TheUltimate thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
The comparison between Nihira and Seema is not only irrelevant, it is futile.
Nihira is a great singer. Flawless almost.
This has nothing to do with Seema's performance in this contest.
The silence from Seema's critics (about her last performance) is deafening, really.
Summer3 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 2
Of course Seema rendered it perfectly.
She does sound like young Lata frankly.
Dabulls23 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
Nihira's clip was not shared for comparison...I just want to make it clear to all..It is against IF rules to compare contestants from different shows and channels..But for sharing purpose we can do that..
Summer3 thumbnail

I think only by comparisons we are able to see the standard.

Anyway Seema is still very young and has a long way to go.
music-a-muse thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
I do not want to comment about seema singing this song.

For me, this song is associated with lata di and no one else.

Just cannot connect this song with anyone else.Impossible for me😳

sorry😳
Summer3 thumbnail

Originally posted by: musicmuse

I do not want to comment about seema singing this song.

For me, this song is associated with lata di and no one else.

Just cannot connect this song with anyone else.Impossible for me😳

sorry😳

Well so long as the soul has been captured it is all that matters.
A lot depends on the listener too.šŸ˜†
music-a-muse thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Summer3

Well so long as the soul has been captured it is all that matters.

A lot depends on the listener too.šŸ˜†

Soul, singing right, everything matters, esp for this song.

it is an iconic song, lyrics, music and singing wise.

The lyrics of this song comes from deep anguish at the loss of unnecessary very young lives.This would be the best lyrics for me, till date😳😳

Yup, it depends on a discerning listener, who has knowledge of music, can appreciate lyrics which tears at their soul even today.

Sorry, i cannot laugh at this song, ever , summer bhai😳😳
Summer3 thumbnail
Yes these songs are sacred and many have made great sacrifices. Respect and sentiment are more important than the execution.
tulipbaby53 thumbnail
Nihra, Anwesha, Seema, etc try their best to sing this song, and they sing it well musically, but nothing can compare to Lata-ji. I know people are not comparing them to Lata-ji, but I just have to state that. None of these people can make me cry when they sing this but Lata-ji. When Lata-ji sings it is really feels like the words go from your ears straight to your heart. Just listen to this:

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sdyPozsx_6M[/YOUTUBE]

I cry every time I hear this, and I listen to this song a lot. Even when Lata-ji speaks she speaks with such softness and humility. It's so nice to hear.

The lyrics of this song are just perfect. I do not think any some comes close to describing the young fighters of our country so well.
Edited by tulipbaby53 - 14 years ago
Koyal thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Dabulls23

Koyal I am šŸ˜• at your post abv..I was speaking of Nihira as contestant and not comparing her to Lata di..😳

Lata di is Maa saraswati when it comes to singing..WHo am I to even bring these 2 names in one sentence?? Main aisi galti kabhi na karoon..Meri budhhi bhrashta huvi hai kya ?
I was sharing Nihira's rendition only..Hope u enjoyed it as I did..

nahi nahi - what I meant was ke after hearing Nihira singing this song which is so close to the best of the best, one is quickly reminded of the ultimate best i.e. Lata M. - I feel like listening to Lata M. not to compare but to just enjoy that divine voice at it's purest. IMO - Nihira and Anwesha are very very close to Lata M's voice. I just don't know why they are not given any filmi songs and have to resort to singing at concerts - not that there is anything wrong with it - but they should be in the big league - me thinks...
The other song of Nihira's that I absolutely love is Satyam Shivam Sundaram title song - no one has reached that "stage" perfection as yet (I don't think Anwesha sang that song - if she had - it would be akin to Nihira's rendition).