They drink their tea silently and just sit staring into each other's eyes letting their hearts talk to each other. The silence in the room is suddenly broken with the pitter-patter of two pairs of feet and excited chatter of Pihu and Kush. They stop for a second when they see Ram and Priya looking into each others eyes and then jump into their arms and give them both a "family" hug. Ram and Priya break their eye lock and smile as they look at the two children.
Ram: Champ, Rockstar, nice to see you are ready for our long drive. Now if you give Mamma and me a couple of minutes we will also get ready and then we can leave.
Kush: Papa I spoke to Bua and she said it was okay for us to stay over at Sharma House. Both Pihu and I have already packed our bags too.
Priya laughs and kneels down as she holds Kush in an embrace: Accha, my Kush has already made all the arrangements, I see. Beta, let me talk to your Bua and tell her that you have our permission to stay over. She gives him a peck on his cheek and he puts his hand on the cheek and smiles. He holds her by the neck and gives her a tight squeeze.
Kush: You are so nice Badi ma. He stops for a second and gives her a quick peck on her cheek and wriggles out of her hold and runs out of the room.
Priya puts her hand on the cheek where Kush gave her a kiss and smiles. He is such an affectionate kid and I hope he is not adversely affected by all that is happening in our lives. God, I hope everything turns out well and Ayesha has learned her lesson and takes good care of Kush. She calls Nuts and asks her if it is alright for the two children to stay over and Nuts says its alright. Priya checks the bags the children have packed and is very amused at what is in the bag.
She goes into the wash room and gets ready. In a few minutes all of them are out. Pihu and Kush are very excited and talking nineteen-to-the-dozen. KK and Dadi are amused seeing the excitement and Ram and Priya tell them of the evening's program. KK tells them to take their time and enjoy the evening outing. Kush and Pihu hold hands and walk out of the door while Ram possessively wraps his right arm around Priya's petite shoulders and they walk out of KM. Silence prevails in KM and KK just smiles and shakes her head from side to side. This is the calm after the storm!
Kush and Pihu get into the back seat in the car while Ram opens the door for Priya to get in. Once she is in, he shuts the door and gets into the driver's seat. Both of them buckle up and are off.
Kush: Papa, where are we going now?
Ram: For a long drive Champ.
Priya looks out of the window and is deep in thought. What an afternoon! Ram is so insecure because of my actions and it is now up to me to help get him out of that. She shuts her eyes and takes a deep breath. Ram notices her sighing and puts his arm around her. She turns and looks at him. He smiles at her and through his eyes asks her what is going on in her mind. She shrugs her shoulders and shakes her head from side to side and smiles.
They are driving along the ocean and find a little secluded spot where they veer off the road and park near the shore. There are huge rocks on the water's edge and they take off their footwear and walk on the sand till they reach the rocks. Ram and Priya sit on the rock watching the children building sand castles. Ram puts his arm around Priya's shoulders pulling her close to his side and she takes his hand in hers. They are mesmerized as they watch the sun taking its last bow before it disappears behind a wall of water. Some birds are flying across the sky and seem to be in a hurry to get back to their nests and their fledglings before the sunlight completely vanishes, while there are other birds in the trees behind them chirping away to tell their families that they are home to rest for the night. Priya looks over her shoulder to see Pihu and Kush in the sand, happily playing oblivious to the sights and sounds around them and she turns the other side to look at Ram, her beloved Ram who has embraced her close to him. She leans her head on his broad shoulder and looks at the sun setting. There is nothing more precious than sitting with the ones she loves watching the sun on its journeys end for the day so that it can rise again with new hope and new joys for another bright new day. As the natural light of the sun dims the skies the street lights shine bright shedding light around for people to find their way home. The silence is broken with Pihu and Kush calling out to them as it is getting dark.
Ram and Priya get down from the rocks and soon all four of them are trudging back to the car. Kush and Pihu are tired and fall asleep in the back seat while Priya is playing with her mangalsutra and smiles to herself. Ram puts on the music in the car and their favorite song is playing on the cd – "Bade Ache Lagte Hain…….." the song they are never tired of hearing. After a while they reach Sharma House. They wake up the children who are excited and both of them run up the stairs while Ram and Priya wait for the lift to come and by the time they reach the apartment, the front door is wide open and Shipra is standing at the entrance waiting for Ram and Priya. The children have already reached the house and are inside chattering continuously about their long drive to the beach and building sand castles. Sudhir has a broad grin on his face as he is moving his head from side to side looking at Pihu for a moment and then at Kush the very next as they share their excitement with them. Nuts is in the kitchen giving finishing touches to dinner and she is also smiling as she is listening to the nonstop chattering of her two babies.
Priya: Ma, Papa, how are you?
Sudhir nods at her and goes back to listening to his grandchildren while Shipra answers: Fine beta. How are you doing? You look much better now and I hope you are taking rest. We were missing the children and as soon as Natasha spoke to you and heard they were coming to spend the night here, she has been toiling in the kitchen to make their favorite food.
Ram: Ha! Now I know why this place smells like a Chinese restaurant. Choti is making their favorite noodles I am sure.
Nuts: Yes Bhai. Both Pihu and Kush love noodles so that's what I am making. I also made their favorite mango ice cream which might have to wait till tomorrow to be devoured. Will you and Bhabhi also eat dinner with us?
Ram and Priya look at each other. Priya: Natasha we will take a rain check on that. Actually I have to take some medicines before I eat and I haven't brought them with me. Next time I will be more prepared. On the other hand, Ma we both will have a small cup of your famous Adrak wali chai if you don't mind.
Nuts: Bhabhi, I know how much you like noodles, so I will pack some for you to take home and eat.
Ram: Hey! Why this partiality to your Bhabhi? I hope you remember that your Bhai also loves Chinese. He makes a pout and Priya looks at him and laughs. He looks at Priya and immediately smiles back and winks.
Shipra brings a tray with two cups of tea. Ram takes one cup and gives it to Sudhir.
Shipra: Beta that is for the two of you. Papa just had his tea and it is almost dinner time.
Ram: It's okay Mummyji. Priya and I will share a cup as we also had our evening tea before we left from home. He gives Priya a side glance and rolls his tongue inside his cheek before he winks at her. She notices the naughty grin and bites her lower lip and smiles back at him.
Shipra is trying to explain that it is alright and they can each have a cup when Natasha comes and taps her on her shoulder and tells her with her eyes to look at the two love birds. Shipra looks at them and laughs. Sudhir also looks at them and is very happy to see the love they have for each other return after a really long time.
Nuts snaps her fingers in front of Rams face and they both jump out of their silent, romantic conversation. Both of them are embarrassed and Priya looks down and tucks her hair behind her ear with her fingers. Everyone burst out laughing at both of them.
Priya pours some tea in the saucer and gives the cup to Ram. She sips the tea from the saucer and Ram quickly takes the saucer from her and gives her the cup. She looks at him and narrows her eyes as she grits her teeth and scrunches her nose. Shipra, Sudhir and Nuts are very happy to see both of them sharing those special lovey-dovey moments and thank God silently for bringing back the happiness to the two most deserving people on this Earth.
After drinking tea, they give the children a big hug and kisses and bid good night to everyone. Priya: Kush and Pihu, please don't trouble Nanu, Nani and Bua. Remember your manners. They all come to the entrance to the elevator to bid them good night.
Ram and Priya vanish down the elevator and very soon reach KM. They go to their room, change and come back to the family room looking fresh. Dadi is watching TV while the others are all chatting and Ram and Priya join them. After a while they all move to the dining room and sit together and have dinner. Priya calls Nuts and is happy to hear that the children have eaten and the poor mango ice cream had no chance to set fully. The children ate it half set and enjoyed it just as much. Priya smiled to herself – there sure is something about half set ice creams and children. KK tells Ram that the doctor called to enquire about Priya's health and said he would come in the morning to check her and tell her what the next step will be.
After dinner everyone goes into their respective rooms. Ram and Priya go out on the grass for a small walk. Priya wants to take off her footwear but Ram tells her it is not a good idea as he doesn't want her to fall sick.
Ram: Once the doctor tells you that everything is fine with you, then you can walk barefoot. Till then I don't want to take a chance of you catching a cold or something. You can have the pleasure of watching me walk barefoot on the grass though. He says with a naughty grin. After they walk for a bit they sit on the garden swing watching the star lit sky. Ram sat to Priyas right and had his left arm around her holding her close to him. Priya sat with her feet propped up and curled up as close to Ram's heart as she could, listening to her most favorite song – the song of Ram's heart.
In a soft hesitant voice Priya asks: Ram, when are we going up to "our" room?
Ram looks at her and gives her a shy smile: Why? This is also our room. Are you not comfortable here?
Priya: As long as I am with you, I am comfortable anywhere. But, that room has so many special memories and …….
Ram: And???
Priya: And I just want to go back there. Is there a problem?
Ram: For five years that room was my everything Priya. It was my safe haven, where I could talk to you and keep you alive with me. After you came back a few months ago, I was so angry and felt betrayed and cheated by the one that I loved the most, so I refused to go back to that room as it reminded me of that betrayal and cheated feeling. That was when I moved downstairs and also was getting the room next to it ready for Pihu when she would move in with me and live here. That way I would be close to her and I didn't have to go upstairs at all. It became a very painful journey Priya.
Priya: I don't think I can say sorry enough for what I did to you but…
Ram: That is enough Priya, I am also guilty of a lot of things and like I said when you came here, let us not go into the past and dig up those bad memories. I was just teasing you when I asked you why you wanted to go back upstairs. I am just waiting for you to recover completely and we will shift back to our very own paradise.
The cool winter winds are blowing and Priya begins to feel cold. She cuddles closer to her "Golu Bear". Ram notices that she is shivering and immediately takes her inside back to their room. They walk into Pihu's empty room and look around. Priya picks up some clothes and toys from the floor and puts them away. She takes Happy in her arms and gives it a warm hug. Ram immediately realizes that Priya is missing Pihu. He goes up to her from behind and holds her by the waist and rests his chin on her shoulder.
Ram: The silence in this room is so unreal isn't it Priya? I miss them already. I don't know what Ayesha will have decided when we go to meet her on Monday. She has never been a good mother to Kush and I can see him hankering for his mother's love especially when he sees you with Pihu. Actually, he has taken to you so quickly and if he were to live with us as our son, I don't think he will have any issues. Before Ayesha says anything, I would like to discuss this with you Priya. I know I married Ayesha only because of you and Kush. Now that Ayesha is not my wife, she will have the option of leaving Kush with me or taking him with her as she moves on. I know you will be unhappy if she stayed in prison, so I will do anything to get her out as long as she is remorseful and promises to change her ways. I need to see the change in her before I am convinced Priya. I cannot afford to allow her to harm my family again. You are all too precious for me and I know what it is like to live without you all and I will not do that again.
Priya: You don't know how much I appreciate what you have done, are doing and will do for my sister just because of me. I also sincerely hope that Ayesha is changing for the better. If she decides to leave Kush with us, I will be most happy to be Mamma to Kush and Pihu. I love Kush too and you know that. As far as I am concerned, I have already accepted Kush as my son, however, if Ayesha wants to take his responsibility seriously and be a good mother to him, it is her choice. But like I said before Ram, what I want is for Kush to be happy. That is the most important choice in my opinion.
Ram looks at Priya adoringly: I know I can count on you sweetheart! You are the best and I love you with all my heart.
Priya: I love you too Ram.
She goes into the dressing room and realizes that she has no night clothes. The ones she wore last night are not back after wash, so she is looking around for something to wear. Ram comes from behind her and looks over her shoulder: Looking for something? He asks her with a very impish grin.
She looks at his face and at once knows exactly what is going on in his mind. She closes her eyes to hide her awkwardness and puts out her hands: Okay Ram, you win. Give me something to wear please.
Ram comes around and stands facing her with his hands behind him. He bends his head towards Priya till their foreheads touch. He bites his lower lip and flares up his nostrils as he grins at her: You don't have to wear it if you don't want, he says teasing her.
She covers her face with the palms of her hands for a brief minute and gives in to his teasing: Please give me your kurta for tonight, she says and turns away as she can feel his deep penetrating stare. Ram embraces her from behind and in his hands, he has a white kurta for Priya. She pulls it out of his hand and goes into the rest room to change.
By the time she comes out of the rest room, Ram is tucked into bed and he keeps looking at the door waiting to see his queen emerge after changing into his kurta. Finally he sees her standing at the door in his over sized kurta. She is swimming in his kurta and it trying to pull it up so that she doesn't trip. Her hair is let down and Ram remembers the morning of Holi when she first wears his kurta. He smiles at her: Aww! You look so cute in it Priya. This HAS to be the most comfortable nightgown you have EVER worn. I am sure of that.
Saying that he jumps out of bed and in a second he is by her side making her turn pink in her face. He stares into her face and loves to see how the tips of her ears go red when she blushes. He sweeps her off her feet and takes her to her bed.
Ram: I don't want you to trip over your clothes and fall. I am not taking any chances.
He lays her down gently and tucks her into bed. She looks at him and smiles: Good night Jaan! I love you very much.
Ram: I love you too. He says and goes to the other side of the bed and slides under the covers. He turns off the lights and the room is engulfed in darkness. He stretches out his hand and puts it on her tummy where her hand meets his and very soon the silence in the room is shattered. Ram's snores fill the air and Priya lets out a deep sigh! Within minutes she is also fast asleep to the sounds of the bugles being blown by Ram's mouth.
Well that's it for tonight friends. Let us leave the love birds to themselves for now. Please leave a note to let me know what you think. Next part should be out over the weekend if everything goes as per plan.